Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

600 Acre Private Mountain Paradise

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

7 Bedroom / 5 Bathroom with Lake, Pond, Stream and Mountain Views

******No Prom Groups. Minimum rental age is 25.****** This open floor plan country home features 6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and a large sleeping loft. The wrap around deck overlooks a lake, pond and stream and is all set in the middle of a sprawling private 600 acre wilderness. We have a open kitchen ideal for entertaining, WiFi, a great room with a large fireplace, a wrap around deck for viewing of the lake, pool and stream, a game room with a dart board, regulation pool table and ping pong table as well as a second fireplace. At the lake we have a canoe, but you are welcome to bring your own canoes or kayaks. There are water views out of almost every window to enjoy. Truly a place to unplug and enjoy time with your family, friends, and the great outdoors. So bring the family, your dog, mountain bikes, kayaks, fishing rods, hiking shoes, golf clubs, cameras and a sense of adventure - there is a lot of exploring to do. For groups larger than 24 people, there will be an additional charge of $30 per person per night added to all quotes.

More Details

Owner
White Horse Conservation
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

Amenities

Fairhope House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Bedroom Upstairs Main - 1 queen
    Bedroom Upstairs Left Rear - 1 double
    Bedroom Downstairs Right - 2 double
    Bedroom Upstairs Center - 1 double
    Bedroom Upstairs Right Rear - 4 twin/ single
    Loft Bedroom - 1 queen , 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom Downstairs Left - 2 double
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guests to provide their own sheets and towels.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

600 Acre Private Mountain Paradise
average rating of 4.875 based on 40 reviews
5

Even rain couldn't keep us down!

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What a property and what a house... Our Memorial Day weekend get together (14 adults, 14 kids) met the misfortune of lots of steady showers, but we didn't let that stop our fun. When the rain was light enough, we would get out to canoe, fish, catch salamanders, go for hikes, and enjoy the gorgeous scenery. We spotted Eastern Phoebes (living on the deck), catbirds, swallows, white breasted nuthatches, cardinals, as well as a northern water snake, and a fawn.

When the rain was heavy, we hunkered down in the house, playing cards, pool, ping pong, having nerf gun wars, reading books, and enjoying the two fireplaces. There were lots of miscellaneous toys and board games tucked in the cabinets. The great room is a wonderful place to all be together even while doing separate activities, but there's also plenty of room in the house to find privacy. Every corner you turn, you find a different little curio or vintage piece of furniture. One wardrobe was checked multiple times to see if Narnia was at the back. The faux animal skins and copper vats inspired many Game of Thrones jokes. There is wireless at the house now and a couple of us connected to it, but most us stayed blissfully offline, with no regrets.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, common spices and cooking needs, etc. Double fridges were clutch for feeding so many people. Love the quiet dishwasher and the open shelving and large pantry which made it easy to store food and cook and clean up. Bathrooms were plentiful - not every room has a full bath with shower or tub but if you're good enough friends to be staying together out in the middle of nowhere, you're good enough friends to manage taking turns with the showers, right? One note - make sure anyone you plan on putting in the sleeping loft is able to manage climbing a completely vertical ladder and getting back down. Kids love it but have to be old enough to be safe on it, and adults have to be young enough to pull themselves over the top! When you see pictures of the carpets online, you might think "musty" or "allergies", but this place was one of the cleanest I've ever stayed and had no "wet carpet" smell. I get sneezy very quickly and never did here! The owner called by phone to check in the first night and was very friendly and responsive to all my pre-trip questions. He made it very easy!

Thanks for such a great stay! We loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Liz. Thank you for such a nice review! I'm sorry that the weather wasn't more cooperative for you, but with the down pours you did get to witness the natural phenomena of just how fast a little creek can rise! And we appreciate you noting how clean the house was. We have a great care taker that takes a lot of pride in her work so I'll be sure to pass along your note on that. Thank you for enjoying our home and we hope you'll stay with us again. Josh and Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

Incredible Place....Great Owners

  • 5 of 5

First of all thank you Josh & Michael for helping our retreat come together effortlessly and make it the best ever with your very responsive (within minutes usually) answers and helpful guidance that helped us coordinate the activities and menu (love Bingmans meats) for 26 people & 5 dogs from 4 states. We have been having a get together at different locations (usually staying at various hotels etc) for the past 10 years as our group is very extended from DC to Ohio. We have been wanting a place everyone can drive too easily that was big enough for all of us to be under one roof yet with enough outdoor activities to keep everyone happy (not easy to do) - from golf to hiking to swimming to grilling and making smores by the bonfire. We literally found the perfect place and the nicest owners who helped us with finding a great local butcher who cut us the freshest meats and delicious burgers for our dinners and introduced us to a local Buffalo Farm where there are literally hundreds of wild buffalo roaming over huge fields - the kids could not believe how big they were!! I probably reached out 5 times with questions of the owners and they always got back with a response in minutes. The house is really big and well laid out and at night the game room was in full use to the wee hours. We went on group hikes everyday, the kids fished and the dogs thought they discovered paradise. On the final night we had a big bonfire under the most amazing star filled sky and made smores till marshmallows came out of our ears. We had an amazing, amazing vacation at your home and we cannot thank you enough! We cannot wait to return next year.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello. Thank you for writing the nicest review of our home! It's nice to hear that your group captured and enjoyed the whole essence of what our home and property has to offer, and venturing out to the buffalo farm was so cool to hear about! For your information, Bingmans also ships. And their sausage recipe has now been handed down through 3 generations of the Bingmans family. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review, and look forward to hosting your group again next year. Josh and Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful home but not close to five stars for the cost.

  • 2 of 5

The home is in a beautiful location with a spectacular old growth forest, well kept property, a mountain stream, and a spring-fed pond for swimming. The panoramic view from the large deck was gorgeous. The kitchen was very well stocked with cooking utensils and sundries. There were plenty of beds for a large family get-together. There was lots of easily accessible wood for the fireplaces.

However, the home furnishings and utilities were a throw-back to the 1970's - very appropriate for a hunting party, less so for a family reunion. The internet connection was a throw-back to the 1990's. Also, there was no heat in the lower bathroom and counter tops were minimal at best. The canoe had a hole and the kayak was not to be found. There was a pile of electrical trash next to the house which would present a problem to any young children. The damper to the downstairs fireplace was broken, which we learned of when the house filled with smoke. The kitchen had a mouse.

The owners threw in bedding and towels at no additional cost but you need to make the beds. After the addition of fees, taxes, etc., the final cost was 40% more than the listed per night cost. A beautiful home but not worth that amount. My family has been doing reunions for over twenty years across the eastern United States. We have consistently found large homes of equal value for one half the cost.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joel, We are so sorry you did not find our home up to your standards. Unfortunately we do not have control of the extra taxes, insurance and fees charged by VRBO and the State of PA. Due to our remote location, we also cannot get hardwired internet so our only option for WiFi is fairly recent technology by way of a Verizon Wireless Jetpack 4G LTE Mobile Hotspot. And last, we were unaware that the electrician, after upgrading the lighting in the game room, had left the old lights and materials outside. Had you contacted us we could have had it removed quickly. Again we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards, Josh
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Vaccation

  • 5 of 5

This property is stunning and very well maintained. Wherever you look all you see are stunning views. During our rental weekend, the daffodils were in full bloom everywhere and it was a sight to behold. It is the perfect place to spend your time reconnecting with nature and your family away from the hustle and bustle of life. The house is well stocked with amenities for outdoor activities like fishing and boating. You can go on hikes. There is a charming stream that flows through the property. There is a fabulous pool right upfront,. As it was April and the water was cold we were unable to go for a swim in it, but the kids had a great time dipping their foot in it and playing in the water..The kitchen is tidy and has all things you would need. Its a perfect getaway. We look forward to coming back...

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Saji, Thank you for your very nice review. We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed our home and we're especially glad that you got to be there when the daffodils were out. It really is amazing to see the thousands of daffodils when they're in full bloom. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Josh & Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hamburg, PA
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 25+ adults (ages 26-62) rented this property for 3 days in late March / early April. The photos do not do the property justice, especially the privacy and spaciousness of both the home and the land surrounding it. Upon arrival we found all of the bedding, bathrooms, and kitchen to be extremely clean and in good order. The owners were extremely responsive and helpful, quick to answer any questions including those asked the day we were to arrive at the property. From a courtesy call on our arrival day to make sure everything was okay, to allowing us to take our time during departure since no one else was coming in that day (other than the cleaning crew).

The interior of the cabin is filled with treasures that sparked conversations throughout the weekend. The wide open great room with the fireplace and the basement game room with fireplace provided plenty of space for everyone even though it rained during most of our stay. The upstairs bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect for our older guests, and the younger guests enjoyed the thrill of climbing the hay ladder into the sleeping loft. We were amazed at the number of fishing rods and outdoor items (soccer balls, volley ball, bad mitten rackets, football, croquet set, etc...) that the owners provided in the downstairs hallway. The amount of cut, dried, and stacked firewood well outlasted the fires we had going all weekend. As the owners noted, cell service is spotty, however we tested a Verizon Jetpack that worked well.

To say the kitchen was well stocked would be an understatement, it had a plethora of pots, pans, mixing bowls, muffin pans, large stock pots, and the Keurig and regular drip coffee maker kept all of our guests happy and caffeinated. The dishwasher looked brand new, and the two fridges were very clean and provided plenty of space for all of our food. Just a note, one fridge has a top freezer with ice maker, and the other fridge is a full free standing unit with about 5-6 shelves (no freezer).

A few of our braver guests made the polar plunge into the spring fed pond, and we enjoyed fishing in the larger pond. The true remoteness of this property is amazing. Standing outside on the full wrap around deck you are instantly at peace as the only sound is the creek and wind blowing through the mountainside. I highly recommend making the trip up to rocking chair ridge and enjoying the beauty of the surrounding property.

We cannot wait to visit this property again in the near future!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steve, We're glad you enjoyed your time at our home and happy that you saw everything that we see in the property when we're there. Thanks so much for the terrific review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Josh
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
State College
5

We make this an annual retreat destination!!

  • 5 of 5

This property is so perfect! We have a large group of 20 people and spend a weekend every year out here enjoying the breathtaking beauty of the region. It's quite rare to find a place that has a lake, natural swimming pond, and creek running right beside each other. Sitting up on the balcony with the fire crackling inside is the most peaceful thing - I HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone else looking to escape and get away for a bit!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Spud, It was good to have you back again this year, and weather to the other extreme from last! Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you next year. Josh
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Somerset County Airport
Nearest Barpub
9 Miles
Berlin
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Indian Lake Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Somerset
Nearest Restaurant
20 Miles
Jean Bonnet Tavern
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Seven Springs / Hidden Valley Ski Resort
Car: recommended

We are ideally situated between the shores and golf course at Indian Lake and the hip and trendy antiquing area of Bedford and the fabulous Bedford Springs Hotel. We are a short drive to a variety of other attractions including Hidden Valley and Seven Springs Ski Resorts, Bedford Springs Golf Courses, Laurel Hill State Park, Glade Pike Winery, Pittsburgh Steelers Training Camp, Idlewild Amusement Park and Soak Zone, Stony Creek Shooting Center, Flight 93 Memorial, Indian Lake Marina Boat Rentals, historic and now very trendy Bedford, and many more wonderful attractions.

Our property is located on over 500 acres of private land where you can hike, bike, fish, swim or just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of this exclusive mountain hideaway.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fairhope House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas / New Years
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
Presidents Week
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
July 4th
Jun 29 2018 - Jul 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 9 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 16 2018 - Nov 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
$895
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$695
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $275 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Reservations are not confirmed until a signed lease agreement and photo copy of drivers license are received along with full payment. For groups over 24 people, there will be an additional charge of $30 per person per night.Please note our cancellation policy is 30 days for standard rental periods and 45 days for holiday times like Memorial & Labor Day Weekends, 4th of July, Presidents Week, Spring Break, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. Minimum rental age is 25 years old. If you have any questions or special requests, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties