Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage

Photo gallery for Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage

A two-story house with a porch, surrounded by greenery and trees.
A spacious living room with a large window, a sofa, a coffee table, and a TV.
A living room with a dining table, chairs, a sofa, a TV, and a cabinet.
A kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, and a dining table with chairs.
A kitchen with a stainless steel refrigerator, a dishwasher, a stove, and light-colored cabinets.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available
  • Non-smoking

Explore the area

View in a map
Ipswich, MA
  • Place, Castle Hill on the Crane Estate
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Salem Witch Museum
    ‪37 min drive‬
  • Place, Hampton Beach
    ‪50 min drive‬
  • Airport, Boston, MA (BOS-Logan Intl.)
    ‪65 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 5)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Single Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 4

2 Single Beds

2 bathrooms

Full Bathroom

Full Bathroom

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Outdoor play area
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Ipswich

Located in Ipswich, this cottage is near the beach. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Salem Common and Greenwood Farm, while Salem Witch Museum and Ipswich Museum are cultural highlights. Essex Shipbuilding Museum and Appleton Farms Grass Rides are also worth visiting. Take the opportunity to explore the area for outdoor excitement like hiking.
Map
Ipswich, MA

What's nearby

  • Castle Hill on the Crane Estate - 2 min drive - 1.5 km
  • Wingaersheek Beach - 26 min drive - 22.1 km
  • Good Harbor Beach - 28 min drive - 26.4 km
  • Salem Witch Museum - 37 min drive - 34.5 km
  • Hampton Beach - 50 min drive - 45.8 km

Getting around

  • Ipswich Station - 7 min drive
  • Rowley Station - 25 min drive
  • Beverly, MA (BVY-Beverly Municipal) - 21 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Duke's Pub - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪The Farm Bar and Grille - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Zumi's Espresso & Ice Cream - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Woodman's of Essex - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬10 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage pet-friendly?

No, only service animals are welcome at the property.

How much is parking at Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage?

Checkout is at 12:00 PM.

Where is Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage located?

Situated near the beach, this cottage is within 2 miles (3 km) of Castle Hill on the Crane Estate, Crane Beach and Steep Hill Beach. Ipswich River is 1.7 mi (2.8 km) away.

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 13 out of 27 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 27 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 27 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 27 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 27 reviews

7.6/10

Cleanliness

8.8/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

8.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
The house is very charming with a fabulous location. The primary bedroom on the main floor is spacious with a nice large bathroom, although the shower stall is quite small. The living room is very comfortable with a lot of cozy mis-matched furniture. Upstairs are two nice bedroom set ups (they are both under the eaves but the separate bedroom has a wonderful window). There is a funky old bathroom. The kitchen is a major drawback. Every drawer and cabinet is crammed with miscellaneous utensils, there was no coffee pot or microwave, no paper towels. It wouldn’t take much to clean out, re-line the cabinets and drawers and re-outfit the entire space.We would consider staying there again but would ask the owner to clean up the kitchen.
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fabulous location, lovely host, and quintessential New England home

The location was unbearable, short walk to quiet beach. Great communication and property as described
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Loved the view

Enjoyed the accommodations! Rustic New England with all the charm that comes with it. Thank you!
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Marvelous old farmhouse, amazing view

Charming old farmhouse with miles of views across The Great Marsh. Beautiful neighborhood and area. Very worthwhile visit. Our host was very attentive and accommodating.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2023
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Charming farmhouse, magnificent view

Charming old farmhouse with lots of charm and character. Host was extremely accommodating and attentive. Fabulous view of the Great Marsh and close to the beach. Ipswich is a wonderful town and the immediate area is beautiful.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Ipswich

The views were excellent! The house was perfect for a group! We could have used a microwave but the oven worked for heating up food. It was peaceful and quiet after roaming around Salem.
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

House was great!

The house was as the pics showed. Wish there were a few more amenities like a micro, toaster and ac in the living room. Owner was great, so close to the beach, view was beautiful and I had a great time!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
beautiful views; no privacy/adjacent to owner; interior could be charming but needs much work; access dirt track deeply rutted and dangerous to undercarriage of car.
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Sept 2025
We shared your review with the homeowner, who appreciated your feedback and provided the following response:-The interior features many unique family treasures that previous guests have enjoyed, and the cottage photos accurately reflect the current décor. We were a little surprised by the comment, though we understand that design preferences are subjective and can vary from guest to guest.-The cottage can be accessed either via the main driveway or a grass/dirt track that leads directly to the property, and guests are welcome to choose the route they prefer. The guest chose the back driveway and later shared some concerns, which we appreciate them bringing to our attention.Thank you for your feedback—we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Vacation

It was a really neat house, in a great location!! The house is clean. We liked to look at the marsh with the different birds and boats. Check in was easy,beds were soft. Didn't have to worry about much. The town was close, has great places to eat. Location was near Salem. Great time.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Little slice of heaven!

We had an amazing time at this beautiful property! The home is so cozy, it felt like home. We were able to see falcons, red tailed hawks, and deer almost on a daily basis. Watching the tide go in and out was so peaceful. The sunsets and sunrise are beyond description. Our host was extremely gracious. We can’t wait to go back again!
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect!

The cottage was a perfect place for my family and I to stay while visiting New England! Chris was very easy to communicate with and gave outstanding recommendations on places to go and see. The cottage is older, with some history, just like the surrounding areas. After battling the traffic in Boston and Salem, we loved the ability to come back to our private cottage on the hill and just relax. We enjoyed the stay and area and will definitely be back again.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
The cottage itself was charming, but unfortunately several small issues affected our overall experience. We arrived late in the dark and rain and had to drag our luggage across a muddy field to reach the house. Once inside, we learned the advertised second full bathroom was not functioning, making it essentially a bath-and-a-half.Several bed linens were stained and did not appear freshly prepared. The upstairs double bed was uncomfortable and appeared to be supported by a 2x4. We also encountered small flying and jumping insects, as well as visible spiderwebs in the downstairs bedroom.There was no standard coffee maker or microwave, and the Wi-Fi never worked despite requesting assistance. More concerning were the used soaps and a moldy, crusted kitchen sponge. Several window shades were broken or missing, and the only mirrors were in the bathrooms and too high for those of us around five feet tall.The cottage has plenty of charm and potential. Unfortunately, it lacked the attention to cleanliness, maintenance, and welcoming touches we expected. None of these things alone would have been a major issue, but together they put a damper on our stay. Sometimes it really is the little things that make the biggest difference.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2026
Response from Beautiful Views, 1 Mi to Beach! Ipswich Cottage on 14 Oct 2026
We're glad you enjoyed the charm of the cottage and appreciate your feedback on the details that fell short. We're replacing the linens at the end of the season and the kitchen sponge, and the broken downstairs bedroom shade has already been replaced. The upstairs tub drains slowly, so the downstairs tub is the better option for bathing. For future guests, the cottage has WiFi, two coffee makers in the kitchen including a French press, and mirrors above the sink in both bathrooms. We've also noted your comments about the muddy path and the upstairs bed as we continue to improve the cottage.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The location was the reason we selected the property. A bit disappointing that kitchen equipment did not work, oven was not clean, coffee maker did not work and no microwave. There were a couple other items that needed updating. Pet friendly and owner did. communicate.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Oct 2025
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay and are sorry to hear it did not fully meet your expectations. While the coffee maker was not functioning, a French press was available for use, and all other kitchen appliances and items are new and in good working order. We do not provide a microwave, as this is a personal choice in how the kitchen is set up, and we hope guests find the available options convenient. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Disliked: Communication

Ipswich Stay

Cottage was okay. Location was good. Parking was poor. We had to drive up a grassy and leaf covered hill and park on sloping grass. Very difficult and unsafe. I have back issues and had to have my husband assist me to the house from our parking area. I
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Nov 2024
Hi Marianne, we appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed the location of the cottage. After discussing your comments with the homeowner, they wanted to clarify the parking setup:- The property provides two designated parking options, including a pull-out area and parking at the end of the back driveway, close to the cottage entrance. It sounds like there was some initial confusion, but we’re glad we could guide you to park right next to the cottage for easier access.- We're working on updating our listing and pre-stay information to make the designated parking more obvious for future visitors.Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to provide an even smoother experience going forward.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Respite during our home renovation

We needed to vacate our home nearby for 4 weeks while it was undergoing extensive work. The proximity of Chris' property was perfect for us--we already know and love this historic small town, but enjoyed the peaceful space of this charming house, with its spectacular marsh views and stunning stars under clear, unencumbered sky. The house was cozy and comfortable for my husband and me and our two kitties. I'm sure it's even better in warm weather, with the ocean and the most beautiful beach in New England just a stone's throw away--but we were happy there even in the decidedly non-beach weather of March in Massachusetts. Chris was an attentive yet unobtrusive host. Most definitely recommend as a peaceful New England getaway destination.
Stayed 28 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Host was very welcoming and communicative. The property was in a beautiful area overlooking the marsh and near some great walking trails. It was also very close to downtown and the train station, both 7 minutes away. From the station my young children, husband, and I were easily able to get to Salem within 20 min and into Boston within an hour. The cottage itself was warm, comfortable, had cable and the ability to watch Netflix. Everything was in working order. The beds and furniture were clean. The only drawback was the upstairs bed was broken so it was a bit lopsided and that they had not cleaned out the prior tenants old food or finished their laundry. This just meant that we had a bit to do for ourselves and then a bit to do when we left. Not bad, just inconvenient. As far as parking- we were given options and had no issues. Overall, a great stay!
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Mild, mildew, rat poisoning

Mold, mildew, and rat poisoning. When I emailed Evolve/Vrbo with pictures and complaint they didn’t even bother to get back to me
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful vacation

Our dream has always been to visit Salem and the surrounding areas. While looking for a place to stay near Salem we ran into Ipswich and decided to stay here. We absolutely fell in love with Ipswich so much we didn’t want to leave once we arrived. The house was in the perfect spot! Close enough to the beach and close to town for our everyday needs. The house has plenty of room for everyone in the family and the most beautiful view while you eat breakfast. Thank you so much Mr Crockett for your hospitality and tips on places to visit. We can’t wait to come back to stay at your place one day.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location

This house was near our daughters house and we were celebrating our grandson’s birthday so we could walk back and forth. Being near Crane Beach and the Crane estate made our morning walks very enjoyable. The cottage was charming
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Artist retreat

Perfect setting to enjoy iconic Massachusetts!
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2019
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Fall at the cottage

This property has beautiful views. The sunset and sunrise are breathtaking. The colors of the trees and the proximity to Cranes beach made our stay wonderful. The cottage itself is old and furniture could be updated (starting to fall apart). It is cozy and worked well for our family but there are a few things that would be helpful to know prior to staying here... bring your own soap (hand soap), paper towels, tissues, and garbage bags. The 1 shower has extremely low pressure supply. It is important to know that to get into the cottage you have to walk across the lawn probably 50 yards (no walkway for strollers or wheels of any kind). There are some newer windows on the first level but the old ones are full of cobwebs and don’t stay open without support. The lack of window coverings is uncomfortable (but we just hung sheets over the bathroom and bedroom window). There is no privacy in the upstairs loft (2 twin beds). And finally the beeping noise that another renter mentioned last month (September) was still there!!! It went off about every 15/20 mins. Overall we had a good stay, the property manager was easy to communicate with and was there the majority of the time. We had a good trip!
Stayed 8 nights in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Mar 2020
Liz, we're delighted to hear this cottage worked well for your family! The homeowner would like to note that they have put a lot of effort into updating the cottage with mostly brand new windows, in some rooms ceiling upgrades, new siding, and new doors. While some of the windows are older, there are still plenty of functional windows in the cottage. The owner was also under the impression that the beeping in the downstairs area had been fixed, they appreciate you bringing it to their attention so that they can make sure this issue does not recur for future travelers. Regarding the driveway, it takes you to the deck to avoid walking through the yard. The owner appreciates the rest of your feedback and plans to address these issues where necessary. Additionally, we're sorry to hear that there were not toiletries and other essentials during your stay. The cottage was going through a transitional period of using a new cleaner, and this seemed to have been missed. The owner has addressed this issue and is confident that their next guests will find everything they need for a comfortable stay. We hope you'll consider traveling with Evolve again! Best, the Evolve Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location

Nice house in Gorgeous setting

This setting surpasses imagination -- set high above the salt marshes with a lovely breeze and gorgeous views. The house is tastefully decorated with real (albeit tired) furniture and beautiful artwork. I think it may have been a while since the owner/managers have imagined actually living there. While most of the bed and bath linens are high quality and ample in quantity, a couple of the mattresses have clearly seen better days -- for adult use anyway. We are a family (three generations consisting of 6 adults and 1 preschooler) of foodies and cooks and found the kitchen oddly (rather than "fully") equipped. For example, a vast amount of plates, glasses, flatware & cork removers, but few bowls (large or small) or cooking utensils and no measuring spoons/cups. If the kitchen had been more accurately described, we'd simply have brought a bit more equipment (a large pot, for instance) with us and been happier. If we'd know there would be no paper goods (napkins, paper towels, toilet paper), we'd have packed some. The lack of a range hood makes the smoke alarms prone to going off during meal prep -- explaining why several had been taken down (probably by previous guests?). We decided to put them back up and deal with the false alarms rather than go without their protection. Missing light bulbs and outlet covers puzzled us -- was it advisable (safe) to use those fixtures? A battery backup alarm sounded several times a day -- even after being "disabled" by the manager. A week felt like not quite enough time to get used to all the many quirks that would have become routine after a longer stay.. Nonetheless, we had a very enjoyable time. We ate out a bit more than we wanted to, but perhaps only the amount most people would have chosen. It was pure joy to spend a week within a mile of beautiful Crane Beach and wake up everyday in such a heavenly setting.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful place

The view of the Essex River salt marshes from the top of the hill is exquisite. The cottage is thoughtfully decorated with subtle colors, great paintings, soft linens and towels... a dream come true... thank you so much for this experience!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2018
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great location & view.

the view was great. Also loved the skylight in the master bedroom. It let the full moon shine in. The location was nice for our day trips and the place was comfortable and relaxing.
Archival

2/10 Terrible

The Gulls

We enjoyed the sun-drenched deck, thanks to wonderful weather and the owners were very cordial. The cottage was clean, but there was no attention to details such as no working smoke detectors, only child-size coat hangers, stained towels (some thread bare), and no window shades in most bedrooms. The description gave no indication that the cottage was over 150 years old, but the bathroom tub and sinks, with their stains and a calcified faucet, gave testament to it's age. The approach to the cottage and parking of cars required much ingenuity and was difficult for one of us requiring a cane. We did enjoy the Apple Orchard and all it's delights, and eating at the Village, Periwinkles, and Woodman's and visiting surrounding towns.
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Mar 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. The owner has already repaired and addressed a few of the issues that you mentioned, and wishes we had been made aware of the issues during the stay so they could have been fixed, and you would be more at ease. We apologize that you found getting into the property a difficult situation, but we are always happy to answer any questions about the property before a reservation is made. We wish you the best of luck in future travels.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback