Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Our Starfish Palace - Ground floor Sugar Beach condo- Where Wishes Do Come True

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,482 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bathroom ground floor condo directly on beach

Have your wishes come true at Starfish Palace in St. Croix. Do you love beautiful beaches and stunning sunrises and sunsets? Sugar Beach is the place for you! Why just have a view of the sea when you can be directly ON the beach? We are ground floor-ON the beach!!! Just 3 steps off the gallery ( Caribbean name for the expansive 30 ft. by 10 ft. covered area to enjoy dining and lounging) and you are in the sand.

Start your day with a beautiful sunrise you can see from your comfortable king size bed and your day in paradise only gets BETTER … Coffee on the gallery with the sun rising over Buck Island, palm trees swaying in the breeze. The day is yours to enjoy the way you want - relaxing on the beach in a hammock or lounge chair. Take a swim or snorkel (we have masks and snorkels for our guests use). Kayaks and Zayaks are free to use for our guests also. Our gorgeous pool is waiting for you to take a refreshing dip with beautiful setting of an original sugar mill. There is shade for that respite from the sun and lounge chairs a plenty.

Hungry? We have a full kitchen with all needed appliances and utensils. Don't feel like cooking? No Problem, there are two excellent restaurants, one on either side of us. Seini's is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and Breezez has been said to have the "best Happy Hour" on the island along with wonderful food. Missing fast food? McDonalds, KFC, Subway and Dominos are within walking distance along with a couple of grocery stores.

We have a 55" television with DVD player in the living room and a 28" TV with DVD player in the Guest bedroom aka "Starfish bedroom", (twin beds that we are happy to convert into a comfortable king bed). I pod player, CD player and and radios are all here too, for your enjoyment. We also have free satellite TV (Dish) free local calling, and free WiFi.

The Master bath has been completely updated. Large shower with dual shower heads, along with new vanity and great lighting. The guest bath has a tub with a shower, new mirrors and lighting, along with hair dryers. Plenty of towels and beach towels for our guests. There is a washer and dryer in unit for your convenience. We try to think of all the things we appreciate when we travel. Our aim is make this your BEST vacation!

With ceiling fans in every room and a constant ocean breeze you probably won't want to use the central air when you can enjoy the sounds of the sea. You will LOVE being lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the ocean waves lapping on the beach….

St. Croix has so much to offer. History with wonderful tours and museums, including the abundant sugar mills. Tropical Rain Forest, don't miss LEAP (a wood working shop that uses only fallen mahogany from the island for beautiful souvenirs) and the beer drinking pig in the rainforest! There is the Cruzan Rum Factory tours, Tide Pools, Point Udall (the most eastern point of the United States), The Botanical Gardens, and Fort Christiansted. Great shopping in Christiansted and Fredericksted along with wonderful restaurants and art galleries. There are numerous beautiful beaches, spectacular scuba diving, wonderful snorkeling (the picture of my husband with conch shell and the large starfish was taken while snorkeling right here in front of our condo), horseback riding on the beach or in rain forest, and for something different there is Bioluminescent Tours at one of only 6 bays in the world!!! St. Croix is only USVI with a casino! Wanna go for a fun day of sailing and snorkeling? Buck Island sailing and snorkeling is a Must!

After a wonderful fun filled day relax in the gallery with a refreshing beverage. What will tomorrow bring???

Make a WISH on a STARFISH - SWEET DREAMS

REMEMBER: There is NO passport required for U.S. residents at St. Croix!!!

Come to the tropical paradise of our "Starfish Palace" at Sugar Beach Condominiums, Christiansted, St. Croix

More Details

Property Manager
Don and Diana Henderson
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 7, 2018

Why Don and Diana Henderson chose Estate Golden Rock

We have traveled to almost every island in the Caribbean, and liked some things on each island, but on St. Croix we found more of what we were looking for. St. Croix has great snorkeling, scuba diving and beaches, is not overcrowded and more laid back. My wife had always dreamed of a condo on ground floor directly on the beach where she could go to sleep listening to the waves on the beach and wake up and step out of her condo and be on the beach. This vacation condo gave us all of this and more.

What makes this condo unique

This condo has a great pool, large gallery to eat and relax in, and central air in case you need it. We love the open design of the condo, from our master bedroom we can open the double doors to the gallery and the double doors to the living room.

Amenities

Estate Golden Rock Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1482 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large Shower With Dual Shower Heads
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Master Bath Has Large Walk In Shower With Dual Shower Heads Guest Bath Has Tub With Shower and Separate Vanity Room
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom With King Bed Guest Bedroom With Twin Beds (Can Be Converted To King)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Our Starfish Palace - Ground floor Sugar Beach condo- Where Wishes Do Come True
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
5

The condo was wonderful; steps from the beach!!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was wonderful exactly as in the pictures, it was great being on the first floor with beach access steps off the gallery. We had a wonderful stay; Diana and Don were wonderful. Diana sent a packet of info before our stay which helped so much since this was our first time to St. Croix. After we arrived they had a notebook full of additional information. There was nothing additional we needed during our stay they provided so many extras which helped as well because you do not have to pack as much. The staff at the condo was great, very friendly. Very nice onsite pool if you want, we were at beaches instead of the pool though beautiful beaches. Every morning I had coffee and sat on the gallery and watched the sun come up, truly beautiful and relaxing. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you Diana and Don for helping make our stay so wonderful!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed St. Croix, Sugar Beach and Starfish Palace!! It is our “Happy Place” and always happy to hear when someone enjoyed it as much as we do. We do hope you will be able to come again and enjoy yourselves. Nothing like enjoying a beautiful sunrise on the gallery with a cup of coffee. Wonderful way to begin your day! Then let the fun begin... Diana & Don
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nicely kept condo with view of the ocean.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Starfish Palace. The place was clean, bright and welcoming. It was extremely well equipped, including for excursions to other beaches; callers, ice packs, and such. The kitchen was well stocked and more than served the needs for our simple meals. It was set up wonderfully to house two couples or a couple and two others (beds separate). The place is close to Christiansted, but really nothing is too far on the island so it served as a wonderful home base. Our only negative was the invasion of the Sargassum. Not sure how long it will stick around, but at this point if someone chooses this location, Sugar Beach in general, hoping to walk out their door and enjoy the beach and ocean they will be disappointed. In the afternoon and evening the water is murky and the smell and piles of dried Sargassum does not lend to hanging around. If you plan on visiting other beaches, then this place works, but could probably find someplace cheaper that is not right on the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you liked our condo and enjoyed your stay. We always try to keep it equipped and set up the way we would want it. We were there four weeks ago when the Sargassum grass hit our normally beautiful beach at St. Croix and many other islands in the Caribbean, we called you and informed you of this and offered you a full refund if you wished not to come. This is the first time in the three years we have owned Starfish Palace that sargassum has invaded our beach and glad it is almost all gone at this time. We hope you will be our guest again in the future so you can fully enjoy our beautiful beach and crystal clear water. The Hendersons
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
5

Condo was very nice

  • 5 of 5

5 Stars for the condo! It was a very clean/nice unit. Also, very quiet, not really seeing many people. The condo had just about anything you could need and then some. We only had to buy dish soap and paper towels, but that was it. Housekeeping was scheduled to come one time during stay, but actually came several times during the week. The only notable issues in the condo were ants in the kitchen. Nothing different than most of us deal with from time to time.

The ocean out front was full of sea grass, so we did not snorkel. However, I believe this was due to time of year?

Also, highly recommend renting a car, (and gps) not much within walking distance. The one restaurant that is walking distance, was very disappointing. The food and atmosphere definitely lacking. Forget happy hour, the few people there, I assumed where regulars, were not friendly at all. Seriously, do not think they even greeted each other when joining the bar next to each other. However, to be fair, they were undergoing new mgmt.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your 5 Star rating. We apologize for finding ants in the kitchen. We are aware some renters are not as careful as we are about not leaving food out, and that is a calling card to ants. We do try to take precautions for this by having a scheduled once a month exterminator come. Sorry the sea grass was a put off to your snorkeling. It is the time of year for it but had you swam out past it you would have found an array of sea creatures. We have seen stingray, eagle rays, conch, lobster, turtles, a multitude of beautiful fish, and our beloved Large Starfish. There are kayaks available to our guests also. Hope you can visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice condo

  • 5 of 5

Great location to everything. Plus to see sunrise right out the back door over ocean. Nice being right on beach. Unit had everything to make a comfortable stay

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Starfish Palace! Thank you for your review. It is appreciated. If we can help you with a stay with us again we would love to have you stay at our place in Sunny St. Croix!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great condo, quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Starfish Palace was perfect

beach right at your door

spent 10 days with another couple and had plenty of room and seating

loved the sound of the ocean just a few feet away

spent the mornings and evenings on the porch

good sun on the beach with shade if you needed it

snorkeling was good and saw many different types of fish

good access to grocery stores and grilled at the pool

Breezes and the Golden Rail served great food

Christiansted was close, easy to park and walk

Dove Cain Bay many mornings. Rented gear from Cain Bay Divers.

Great little dive shop

Our trip was fabulous and will return to Starfish Palace again

Thanks for a super vacation rental

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Starfish Palace! We do try to think of all of the things that we appreciate when we visit other places. Let us know if we can have you as our guests again. Don & Diana
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
middletown, ohio, usa
5

In love with the Starfish Palace!

  • 5 of 5

This being my first trip to St. Croix, I wasn't sure what to expect besides what the pictures showed. The condo was beautiful, and being ground floor it was very convenient for hulling suit cases, beach bags, etc, as well as just having easy access to the front door and the back- which opens right to the beach! The porch was my favorite place to sit in the mornings and evenings- whenever I didn't feel like kicking off my flip-flops and and walking straight out to relax on the beach. The bedrooms were gorgeous! I stayed in the guest bedroom (the Starfish room), and the twin beds were converted into a comfortable king size. Plenty of space for all our stuff, and a view of the Sugar Mill outside my window. The main living area had a large flat screen and wifi, as well as a full kitchen- complete with blender for tropical drinks! We didn't spend much time in the pool- altho it was beautiful- because all we wanted to do was spend time in ocean! The condo provided snorkeling equipment, and kayaks are available to guest. Being a Scuba Diver for many years, I can honestly say that just snorkeling in front of the condo I saw many different types of fish I haven't seen elsewhere in the Caribbean- including a massive starfish! Buck Island can be seen from the porch, but we were so thrilled with our own reef right outside, that we never went. Christiansted is a five minute drive from Sugar Beach and is great for shopping and dinning, however there are also wonderful restaurants right by the condo. A particularly fun thing to do is watch the Mako Jumbies and fire dancers perform at The Palms on monday nights- great food, music and dancing!

The Sugar Beach staff was very accommodating, and happy to help with any of our needs and questions.

All-in-all, the trip was amazing, and I am already planing my next stay at The Starfish palace!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are our first review and we appreciate your response! So happy you enjoyed Starfish Palace as much as we do. Love to have you return soon and often! Don & Diana
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Breezes to the east and Seini's to the west
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

25% Deposit, Balance Due 14 days before arrival date
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties