Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountaintop inside Wintergreen Resort. 3 King Master Suites or Twins Beautiful

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful, Close To Everything! Condo, 3 King Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6 + 1)

Discount! 10% off any week this summer reserved by May 31! Private and close to everything! All Resort Guest Passes to beautiful Aquatics & Fitness Center with indoor pool and hot tubs right next door in the Wintergarden Spa building, and more. During the summer months the outdoor pool in the Wintergarden's beautiful outdoor setting is open, again right next door. You'll overlook the 18th Fairway of the Devil's Knob Golf Course. The Nature Foundation is right across the street where your hike can begin. Chilly? Warm up by the fireplace: just turn it on. Making spring and summer plans? Ask for our warm weather letter. Three distinct king bedrooms each with complete bathroom, beautifully custom furnished with luxury linens and fresh pillows, actually on the mountain within Wintergreen Resort. This is a bright & spacious mountaintop condominium overlooking Devil's Knob 18th fairway, more mountains and the valley. Begin your hike across the street at The Nature Foundation. Walk in the cool mountain air to the clubhouse and Devil's Knob Grill Restaurant, to tennis, and to the gorgeous mountaintop golf course which is open during warm weather seasons. The Mountain Inn village center is 2 minutes away. Absorb the view through our expansive windows. Step out from the living and dining rooms onto the patio. Relax and refresh in the clean mountain air. Prepare your morning coffee brewed with freshly ground coffee beans in our grinder, and have it out there in our comfortable chairs with table or in front of the living room fire. Watch for small wildlife and be enchanted by the birds' songs. You'll get wonderful, rejuvenating rest. Superb mattresses & pillows, high thread-count sheets, and custom decor are prevalent. Luxurious appointments abound. The third bedroom suite can be made into a children's or singles' room with the King separated so there are a total of 3 twin beds. Perfect for 3 couples, 2 couples and children, singles groups, and 3 people who like their own space. Up to 6 adults, and up to 7 people if at least one is a small child, will be comfortable and have plenty of room. High speed DSL wireless or wired as you prefer, three new HD flat screen TVs and a new Smart HD one in the living room, each with VCR/DVD players, new stainless steel stove and dish washer, new refrigerator, washer and dryer, and fully equipped kitchen including grocery staples enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. We provide a landline cordless phone with 2 more extensions although your cell phones will work in most parts of our condominium. Go one step further and pamper yourself with a spa treatment or two and then enhance it by allowing time for dozing off in the relaxation room afterwards. If you want convenience to the slopes but quiet nights with no snow-making noise, this is the place!

Hiking trails, tennis complex with indoor, nature walks & waterfalls are here. Year-round golf, trout fishing, horseback riding, the Lake & more are in the valley.

Take the kids with you or enroll them in one of the resort's excellent programs. The Nature Foundation (TWNF) has children's programs all summer long. Learn to ski and snowboard lessons are excellent and are included in the daycare programs. Fun games and activities are in the Adventure Dome.

Wineries & vineyards, breweries, antiques, and historic sites are nearby. We'll send you lists and descriptions. There's such a variety of things to do and see!

Notes: Click on View all Rates. Our rent totals will be less than VRBO's system calculates. Ask about specials and discounts not yet advertised. The Aquatics Center, Discovery Ridge, and Lake Monacan all still charge a small fee even with Guest Passes.

Come and be our guests! Our vacation home will be your home while you're here. Easy reservations by Book It Now, email and phone. Minimum age 25. No trace left is the gist of our pet policy. A pet must be approved in advance: we need name, weight, gender, age, breed or mix, and any training certificate or designation information. Only small to medium size pets.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Owner/Manager

Our children learned to ski when they were tiny, and we'd always wanted our own vacation place in a ski resort. Wintergreen was our choice because it is a perfect mixture of remote mountain getaway and sophisticated choices with excellent medical availability. During the fall, it's perfect to spend the night on the mountain while going to see our alma maters play away at UVA. We can enjoy hiking around the woods yet come back and dress up for a great restaurant night out and only a couple of minutes away. We love that we're surrounded here by the roots of so many personalities from our country's history.

Owner/Manager purchased this condo in 2006

Why Owner/Manager chose Central Virginia

Snow sports are a favorite with our family. Golf, tennis, hiking, and swimming are our year-round fitness program. Visiting Monticello and other historic sites for the day from Wintergreen sealed our fate to own and share our property on the mountain. We'll be happy for our vacation home to be your vacation home while you're here. Y'all come!

What makes this condo unique

You'll be happy with the freshness and luxurious comfort of our condominium. It is a ground floor, end unit so it's very private. Our place is unique: 2 King-bed master suites and a 3rd bedroom with its own full bathroom, too, can be a 3rd King-bed master or a children's suite with 3 twin beds. This is the ONLY place with 2 King bed master suites! Plus you'll have a 3rd or that King can be split into twins. Our guests say they've never slept so well!

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Guestbook you will find in our vacation home contains these comments:2/1 – 2/3/08We had a great time here. Thank you for opening your home to us. We had a time Friday trying to ski: it was our first time, but Saturday was a blast. Thank you for all the small touches that made us feel like home.4/23 – 27/08 Your condo provided the perfect backdrop to our family get together. We all (parents, 2 little girls, and a set of grandparents) enjoyed the comfortable, clean and convenient condo. We have stayed at several other Wintergreen condos and found yours to be superior – we all vowed to come again! Thank you for your generosity (food, spices, toiletries, linens) and attention to the details that made our stay so easy and laid back. We will tell our friends about this mountain gem.Arrived Sun evening, August 10th, 2008We found your condo a great place to stay; provision for all our needs! Parents, children, and grandparents all snug in their own bedrooms or great en-suites. To wake up in the morning to the views, and creature spotting from the patio; the girls love the freedom of the outside area. Loads of comfort!
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Wintergreen Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Coffee Bean Grinder, Your cell phone will work in parts of our place, Video library has 30 + DVD's and also VCR tapes, Grocery staples are kept in the kitchen, Bathroom supplies are also stored, Outdoor lounge chairs are provided,Table games are provided & computer games are in Adventure Dome, Crib is actually a convertible playpen+crib+changing surface.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

Mountaintop inside Wintergreen Resort. 3 King Master Suites or Twins Beautiful
average rating of 4.826087 based on 47 reviews
5

Condo with lots of room and cozy

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this condo....it is a lot more spacious than it looks in the pictures! The beds are quite comfy and there were thorough instructions on arrival, check out, and everything in between you would need to know!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to have provided for such a happy experience for guests: this is our goal. We love to hear confirmation of people having had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Too many chores/sticky notes

  • 2 of 5

The listing advertises dog friendly, but then once you talk to owner - she really only prefers small sized dogs and only 1! Once you sign the contract she states 10 days before your card will be charged and she will send you check in information. I had to email, call and text for several days before I finally knew what was going on. I did not hear from her until 2 days before our arrival. then she sent me multiple emails of check in lists and check out lists. The condo was COVERED in sticky noted taped everywhere reminding you of all the crazy things she had on the list. We had to get late check out just to do all the laundry that was required. The washer and dryer were not working properly and we had to leave. I had to wring out all the towels to hang up to air dry. The place was appealing because we had 3 couples, and this has 3 king beds with bathrooms. However, the living area is quite small which would have never worked if 1 couple didn't back out.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are devastated to receive a 2-star rating and are sorry that this guest was unhappy with her stay. Communications sometimes are tricky, and less than full information is misleading. I have to say that this guest is mostly offering unjust criticism in retrospect. Our emails and forms have been composed to provide the clearest possible information. We never charge the remainder payment sooner than 10 days before arrival but often between 3 and 9 days before arrival and do not promise to send arrival information at 10 days out. We always respond within 24 hours but usually within a couple of hours, as was the case here. There were an email and one call the day before the text to which I responded within 5 minutes about check in information, which is stated to be sent 2 or 3 days before arrival, never 10 days before. Our place is dog-friendly, but not for 3 dogs. Initially this guest announced plans for 1 small terrier and soon asked about another that would be a lab that would definitely need to come. Then she said the terrier would not be coming and they'd like to bring their puppy instead, which happened to be a breed that would become a very large dog by the time of arrival. That issue was settled before she signed the rental agreement. Our notes have been found to be helpful by previous guests, for example in knowing which way a lever should be pushed for lock and which for unlock. We would apologize for the inconvenience of the departure laundry request, although a choice is offered, and we apologize for the trouble with our washer. It is often finicky. We could offer a small refund for the extra trouble and would have done so had she talked with us about this. We hope that this review will not be published, as it is not representative of views of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient and Responsive

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this condo. The setup was very convenient for a party of 5 adults and 2 young children. Beds super comfortable! We loved the gas fireplace. The kitchen had everything we needed to accommodate cooking all of our meals at home. Additionally, the owner was very responsive to any questions that we had and even accommodated a late request for a late checkout on our departure day (because no new tenants were arriving immediately). A great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to share our home with guests and to hear that everything was comfortable and enjoyable. We love communicating with people about their visits to Wintergreen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
4

Great Location & Exrtemely Helpful Owner

  • 4 of 5

My Family of 6 adults spent Thanksgiving in this condo. It's perfect for 3 couples because each bedroom has a private bath. That was the main reason we chose this condo. The location is convenient to everything in Wintergreen as well...right next to the Aquatics and Fitness Center. We were pleased that there was no noise at all from folks above us. And we loved the fireplace.

The owner was very responsive to all my questions and provides many items in the kitchen that we would otherwise have to bring ourselves. The kitchen appliances both large and small were very adequate. And a pet is allowed. What more could you want?

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you . Our goal is to do our best for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice, cozy condo with a great layout

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The condo was just perfect. The owner definitely does everything that she can think of to make your stay a good. one. The only surprises we had is that there are a lot of stairs to get down to the condo and it feels as if you are going down into a basement. Once down in the condo, it does not have a basement feel though, it just feels like a ground floor unit. From the unit, there is really no view at all of mountains or the valley, but you can see some golf holes and lots of trees. It is very pretty. You can walk to other parts of the resort with amazing views very easily though (under a mile). I definitely recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do strive to make our place as perfect for our guests as possible and hope that you will love it as much as we do! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Veterans Day weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family and I enjoyed a lovely 3 day stay in this comfortable, attractive, extremely well-stocked condo. The floor plan was especially nice, allowing privacy and cozy shared spaces. The condo was located near the aquatic center which my grandson especially enjoyed. We were close to many beautiful hiking trails, ranging from challenging to easy walks. All-in-all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy when our guests seem to appreciate our place as much as we do and to appreciate our efforts to provide for comfort, relaxation, and enjoyment of our resort.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Passes to Indoor Pool and Hot Tubs in the Spa Building. Shuttle Stop is steps from your door. Games and activities center - The Adventure Dome. Out of Bounds and The Treehouse have activities & children's programs including day care. Trillium Nature Center focuses on wildlife, botanical, & hiking guides.

Canoeing is a popular activity in the valleys around Wintergreen. Fishing with or without a guide is fabulous.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wintergreen Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Springtime
Mar 20 2017 - Jun 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
Summer on the Mtn
Jun 9 2017 - Aug 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,095
 
 
Summer Last Chance
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$255
 
 
Autumn Leaves
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$255
$1,095
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.25%

During May, make your reservation while we are offering 10% discounts for summer and fall trips to Wintergreen.
Summer: 3 Nights 675, 1 Week 1295. No fees. Refundable Security Deposit $250. Refundable Pet Deposit $150.
Tax 5 ¼%. Holiday periods add 10%. Early check-in and late check-out often available: like staying another day!
Rates include GUEST PASSES for Aquatics and Fitness Center and more.
Downpayment of half the rent is due at time of reservation. Rent Remainder is due 10 days before arrival.
Refundable damage/security deposit 250 and refundable pet deposit 150 are due 10 days before arrival.
Guests responsible for rentals must be at least 25 years old and have trained children and pets about proper behavior and taking care of a home.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties