Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Casa Piedra/Terlingua Rentals

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Casa Piedra is an adobe casita located in the heart of the Terlingua Ghostown. It boasts a king size bed, indoor bathroom with rain shower, mini fridge, sink, Keurig coffee maker, coffee and tea station. Enjoy the outdoor rain shower while gazing at the stars. The private patio is the perfect place to relax and gaze at the Chisos Mountains. All linens and towels are provided. Free Wi-fi and on-site parking.

Missy / Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018


Terlingua Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Free Wifi
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • limited accessibility


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Casa Piedra/Terlingua Rentals
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews

Romantic escape on the edge of Big Bend

  • 5 of 5

Casa Piedra is centrally located in Terlingua ghost town. It’s on the small side, but perfect for a couple. The house is well appointed and comfortable. Linens, towels, soap and shampoo/conditioner are provided. A selection of excellent books is included bedside. There is also a mini fridge and coffee maker (including K-cups and sugar), though no stove or microwave. But not to worry, there are a couple restaurants within a short walking distance up and down the road and a few more a short drive away. The owners, or rather Missy, their property manager, is very responsive. If you are looking at this property, you probably already know that there is a shortage of decent accommodations in the vicinity of the Big Bend. If Casa Piedra is available during the dates of your visit to the area and you are not looking to camp out, go ahead and book it, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was our pleasure to host you and hope to host you for your next visit to the Big Bend! Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX

Unplug, snuggle, relax

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to unplug and unwind for a weekend getaway. Loved the accommodations, owner very quickly responsive to the small hiccup with water temp. Would love to stay again sometime!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our goal is that our guests have a pleasant time! But we're realistic too and know that unforeseen things do happen from time to time, so we try to be as prepared as possible to get them taken care of as quickly as they come to our attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful place, in a great location. It fit our needs perfectly. After spending three days camping on South Rim it was a nice place to sit, relax and do nothing. Loved being able to walk through town and get great food at the Starlight Theater and coffee at the walk up café. I give it a five because it was a great stay and we will be back. I do hope that the showers have warmer water next time we are there. It was a minor inconvenience, but not enough to ruin the great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute Place

  • 2 of 5

Casa Piedra was a cute place and had a nice bed. There was no hot water and very little water pressure. A windstorm came through on our last night and blacked out the entire town. The room got hot quick and when we called the owner, she said it was not her fault the power went out and she would not offer anything....candles, a refund, no suggestions, but wait and see. We insisted on a refund because we could not stay with no electricity, and after much heated discussion she offered a 50% discount off that night. She said this happens all the time and she can't be responsible. Since we were told she had no idea when it would be restored, we left and she did refund 50% the next day. We felt we deserved the full night refund since we had to drive 80 miles to find another place. If you decide to rent this, know that the power could go out and the owner is not willing to take any responsibility or offer anything to help you stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Lori. I was not made aware of low water pressure or lack of hot water prior to your leaving, and these are not issues guests have ever reported. The power went out because of a large windstorm. When you called very soon after to explain that the room was already hot, I was surprised as the air outside had cooled down immensely and a cool breeze was blowing. I explained that the electricity usually only goes out for a couple hours. I have no control over the town's electricity, but I have lived in Terlingua for nearly a decade and I have a pretty good idea how long it takes to return. When I suggested going outside to enjoy the cool desert air while waiting for the electricity to come on, you threatened to write a bad review and told me I ran a bad business. I offered you a 50% refund and said I could send it the next day. Two hours after you called, the electricity was back on. The desert is a beautiful place, full of mystery and I'm sorry you did not enjoy it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute little place.

  • 4 of 5

The first night there was a tremendous rainstorm, very leaky but did not ruin our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Interesting adventure

  • 4 of 5

Terlinqua Ghost Town is unique, to say the least. Casa Piedra was an interesting property, probably one of the nicer ones to rent there. It is conveniently located in walking distance to the Starlight Theater/Saloon and the Expresso breakfast cafe, both great places to eat. It was a good location for exploring Big Bend NP area. Be sure to get to the casita in daylight because roads are confusing and not particularly well marked and

cell coverage is spotty, at best. (It is almost across from the old cemetery.) The outdoor shower was wonderful. The outside fire pit space was close to the hot, dusty road and not particularly appealing. The stars are amazing at night. We were well informed by the owners for location, check--in, etc and had no problems. Bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the books.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $25

Bookings canceled at least 14 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund.
Bookings canceled at least 7 days before the start of the stay will receive a 50% refund.
Bookings canceled after the 7 days before the start of the stay will receive a 0% refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties