Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountaintop inside Wintergreen Resort. 3 King Master Suites or Twins Beautiful

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Beautiful, Close To Everything! Condo, 3 King Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6 + 1)

Private and close to everything for your ski weekend. Two minutes to the slopes. Catch the shuttle right at your property OR drive and park with your special entry card right by the slopes. All Resort Guest Passes to Aquatics & Fitness Center with indoor pool and hot tubs right next door in the Spa building, and more. WiFi Internet. Chilly? Warm up by the fireplace: just turn it on. Three distinct king bedrooms each with complete bathroom, beautifully custom furnished with luxury linens and fresh pillows, actually on the mountain within Wintergreen Resort. This is a bright & spacious mountaintop condominium overlooking Devil's Knob 18th fairway, more mountains and the valley. The patio opens onto a lawn, good for a game of catch or a walk for your dog. Walk in the cool mountain air to the clubhouse and Devil's Knob Grill Restaurant, and to indoor tennis. The Mountain Inn village center is 2 minutes away. The Nature Foundation is right across the street where your hike can begin. Winter golf and tennis are in the valley part of the resort. Absorb the view through our expansive windows. Step out from the living and dining rooms onto the patio. Relax and refresh in the clean mountain air. Prepare your morning coffee brewed with freshly ground coffee beans in our grinder, and have it out there in our comfortable chairs with table or in front of the living room fire. Watch for small wildlife and be enchanted by the birds' songs. You'll get wonderful, rejuvenating rest. It is so quiet and peaceful you'll sleep like a baby. Superb mattresses & pillows, high thread-count sheets, and custom decor are prevalent. Appointments were selected for luxury and comfort. The third bedroom suite can be made into a children's or singles' room with the King separated so there are a total of 3 twin beds. Perfect for 3 couples, 2 couples and children, singles groups, and 3 people who like their own space. Up to 6 adults, and up to 7 people if at least one is a small child, will be comfortable and have plenty of room. High speed DSL wireless, three new HD flat screen TVs and a new Smart HD one in the living room, each with VCR/DVD players, new stainless steel stove and dish washer, new refrigerator, washer and dryer, and fully equipped kitchen including grocery staples enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. We provide a landline cordless phone although your cell phones will work in most parts of our condominium. Go one step further and pamper yourself with a spa treatment or two and then enhance it by allowing time for dozing off in the relaxation room afterwards. The Nature Foundation is right across the street where your hike can begin. Winter golf and tennis are in the valley part of the resort.

If you want luxury and convenience to the slopes but quiet nights with no snow-making noise, this is the place!

This is the only vacation home with 2 King beds master suites and with a choice for 3 King master suites by converting 2 twins to a King bed in the 3rd bedroom.

Wintergreen is the only ski and snowboard area on the east coast with all its terrain covered by automated snowmaking!

Hiking trails, tennis complex with indoor, nature walks & waterfalls are here. Year-round golf, trout fishing, horseback riding, the Lake & more are in the valley.

Take the kids with you or enroll them in one of the resort's excellent programs. The Nature Foundation (TWNF) has children's programs all summer long. Learn to ski and snowboard lessons are excellent and are included in the daycare programs. Fun games and activities are in the Adventure Dome.

Wineries & vineyards, breweries, antiques, and historic sites are nearby. We'll send you lists and descriptions. There's such a variety of things to do and see!

Notes: Click on View all Rates. Our rent totals will be less than VRBO's system calculates. Ask about specials and discounts not yet advertised. The Aquatics Center, Discovery Ridge, and Lake Monacan all still charge a small fee even with Guest Passes.

Come and be our guests! Our vacation home will be your home while you're here. Easy reservations by Book It Now, email and phone. Minimum age 25. No trace left is the gist of our pet policy. A pet must be approved in advance: we need name, weight, gender, age, breed or mix, and any training certificate or designation information. Only small to medium size pets are accepted. No fighting dogs or dogs with especially strong jaws can be accommodated.

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Owner/Manager

We enjoyed an annual ski trip in our early married life and then taught our children to ski when they were little. We always wanted our own vacation place in a ski resort. Wintergreen was our choice because it is a perfect mixture of remote mountain getaway and sophisticated choices with excellent medical availability. We can enjoy hiking around the woods yet come back and dress up for a great restaurant night out and only a couple of minutes away. We love that we're surrounded here by the roots of so many personalities from our country's history. Our 10 years of renting experience on Homeaway/VRBO gives us unsurpassed knowledge of how to ensure a great place for you to stay.

Owner/Manager purchased this condo in 2006

Why Owner/Manager chose Wintergreen Resort

Snow sports are a favorite with our family. Golf, tennis, hiking, and swimming are our year-round fitness program. Visiting Monticello and other historic sites for the day from Wintergreen sealed our fate to own and share our property on the mountain. We'll be happy for our vacation home to be your vacation home while you're here. Y'all come!

What makes this condo unique

You'll be happy with the freshness and luxurious comfort of our condominium. It is a ground floor, end unit so it's very private. Our place is unique: 2 King-bed master suites and a 3rd bedroom with its own full bathroom, too, can be a 3rd King-bed master or a children's suite with 3 twin beds. This is the ONLY place with 2 King bed master suites! Plus you'll have a 3rd or that King can be split into twins. Our guests say they've never slept so well!

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Guestbook you will find in our vacation home contains these comments:2/1 – 2/3/08We had a great time here. Thank you for opening your home to us. We had a time Friday trying to ski: it was our first time, but Saturday was a blast. Thank you for all the small touches that made us feel like home.4/23 – 27/08 Your condo provided the perfect backdrop to our family get together. We all (parents, 2 little girls, and a set of grandparents) enjoyed the comfortable, clean and convenient condo. We have stayed at several other Wintergreen condos and found yours to be superior – we all vowed to come again! Thank you for your generosity (food, spices, toiletries, linens) and attention to the details that made our stay so easy and laid back. We will tell our friends about this mountain gem.Arrived Sun evening, August 10th, 2008We found your condo a great place to stay; provision for all our needs! Parents, children, and grandparents all snug in their own bedrooms or great en-suites. To wake up in the morning to the views, and creature spotting from the patio; the girls love the freedom of the outside area. Loads of comfort!
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 1


Wintergreen Resort Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Coffee Bean Grinder, Your cell phone will work in parts of our place, Video library has 30 + DVD's and also VCR tapes, Grocery staples are kept in the kitchen, Bathroom supplies are also stored, Outdoor lounge chairs are provided,Table games are provided & computer games are in Adventure Dome, Crib is actually a convertible playpen+crib+changing surface.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Mountaintop inside Wintergreen Resort. 3 King Master Suites or Twins Beautiful
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 49 reviews

We didn't want to leave!

  • 5 of 5

This property is amazing! We didn't want to leave. Each room is tastefully decorated in a welcoming, comfortable, and modern style. The owner has thought through every single detail to make each occupant's stay as enjoyable as possible.

The kitchen is fully stocked with all of the basic dishes and more--we loved finding measuring cups, a baking pan with racks, and a crock pot! The refrigerator was large enough to accommodate all of the food we brought. We were able to cook pancakes, bacon, omelets, chili, and stew just like at home. Everything we needed to clean up was under the sink, and the dishwasher was a bonus.

We had 2 couples and one single person staying; two other friends staying in an efficiency on the slopes came over for a few hours each night to hang out. The living room is spacious with comfortable seating and large enough to entertain 7 adults. We loved the fireplace as well as the view of the mountains from the large window. The Internet connection worked wonderfully, and we watched a few movies on the wide-screen t.v. at night.

This house easily sleeps 7 adults. The bedrooms are spacious and look professionally decorated. We enjoyed having our own private bathrooms as well as being able to control the temperature in our rooms. Once inside our room, we could not hear anything from the other rooms. We slept very comfortably in our beds and got lots of rest this weekend.

Some of our party went skiing, while others went to the spa. My husband loved using the parking pass for the VIP lot right in front of the resort. I loved walking to the spa next door (a 2 minute walk!). My friend and I actually went to the spa two days in a row and then shuttled over to the resort to meet the guys for dinner. We loved the many conveniences afforded us by this property.

The owner is extremely helpful and communicative. She made the rental process extremely easy. We found the arrival and departure checklists to be very detailed yet easy to follow. The property is beautiful and well-cared for. We didn't want to leave! We hope to visit at least once a year.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're very happy to receive this feedback, as this experience is exactly our goal for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very nice met our needs.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy when our guests are happy. Providing a home away from home that meets your needs is our goal. Ours is the only place with 2 equal master suites each with king beds and the third bedroom suite with twin beds for children. Happy New Year everyone!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Condo with lots of room and cozy

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this is a lot more spacious than it looks in the pictures! The beds are quite comfy and there were thorough instructions on arrival, check out, and everything in between you would need to know!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to have provided for such a happy experience for guests: this is our goal. We love to hear confirmation of people having had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Too many chores/sticky notes

  • 2 of 5

The listing advertises dog friendly, but then once you talk to owner - she really only prefers small sized dogs and only 1! Once you sign the contract she states 10 days before your card will be charged and she will send you check in information. I had to email, call and text for several days before I finally knew what was going on. I did not hear from her until 2 days before our arrival. then she sent me multiple emails of check in lists and check out lists. The condo was COVERED in sticky noted taped everywhere reminding you of all the crazy things she had on the list. We had to get late check out just to do all the laundry that was required. The washer and dryer were not working properly and we had to leave. I had to wring out all the towels to hang up to air dry. The place was appealing because we had 3 couples, and this has 3 king beds with bathrooms. However, the living area is quite small which would have never worked if 1 couple didn't back out.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are devastated to receive a 2-star rating and are sorry that this guest was unhappy with her stay. Communications sometimes are tricky, and less than full information is misleading. I have to say that this guest is mostly offering unjust criticism in retrospect. Our emails and forms have been composed to provide the clearest possible information. We never charge the remainder payment sooner than 10 days before arrival but often between 3 and 9 days before arrival and do not promise to send arrival information at 10 days out. We always respond within 24 hours but usually within a couple of hours, as was the case here. There were an email and one call the day before the text to which I responded within 5 minutes about check in information, which is stated to be sent 2 or 3 days before arrival, never 10 days before. Our place is dog-friendly, but not for 3 dogs. Initially this guest announced plans for 1 small terrier and soon asked about another that would be a lab that would definitely need to come. Then she said the terrier would not be coming and they'd like to bring their puppy instead, which happened to be a breed that would become a very large dog by the time of arrival. That issue was settled before she signed the rental agreement. Our notes have been found to be helpful by previous guests, for example in knowing which way a lever should be pushed for lock and which for unlock. We would apologize for the inconvenience of the departure laundry request, although a choice is offered, and we apologize for the trouble with our washer. It is often finicky. We could offer a small refund for the extra trouble and would have done so had she talked with us about this. We hope that this review will not be published, as it is not representative of views of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Convenient and Responsive

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this condo. The setup was very convenient for a party of 5 adults and 2 young children. Beds super comfortable! We loved the gas fireplace. The kitchen had everything we needed to accommodate cooking all of our meals at home. Additionally, the owner was very responsive to any questions that we had and even accommodated a late request for a late checkout on our departure day (because no new tenants were arriving immediately). A great stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to share our home with guests and to hear that everything was comfortable and enjoyable. We love communicating with people about their visits to Wintergreen.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Richmond, VA

Great Location & Exrtemely Helpful Owner

  • 4 of 5

My Family of 6 adults spent Thanksgiving in this condo. It's perfect for 3 couples because each bedroom has a private bath. That was the main reason we chose this condo. The location is convenient to everything in Wintergreen as well...right next to the Aquatics and Fitness Center. We were pleased that there was no noise at all from folks above us. And we loved the fireplace.

The owner was very responsive to all my questions and provides many items in the kitchen that we would otherwise have to bring ourselves. The kitchen appliances both large and small were very adequate. And a pet is allowed. What more could you want?

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you . Our goal is to do our best for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Devils Backbone Brewing Company
Basic Necessities
Casual but sophisticated. Very small. Exquisite wines for sale. Excellent soups. Unusual pla...
Flying Fox Vineyard
Very small and intimate, beautifully furnished tasting room. Boxwood lined patio and pathway...
Wintergreen Nature Foundation
Great source for hiking, nature trails, plants and animals, and support for Wintergreen's un...
Smokys Black Bear Cafe LLC -- CLOSED
Our favorite place for my favorite breakfast - bacon and blueberry muffin. Great informal re...
The Copper Mine Bistro
Lovely natural wood and extensive windows, especially for seeing the snow. Excellent food. E...
Chirio's Pizza
Well loved by teens and 20 somethings. Good food.
Wintergreen Rescue Squad Inc
They literally saved my life during/after my heart attack. Excellently skilled and caring te...
Blue Ridge Pig
Very informal. Excellent, excellent food. Homemade bread. In the valley in Nellysford nearby.
Hill Top Berry Farm & Winery
Berry-based wines, meads, and other unusual specialty beverages.
Devils Grill
A short walk from our vacation home, this "grill" is actually a lovely upscale restaurant, w...
The Market at Wintergreen Resort
The Market is mostly a quick grocery store with a deli, sandwich, and pizza counter. Basic a...
Great destination for everyone!
Bold Rock Hard Cider
Delicious beverages.
King Family Vineyards
Good wine choices. Beautiful meadows with mountains as background.
Wild Wolf Brewing Company
Fun place for food and beer.
Blue Ridge Parkway - North Entrance
Just one mile from the entrance to Wintergreen Mountain Resort.
Blue Mountain Brewery
Great beer. Lots of people.
Blue Ridge Parkway
Excellent, scenic drive. Trails for hiking along the way.
Crabtree Falls
Beautiful hiking trail.
Flying Fox Vineyard
Very small and intimate, beautifully furnished tasting room. Boxwood lined patio and pathway...
Veritas Vineyard And Winery
Large, open, comfortable wine tasting room including bread and cheese snacks for sale. Veran...
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Charlottesville, Va
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Edge
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Devil's Knob, Wintergreen Resort
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Hwy 64
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Devil's Grill
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Wintergreen Resort
Car: necessary

Passes to Indoor Pool and Hot Tubs in the Spa Building. Shuttle Stop is steps from your door. Games and activities center - The Adventure Dome. Out of Bounds and The Treehouse have activities & children's programs including day care. Trillium Nature Center focuses on wildlife, botanical, & hiking guides.

Canoeing is a popular activity in the valleys around Wintergreen. Fishing with or without a guide is fabulous.




Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

No fees. Refundable Security Deposit $250. Refundable Pet Deposit $150.
Tax 10%. Holiday periods add 10%. Early check-in and late check-out often available: like staying another day!
Rates include GUEST PASSES for Aquatics and Fitness Center and more.
Downpayment of half the rent is due at time of reservation. Rent Remainder is due 10 days before arrival.
Refundable damage/security deposit 250 and refundable pet deposit 150 are due 10 days before arrival.
Guests responsible for rentals must be at least 25 years old and have trained children and pets about proper behavior and taking care of a home.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.