Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Casa Ix Chel - 6 Bedroom Family Compound, Pool, BBQ, Walk to Beach, No Car Need

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 6.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Step through the gates of Casa Ix Chel and you'll find yourself in a tropical garden containing many species of tropical flowers and fruit trees including coconuts, bananas, papayas and lemons. Walk up the path to the main home and you will find the swimming pool, which has a shallow section designed for submerged lounging and the outdoor eating area surrounded by palms and bougainvillea. There's plenty of area to lounge in one of the teak chaise lounges, chairs or the teak dining table and chairs. The home and gardens sit on a quarter acre lot.

The home stands three stories tall. The architect used many curved lines and lots of exposed wood so there is definitely a nautical feel. Enter through the front door and you'll find the first living room, a great spot to read and relax. There is a small bar that connects with the large kitchen. The dining area has a picture window overlooking the pool and gardens. The kitchen is newly renovated with a six burner gas stove, range hood, dishwasher, two basin sink, and a large refrigerator, all stainless steel.

You'll find the master bedroom on the first floor. It has a king size bed imported from Java. The master bath has a double vanity and a shower with hand molded tub. There is also a powder room on the first floor for guests and people coming in from the pool area.

Make your way to the second floor and you'll find the second living area. There is a television sitting area and a large wrap around porch overlooking the pool and gardens. There are two bedrooms on this floor, one with a king size bed and one with a queen size bed, both with private bathrooms.

The third floor is home to the crow's nest. Here you'll find two bunk beds, each with a double bed and a single bed. There is also a nice bathroom with shower.

In addition to the main house there are two free standing studios (cabinas). Each has a queen bed, kitchenette, stove, frig, private bath and enormous vaulted ceilings. The studios are located at the front of the property but are hidden from the main house by lush foliage for extra privacy. Perfect for couples, in-laws or teens.

Additional features include cable TV, DVD, wireless internet, all linens, and an outdoor shower and half bathroom. There is a washer/dryer located behind the house which is available for guests use.

'Downtown' Tamarindo is a short 2 blocks and the beach is 3 blocks from our home. Coastal Property Management has a full concierge desk and also is available 24/7 in the event anything comes up.

Keywords: 3 home private compound, perfect for families, couples, in-laws, & teens, pool, gated

More Details

Property Manager
Coastal Property Management
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

About Coastal Property Management

Coastal Property Management has managed Casa Ix Chel since the owners purchased it and renovated it for their family getaways to Costa Rica. The company is happy to play host and concierge to numerous groups that make memories at Casa Ix Chel annually.

Coastal Property Management purchased this house in 2006

Why Coastal Property Management chose Guanacaste

The property offers groups lots of space. The two cabinas are completely independent from the main house with kitchenettes and full baths. We love having dinner outside by the pool after firing up the barbecue.

Also, we feel blessed to be able to watch Howler Monkeys passing through the trees both in front of and behind the house.

What makes this house unique

This private gated compound is perfect for families & friends who want to vacation together but don't want to give up their privacy. In addition to the spacious main house that sleeps 10-12 people, the two free standing detached studios offer everything for in-laws, couples or teens need (kitchenette, breakfast table, private bath, queen bed, sitting area, TV) so they can spend as much or as little time as they prefer on their own but still be only steps away from the main house and the pool.

Amenities

Tamarindo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Cabina Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Cabina Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • All bedrooms have private baths with showers. Powder room off pool.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master - 1 king
    Guest 1 - 1 queen
    Guest 2 - 1 king
    Crow's Nest - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , Two bunk beds with double on bottom and single on top
    Cabina 1 - 1 queen
    Cabina 2 - 1 queen
  • Each bedroom has a private bath. There is also a powder roof off the pool deck and an outdoor shower. All bedrooms have individually controlled ACs and ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Besides the main home which sleeps 10-12 you may rent one or two free standing detached studios (cabinas) to accommodate your in-laws or couples who want extra privacy or if you just need more rooms. Each large one room studio has a queen bed, kitchenette, breakfast table, sofa, private bath. Rent all 3 homes to sleep 14 -16 people.

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Casa Ix Chel - 6 Bedroom Family Compound, Pool, BBQ, Walk to Beach, No Car Need
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
Chippewa Falls
1

Trip to Costa Rica Stayed at Casa Ix Chel

  • 1 of 5

Our overall impression of this house was disappointing. After reading all of the reviews, we thought we were in for the vacation of a life time. Not so much. This house does not have the charm that it looks like it has in the pictures. We were there on a very busy week so I do understand why somethings were not taken care of but... we also paid prime dollar to stay there this week. I felt like we paid way too much for what we got. The plumbing was backed up the entire week we were there. We called the agency. They sent someone to try to fix it but it was never fixed. The plumbing would back up into the master shower in the main level. The smell was horrible. We could not use that shower at all. The third floor is very hot. It does have an air conditioning unit but it did not work. It was leaking all over. We did call the agency about this but it was never looked at. We could not have anyone sleep up on the third floor. It was way too hot without air. The whole house could use some cleaning and painting. There was a little bit of charm in all of the windows and wood work on the ceiling. We could not get the dishwasher to work so we had to hand wash dishes all week. Not a big deal except that the smell from the plumbing backing up would come up the sink too. It was a horrible smell. The life saver in the house was the pool. The kids loved it. The location was OK. It was a walk to town and to the beach. The towels in the bathroom were not very new or nice. They look like they have been used a few times too many. Again, I would not complain as much as I am but we paid A LOT of money for this house for a week. We had certain expectations and this house did not meet very many of them. I will say that when we asked for the house to be cleaned half way through our stay, the cleaning ladies were great and made the house smell and look more livable. I sure hope the people that stayed after us had better luck with the plumbing and air conditioning.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
2

Cleaning crew and management

  • 2 of 5

From the beginning everything look fine,but the lasts day of our stay one of the cleaning lady's went inside the house and I questioned her who are you?and she said iam here to start cleaning,because the checkout is at 10 am,and the lady was very rude ,complaining that we had use towels totally rediculous.thas what they are there for.they had giving us the uglies towels that you can imagine.the lady had hid the nicer towels and we had found them.

One of the manager on duty was also very rude! And he also came in in a treating me with fines if the family members would not leave I informed him that arrangement was done previously for our departure at a agreed time ,the condition of some of the utility's was very bad condition refrigerator tv air conditioning and some of the patio furniture outside, and this manager ruin my traveling plans he enbarrasss me in from of all my family total disappointment!at the end.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry for any inconvenience that you felt. Our contractual check-out time is 10 am and as we had other guests coming in that same day at 3pm, it was important for us to start cleaning at the appointed time as I am sure you realize how big the house is. We did agree, after speaking with you, that you would check-out at 12:00 and you actually did check-out at 1pm. Again, I am sorry for any inconvenience to you. We have purchased all new towels for this home and have repaired the damaged chair for the new teak furniture on the pool deck. I hope you come back and visit us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Athens, GA
5

Ideal for groups and families

  • 5 of 5

Casa Ix Chel was perfect for our group's vacation with close proximity to shops, restaurants, bars and especially beaches. Outside, the pool is larger than we expected from pictures and the outdoor shower was key to keeping sand from being tracked inside. Inside, the bedrooms were great as each has its own air conditioning unit which was nice after spending our days on the beach. The house has lots of spaces, featuring two spacious living rooms although as a group of 7 we didn't even need the upstairs one. The spacious kitchen and grill just steps from the kitchen was ideal for cooking meals together and grilling out when not wanting to eat out at the nearby restaurants. However, for the nights out the location of Casa Ix Chel was ideal. All restaurants we ventured to are within a 15 min walk with my favorite of the trip (Season's) being only a few doors down from Casa Ix Chel. The downstairs living room has large, screened windows that we loved leaving open. The house has a great stereo system which we were able to hook up to our iPads, iPods, and/or computers. This was perfect for listening to music while by the pool or around the house. This house is great for almost any group dynamic whether it's couples, group of young adults, or families. If you have questions about restaurants or things to do in the area the property managers have great suggestions. You won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our home and the beautiful area. Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review. Come back soon.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Paradise Calls

  • 5 of 5

Casa Ix Chel is a hidden gem in Costa Rica that will only add to the memories of this trip to paradise.

The location is great. It is an easy 5 min walk to the beaches and even shorter into town. You will feel very secure in the property surrounded by tall privacy walls and a main entrance that remains locked. When you step out of the secluded compound, you find yourself only steps from the town with plenty of shops and grocery stores to stock the fridge.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the pool. It was much larger than we had expected and provided ample room for our little boy TJ to play safely all day and night.

The kitchen is excellent and well equipped. There is even a nice area just outside the door that can be used to grill fresh seafood over an open flame. There are also many restaurants within easy walking distance of the house that you need to try. Specifically, The Seasons was the closest and possibly the best we ate. We celebrated our little girls sweet 16 there and they provided an amazing meal and even an unprompted dessert with a candle for her.

The house is constructed with screens on the doors and windows that allow guests to let the calming Costa Rica winds circulate the house when the sun goes down or close all the doors and windows and let the AC do the work. The overall property is very well maintained and the natural foliage allows for wildlife sightings and even picking some fresh fruits.

IN RESPONSE TO ANOTHER REVIEWER. Yes the area behind the house where the washing machine is located is not as immaculate and consists of cleaning supplies and equipment. BUT if you went to Costa Rica to do laundry and hang out behind a house instead of the pool or the beach, we can’t help that.

The staff is courteous and quick to respond. They are bilingual and very accommodating to needs. They are also great at helping plan activities for your trip such as fishing, hiking tours, canopy zip-lines and more.

We had 7 people staying on the property and had more than ample space. Given the chance, I would go back and take more friends with me. YOLO.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home and hope you come back soon.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Athens, GA / USA
5

Costa Rica Trip - First Timer

  • 5 of 5

The house is absolutely beautiful! The kitchen and bathrooms have been recently updated and are very nice! The house is also located at the back of the property and is very private for being close to town.

We had 7 people staying and it every one had their own space and we never flet cramped.

The pool is a larger than it seems in pictures.

This is a great location to the city center and beach. You could be on the beach or in the town in less than 5 minutes walking!

Great restaurants all around you. Seasons a few doors down is amazing!

Would recommend this house to groups and families as there is a lot of space. And there are two cabinas in the front of the property that people can stay in.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. That's great that you had such a nice stay and hope you come back soon. Thanks so much.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Rental

  • 5 of 5

Casa Ix Chel is a terrific rental property. The location is near the beach and the main strip, but far enough away that you won't see or hear people or traffic. The pool is terrific and much bigger than expected, we spent most of our time in it. The kitchen is well equipped and I recommend hiring a chef to make the most of it, we did this for 2 nights and it was perfect. Wifi works well once you get it connected, great fans, air conditioning worked and the property was generally clean and well kept. The reference in 1 review to the garbage in the back - the 'back' is way around the backside of the house, so much so that it could be someone else's property. We didn't even notice it. The property is very private will huge trees and flowering bushes. Very secure with a gate lock and locks on the doors. Comfortable reclining sofa and chairs. We had 9 people stay very comfortably here and would go back in a heartbeat. Ask about the restaurant located up the street (2 minute walk - not toward town), it's a 5-star hidden gem. We had a couple of water issues but that just happens sometimes in the city, and we tripped the breaker twice with too many people showering and too many air conditioners on, but we were pleasantly surprised that even the 3rd floor air conditioner kept things very cool.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home in Tamarindo. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We'd love to have you back anytime. Thanks again.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Liberia
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Seasons Restaurant
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Hacienda Pinilla
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Seasons
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Tamarindo
Car: not necessary

The Tamarindo area of Guanacaste, Costa Rica is heaven for outdoor activity enthusiasts but also has extensive options for guests who just wish to relax.

Surf lessons, cataraman sailing, fishing, national park tours, atvs, horseback riding, canopy tours, golf, tennis and more are available for pick up at the property.

We can provide on site chef services, massages, mani/pedi, yoga classes and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tamarindo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low season
May 1 2017 - Sep 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Marathon week
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
Low season
Sep 18 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
High Season III
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2017 - Dec 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,200
 
 
New year
Dec 26 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Rates subject to change. Concierge and extra maid service available. Please inquire ahead of time. We will contact you one week before arrival to arrange for your check in. Thank you! - Coastal Property Management

50% non-refundable deposit required via major credit card or Paypal. Balance due upon arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties