Honu House is an oceanfront complex located in Honokowai, just minutes away from downtown Lahaina! Second floor condo with an ocean view and just steps from access to the ocean. The unit is freshly painted through out, new flooring in living room and bedrooms. 2 bedroom, 2 bath, fully-equipped and updated kitchen with granite countertops, TV/Wi-fi, and access to many local amenities including dining, a local farmers market, grocery stores, shopping, night life, art galleries, and fishing & snorkel rentals. Hale Ono Loa is quiet, uncrowded, and provides access to amenities such as a BBQ area, swimming pool, sundeck, shuffleboard, and on-site laundry facilities. The complex allows ocean access for swimming, snorkeling, fishing, surfing, and wildlife observation. Watch a beautiful island sunset over Lanai and Molokai from your private deck, and enjoy all that Maui has to offer from the comforts of Hono House!
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, 4 Sleeps
- Calendar last updated:
- Jan 9, 2019
About Wendy Hibbs
My husband and I bought our first unit in 2009. We love the location and the fact the complex is small and quiet. We decided to buy a second unit to rent out and have had such great luck that we decided when the 2 bedroom came available we had to have it. We wanted right on the ocean and you can't get any closer than this unit! We were both born raised in Salida, Colorado and have ran our crane business since 2000.
Wendy Hibbs purchased this Condo in 2017
Why Wendy Hibbs chose Lahaina
Hale Ono Loa is a very wonderful place. It is small, quiet and very well maintained. You couldn't ask to be any closer to the ocean. It always has turtles out front of the condo and during whale season you can watch the whales. It is a very unique place.
What makes this Condo unique
This condo is literally over looking the water! It has an amazing, unobstructed view of the ocean, Lanai and Molokai. You can look down into the water and watch the sea turtles daily and during whale season watch the whales breaching. You have the constant sound of the waves that makes it so relaxing! This is truly the closest you can get to the ocean.
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Perfect Hawaiian Getaway
Amazing views with all the amenities and beach supplies youlll need. We loved that the place felt like a home yet just out the window was amazing views of the ocean, the smaller islands, and of course the whales and turtles. The property is centrally located near anything you need and the beach access and pool complete the experience. Will be recommending this spot to friends and hopefully booking for our next Maui trip! Mahalo Wendy!
Magnificent sunsets 🌅
My husband and I stayed at this condo for 9 days. The location and view is unparalleled. The location is perfect and near many beautiful beaches. We enjoyed the views of Lanai and Molokai, as well as the feeding turtles in the late afternoons just below the lanai. The sunsets were absolutely spectacular 🌞� and on occasion there would appear a rainbow! But the lanai has rust in many places and the storage doors were wobbly and not easy to use. One suggestion for the lanai is to put a tabletop in the corner for better viewing above the gate. One sliding door did not work well and they did not lock...we had to place dowels in the slide (that should have been repaired before rental to anyone).The condo is perfect in size, and even tho there have been updates, it is still dated. The lack of air conditioning can be an issue in the summer. There were two fans to keep it cool but frankly it was sticky at times, despite the trade winds. Bedroom windows have louver windows way above the bed so it doesn’t really cool the rooms. One bathroom tub filled up with water the first night so we used the shower in the other bathroom. The TV worked perfectly even tho the second tv advertised was in the closet (??) and the kitchenette is sufficient. We really did not use it except for coffee in the mornings. Plenty of parking spaces. The elevator was was a plus (needs an update as well!). For the price, it was a sufficient stay but there are updated condos in the area that we will rent next time.
Thank you for the review. I would like to address the issues that you mentioned. First you mentioned rust on the lanai, well there is not much I can do about that. It is caused from being so close to the ocean. The sea spray is bad on things and as much as we keep up on it there is no stopping it.
The lock on the lanai doors is a perfect example! I have a new lock ordered just have not received yet so that is why we placed the dowels in the tracks for you security. Not to mention you are on the second floor.
The storage doors were in good working order last time we were there which was about 4 months ago. So I would have to say them not working is because guests are not careful with them!
I never advertised the unit with having A/C and that is not my call on getting to have. That is up to the AOA!!! So as of now they choose not to have A/C in any units.
As for the bathrooms, here as well I showed pictures of them and never advertised as being updated. But as we speak they are getting fully updated and should be done by the end of September!!! So that will solve your other issue of the tub not draining, it will have all new plumbing, tile, tub, toilets, flooring!!!
And the TV, I never said there was a TV in the the bedrooms, nor does the pictures show that. The TV in the closet it a back up in case something would happen to the one there.
So I am sorry you were disappointed in your choice of places to stay, but like you said for the amount you paid it was still nice, clean, next to the ocean and good size! Also all linens are new, couch, chair are new. Everything in there is less than a year old. Started renting it out January of this year.
Please watch for updated pictures of the new bathrooms!!
Great communication with the owner. Fantastic views and just as pictured. Very comfortable condo. The sound of the waves will put to is a great state of mind. Had a couple of minor issues that the owner and her island representative responded to very quickly.
Yes, I am so sorry we had that leak and thank you for being so understanding with it. I am very glad it was just a hose on the toilet and not some major issue while you were there. I'm glad you enjoyed the condo and hope you will tell your friends and family and return yourself for another stay.
As a first time visit to Maui .. we were looking for a special place where we can feel the magic of what we heard about the island. I was so fortunate to have found this condo which fulfilled our dreams. Situated right above the water ..I think this room is the only one like it in this entire area ! A fabulous wrap around Lanai ( balcony) facing the ocean like you are on a cruise .. turtles & whales were seen from here as well as magnificent sunsets ! The condo is spacious .. clean & super comfortable. Wonderful modern kitchen to cut up delicious pineapples .. & make fruit salads from the farmers market that you can walk to . The kitchen is stocked with everything you need to make fruit salad to dinner ! Lots of closets .. draw space & loved having 2 bathrooms . Patio furniture to relax after a fabulous day exploring !! I would return here in a heartbeat ... Thank you Wendy for making your home so special & available for others to appreciate. As an artist ..this had wonderful exposure, light, views & inspiration !! You can even barbecue by the pool & make yourself at home ! Everyone was friendly & the grounds are super clean ! I miss it already !! Thanks again .. hope to visit soon again !! Michelle & Greg ..
Aloha Michelle & Greg,
I can't thank you enough for the awesome review. As you know if helps other guests decide whether or not to book with me and you writing such kind words is appreciated so much. My husband and I worked hard on getting this condo ready to rent out and really tried to make sure we thought of everything to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and offer the extra amenities like the snorkel gear and beach gear. We know with having three kids how expensive it can get to rent everyone all that stuff. So thank you again for staying and please tell your friends and family and come back soon.
Wonderful location and fantastic view!
Our stay was wonderful! We were able to watch the turtles from the lanai and have awesome views of the ocean. I fell in love with the ocean sounds and the tranquility of Maui. The photos of this place do not do this house justice. I would definitely recommend this place to others! We loved it!
Thank you Wendy. It was so easy to communicate with you and contact you if we ever needed anything. We will be back.
You couldn't ask for a closer place to the ocean!! And yes the views are great with the turtles and whales. Thank you for the nice review. Please come back anytime and let your friends know. Love to have return guests, it makes it more special and personal.
Great location. Every amenity you could wish for. Little bit dated but we didn't mind.
See turtles and whales from balcony. Fab location. All you need is provided, coolers, chairs, snorkels. A little dated but we didn't mind as everything so beautiful.
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We have plans of updating bathrooms soon. Hope you will book with me again on your next trip to Maui.
Hale Ono Loa is located on the lower Honoapiilani road. It is close to Times super market, a farmers market and Honokawai Beach Park. There are several restaurants in the area and within walking distance.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
The cleaning fee of $225.00 is the responsibility of the guest and is collected at time of booking. It includes a starter pack which is; small dish soap and sponge, 1 paper towel, 2 toilet paper rolls, small shampoo, conditioner, hand soap, 1 box tissue. There is no daily maid service provided. Payment for booking condo is due in full at time of making reservation. It may be paid by personal check or pay pal. Cancellation policy:60 days prior is full refund less $100.00, 45 days prior is full refund less $100.00 as long as condo can be rented out for the time that was reserved. Tax ID # 134-407-3782-01