Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fun, Sun & Friendship; Walk to the beach at Chapel Hill House

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Six bedroom, 3 bath, walking distance to the beach; large kitchen & living room

Remember a quieter & gentler time when friends gathered and shared good times. This 1926 original Old Town home takes guests back to that time. Chapel Hill House has one king bedroom with ensuite bath, two queen bedrooms, and six twin beds in 3 multifunction rooms. The game room has fooseball, TV and popcorn maker. There is a large sunny porch off the second floor with gulf view and a covered first floor porch with hammock and outdoor shower. The large dining room seats 10 for dinner and the breakfast room has a second table for 6. Twelve can screen a movie on the smart TV in the living room. Chapel Hill House is equipped with a Weber Genesis grill and spacious kitchen. Washer and dryer are provided. Family Reunion? Combine this rental with our other home, VRBO #592377/587710.

JB Smith
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About JB Smith

Seaside Enterprises Texas is a collaboration of water lovers who grew up spending vacations from Bar Harbor to San Diego, interspersed with tropical international beaches in between. We grew up renting and sharing homes we returned to year after year with crisp white linens, fireflies, patchwork quilts and s'mores. We bring this love and these memories to the homes we have developed in Port Aransas and on the lakes in the Texas Hill Country. We hope your stay brings you and yours closer together with sunny days, the splash of water, moonlit nights and memories to last a lifetime.

Why JB Smith chose Gulf Coast

It spoke to us and if you listen during your stay, it may speak to you too.

What makes this house unique

Chapel Hill House is a piece of history and the roots of Old Town Port Aransas. It gathers large but with quiet spaces to get away. In the shadow of the historic Little Chapel on the Hill, you cannot help but to feel the goodness of this place.


Port Aransas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Ensuite - toilet , shower
    Second Floor - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First Floor - toilet
    Outdoor - outdoor shower , With dressing area
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master - 1 king
    South 2nd floor - 1 queen
    North 2nd floor - 1 queen
    Library - 2 twin/ single
    Foyer - 2 twin/ single
    Gameroom - 2 twin/ single , Movable mattress benches can be a queen or 2 twins
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Fun, Sun & Friendship; Walk to the beach at Chapel Hill House
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

Great, perfect for what we needed.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I loved the house. It would've been perfect if the golf cart worked in our favor but other than that we would gladly return.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry, our home does not rent with a golf cart!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome Spring Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a family and friends retreat! It is close the beach and town, yet far enough away from all of the chaos. The house is roomy and great for entertaining with a cute beach theme! We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with Chapel Hill house. We had some concerns after reading the last negative

review but they were unfounded. The house was very clean and well appointed. It has a great location.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

Spent a weekend at the property and found it comfortable and within walking distance to the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

This place was very dirty. The shower curtain had black mold spots, so did the shower. Gross!!! The rugs in the restrooms were dirty. All area rugs were dirty as well. Gross!!! Looked like they haven't been washed in months. Gross!!! I wanted to wash and clean everything. The floors were dirty. Gross!!! I dont know why they charge a cleaning fee. Didn't look like they hadn't cleaned the place before we got there. We saw a few roaches. Gross!!!! The tv in the game room didnt work. They had a wii, dvd player and nothing worked. The foosball table was broken. We love going to the beach and then later in the evening taking the kids swimming at the pool. So I made sure to book a house that had a pool. Well at least thats what I thought... but that didn't happen. The description said "communal pool", which is not!! I've been staying in Port A for many years now and when they put on the description "communal pool" is for the people in that subdivision. They need to specify that it is a "city pool", not a "communal pool". 2 very different things. Its the city pool that closes @6:00pm and you need to pay to get in. Adults $2 and kids $1. So by the time we got back from the beach the pool was closed. Kids did not enjoy that. The description also said 2 twin beds that can be converted to a queen which is not so. It was not a queen bed. Im 5'2 and my feet were at the end of the bed. My husband is 5'11 and his feet were hanging off the so called queen bed. Im glad we took an air mattress. The ceiling fan in the game room needs to be replaced. It only worked on low setting if not it would shake. Looked like it was about to fall. So it was hot in that room. No one used the gameroom at all. It was a waste of space. Restroom door in second floor wasn't working properly. Wouldn't lock or close all the way. No privacy!!! Overall we were all disappointed. But we tried to make the best of it. On the plus side my dogs enjoyed it. They loved running around in the yard exploring. I think this house would be better if they replace the ceiling fan in game room, invested in some real twin beds in the gameroom or mabe a queen trundle bed. Replace all the rugs and shower curtains. Fix the door in the restroom. Add more tv's to rooms. And make sure they all work. Oh and most important get a better cleaning crew.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you were disappointed but in our numerous conversations to try to help, you shared you have been to Port A many times and always use VRBO. Somehow you must have missed that VRBO only has 2 pool options- private or communal! Of course we chose communal to let our guests know where they could enjoy a pool. Strangely none of your other issues were a problem in the 5 times you called us over a 2 day stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house close to the beach

  • 5 of 5

We had a great 4th of July trip here! It's a wonderful, beachy house with easy access to the water.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

Across the street from the historic Little Chapel, Chapel Hill House is in the heart of Old Town, a short walk to the beach or bike to the grocery store.


Rates & Availability

Port Aransas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties