check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Hot Tub & High Speed Wireless! Walk to the Reserve, Patio, Native Species Garden

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Two Bedrooms, Full Kitchen, Covered Patio, Surrounded by Nature

Check out a video of the property to see the Hot Tub: https://youtu.be/TRMDAiIqhF4

Our cottage features two bedrooms with a queen bed in each. There is a small bath with a shower. The vanity is in the common area, making it easier for a family to prepare for a busy day.

We recently upgraded our kitchen. The kitchen features ceramic tile countertops, modern triple sink, new refrigerator with freezer, hot plate,, toaster oven and microwave. We also have all the necessary glasses, plates, flatware, pots, pans, cooking utensils, etc.

Have coffee on our covered patio where you can relax on comfortable benches or at the table and watch the hummingbirds. Spend a rainy night in the covered hot tub. Have a bottle of wine, and watch the wind blow!

Our local manager can assist with tours to ziplines, forest canopy bridges, and coffee plantations. She is usually available..

Though the house will sleep six, we think four adults is about the maximum that will be comfortable. But the futon in the living room will be comfy for the kids.

The owner of the Quetzal's Nest is a US based tour operator with 24 years experience in Costa Rica. I can assist you with information, transportation, rental cars, or accommodations anywhere in Costa Rica>

More Details

Property Manager
Patrick Hewitt
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Patrick Hewitt

We are a married couple 'over 50' I work as a Travel Tour operator specializing in Costa Rica, It is all I have done since 1992, so I know Costa Rica well. My wife is a medical professional at a local hospital. We make our home in New Orleans, and visit Costa Rica as frequently as possible. We are enthusiastic about sharing our favorite destination with fellow travelers. .

Why Patrick Hewitt chose Puntarenas

Location is the key. You almost couldn't get closer to the reserve without a tent. Most mornings, we walk to the coffee shop outside the reserve to enjoy a latte and watch the dozens of hummingbirds gather at the feeders to compete for breakfast.

This is what Monteverde is all about. A beautiful setting, a friendly local manager, and only a short ride to all of the local area amenities.

What makes this cottage unique

We love the quiet and peaceful location. We love coffee on the covered outdoor patio. We are only ½ mile from the Continental Divide. So the wind can howl late at night! But that is all part of the rustic feel.

We love our hot tub too. This is the perfect place to recover from a long day of hiking or adventure. Our favorite time is during an evening rain. You grab a class of wine, and watch the rain fall, and the trees sway. All safe in the hot tub under the covered patio.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Hot Tub & High Speed Wireless! Walk to the Reserve, Patio, Native Species Garden
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
Slidell la USA
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

I have had the pleasure of staying at this cute little house on several occasions thru the years. I loved the homey feel,the ease of having the property manager close. Walking distance to the reserve and the beautiful nature surrounding it.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Family of 4

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place! Fully equipped kitchen with everything our family needed. However most mornings we simply took the short walk up to the cafe near the reserve entrance for coffees and pastries which we ate while watching the dozens of hummingbirds that come to the feeders every morning. (Pat's suggestion)

The wifi worked well & was fast enough for the kids to watch movies on their tablets. The house was clean and comfortable. The woman who manages the house was very friendly, and it was nice to know she was close by if we needed anything.

We booked directly with Pat through his company Costa Rica Travel Exchange which worked really well. He helped us with a couple of other aspects of our trip we hadn't thought of. He also hooked us up with an awesome zipline tour and horseback ride.

We hated to leave!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
New Orleans
5

Charming house in Monteverde

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolute blast in Monteverde.. This house is in a beautiful location just out of town, near the reserve, a hummingbird garden, a rope bridge rainforest tour. Great outdoor hot tub in a tropical paradise. Pat the owner was super nice.. Gave us easy directions and instructions, and helped us book stays in other parts of Costa Rica as well. Incredible week; can't wait to go back. Thanks Pat!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Would not recommend this for your stay.

  • 1 of 5

We are a family of five who chose this property, and regret doing so. The location is about 3km from center of city, and on very poor roads. The home was very smelly, stale bedsheets and towels. Bathroom was dirty, with ants and insects around. The bathroom flush would not work. The faucet had very luke warm water.The roof was very noisy, and the three nights we were there, no one could sleep, with constant noise of rain and heavy winds pounding the roof. Curtains would not hold in place. Most importantly, we had frequent power cuts, and WIFI, microwave, coffee maker and anything that relied on power would not work.

This is a property that is not worth staying, if you are looking to have a pleasant stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is totally unfair. This negative review is an attempt to keep us from attempting to collect for some small damage to the unit AND for the extra people they snuck in. We don't believe that Venkat R actually stayed here. Venkat R is a mega millionaire from Silicon Valley. We vetted him before check in. He could afford any house / hotel in the area. We were confused about why he wanted to jam this simple little house to capacity. In the end, we really don't know who stayed there. This was a group of people traveling with the family. We assume that if was his employees? The house was booked for five people. He showed up with a group of SEVEN, filling two SUVs. Well over our capacity. Venkat stayed elsewhere. They never complained about anything. Our manager would have been quick to respond. Most of the complaints were about things that we have no control over: He complained about the remote location. The listing clearly states that we are very close to the Biological Reserve. This is usually a selling point. We are close to the woods, but only a short drive from the town. Being close to the forest, we do see some bugs. This doesn't mean that the house isn't clean. Ants are omnipresent in the cloudforest. We have found that if we leave any food out (especially sugar), we get some ants. They are particularly active during heavy rain, when their homes are flooded. But we have never found them to be a nuisance. This is a true rainforest. There really isn't an effective way to prevent them. So you take precautions not to attract them. He complained about the bad roads. If he had done his research, he would know that the bad roads in Monteverde are legendary. The weather was very rainy and windy. Of course, I cannot fix the weather. As is the case for 95% of the homes in Costa Rica, we have a metal roof. Someone in his group didn't like the sound of the rain on the metal roof. We kind of like it. He said that "Most importantly" there were frequent power cuts. I can't control the local power grid either. It is fragile, and occasional power outages do occur. Vanket is originally from India. I would think he would be more understanding about unstable electricity. I totally disagree about the house being dirty and smelly. The house was cleaned right before check in. We have a dehumidifier running 24/7, and advise our guests to leave it on. The house is cleaned weekly, even when empty. And the toilet was working fine!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6
Holland, MI, USA
5

A very nice place to stay in Monteverde

  • 5 of 5

The house is very close to the Reserve (easily walkable). Our family of 5 had plenty of room inside of the house and great outdoor space to relax and play. We did not have a car, but relied on the bus and taxis, and we walked a lot. This worked fine, but it would be easier to get into town (a long walk) more often with a car. There are lots of opportunities for viewing wildlife from and near the house. It was a joy to work with Pat, the owner. I highly recommend this house, whether you are looking for a nice place for a getaway for 2, or to accommodate a family.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Great Stay in private Home in Monteverde

  • 4 of 5

My 17 year old daughter and her best friend joined us for a wonderful three night stay in Monteverde/Santa Elena at the Quetzal's Nest, a cute private Home only walking distance from the entrance to the Monteverde Forest Reserve. The home was well maintained, worked well for our purposes and couldn't be more convenient! The hot Tub was great too!! The Owner left great instructions for all aspects of the Home and there was also a local manager available to deal with any issues though we did not need to call during our stay.

Although it was nice to get away from TVs, computers, etc. for a few days, it was also handy to be able to connect to email just to check on things at Home over the WiFi internet signal in the House.

Only wish we could have stayed longer!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
San Jose (SJO) & Liberia (LBR)
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Bar Amigos
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Puntarenas
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Pan American
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Trapp Family
Car: recommended

The Quetzal's Nest is a small home located within a short walk of the Monteverde Cloudforest Reserve. Our garden hosts Quetzals, Mot Mots, Hummingbirds, Coatamundis, Tropical Foxes, even (once) a cougar!

The owner is a US based Costa Rica tour operator. This is our own personal hideaway. I am happy to assist you with discounted rental cars, transportation, tours, hotels in other regions of the country, along with local info. We have been in business since 1992, so I have lots of information and advice to share!

Monteverde offers the perfect combination of natural beauty and interesting people. As a matter of fact this area is almost the perfect model for nature and people coexisting harmoniously.

In the early 1950s a small group of Quaker dairy farmers from the US settled on the mountain. The Quakers, with their peaceful ways, and respect for the environment, were a perfect match for the hard working, friendly Costa Ricans already living here. Since that time, several reserves have been founded where you can walk for hours in the splendor of the cloudforest.

Many artists, researchers and educators either make their homes here or are frequent visitors. Several alternative schools, an institute for cloudforest education, a woman's arts cooperative, numerous galleries and unique giftshops illustrate the cultural experience awaiting you here.

Numerous canopy adventures (both walkways and ziplines), coffee plantations, an orchid garden, a butterfly farm, a rainforest tram, a frog zoo, a serpentarium and insectarium can also be found here.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Monteverde Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Easter Week
Apr 11 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$90
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Extra adult $20
Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $75

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Monteverde Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Vanity in main living area.
  • The bathroom is small but it has a very large shower area, along with a commode. We moved the vanity out into the living area. This way, someone can still use the vanity while someone else is using the bathroom. It works very well.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Two bedrooms. Both with Queen beds. The master bedroom is large, and runs from the front of the house, to the back. There is closet with with linen storage. There is a safe for valuables. There is also an area with a desk and chair. We have a small collection of books. We have some games as well. The smaller bedroom has a small armoire, and hooks for jackets and raincoats.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties