Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Luxury Cottage in South Iceland in a perfect locations

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Space 1,614 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

The cottage is 150 m2, accommodation 12 per. 6 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms

The cottage is amazing and one of the most impressive host facility in the country side in Iceland. It is in a beautiful spot and very well situated cottage with graet view, located near many interesting sites for example mount Hekla, Eyjafjallajökull which you can see out of the window in the house. Vatnajökull glacier, Þórsmörk, Gullfoss, Geysir and Vestman Island.

Approx. one hour drive from Reykjavik

House is very close to Hella 5 minutes away after you drive through Hella.

The country house is 150 m2 with an outside hot tub for 8 to 10 people.

The cottage can accommodate 12 persons. 2 master bedrooms queen size bed and 4 bedrooms with two single beds.

The kitchen includes all required equipment, refrigerator, kitchen stove with oven, microwave oven, dishwasher, coffee machines, mixer and toaster. Kitchenware is for total over 20 persons.

There are 2 bathrooms, with shower.

Spectacular view of the landscape from the cottage.

• The cottage is located in the so called Golden circle area.

• An 18 hole golf course is just 5 minutes drive away.

• Many fishing rivers are nearby.

• The cottage and the surrounding area is very family friendly.

• The cottage is approx. one hours drive from Reykjavik.

The cottage is ideal for both summer and winter vacation. Summer time for 24 hour daylight and winter time for Northern Lights.

The atmosphere is very peaceful and you are in touch with nature and the surrounding landscape. From the living room you can see Mount Hekla and Eyjafjallajökull.

It is very relaxing to come our house after a long strong day and and relax go in to the hot tub and in the winter time if you are lucky you can see the Northern Lights dancing over the house and in the summer enjoy the brightness and nature.

In the winter it is nothing that beats lying in the hot tub watching the stars and if you are lucky you can see the Northern Lights.

In the winter it is nothing that beats lying in the hot tub watching the stars and if you are lucky you can see the Northern Lights.

In the winter it is nothing that beats lying in the hot tub watching the stars and if you are lucky you can see the Northern Lights.

This is a perfect house for a large family or friends to stay in.

Video clip from the Eyjafjallajökull volcano as seen on youtube.

More Details

Property Manager
Soffia Arnardottir
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

What makes this cottage unique

The atmosphere is very peaceful and you are in touch with nature and the surrounding landscape. From the living room you can see Mount Hekla and Eyjafjallajökull.

It is very relaxing to come our house after a long strong day and and relax go in to the hot tub and in the winter time if you are lucky you can see the Northern Lights dancing over the house and in the summer enjoy the brightness and nature.

This is a perfect house for a large family or friends to stay in.

Amenities

Southern Region Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1614 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
  • The price for linens towels large and small, table cloth and dishtowels is USD 18,- per person. For the final cleaned after your stay is USD 180,-
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Luxury Cottage in South Iceland in a perfect locations
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
5

Beautiful Scenery, Well Appointed House, Close to All the Sites

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I truly enjoyed this lovely home. It is well appointed with all we needed for a 4 night stay in the Southern region. We found it a great location to easily access numerous close waterfalls, Westman islands, black sand beach, etc. While the home is also close to Hella, grocery, liquor store, drug store...it feels like it is in the middle of beautiful countryside. Snow-capped mountains (volcanos) in view, a lush prairie and stream, horses, goats and sheep all visible out the vast back deck. There is laundry (washer, with clothes line) and a hot tub. Comfortable sitting area with flatscreen TV and wifi. Soffia was a huge help upon our arrival and with planning.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much I am glad that you enjoyed your self here in Iceland and in the house. Many thanks, best Soffía
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Voyage en Islande !

  • 5 of 5

Très Belle maison. Très propre, belle décoration, toutes les fournitures.

Bien situé entre les glaciers du sud et Reykjavik.

Merci !

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atkinson, NH
5

Amazing house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was incredible; extremely clean, everything worked as described, spacious and amazing views! The house comfortably fit 8 adults with room for more! Beautiful location. Soffia was amazing to deal with; promptly answered all of my questions (which were many) and provided suggestions of sites we didn't want to miss.

I will 100% recommend this Soffia & this house to anyone visiting Iceland.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review, I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your self in the house and in Iceland.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

For us the house was perfect.

  • 4 of 5

Iceland are very green and the house was placed in Hella and it’s a good start to see all attractions in the south of Iceland. Horse and cheeps was a good view from the house. We was 8 and had 2 bedroom to walk in closet.

Joar

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wunderfull days in excellent house

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 5 adults and 3 childs and stayed 6 days in this excellent house. It is both - a perfect base to explore the south and a cozy stay when returning. In good weatherconditions we visited the golden circle, the hot springs by Hengil, Landmannalaugar, the lagoons Fjallsarlon and Jökulsarlon and the Seljandsfoss. On a rainy day we were in the museum in Hvollvöllur and in the swimmingpool in Hella (very nice!).

Returning home we enjoyed this very spacious house, the hotpot, the view with birds (very funny), horses and sheeps. The house and kitchen are verry well equipt - we never saw so many items and details for guests.

Thank you, Soffia for the wunderfull days, we could spend in your house.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much :)) Best, Soffía
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY
5

Amazing Cabin, Secluded Location

  • 5 of 5

Don't look any further! This is the best cabin you will find in this area!!!

We rented this cabin for a week-long vacation. We had 12 adults total (some couples, some not), and the cabin was definitely spacious enough for everyone! The house was very clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms have really excellent black-out curtains--much better than the hotels we stayed in before, they block out almost all light (I need total darkness to sleep and didn't even need my eye mask). One of the bathrooms is pretty big, and the other one is normal-sized. The kitchen had just about everything we needed to cook every single meal in, and the dining room/living room fit everyone pretty well. Soffia was very helpful and communicative through the process, answering questions and making great suggestions for places to visit. Cabin is in great location inside Golden Circle...but it's in a great location in and of itself. Close enough to Hella that you can nip out for gas and groceries, but the house is recessed from the road in such a way to make you feel like you're far from civilization! We took a wrong turn at first and saw a bunch of other cabins clustered together...this one literally made us sigh in relief because we weren't going to be crowding up against other vacationers. Your best company are the sheep and horses that will come up to the fence to make friends. If we had the opportunity to travel to Iceland again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here! The only thing to look out for (this wasn't a big deal to us) is that the water temperature in the showers fluctuates quite a bit depending on other things going on in the house (dishwasher, flushing toilet, etc). It was a little difficult to make the water maintain a single temperature. Overall, though, this was just the best--we missed the cabin as soon as we left!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your good review. Best, Soffía
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Golf 5 minutes drive away. Njaluslodir ca. 10 minutes drive away.

Many fishing rivers nearby and horse rentals.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $437.67

Arrival after 4 pm, departure before noon, unless agreed otherwise. (We are flexible when there are no guests before or after you.)

If you would like the service of cleaning at the end of your stay we charge 180 USD. Please state this clearly when you book, thank you. No other costs.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.