Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

5 BR Ski House with Hot Tub Near Okemo & Killington

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-13)

'LITTLE BROOK HOUSE AT ECHO LAKE'

Looking for the perfect summer getaway for your group in Central Vermont’s lakes region? Little Brook House at Echo Lake – a spacious, non-smoking, five-bedroom retreat with hot tub, Jacuzzi bath and loads of amenities -- is perfect for large families, reunions or groups of friends! The house’s proximity to Echo Lake Inn (a two-minute walk) makes it a great place to stay during a wedding weekend.

The house sleeps 13 (including two sofabeds). Enjoy an exhilarating day swimming, kayaking, fishing, hiking, golfing or bike riding, then gather in the hot tub on the back deck that overlooks state forest land listen to the babbling brook. Enjoy the fireplace, hot tub, outdoor fire pit, horseshoes, volleyball and more. The large yard provides a great playground for your group.

The house is centrally located to access Ludlow, Woodstock and Rutland.

LITTLE BROOK HOUSE IS NOT LITTLE

Little Brook House at Echo Lake gets its name because Little Brook flows just behind it. Three miles up 2,320-foot Tiny Mountain, you’ll find Tiny Pond, which makes a great day hike – look for the moose who live up there!

HOUSE HISTORY

The house has an interesting history – it actually started as a chicken coop over 150 years ago! Over the past century is was built upward and outward, so that today it’s a spacious, comfortable home perfect for large families, reunions or groups of friends. Some of the original wood remains around the fireplace, and the built-ins limit the size of the flat screen TV in the living room, but you should enjoy the rustic ambience.

ECHO LAKE AND THE BOAT

Little Brook House is a five-minute walk from Echo Lake, where a two-person kayak is docked for your private use. The Black River is across the street – both the lake and the river offer excellent fishing. Need more boats? Tyson Village Store, across the street, has boats and stand-up paddleboards available for you to rent at very reasonable prices, and Tom will drive you to whichever lake you choose. Tell him Lisa sent you!

HOW TO SPEND YOUR TIME?

Relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front porch on lazy summer days, or gather in the hot tub on the back deck that overlooks state forest land listen to the babbling brook. Kids love to play in the creek, hike in the back woods (hundreds of acres with a series of waterfalls and gorges), play volleyball or horseshoes (adult and kids sets), bocce or croquet, ride the tire swing, kick a ball around the expansive lawn, and catch snakes and salamanders. Cross the street to the Black River and catch a few fish, or walk to Echo Lake for swimming and kayaking.

(The address is 1785 Rte 100 North, just south of Echo Lake in north Ludlow. NOTE THAT THE MAP places this house at the wrong place. We are actually across the street from this location: https://goo.gl/maps/sMtL2WsXEfp)

9% VT lodging tax, $200 cleaning and $100 hot tub will be added to total rent, as well as a CSA travel insurance payment.

WINTER -- Little Brook House is just 3.5 miles from Okemo Mountain Resort and 11 from Killington Skyeship. It is available as a winter seasonal rental, or for winter weeks and weekends.

More Details

Owner
Lisa
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 26, 2017

About Lisa

We're a family that loves the mountains and the water, and relaxing in Vermont's Green Mountains. We were forced to move away from the area a few years back (because of the recession) but get back to our Vermont home whenever we can!

Lisa purchased this house in 2002

Why Lisa chose Okemo

Because of its proximity to lakes, mountains, and world-class skiing. Because it's got a friendly, small-town atmosphere. Because NY and Boston are so close!

What makes this house unique

Serenity. Peace. Nature. Togetherness. The country store across the street, and the little library around the corner. The babbling brook out back. Walking down to the lake with fishing poles or kayak paddles. Drinking beer and playing horseshoes in the yard.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to let you know my family had a wonderful week at the Little Brook House. There was room for all of us. We enjoyed the Brook but all the rain we have had this Spring and Summer has made it a raging brook!! The man at the Tyson Village Store said it’s usually a calm stream at this time of year!We had one full day and night of torrential rains and an afternoon and night. We got to sit out and play in the yard with our grandchildren.We used your list of 20+ favorite things to do also. We had stayed in the area the previous 2 years and had already done some but found quite a few new suggestions. We actually saw a moose at the crossing!We will probably head back to the Echo Lake area next year and hope your home is available for us.
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 23

Map

Long Trail Brewing Company
Camp Plymouth State Park
Olson's Bridgewater Corners Country Store
The Echo Lake Inn
Lake Ninevah

Our home is located in the North Ludlow Lakes region. It's a short walk to Echo Lake, where we have a boat. It's 1 1/2 miles from Camp Plymouth State Park. South 4 miles is Okemo Ski Resort, and north 11 miles is Killington Ski Resort. We are on a scenic Vermont road that offers beautiful driving and bike riding. the fishing is great. A wonderful hiking trailhead is a three minute walk up the road. Across the street is a little country store with everything you need.

Amenities

Ludlow House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Pack-n-play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 2 sofabeds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Hot tub. Outdoor deck and covered porch. Many ski areas nearby, including Okemo and Killington. Two-person kayak for guest use at nearby inn's dock. Volleyball, horseshoes, bocce, badminton, whiffleball, tire swing, more!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
5 BR Ski House with Hot Tub Near Okemo & Killington
average rating of 4.142857 based on 37 reviews
Philadelphia, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group for our stay and there was plenty of room for everyone. The place was very clean. It was definitely a plus having the general store across the street.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2004
  • Stayed: Feb 2004
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
1

Do not stay here. Unsanitary property and doesn't meet the description

  • 1 of 5

This property was unsanitary, poorly maintained and the communication with the owner and property manager was inefficient to the point of unresponsiveness. We sent the message below upon arrival only to hear back from the owner and manager on the last day of our stay.

Please read message below which we originally sent to owner. She agreed to partially refund for fees but I never heard back from her since. It has been 8 days since we departed. Lastly and most important, children in my family who slept on the carpet on the floor have started to exhibit *** LYCE *****in the past couple of days.

My family decided to stay here as we all had long trips getting to Ludlow (coming from Mexico) and we wanted to enjoy our time together. We put aside the discomfort of this property to enjoy our quality time which happens rarely given we are all scattered in different countries, however I highly recommend against staying here.

Hi Lisa,

We have been trying to contact Keith via phone and have received no answer. He also doesn't have a voicemail setup.

"We arrived at the property a few hours ago and I must say are very underwhelmed by the care and condition of the house.

The first thing was garbage bags of lose trash filled to the brimm sitting on the front porch. We contacted Cheryl as the kitchen doesn't seem to have been properly cleaned neither does the rest of the house. The couch downstairs is dirty and full of stains. The water in the hot tub is cloudy and looks like it hasn't been cleaned, which is unfortunate because we had picked this house for the amenities it advertised.

Dishes and silverware are all dirty.

The bedrooms are also not properly taken care of and not all beds have linens.

The house is moldy musty and the little kids are all having an allergic reaction to it.

I would appreciate a call from you or Keith as this doesn't match what was described and we expected with the rates and additional fees we were charged. "

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest had the right to be upset. She arrived to a house that was not ready, and there was no excuse. The staff should have prepared the house, but somehow they got the date mixed up and thought she was arriving the next day. On top of that, the property manager was having phone service issues, and I was on vacation in a remote village out of the country, so communication was below par. We had the house checked and there is no lice. We have refunded her cleaning fee and one night's rent for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Property is amazing. House not so much.

  • 3 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed hiking waterfalls and trails around house. Surrounding area is beautiful. The house while sizable, was very musty and was only surface clean. The owner never replied to let us know whether we could arrive at a different time after she said she'd get back to us. The wrong house information was emailed to us which impeded our directions to finding the correct house as well as being able to enter, etc.The beds were very uncomfortable and the linens were stained and there were not enough towels which meant we needed to run the dryer constantly. Couches were visibly dirty, we needed to cover them in blankets just to sit. The instructions folder inside didn't match the way the house actually functioned-wifi password, etc. Hot tub was 3/4 filled- we had to fill it with buckets of water. However, we enjoyed the fire pit and when we ran out of wood it was replaced quickly after we requested it by phone.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad this tenant enjoyed the house and the area. It's true I sent them the wrong house information, and corrected it when they pointed it out. We did upgrade the Wifi a month ago, so the Wifi information in the folder was wrong, but they were supplied the new information by email. We also recently replaced the mattresses on the beds, before their stay, so I don't understand that complaint. The hot tub was full and clean, as it always is. Towels were laid out for all occupants, so there should have been enough, unless they brought more people than the house is supposed to fit. If there weren't enough for some inexplicable reason, they could have called the cleaning service or property manager and requested more, but they did not.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Gem

  • 5 of 5

Little Brook House is a perfect gem of a place. You can hear the babbling brook at night from every bedroom. Instructions were clear and the property is perfect for lawn games (badminton, horseshoes, beanbag/cornhole). The jacuzzi on the back deck is wonderful and the house is about a mile or two away from Camp Plymouth State Park and Buttermilk Falls and about ten miles down the road from Long Trail Brewery, great for beers and lunch. Manager was communicative and traffic was surprisingly non-existent; we would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very dirty house

  • 1 of 5

The house was very dirty inside. Most of the dishes were old and damaged. The beds were smelling, the carpets were dirty. It seems that they just want to rent the house and don't care about it. However, The location and the back porch with river were great. Totally, doesn't recommend this house at all! be Careful!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house has new carpeting and the cleaning service, which is exemplary, constantly monitors dishes and kitchen stock to make sure there is enough and that it's in good condition. There is a classic Pfalzcraft dish set as well as unbreakable Corel ware. We also just purchased new furniture, lighting and art. I would hardly call these comments grounds for a 1-star review and suggest people read other reviews when making their lodging decision. Every season you get a complainer or two; its the nature of the rental business. But this is a lovely, comfortable vacation home.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
3

Bring your own towels

  • 3 of 5

This house is completely sufficient and functional for a big group, but lots of little things made it not as nice as it could be. The ad suggests that you don't need to bring towels because all linens and towels are provided. Unfortunately our group followed these instructions and were surprised to find that there were insufficient towels provided, and the towels that were provided were very small and thin. There were quite a few other very small things that made the stay less enjoyable than it could have been: multiple lamps that were broken, light bulbs that were blown or just missing, we couldn't figure out how to control the temperature, there was no hand soap provided in the kitchen, a pull out sofa was half-broken with the mattress falling through, there was only one frying pan in the kitchen (to feed everyone in a place that sleeps 14, I would think more than one frying pan would be provided), and the owner sent us directions to the wrong house. These are all fairly minor concerns, but they add up.

That being said, the house has some lovely benefits. It has a working dishwasher. There are good instructions for testing the hot tub to make sure the water is good with instructions about which chemicals to add for different test results. It has a shower upstairs and a bath/shower downstairs, both of which worked well. It has plenty of room for parking cars. The stream behind the house provided for a really nice hike behind the property. Although the house is right on Route 100 it is set back just far enough that it doesn't feel like it's on the major road. Also, being right across the street from the general store is very convenient. There is an extensive VHS movie collection.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank this group for sharing issues they had while staying in our home, because we always want our guests to have a wonderful, worry-free vacation experience. Our property manager is available 24/7 and could have remedied their problems swiftly -- but they never contacted us or called him during their stay. As soon as we found out about the broken sofabed it was prepared, but the renters waited until after they left to complain. We could also have easily told them how to control the three-zone heating system, designed to keep every area of the house cozy and warm on cold winter nights. Again, they didn't ask! The lamps are being repaired (most just needed to be plugged in), and a towel and kitchen pot inventory is being taken (although new towels and pots and pans were purchased just before the winter season). We work hard to maintain our home to the highest standards and are immediately responsive to guests when they contact us. We can't, however, help people who "suffer in silence" and wait till after they have left to complain. The Little Brook House at Echo Lake is welcoming and ready to go for future renters. If you run into any issues during your stay, we encourage you to contact our property manager right away!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties