check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Exclusive 2 year old Home in the Premier Point William Development at Smith Lake

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

Amazing set up with several additional ammenities you won't find anywhere else

New home located in Point William, Smith Lake’s newest and most exclusive development. Point William is conveniently located to major lake destinations, yet is secluded enough to add much-desired privacy to its’ residents. This property is located in a private cul-de-sac and offers outstanding views of Smith Lake. You’ll find every inch of this property amazing and exploring the cove in the canoe that we have provided is a MUST DO while you are here. There are very few steps to the double-slip, private dock. (You are welcome to bring a boat). The lake level consists of the master bedroom and bathroom, as well as a second den with a daybed w trundle and a crib for those with an infant or toddler. The lake level also boasts an expansive deck overlooking the private dock and a gorgeous bend in the lake. The lane (main entry) level is perfect for entertaining and consists of the kitchen and dining area, the pantry, a half bath, second porch and an inglenook. The inglenook has a fireplace and entertainment center, along with views of the lake and hillside. On the second level there are two guestrooms that have stunning views of the lake, along with another bathroom. The home also has fourth floor bunkroom consisting of 4 twin beds and an entertainment system perfect for adult seclusion or for children. A pool sits on top of the property with breathtaking views of the lake. Children and pets are certainly welcome but must be well-trained and disciplined as the home is located on a rock bluff. While well-trained pets are allowed, no pets are allowed on any of the furnishings.

Jason and Betsy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

Why Jason and Betsy chose Lewis Smith Lake

While at Samford University, I spent a lot of time at Smith Lake. I introduced my husband to it and he also fell in love with it and after we moved to Mississippi, we knew we had to have a piece of Alabama to visit and so we picked Smith Lake. We picked our spot due to several reasons, but the one I love the most is that there are little steps to the water compared to other places I have stayed. Makes it easy to lug two toddlers back and forth.

What makes this cottage unique

The views are amazing and due to the limited boat traffic, I am able to spend all day in the water if I want to.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Exclusive 2 year old Home in the Premier Point William Development at Smith Lake
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews


  • 5 of 5

This was the second time staying here in 6 months. We love the house and the property it sits on. Strongly recommend this home to anyone looking for a spacious relaxing getaway on a beautiful lake.

Nathan & Allie

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a great time had by all!

  • 5 of 5

The property was amazing, the views were incredible, and the owners were so easy to work with. They made everything so great. We will definitely return, and I highly recommend this house. Cannot say enough great things about it!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Probably one of the best stays I've had anywhere. It was like staying at your own house. Yeah, we brought some items like propane, my Big Easy cooker, our Ninja Coffee bar (there was a nice looking coffee maker there) paper plates and bowls, but it was relaxing to have quality utensils, spatulas, pots/pans, dinner plates, cups, etc in the house already. The house is laid out really well, the circle dining table was great for dinner or cards, the TV room was used on Saturday for soccer and college football, our main dinner was on the back porch. Appliances are accessible and look brand new. Once the kids occupied the Bunk room, we rarely saw or heard them again unless it was meal time. The subdivision is awe inspiring, the houses gorgeous. Douglas the grounds-keeper kept the pool and pool house clean, I could go on and on about how nice looking Point William is. But to our stay, first, don't be afraid to walk to the pool, or to take a walk around the subdivision loop, and just vow to forget how sore your calves will be after a couple days if you're not used to multi-story houses and the steps to the dock. You're on Vacation here, and the house and scenery make it feel like it. I realize now the point of reducing steps to the dock and mind you that vision of Popeye's forearms you get except it's in your legs is a good thing. Fishing from the dock, we caught plenty of bittys for the kids and a few bigger fish at night. The water is deep by the dock end (20-25 ft dropping quickly to 45 ft or so within casting distance) and surely year round. The view of the subdvision from the water is picturesque. It's why you do good in school folks, so you can afford a house in a place like Point William someday. To the quirks, because no place is perfect, the Bunk room is fantastic for kids but as has been mentioned if it's hot outside you have to crank down the guest level A/C. The house radiates footsteps fairly well for those on the bottom Master level. Upstairs water pressure is sufficient, but better downstairs. There's no power I could find to the dock, which means flashlights and running boat batteries back and forth. If you're having doubts, just stay here or in one of the other houses in Point William, likely you'll be glad you did.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home in a very peaceful environment.

  • 5 of 5

Modern home, tucked away on a hill overlooking the beautiful lake. Actually enjoyed not having any cell service. Got a good workout with all the stairs!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing and beautifully decorated! We were a group of 10 and we had plenty of room. The drive there was a little frightening (STEEP, NARROW ROAD), but once you are in the house you forget about all of those things and just enjoy your vacation! The owners were really good about getting back to us within a few hours or less and were always willing to answer our questions, and they even let us check-in early and check-out late. The Colonel's Inn II is a great place to spend your family vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with that many people. The road can be a little nerve racking at first. We chose that property so that we wouldn't have a million stairs to the water like some of the other homes do that sit up high. The developer is in the process of fixing it though and making it less intimidating. We hope you will come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home!

  • 4 of 5

The house is really welcoming with the decorations and location of being on a lake. But, the drive to the house is not ideal; nor the existing of the property. This place was built on a boulder!

The upstairs loft room was too hot for anyone to stay up there. Thankful there were other places to sleep, such as couches. There were air conditioning vents located up there, but you couldn't tell it. Perhaps investing in a wall unit or a ceiling fan would help.

Over-all though it's a great place. Just don't get freaked out when you enter or exit the property!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you felt like it was hot in the loft. We have owned this home for three years and no one has ever complained. We will have it checked , bc that doesn't sound like things were working. I'm sorry you had to sleep on a couch. Since you asked for an earlier check in and we granted that, I wish you had also let us know you were uncomfortable bc we would have done our best to fix it. most homes that don't have a road such as ours, have a million stairs to the water and so we eliminated that by buying a house down the mountain. Thank you for letting us know about the AC in the loft so we can get it fixed for the rest of our renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Crane Hill Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 25 2016 - Mar 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 14 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Memorial DAy
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Fourth of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $25

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Cancellations are accepted but no refunds will be given 30 days prior to arrival. It is advised that if you think you may have a conflict to purchase trip insurance while booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Crane Hill Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Guest Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Located on Guest Bedroom Level
    Living Area Bathroom - toilet , Located on lane level (main living area)
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Walk-in closet, private bathroom, Deck access, TV
    Guest Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Walk-in closet, beautiful lake view
    Guest Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Spacious closet, beautiful lake view
    Bedroom 4 - Bunk room - 4 twin/ single , Ladder access, TV, very private
    Den with daybed/ trundle/crib - 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Day bed suitable for child or single adult, trundle,crib
  • we also have a pack n play for babies
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Very few steps to the water compared to other places. We also have limited boat traffic and so you are able to spend time in the water on floats.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers