Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Montmartre - Abbesses -View on Paris - Architect Design

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 258 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2, ask for 3)

When we have a few days available in the next 2 weeks, or receive a late cancellation, we would rather be MAKING SOMEBODY HAPPY by renting at a VERY LOW RATE than leaving the apartment unoccupied.

The studio is located on a charming square, the “Place Emile Goudeau'. In 1920-40, our building was the furnished “hotel du Poirier” (Pear tree hotel). Many famous guests lived in (MODIGLIANI, Albert CAMUS, Max JACOB …). PICASSO and other artists lived across in the “BATEAU LAVOIR”.

The view of the studio embraces Paris roofs on the south. One can see “Notre Dame”, “Les invalides”, the Montparnasse tower, the “Museum of modern Art” in les Halles and many more sites.

On the left is the Abbesses district, on the right is the Old Montmartre village. The square is planted with big Spanish Oak trees. The area is very safe and calm.

We are close to the fruit and vegetable stand featured in the famous movie 'Le Destin d’Amélie Poulain.'. The Abbesses subway station is 2 mn walk. Most interesting places in Paris may be reached in 15mn.

The studio was designed by my wife who is an architect. It has been entirely renovated in January 2006. It is 270 sq foot. It has a perfectly equiped kitchen, open by a bar on the studio. Located at the third floor, it is very bright and its 2 large windows let the sun in.

The furniture is typical, vintage wooden French furniture.

The apartment comfortably hosts 2 guests. On request, a third guest may sleep on a single bed that can be added for periods under 10 days.

We are living on the fourth floor, just above. We are here if you need help, but do not worry, we will not be intrusive.

As a bonus, Phone calls to land lines in France, and to US, Canada and australia are generaly free. It is also true for more than 50 countries. More over, calls to cell phones towards specific countries (often US & Canada) may also be free. Ask us for detail as it may vary with time and policies of operators.

Just a point, important to us. When the studio is not occupied by my son, we rent the apartment on a short-term basis because customers are mainly foreigners. We enjoy meeting foreign people and believe this is a way to meet nice people as well as getting some return on the apartment. We want people to enjoy their stay as much as possible.

Here is one of the last mail we received from one of our guests:

Bonsoir Jean Noel, many thanks for the superb vacation primarily due to your lovely apartment and the spectacular location.

We really enjoyed the Montmartre experience and its lively street scene. Again thank you for your wonderful hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

John MilXXX

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

J'ai bien reçu le remboursement du déposit. Je vous en remerçie. Les filles ont bien aimé leur séjour. L'appartement répondait parfaitement à leurs besoins. Elles ont appréçié l'accueil. Elles ont rencontré plusieurs nouveaux amis. Elles me disent que l'endroit est très bien et qu'il est situé dans un très jolie quartier. Je retiens votre adresse si jamais je vais à Paris.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Montmartre Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 258 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , A Single Bed can be added on demand
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Notes:
DVD-Divx-CD player, Fully equipped Kitchen, Bathroom has a Nice Shower, but No Bath, 25 Square Meters/270 Square Feet, Sleeps One to Two People (queen-size bed) for 2, Third Floor in a Four-story Building, Traditional Oak Wooden Floor, Two Large Windows plus One Smaller (all noise proof), Kitchen is open in the living room through a bar, the Building has No Lift as most building in Montmartre, Baby Bed and Toys available on request, DSL internet access through Wifi (wifi card may be rented)

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Montmartre - Abbesses -View on Paris - Architect Design
average rating of 4.7 based on 44 reviews
5

Always a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at your place twice now, in June 2015 and recently, in June 2017, and we have loved it, and we hope to come back again! We felt right at home, and everything you need to cook meals, and relax is in the apartment. Having the washer/dryer was perfect for us too, as we used it frequently. The neighborhood of Montmartre is safe and its a great base to explore all of Paris, and its very close to all transit, metro and bus. There are many wonderful things in and around Paris, and the neighborhood of Montmartre is like a village on the hill. It's a historic neighborhood that has great stairs and hills, so there is no need to go work out at a gym. We slept well every night, and the bed was very comfortable. There are so many places to buy fresh food, small grocers that are friendly and helpful, and also a pharmacy very close by the apartment. Communication with Jean Noel is professional and he is available if you need him. We also received our deposit back very promptly both times we have stayed. We had another great stay in your apartment, Merci beaucoup Jean Noel!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Like staying here! Great location. If you like walking and exploring this is a great area!

  • 4 of 5

We liked staying at padonou apartment, close to metro, train stations, food, and everything Paris and its neighborhoods has to offer. Merci beaucoup!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent location to explore Montmartre area

  • 4 of 5

Small studio. Perfect for single person or a couple. Located on historic square where Modern Art was born. Close to restaurants, shops, cafes, etc. Managers of apartment very accessible, helpful. It's an old building so we were asked to take shoes off in evening so as to not disturb neighbors below us. Wish the people on the 4th floor above us had gotten the memo! Aside from that would recommend. Again, you couldn't ask for a more convenient location.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Marc, Thanks for your kind review and nice to hear that you would recommend the apartment. It is indeed perfect for a couple and in an excellent location. We contacted the people on the 4th floor, they are very nice and were sorry for the annoyance. They insured they will be careful. Hope to host you agian in Paris!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The apartment was just as advertised and even better

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was just as advertised, with the exception of the immediate neighbourhood which was way better than words can describe.

Check-in was very convenient and easy with very clear instructions. Service and response was very prompt and extremely well organised, everything well described and instructions provided. What can i say, i loved the efficiency of the process.

The wow factor of the apartment is definitely the location and the view, i would love to stay again when visiting.

Thank you for an amazing experience and a place we called home for a little while

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. Nice to know you found the apartment to be just as advertised and in a great location. The neighborhood is indeed fantastic! Montmartre remains like a village in Paris. Hope to host you again in Paris for another amazing experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

great location, but small

  • 3 of 5

I enjoyed my stay at this property as a whole. I especially liked the neighborhood, which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants, and is a short walk to Sacre Coeur (and the Moulin Rouge). I spent a lot of time on the very efficient Metro to get around the rest of Paris, but i really liked and like this area. The owner was prompt with replies and quite reliable and available. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and towels clean. The apartment was a little old, but mostly clean. I loved the large windows, though the view is partially obstructed. There was a small fridge adequate for drinks and some groceries and it was well stocked with plates, glasses, etc. The bathroom, and especially the shower, was small, and the bathroom sink equally as small (i hit my head several times when brushing my teeth). I asked to check out an hour later than specified because of my afternoon flight, and it seemed an overly complicated process (and expense) for what i thought was a simple request, so i ended up leaving by checkout time and walked around the area with my bags in tow. Should i return to Paris, i'd probably look for a different place to stay in the same area, but i wouldn't be unhappy to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Floyd, Nice to know you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment to be clean and the bed very comfortable. It is indeed located in a great area. Thanks for mentioning you found our service to be prompt, reliable and available. We always accept late check out when the studio is free. Late check out is always complicated to organize when asked later than 24 hours before. We are limited as the cleaning company invoices any scheduled clean when cancelled less than 24 h in advance. The apartment is advertised as a studio. Parisian old buildings often provide small bathrooms. We hope to host you again on your next visit. Do ask us advice on larger apts we manage. Sincerely, Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Wonderful sunny apartment

  • 5 of 5

we tremendously enjoyed this apartment as we had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. The view of Paris was very nice and the room was often pleasantly filled with sun and fresh air. The location was convenient to metro, food etc. Monmartre is our favorite area to stay in and the owner was very easy to deal with. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Sacre coeur
Nearest Point of Interest
Montmartre vineyard
Nearest Point of Interest
Moulin rouge cabaret
Nearest Point of Interest
Abesses trendy area
Nearest Point of Interest
Rue lepic fresh market
Nearest Point of Interest
Sacre coeur garden
Nearest Point of Interest
Abesses subway station
Nearest Point of Interest
Moulin de la galette

Montmartre combines the atmosphere of an Old Village as well as Trendy Shops and Restaurants, Many Artists and Movie Stars live in the district, Climbing up the hill, you will find a lot of small streets with Wonderful Views on Paris, Charming Stairs and Small or Gorgeous Houses, Look for the Montmartre Vineyard, the Square "Rene Clement" where nature is purposely left alone to develop, Walk to "Place du Tertre" where artists will offer to draw your portrait, Going down "rue des Abbesses" you will discover Shops, Cafes, and Clothing Stores, "Rue Lepic" there is a Nice Market, Wine Shops, the Cheese Shop was rated n-¦ 3 in France, Bakeries, Charcuteries, Subway Station "Abbesses" (2mn walking) will lead you to the Center of Paris quickly, Champs-elysees is only a 10 minutes subway ride, Eiffel Tower 15 minutes as well as Le Marais, Les Halles, and finally Saint Germain would be 20 minutes

Photos

Rates & Availability

Montmartre Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
MID July August
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$86
$508
$1,764
 
 
HIGH Autumn 1
Aug 29 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$108
$635
$1,905
 
 
High Autumn2
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$108
$635
$1,905
 
 
LOW NOV
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$86
$508
$1,764
 
 
HIGH Christmas
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 5 2018
4 night minimum stay
$96
$572
$1,764
 
 
LOW Winter
Jan 6 2018 - Feb 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$86
$508
$1,764
 
 
MID March
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$92
$540
$1,764
 
 
HIGH Spring1
Mar 29 2018 - Apr 30 2018
4 night minimum stay
$108
$635
$1,905
 
 
HIGH Spring 2
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
$108
$635
$1,905
 
 
HIGH Spring 3
Jun 1 2018 - Jul 14 2018
4 night minimum stay
$108
$635
$1,905
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$82
$529
$1,882
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $47.04

- We may accept 3 days stays : simply send us a mail for 4 days and add actual dates in the comment.

- A mail with further details & instructions about your booking will be sent with confirmation of your booking.
• Electricity, heating is included (not included only in case of monthly rental).
• Full end of stay cleaning included (includes Linen&Towels)
• Internet included
• Phone is free to many destinations (often US, Canada landlines & cells please ask details)
• City tax included on behalf of Paris city.

- Tax/Handling charges will depend on payment way

- Rates may change at any time. Rates vary depending on season, nbr of guests if applicable, occupation & owner.

- Damage protection will be requested with 2nd and last payment

- Our cancelation policy might differ from that of VRBO/HomeAway, please contact us directly to know more.

- Note that this site automatic estimated quote system calculates rents in a basic way : it may result in higher quote for 6 days than for 7 days or other discrepancies. Therefore we systematically send a detailed quote with description, process & photos via mail.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties