Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Waterfront Lake Whitney Cottage with Great Views & Water Access!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

This cozy lake cottage is the perfect getaway! Just steps away from the water with a rock beach where you can go for a swim or go fishing. Gorgeous lake views can be found from inside, on the covered back deck, and the oversized backyard.

Lake Whitney has been officially recognized as the 'Getaway Capital of Texas' by the Texas Legislature. Lake Whitney is often compared to a Texas Hill Country lake, but without all the lake traffic and overbuilt lakeshores.

Lake Whitney's 23,500 surface acres of clear blue water and 225 miles of shoreline are sure to satisfy a broad variety of interests for those with recreational interest or just 'getting away'.

Our cottage is located on the South East side with easy access from the I-35 corridor and SH 22. We are just minutes from downtown Whitney with local shops and dining. Our location is less than a 90-minute drive from most DFW metropolis locations, under an hour from Waco, and no more than 2 hours from Austin. Better yet we are within a short drive to the Red Caboose Winery in Meridian, Waco's New Mammoth Park, mountain biking at Waco's Cameron Park, which is 'nationally recognized', Clifton's historical downtown, and much more!

The cottage includes a separate bedroom with 1 king size bed and 1 full size bed. There is also a Queen size bed in an open floor living room/bedroom combo. The cottage sleeps a total of 6 people max. The living room has a large sofa, rocking chairs, and television that plays DVD's only. We do not offer cable or Wifi. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal, you just bring food and refreshments. There is a refrigerator, electric cook top and oven, pots & pans, glassware, including stemware & cups, dishes, cooking and BBQ utensils, flatware etc. There is also a microwave oven, toaster, coffee pot, and blender. It has a breakfast bar that seats four. The dinning room seats four. Please note that there is no dishwasher or washer/dryer. The bathroom includes a single sink and standup shower. We include all linens, pillows, bath towels, and beach towels for your convenience. We have also included an inside/outside CD/ radio for your listening pleasure. We also provide an assortment of DVD's as well as books to enjoy during your stay.

With the open floor plan, the living room, kitchen and dinning room all offer views of the lake through the large windows and French doors. These doors lead out to the covered back deck with Adirondack benches. Overlooking the oversized backyard where there is a charcoal BBQ grill, fire pit, table and chair set, picnic table and plenty of extra seating with a bench swing hanging from a large oak.

We are a pet-friendly residence however we do not allow pets on the furniture. There is no fenced in yard so pets will need to be on a leash while outside. A house broken pet is allowed inside (max 2 small/medium 'non-agressive breed' / E-MAIL OWNER PET DETAILS). Pet fee of $25.00.

Great views, access to the lake, and plenty of room to relax make this a great place to escape from it all!

Below is a link where you can find *Things To Do* and *Places that Rent Boats* on Lake Whitney. I would call and reserve your boat before your dates to make sure they have one available for you.

http://www.texasgetawayvacation.com/marinas-and-boat-rentals.html

http://www.texasgetawayvacation.com/things-to-do.html

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

Amenities

Whitney Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Waterfront Lake Whitney Cottage with Great Views & Water Access!
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
5

Perfect little lake cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This is such a cute little cabin and perfect for a weekend getaway. Decorated very cute and comfy beds. Wonderful little back porch to enjoy the mornings and evenings. Stocked with all the basics one needs for an enjoyable weekend. We had a couple questions upon arrival and Natalie was very quick to accommodate our requests. Incredible views of the lake. Access to the lake is a little walk down...but then you are in this little cove perfect for floating around, fishing, etc. We would definitely stay here again...Thanks for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review and we can't wait to have you stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cottage is very cozy and decorated so cute!!

  • 5 of 5

The cove is so beautiful!! To be honest, everything was just awesome!! We will be back!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Keller TX
1

Bad experience

  • 1 of 5

Although we had a great weekend and enjoyed our time as a family the trip ended with the owner not refunding our full deposit. The neighbors told her that we had 8 people staying in the house. That was not only incorrect but the owner would not discuss or believe us. It's a situation where they hold your deposit in good faith and can choose to take it if they want. We will return to vacation at Lake Whitney but not in this house or with HomeAway. It's a shame that people can be taken advantage of.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a shame that people can try to take advantage of others. We have a strict 6 person policy that these guests admitted to breaking only after they were confronted. All of our policy’s are clearly stated in the contract as well as posted in the cottage. As you can see this is our first bad review in the 3 years we have rented out our cottage. Luckily we have had great and honest renters and have always refunded their deposits in full. We would never take advantage of any of our renters as you can see by the multiple repeat guests we have. We are happy that these guests enjoyed their weekend but disappointed in this review because they know that they broke the contract.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Waco, Texas
5

Relaxing with beautiful sunsets!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time! The home is clean and decorated with a cute lake theme. The backyard has a lot of different seating and a swing with a beautiful view of the water. Thanks for a wonderful stay with gorgeous sunsets!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your sweet review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cottage on the Water

  • 5 of 5

This place is absolutely perfect for a quick getaway from Dallas. Took us 1.5 hours from Addison to get to the cottage. The view along the hillside is amazing and the property is perfect for BBQ, relaxing, fishing. Everything we needed was already at the cottage. I would highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful holiday stay

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time! Didn't do a lot but sat on the back porch, rested and enjoyed the view. It was the perfect getaway for my husband, our best friends and me. The cove had very nice swimming although I will admit the climb back up may be a bit tough for those over 60, lol. Nice neighbors and beautiful sunsets. We would love to return sometime. Owner was very quick to return my deposit when we left the place clean. Very comfy beds and kitchen was well supplied. We had a great time!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Whitney Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$950
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
*Cleaning Fee for upto 4 $75
Pet Fee $25
*Late Check Out Option 6 $50
Tax Rate 9.0%

*No more then 6 people on the property at anytime or your subject to loss of deposit and will be asked to vacate the property.
*5 - 6 people requires an additional $25 cleaning fee for a total of $100 cleaning fee.
*Late Check out is an optional Weekend Special that allows guests to check out late on Sundays at 6:00pm for an extra $50.00 or other week days if available. If you would like to check out at the normal time of 11am the fee will be removed.
*Refundable Damage Deposit will be used in event of property damage by person or pet

Check or paypal+3% accepted only. 50% of total payment plus refundable deposit of $250.00 is due to secure the property for your dates. The remaining balance is due 2 weeks before arrival. 30-day cancellation notice required for total refund.
*Check in is 3:00pm and Check out is 11:00am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties