|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Enjoy this charming southern city in an authentic, historic, three story row house built in 1822 by popular master builder Isaiah Davenport. This unit has a private entrance and four bedrooms on the top two floors of this renovated home. Original stained glass windows and 180-year-old heart of pine flooring give this home remarkable character. With over 3,000 square feet of living space, this home can accommodate large groups. The antique dining room table seats 10 and is ideal for a large family dinner. Enjoy the view of the city from the open air deck at the top level of the house. Relax in one of the two jacuzzi baths.
Walk just 3 blocks to City Market and enjoy the shopping and dining at restaurants like Paula Deen's Lady and Sons. Walk only 5 blocks to experience the sights and sounds of River Street and all the entertainment found there.
Located just off of Telfair Square, near the Telfair and Jepson art museums, you can easily walk anywhere in the historic district and explore it square by square. The city Civic Center is just 2 blocks away, and the home is convenient to Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD).
Street parking is available and free on nights, holidays, and weekends. The city parking garage is just across the street.
This two-level unit is spacious and well-suited to extended family gatherings. The lower level includes a bedroom with double bed, another bedroom with queen bed, a breakfast room with balcony, dining room, kitchen, bath, and laundry. The upper level provides a king bedroom, TV room, twin bedroom (2 beds), landing with trundle daybed (converts to two twin beds or a king size bed), spacious master bath and roof-level deck.
Two twin beds, one twin daybed with trundle, one full, one queen, and one king bed provide the sleeping space for 10 guest. Addiionally, a portable pack-and-play crib, toddler's mattress are available for smaller guests.
For more than 10 guests, an additional 2 bedroom suite with a bath, sitting room and kitchen is provided. This adds an additional king bed and full bed to bring the number of guests in beds to 14.
Keywords: House, 4 bedroom
We are a professional couple from Atlanta who decided to invest in a historic Savannah home to help in the city's preservation and also enjoy the joy of this wonderful, charming city.
The Owner purchased this house in 2000
Our family fell in love with Savannah when we began to visit the charming city in the early 90s. The transformation of the town from that time to now has been astounding. It is so invigorating to walk the streets and soak in the history and architecture. It truly is a jewel of a city.
The 1822 Row House is a large, spacious house so close to all downtown activities. We like to think that it offers a unique mixture of a beautiful, authentically historic house (1822) with tasteful, modern updates (1999 renovation).
My friends (10 total) and I stayed at this home in Savannah for a Bachelorette weekend and for almost all of us it was actually our 2nd stay in this same home. It has so much character, I love all the historical bits of it (original floors from 1800's so cool) and the amount of space you get spans over 3 floors. It was perfect for our needs. The location really is amazing, I feel like you can truly walk to everything (river, local hangouts, etc.). We would definitely stay here again and I always talk about how unique and fun it is to stay here after I return from my trips.
We booked the house for a bachelorette party of 15! We had an absolute blast!! The location to everything was the biggest plus! The kitchen and dining area were our main hangout spots. The bedrooms are great sizes and not crowded at all! The water pressure in the showers when both showers were on were our only concern(trickling). Keep in mind you are in an antique home not the ritz! The house has do much charm and history! Def would stay again!!
This house is amazing! I was hesitant to believe that it could sleep 14 people, but after arriving it was obvious that it could! The two master bedrooms have more than enough space for two air mattresses and the living room is huge.
While the house is set up differently than most because of its age, this only makes it even more fun to stay in! We loved that the house had its own personality and all of the little things that come with that. The cabinets had some fun surprises in them that made for some great photos to show people when we came back! (Nothing too crazy!)
The rooftop porch was wonderful; my only caveat being that I wish it had furniture on it. It would have been a great place to sit at night! Next time we'll probably bring some outdoor chairs to use up there because the view is wonderful.
It was a quick walk to all of the bars and restaurants on River Street and easy to find when walking back. There parking deck across from it was very affordable, and street parking was also easy to find.
By far the best place for the price and such a beautiful house that gives you an authentic Savannah experience!
I can't wait to come back again!
Other than the weather (it snowed!), our group of 8 ladies really enjoyed our stay and particularly this house. We had the top 2 floors + the studio on the main floor and had plenty of room. The house has a lot of character and we especially enjoyed gathering in the kitchen.
The location is ideal - our event was at the Westin resort on the island and we were an easy 10 minute drive from there. It was also an easy walk to River St.
Robert and Kim provided everything we needed to enjoy the house. I definitely recommend this for larger groups.
I would suggest window coverings in the main floor front room so the bed in there could be used comfortably - other than that everything was great!
As someone who has been so pleased with previous VRBO accommodations, I rely on the reviews when making my decision. I didn't pay close attention when I booked this place and wished I had noticed the dates of the reviews. Although there are 32 reviews, there are only TWO reviews for 2015, which is odd. This place was shabby and worn. Upon arrival, one of the windows in the queen size bedroom didn't have any window covering. Unfortunately the window was next to the bed and looked out to a public parking garage. This caused a big problem not only for privacy, but for security. The owner's response to our text was that he had been notified about the window but didn't have a chance to fix it. Did he add that someone would come by to install a shade or do a temporary fix? No. We had to come up with a solution. Since we didn't have duck tape to hang up a towel, we found a crib mattress and put it up in the window. Pretty tacky, but we needed something to provide privacy.
We were only there for two nights and since the window situation didn't get solved, we didn't want to waste anymore of our vacation time contacting the owner. When I wrote an email the day after getting back home, the owner said she was sorry it did not meet my standards. She's right!!
Just some of the issues we found: a poorly draining sink in one of the bathrooms and no GFI plug. (That's a safety issue.) The downstairs bathroom didn't have any towel racks--no place for wet towels. The rugs in both bathrooms were disgusting and the rug in the kitchen was in shreds. The coat hangers in the rooms were tossed in the armoires and most of them were old wire hangers that were bent out of shape. The window covering in the dining room was falling down and the window covering in the breakfast area was terribly stained. Some of the bed pillows were yellowed and stained.
Also, the lock box where the key is kept is an issue. It needs attention (perhaps WD40). Each time we used it, we found it very difficult to slide the side piece open to get the key. We had to stand in the rain while struggling to open this lock box.
This place has so much potential! It is in a great location and also has the added convenience of a public parking garage across the street. It is a very spacious house and I'm sure previous renters like the Girl Scout troop found this place a lot of fun! But it needs a lot of TLC and isn't up to the quality of the majority of VRBO rentals.
Our group of 11 (7 girls and 4 adults) had a fabulous time in Savannah, and the house was perfect for us! It was a perfect location (just a few blocks from the Juliette Low Birthplace) and convenient for walking to where we needed to be! It is an older house and has some issues but all in all it was awesome!
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly||Event|
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
|Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest|
|Cleaning||$150 + Tax|
Rates are subject to change. Quoted rates are for non-holiday rentals. Please contact for quotes surrounding holidays, New Year, MLK, St Patrick's Day, Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving & Christmas.
Payments by Paypal or credit card. Deposit of $450 due at time of booking. Remaining balance due 60 days prior to arrival.