check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Helman House-Three Blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Ashland House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom 2 bathroom main House, and two separate one bedroom studios

Helman Guest House is a charming early 1900s two bedroom home that can comfortably sleep up to six guests. It is only three blocks from Ashland's Plaza, restaurants, and world-renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival theater complex.

The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, is appointed with a comfy king-size bed, its own television, and a bathroom with a walk-in shower. The home's second bathroom is also on the ground floor, and contains a vintage claw-foot bathtub and shower combination, and a washer/dryer.

The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with lots of natural light, and two queen-size beds.On the other side of the house from the Master bedroom so there is privacy.

The house has a very cozy living/dining area, a simple kitchen with the basics, and a charming breakfast nook. It has a covered front porch with a table and chairs. The house is very comfortable and easy to settle into for a pleasurable stay in Ashland. Close to downtown, the Ashland food Coop, and the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, it's a great location to come and go from with ease.

The two studio units, across the courtyard from the main house, can each sleep up to three people. Each unit has a private bathroom, Studio A with a bathtub and shower combination, and Studio B with a walk-in shower. Studio A has a queen-size bed and a daybed, cable television, and dining table. Studio B has a king size bed, daybed, cable television, and a dining table. Each unit's kitchenette is equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge, toaster, and coffeemaker, electric tea kettle and electric skillet. Sheets, towels, cookware, and tableware are all provided.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Nancy Kilham
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2016

About Nancy Kilham

Hello, I'm Alice and my daughter Nancy and I own and operate Helman House. I have lived in Southern Oregon most of my life. I was born in Klamath Falls, went to school and raised my family in the Bay Area, and moved back to Oregon to be close to family when my first grandchild was born. I love Ashland and the quality of life and people here.

Nancy Kilham purchased this house in 2006

Why Nancy Kilham chose Southern Oregon

Helaman House is ideally located 3 short blocks from downtown in a quiet mixed use neighborhood. An easy walk to numerous restaurants and bars, the Varsity theater, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and Lithia park. It is also a great place to settle in and enjoy cooking your own meals and having a sanctuary to rest and visit with family and friends.

What makes this house unique

The House and Studios are each rented as separate units. The main house can sleep up to six people, and each Studio can sleep up to 3. This makes our property ideal for family reunions and larger groups of friends when all units are available.

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Helman House-Three Blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Atlanta
2

Early summer 2012, Our stay at the Helman House

  • 2 of 5

The good news is this has a great location. The bad news is that I strongly feel that for the condition of the house, the price is 25% to 30% too high. We paid for the "in season" rates, and I was overall, quite disappointed.

The kitchen is very 'make-shift'. Only 3 drawers in the kitchen, and all of them open about 6" because the refrigerator is in the way. The cabinets (lower only) are bare, unfinished wood, with no cabinets on the top but instead, open shelving. Beyond rustic to the point of having a dirty feel to it. NO DISHWASHER. honestly, the kitchen needs to be replaced completely for what they are charging.

Stained carpet, old sofas that feel like they've been there since the 80's (so sprung, hard to get off the couch), along with heavy oak 80's style furniture for breakfast room. Other furniture are "antiques" that just feel old and dingey. A few basic channels on the TV.

From the outside, the house is charming and turn of the century, but inside is not good. Please update or lower prices. The master bedroom is nice and has a good bed (would prefer doors on the closet rather than curtains). But everything in the house else needs a facelift.

No door on the upstairs bedroom so kids couldn't sleep in. Had to come downstairs to use their bathroom off the kitchen. There is a round "skylight" in their ceiling that was falling out.

Lastly, they came into the house while we were out because the modem was out. No call or warning. I had money and jewelry out and I was upset that they had made no attempt to contact me before entering the house.

I would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Reno NV
4

Everything we needed

  • 4 of 5

3 adults stayed here in July of this year for 8 days. We were concerned after reading the last review but our experience was very different! Many of that person's points are accurate. For instance, the kitchen IS very small and not very well laid-out; storage is almost non-existent. The stove was fine though, and there was a good assortment of pans, knives, glasses, cutlery etc. (If you plan to cook, be prepared to bring ALL your ingredients because no food-stuffs are left in the kitchen.) The comments about the condition of the house didn't really apply, though. Yes, it's an old house but it's been renovated. The carpets seemed in good condition and the refrigerator was great. Maybe these were replaced, I don't know. The furniture wasn't new but I wouldn't call it ratty either. Comfortable was a word that came to mind. The bath with the claw-foot tub IS a little spare but the one off the master bedroom is quite comfortable. The beds were very nice. A word of caution about the upstairs room; there's a double (or queen) bed and a twin bed but no privacy. Also the window mounted A/C up there ran full-time to keep the space tolerably cool. The master bedroom was very nice though, with a king bed and ceiling fan plus good airflow through several windows. It has a very generous closet too. We enjoyed being able to park off the street and sitting on the tiny front porch in the late afternoons was delightful. This house is truly close to downtown -- we walked almost everywhere! I'd stay here again and I'd recommend it to a small group or family with 3 or fewer kids.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Northern California
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Two couples stayed here in August, 2010. We loved the location of the house and that it had spaces where we could go if we didn't feel like sleeping (without disturbing anyone else!). We were close to everything Ashland had to offer and that was the best part! The breakfast nook was cute and that is the only room that looks exactly like the pictures. However, other than that, the pictures do not accurately display the worn condition of things. For example, the carpeting seemed cheap and the furniture was quite dated and worn-looking. Everything looks and feels second-hand in this house. I would not describe the kitchen as fully stocked. In addition, the kitchen is difficult to cook in. There are no cabinets, just some shelves with a few dishes and plates, and the design makes it impossible for more than one person to be in there at a time. There is no dishwasher and no counter space near the sink, for that matter. Also, both bathrooms are on the main floor, which makes things inconvenient for the people staying upstairs. The bathroom with the clawfoot tub is also the laundry area with a washer and dryer. There is no counterspace for toiletries in this bathroom, either. The ensuite bathroom for the king bedroom, on the main floor, while spacious, is long overdue for a remodel. It has a wood toilet seat, a very-dated tile shower and a sink with no countertop or storage space. The old dresser behind the sink can be used for storage, but it's looking pretty worn as well. The property was nice on the outside and the porch was pleasant for relaxing. We had one major problem: the refrigerator froze food the entire time we were there. We lost a lot of money on food we brought with us as well as food we purchased and we were never able to make the fridge the proper temperature no matter how we adjusted it! An A/C vent did not work when we checked in and the owner came and said it would have to wait several days til she could get a repairperson here to fix it. Fortunately, the weather turned cool the next day and we no longer needed it, but we would have been really unhappy if the weather had stayed in the 100's and we could not cool down the bedroom!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate reviews from our guests and take seriously and consider all comments. Many guests find the atmosphere of our mid-1900 style home charming. We try to ensure comfort as well. Our policy is to repair or replace all appliances, to fix plumbing and the electrical and heating systems as soon as problems are brought to our attention. We are planning a spring refurbishing this April. and hope you will vist and enjoy our bright, new look.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
North Vancouver, BC
5

A beautiful and quiet pla...

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful and quiet place to stay. A short walk to downtown. Close to several great breakfast locations, a movie theatre and an excellent Co-Op market.

My two daughters had a great time in the upstairs bedroom.

My father-in-law came with us and stayed in the studio apartment across the courtyard which was very convenient.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
redding, ca
5

My family and I stayed at...

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at the Helman House and found it to be so comfortable and homey. I especially loved the bathtub! Kudos for the cleanliness!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Rogue Valley International-Medford (MFR)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Black Sheep
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
I-5
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Mount Ashland
Car: not necessary

World class Shakespeare February through November, Ashland Film Festival in April, First Friday Art Gallery walk every month, Wine Tasting and Tours, live music venues, local bookstores, galleries, and boutiques, Southern Oregon University, dinner theater, Yoga and exercise classes on a drop-in basis, Lithia Park's extensive hiking/biking trails, Mount Ashland ski area just 15 minutes from town, historic Jacksonville and Britt music Festival (20 miles from Ashland), Ashland Co-op (one of the largest natural/organic food co-ops on the West Coast),fishing and rafting on the scenic Rogue River, and many other seasonal activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ashland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Season
Apr 15 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED INSIDE ANY OF OUR PROPERTIES. Anyone who violates this policy will be charged a $250.00 smoke damage fee.
Sorry, we do not allow pets at our Helman Guest House location.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ashland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms are located on the ground floor. The master bathroom has a large walk-in shower, and the second bathroom has a vintage claw-foot style bathtub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Studio B - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Studio A - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom -- 1 King Upstairs Bedroom -- 2 Queen Studio A -- 1 Queen, 1 Daybed Studio B -- 1 King, 1 Daybed
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
For additional info or to make a reservation, please call or text Nancy at 541-261-5961.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties