Nukuhau, a neighborhood in Taupō, is home to this apartment. Taupō Marina and Boat Ramp and Golf Club Taupō are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those looking for area attractions can visit Spa Thermal Park and A.C. Baths. Waipahihi Botanical Gardens and Taupō Hot Springs are also worth visiting.
Taupō i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
Taupō Museum and Art Gallery - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
Taupō Marina and Boat Ramp - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
beach near Taupō Central - 3 min drive - 2.2 km
Getting around
Taupō Airport (TUO) - 13 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 19 min walk
Waterside - 16 min walk
Cafe Baku - 19 min walk
Lone Star Taupo - 18 min walk
Fast and Fresh Bakery Cafe - 13 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo?
As of Oct 27, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo on Nov 30, 2026 start from $210, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is 32/14 Norman Smith, Taupo located?
Located in Nukuhau, this apartment building is within a 15-minute walk of Waikato River and Lake Taupō. Taupō i-SITE Visitor Information Centre and Taupō Marina and Boat Ramp are also within 1 mi (2 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
We stayed here over the Christmas/new year period with my husband and 2 x children.
Was such a lovely, CLEAN and great place to stay.
Great location, and the pool was only a minute walk away which was an extra bonus for us and the kids.
Would highly recommend.
We had a pleasant stay. We wish the swimming pool opening season was clearly advertised as it was too cold to swim when we visited during October school holiday.
This property was clean and well stocked. We appreciated that they had linens because not all New Zealand properties have them. We were close enough to walk to restaurants. It was quiet at night. The only thing I wished was that there was shampoo and body wash in the showers. Coming from further away, it’s nice to have those provided. We appreciated the nice big table and comfortable beds.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 13, 2025
We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We also appreciate your feedback.
Thanks again for sharing your experience. We’d love to welcome you back!
Great stay at this property. Location is walking distance to town with nice views over the water from lounge and main bedroom. Road noise was a bit especially from second bedroom but we knew this and it wasn't super bad. Courtyard is next to Road but you can't see them and vice versa. Everything was clean and kitchen had everything you need. Pool is a bit further from apartment than expected but was SO nice and warm and would have been used far more if the weather had played ball! Overall a great place to stay.
Excellent location and plenty of room. Road was very noisy at night, but I guess that's to be expected as so close to town. Had everything we needed. Extremely clean and tidy. Very flash. Would stay there again. Nice views too from the river side bedroom.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Julie B.
Jan 9, 2022
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Good location, well stocked, but not super clean
This unit is road-side so very noisy, but in a great location for walking into Taupo (10 mins). 3 levels, garage on ground floor, kitchen/living and toilet on middle level with patio out the back, then 2 bedrooms and main bathroom (toilet and shower) on top level.
Washer and dryer on ground floor in garage.
Nice view of river from living room between front units, and panoramic view from top master bedroom.
Kitchen really well stocked with lots of dishes, and had oven, 2 dish drawers, electric hobs, toaster and kettle.
Patio is at back adjacent to the busy road, so very noisy, but a great sun trap as slightly below road level and has shade sail - mostly private.
Fans in 2 bedrooms on top level but no air conditioning - so bedrooms extremely hot in Jan (daytime temps around 30).
Owner keeps stuff in unit (1 car in double garage, drawers in main bedroom have clothes) - did not bother me.
Fantastic communal pool (heated) with a few deckchairs. Gated community, so felt secure.
Overall, unit not super clean. Sheets clean but stained, food stuck to some cutlery, fridge had pink gunk in veg drawer, tiles in shower need a good scrub.
Well located and well stocked if you don't mind a bit of noise (I got used to it) and are not bothered about complete cleanliness.
Stayed 11 nights in Dec 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 21, 2022
Thank you for your review and letting us know about the sheets, upon inspection we have found they were stained by the duvet cover, we have however replaced all the sheets in the apartment.
Unfortunately covid came along and shortened our stay. The property is great if you want to walk into town and restaurants. Be aware, two lots of stairs to the bedrooms, especially with suitcases. The airconditioner didn’t seem to be very effective on heat.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 9, 2021
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to hosting you again another time.
Loved our time here - 5 stars. One comment for constructive purposes - , property gets very hot upstairs even with all blinds drawn and Windows open so air con would be far more effective than the fans
Nice apartment, central and lovely beds.
Did not so much like the doors, cupboards and dressers with "private" on it. It felt like you were intruding in someones place. The private area with spices in the kitchen added to the fact that you felt you were intruding in someones house.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2019
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Jörg L.
Feb 26, 2019
We had a great time in this wonderful property with river view
We had a great time in this wonderful property with river view.
The cottage is cosy and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay.
Close to town and lake!
Highly recommend!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Linda S.
Dec 12, 2018
Great location- views of the river, easy to get to town, but...
Great location- views of the river, easy to get to town, but super private and really quiet.
Comfortable, clean and good home comforts. Highly recommend.