Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 1
Space 613 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WELCOME TO SUNSET CENTRAL! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

At Sunset Central YOU ARE SO CLOSE YOU CAN FEEL THE OCEAN! As soon as you walk into SUNSET CENTRAL you take a deep breath and start to smile. You are seeing the incredible ocean view and hearing the waves. SUNSET CENTRAL IS as nice as you hoped for. Why?

The old Cliché, "VIEW, VIEW, VIEW". We have of one of the BEST OCEAN VIEWS in Maui. You don't think about it but "NOT" having a pool, or complex lounge chair seating, or tall lanai rails, or anything in your ocean view, makes it that much better. The view from inside the condo is great and the view from our lanai is almost 180 degrees with no obstructions. We have the perfect combination for a ROMANTIC stay. A quiet and quaint location, off the main road, stunning views, and soothing Pacific Ocean surround sound. There is NO EQUAL to being GROUND FLOOR directly on the ocean. No walking around your building(s), or down stairs and through hallways, or across streets to get to the ocean. Carry your chair 25 feet to the ocean edge and watch a 180 degree sunset. Does the drink you brought with you need a refill or you forgot your camera? No problem. A few steps back to get it. Don't want to move 25 feet to the ocean edge? Just watch a sunset, sunrise, or the ocean from your very large lanai. The lanai has a ceiling fan for added comfort. Do you want your condo to be on a beach for sunbathing, snorkeling or just plain walking on it? We have a new upgraded stair access to our little semi-private “Rainbow Beach”. Access to the beach is easy 90% of the time. All this while still being just minutes from all of the great things to do on the famous West Maui coast.

SUNSET CENTRAL faces directly West providing WONDERFUL SUNSET shows. During the year the sunsets move back and forth from the islands of Lanai and Molokai. What a sight. Words can’t describe what it is like watching sunsets from your condo right on the beautiful West Maui OCEAN EDGE and with the sounds of the ocean. It is fun even when the sunsets are not spectacular.


DECOR: Our goal was to make the family/dining room feel as large as possible even though it is larger than usual for Maui. Our tv/stereo and our dining table set are on one wall. The sofa sleeper and recliner are set up on the other wall. The result is a large open area in the middle of the room. We think we accomplished our goal. We also added mirrors on one wall. These make the room feel larger as well as providing an ocean view from almost any direction you are facing.

SERVICE: We only have one condo to manage so we give 100% of our attention to you and no amount of attention is too much. Even though we can easily accommodate 4 people in our large condo we only allow a max. of 2. This is to minimize the wear and to help make sure our condo is in good shape when you arrive. We have a large separate bedroom with a CA king size bed. A separate bedroom is nice compared to a studio that has that hotel type feeling. We do have a queen size sofa sleeper in the living room.

IMPROVEMENTS: Bathroom remodel in completed changing from tub to walk in shower etc. New Smart TV in Family Room. Netflix available. New TV in the bedroom. Changed phone service that allows calls out to anywhere in the U.S. or Canada. We upgraded the FAN on our LANAI. This adds hours per day and night that are comfortable on the lanai. We also vented our washer/dryer unit to outside. Major feature! Less heating inside your condo. When you have a washer and dryer you are not spending part of your vacation watching your clothes in a community facility.

POOL: Our pool is not oceanfront. See our photo. The pool would not be the main reason for renting our condo.

A/C: As of 9/15 we have the option A/C in the bedroom. There is an additional $10/nt cost but it is an option.

SUNSET CENTRAL is conveniently located between KAANAPALI and KAHANA, just 5 miles North of LAHAINA, and on the renown West Side of Maui.

Sunset Central is a legal HI rental unit. HI business ID = W58440575-01

Keywords: Maui, condominium, groundfloor, gound floor, oceanfront, ocean front, beach front, beachfront, West Maui, Lahaina, Honokowaii

More Details

Ray Walters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Ray Walters

We (Ray and Connie) are from California. We love the outdoors and we especially love water and the sound of water on rivers, waterfalls, the ocean and even when it rains. When we like something we tend to keep coming back. Having a condo in West Maui is an example. Not a bad routine. We know you will love Maui too.

Ray Walters purchased this condo in 2005

Why Ray Walters chose Lahaina

Connie and I (Ray) visited Maui from California for the first time about 15 years ago. Every time we came back we spent some time looking at condos. The question was, Where to buy? South Maui (Kihei), or West Maui? The first requirement was to be right on the ocean. We preferred the famous West Maui side but there were very few available in our range due to its popularity. Finally after several trips to Maui we came upon one in West Maui that was so close to the ocean and romantic that it would not let us go. The rest is history. Now we have a nice home away from home that we get to visit a few times a year. Sharing our condo and hearing how much our guests like it is a benefit we did not know would come with our purchase. See for yourself by reading our 200 plus renters comments.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is unique due to having one of the best views in Maui, our proximity to the ocean, our beach access, the small size of complex, being off the main road, and the quaint, quiet feel you get when staying there. The view right out to the ocean is almost 180 degrees with no pool or complex lounge seating in the way is unmatched. Although we have a large condo, over 600 square feet and could easily sleep 4 people, we only allow 3 as a maximum. The result is less wear and tear on the condo and greater assurance that it will be in great shape when you arrive.

Guestbook comments from the owner

When we bought our condo we had the lucky idea of providing Guest Books and requesting that visitors write in good and bad things about activities and our condo to share with others. Now we have years of comments for visitors who stayed here in West Maui. The comments are like a local travel guide. And we are very gratified for all of the nice comments about Sunset Central.

Ray and Connie (owners)
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 259


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 613 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Cancelling less than 45 days prior to booking start date forfeits the rental payment. If condo is re-rented rental payment is refunded accordingly.
  • Min. stay is 7 nights unless there are less than 7 nights available
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Beautiful walk in shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1) California King Bed, very comfortable, Sofa Queen size
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Fan on the lanai adding hours of comfort per day while right on the ocean.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.909091 based on 303 reviews

Edge of paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome spot!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are glad you had a great vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The perfect vacation!🌴

  • 5 of 5

The condo is perfect for 2 people. My daughter and I had a relaxing vacation. Everything you need is in the condo. And the location is perfect! The view from the lanai was incredible. I spent each morning with a cup of coffee out on the lanai. A white dove (I named Blanche) joined me each morning. On the 3rd day 2 turtles arrived on the beach. We recommend Maui Surfer Girls for surfing lessons. Make sure to dine at Star Noodle!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star review. Our cleaning person named the white dove Shirley. We like Blanche better. There are actually 3 of them but only two are brave enough to come up on the lanai. A real treat is when a pair of cardinals make a visit. The birds that come to see you definitely are entertaining. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful Paradise

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quiet get away , great owner , look no further ,Ray and Connie's Sunset Central is indeed a very special place , you are steps away from the ocean were the beach is usually occupied by a turtle or two ,you can sit on your Lanai and watch the swim and bob in the waves , We were here Dec 2 to Dec 16th and enjoyed watching the Whales and Dolphins in the distant horizon pretty much everyday , great snorkeling right out front of the condo and lots of waves to ride if you want to do some body surfing . The location is not far from local coffee shop and shopping , Ray and Connie are very true to there word when they describe this place ,we did not have to use the air conditioning as the ocean breeze cooled it down along with the fan in the living room and bedroom ,the condo has all the comforts of home plus more ,We definitely will be back and if you need anything Ray leaves you enough info to locate it very easy access ,Jo Ann and I would like to Thank Ray and Connie for letting us enjoy there little peace of paradise ,everything was perfect , its as close to a 10 as you can get ,Enjoy Brian and Jo Ann Edmonton AB

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments. It really does make us feel good. You were nice to work with. We look forward to your next stay. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Livonia, Michigan


  • 5 of 5

Dear Ray and Connie I am not sure that there are words to describe our stay. Condo was very nice and comfortable. Being so close to the water and hearing the sound of the waves at night was so relaxing. We waited every day for the sunset, what can I say about that....AWESOME! This was our sixth trip to Hawaii so we did not do much sight seeing just kind of hung around and relaxed. If we ever get back there we would definetly book your condo again.I also want to thank you for getting back to me so quickly when I had a problem with the WiFi.

Thank You for a wonderful vacation,

Doug and Paula Weiss


  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. And thank you for being understanding when we had to have the internet company fix the problem. You two were great. Hawaii is a wild place and hard on appliances etc. After 12 years we are good at responding to issues as they come up. Being right on the ocean in a small complex is nice if you just want to hang out and relax. We are glad you had a great vacation and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Location

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from a memorable vacation in Maui. Overall, we had an amazing stay at Sunset Central. The location is PERFECT! I don’t believe there’s any place else on Maui where you can stay that will have you so close to the beach.


-Location is everything. And Sunset Central has the perfect location.

-The unit was very clean and comfortable, we felt right at home. It was the perfect size for the two of us.

-The photos of the unit are 100% actuate.

-The grounds, pool, and grilling area are well maintained.

-Everything you can possibly need for the beach is provided. (We actually pack a lot of unnecessary beach gear in our suitcase and more than enough was available at the condo) Ex: beach towels, beach chairs, snorkeling gear, etc.

-The condo is fully stocked with everything you need to cook meals. We didn’t cook because there were good restaurants within walking distance and we really wanted to experience the Hawaiian cuisine. But if we wanted to cook, everything we needed was at our fingertips… pots, pans, utilities, spices, etc. was provided.

-The Lanai was the highlight of the unit. We spend a lot of time on the lanai just sitting, laughing & talking, listening & watching the waves on the beach. We had breakfast and dinner on the lanai. (There’s nothing like watching the sunrise with a cup of coffee and watching the sunset in the evenings while having dinner.)

-Snorkeling on the beach was excellent. There was a family of sea turtles along the rocks…very exciting. Then two turtles came up on the beach.

-Ray and his wife were very helpful with providing visitors information etc. The information was useful and up-to-date. It was greatly appreciated!


- There is a portable A/C unit available in the bedroom for a small fee. However after speaking with Ray, he mentioned the cool breeze if the doors and windows were opened. I went with the understanding that we probably wouldn’t need the A/C. It was 80-90 degrees most days we were there. Early morning and late evening it was cool but by noon it was HOT. I disagree with a charge for A/C. I feel A/C should be included with the rate. I live in the south and the last thing I want is to go on vacation and be HOT.

- The unit has a slight "old house" smell.

All in all I would highly recommend Sunset Central to anyone vacationing in Maui. We had a fabulous vacation!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thorough review of the stay you had in our condo. We are happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and highly recommend us to anyone vacationing in Maui. About your A/C comment, 3 years ago Maui had a record hot end of summer and fall. As a result, we added an A/C option in the bedroom. Our complex has been adding A/C to units over the years and almost all units now have the A/C purchasing option. I would say that maybe 10 guests have requested the A/C option out of our last 60. We have not raised our rates in 3 years despite all costs going up. By only allowing 2 persons to rent our condo vs. 4 now we have cut down the wear and tear and that has helped keep our costs down. We think it is better to keep the A/C option at $10.00 per night vs. increasing our rates to all renters. From the start of our rental process we mention that needing A/C or not for the hot months depends on the trade winds. We also suggest waiting until you are on island to see if you need it. The old house smell is the first we have heard. We have had over 200 renter comments including 40 with VRBO and we have never been told there was an old house smell in our 12 years of renting. My first suspicion was our carpet but we just had it cleaned in September. I keep scuba gear in our owner’s closet but I clean it after use. We were just there 3 weeks ago and we did not notice any smells. Yesterday, 10/25/17, I called our current renters out of concern and to our relief her response was that there is no smell at all. Thankfully the cause of this smell is gone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

We loved seeing the whales & turtless everyday. This is a perfect location to enjoy a nearly private beach. It is nearby restaurants & stores also. We enjoyed sightseeing-Haleakala, the road to Hana, many beaches, etc. & could return to the lanai for the ocean view & sunsets & beautiful starry nights. Very nice!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a nice time. Looks like you saw all corners of the island. The beach is nice and has easy access 90% of the time. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


The Banyan Tree
Seafood Restaurant
Cane & Canoe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Taverna Maui
Italian Restaurant
Kapalua Beach
Oneloa Beach
Burger Shack
Fast Food Restaurant
Merriman's Maui
Fine Dining Restaurant
The Gazebo
American Restaurant
Kitchen 5315
Beach Bum's BBQ & Island Grill
Barbecue Restaurant
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Mama's Rib's & Rotisserie
Barbecue Restaurant
Joey's Kitchen Napili
Honolua Bay
Honolua Farms Kitchen
Organic Restaurant
China Boat Restaurant
Pan-Asian Restaurant
Maui Brewing Company Brewpub
Hawaiian Village Coffee
Coffee Shop
Dollie's Pub & Café
Pizza Restaurant
Miso Phat Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Beach House Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Bad Ass Coffee
Coffee Shop
Ohana Tacos - Maui
Taco Restaurant
Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
Fish Market Maui
Seafood Market
Teppanyaki 2 Go
Hawaiian Restaurant
L & L Hawaiian BBQ Honokowai
Hawaiian Restaurant
Java Jazz
Pizza Paradiso Mediterranean Grill
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nachos Grande
Mexican Restaurant
Slappy Cakes
Breakfast Restaurant
Duke's Beach House
Seafood Restaurant
Aina Gourmet Market
Coffee Shop
Pulehu, An Italian Grill
Italian Restaurant
Pailolo Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Castaway Cafe
American Restaurant
Royal Ocean Terrace Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
China Bowl Asian Cuisine
Chinese Restaurant
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Island Press Coffee
Coffee Shop
Hanks Haute Dogs
Fast Food Restaurant
Teppan-yaki Dan
Japanese Restaurant
Black Rock Steak & Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
The Cliff Dive Bar
Bar & Grill
Ka’anapali Beach
Tiki Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Tiki Terrace
Hawaiian Restaurant
Legends of Ka'anapali Luau
Hawaiian Restaurant
Häagen-Dazs® Ice Cream Shop
Dessert Shop
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lahaina, Kapalua
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 30
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended

We are located 5 miles North of Lahaina in a quiet compex, close to everthing. We have over 200 guest comments that tell of events each of the guests enjoyed while staying at our condo. It is like a travel guide specific to our location here in West Maui


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $104.17
Tax Rate 14.42%

Cleaning fee = $104.17 and includes the GE tax of 4.17%. Deposit returned within 14 days of stay. Call or email for discounts on stays for 14 days or more. No parking fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties