Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Ocean View from this 3rd Floor, Easy access to pool, Beach Service -Gd214

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 980 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 58 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Bunk Area, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Welcome to Gulf Dunes Resort, on beautiful Okaloosa Island. The powdery, sugar-white sands found here are unique to this exclusive area, and if you are fortunate enough to vacation here, you'll experience a beach vacation like nowhere else in the US. The island atmosphere of Okaloosa eliminates the crowded found in nearby Destin, while putting you within minutes of Destin Harbor and all of the attractions of the Emerald Coast.

Gulf Dunes Resort, unit 214 is decorated in a fun, beach theme, offering an away-from-home feel the minute you walk in. You'll immediately notice the breathtaking, direct ocean view from your private 3rd floor balcony. The living spaces and kitchen are upgraded with the latest tvs, furniture, and appliances.

The master bedroom has a king bed with adjoining private full bath. The walk through master bath has a vanity and access to the tub/shower and washer/dryer. The additional half bath is accessed from the master or the hallway. Hallway bunk beds, located just outside the bedroom, are perfect for kids or small adults. A sleeper sofa offers additional sleeping for a total of 6 family members. The kitchen is fully appointed and stocked so all you need to do is bring the food.

We provide bed linens, blankets, bath towels, etc. Please bring your own beach towels. Each Gulf Dunes unit has a private washer and dryer for your convenience.

About the area: Okaloosa Island is part of a 30 mile stretch of continuous natural sand barrier. The ocean here is typically as clear as any water can be, with an emerald green color unique to this small area. The sands are pure white and powdery, like sugar, and the beaches are kept immaculately clean and safe by wonderful Okaloosa County authorities. There is plenty of fun right here on the island, from putt putt golf, to outdoor grills to fine dining and night life. We have a fishing pier just a mile away, which is also the home of the original Gulfarium Dolphin Exhibit. Take the kids to the Gulfarium to see dolphins perform, as well as their friends the walrus, sea lions, and penguins. They'll love it.

Okaloosa Island is located within Fort Walton Beach and near world famous Destin. Destin, a beautiful 10 minute drive to the East, where she will meet you with a picturesque view of the Destin Harbor at Harbor Walk Village. Destin is home to the largest private Gulf Fishing Fleet and busiest charter deep sea fishing fleet in the Southeast. If you are interested in good seafood, then just pick one of Destin's many dockside grills for a taste of the day's fresh catch.

The more adventurous may enjoy a jet ski dolphin tour, or a parasailing adventure. You may also find bungee jumping, go carting, golf, putt putt golf, water theme parks, outlet shopping and much more. Bring your family to our beautiful coastline, and take home memories of a lifetime.


This rental will include:

Free WiFi

Free Beach Service (1 set)

More Details

Property Manager
Sunset Resort Rentals
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Sunset Resort Rentals

Sunset Resort Rentals is one of Destin's most trusted management companies. Our properties are clean and well maintained. We've been providing quality vacation rentals to our guests since 2004. From reservation to departure, we provide dedicated, quality service to you and your family.

Come stay with us once, and you'll see that we work hard to provide you with only the very best.


Cancellations made prior to 45 days to arrival will forfeit 50% the deposit.

Cancellations made within 30-45 days prior to arrival will forfeit the full deposit.

Cancellations made within 30 days prior to arrival will forfeit the total cost of stay


Ft Walton Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Resort
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Hallway Bathroom - toilet
  • 1.5
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Hallway Bunks just outside the bedroom provide additional
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf ...
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
23% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Direct Ocean View from this 3rd Floor, Easy access to pool, Beach Service -Gd214
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews

Needs major updates!

  • 1 of 5

Furniture needs to be replaced, and under the couch was big time dust and what looked like crumbs, the kitchen cabinets are peeling, found what we thought was mold in the bathroom near the shower, dishes were not clean and found strands of hair on one dish. The great part was the location! Would we ever rent that unit at Gulf Dunes!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

not bad but not my cup of tea.

  • 4 of 5

The sofa bed was broken and there wasn't a large pan or a strainer to steam crab legs or lobsters which I thought was odd.The patio table was rusted:(

The strict rule about the 4 pm check in was disappointing. Our room was ready all day I had been on the road since 2 am to meet my daughter and her 2 young children at Pensacola airport by 9.30 which unfortunately was the cheapest time for my daughter to fly in so we had to wait in the hot sun at the beach all day with two children who needed naps knowing that the room was clean and empty but we couldn't get in. I just feel like it should be a case-by-case basis I completely understand if it's a busy season and the turnover is very quick and you know cleaning people have to get in and out but the room is sitting there empty I don't see any harm in letting somebody check in 2 or 3 hours early they're not going to be spending their time making the room messy they're going to be unloading their stuff and you know having a place to have shade and being at the beach. I don't expect what I have to say to change policy but if a hotel can let you check in if their room is ready I feel like rental place that charged as much as we were charged could do it as well and it was just disappointing and I felt like it was unnecessary and it made me not really a fan.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your stay and your feedback. We are very responsive to all guest service requests during their stay. We will check the condition of the sofa bed, but there was not a report of any broken bed during this guest's stay or any other before or after. We usually respond within an hour to any request. We don't always stock the really large items in the condos due to limited space in some units, but if you need a large pot or a crock pot, we will be glad to bring one out. We are sorry that you may have had to wait until the check-in time to enter the room. This was a back to back rental, meaning that a guest departed this property on the day you arrived. We use that time in between guests to enter our properties for maintenance and cleaning issues. Our check-in time is listed in the ad, in our policies, and in your arrival information which is provided 10 days before arrival. We ask all of our guests to plan ahead, as you know the needs of your family. An early check-in may be feasible at times, but should not be anticipated. Thank you again for your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and a great view of the ocean!

  • 5 of 5

Best location for family with small children and a great view of the ocean!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to get away. Pretty unit and had great view of the ocean. The staff was helpful as well. I would give this an A+

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

We only stayed 2 nights and had an ocean view room on the 2nd floor. It was beautiful. The only thing we didn't like is that the hot water in the shower wasn't really hot. And you pay a hefty cleaning fee but the packet basically requires u to clean the place yourself. We didn't use any towels for fear of having to pay for one due to "damages". Overall we basically just slept there and utilized the pool once. It was clean and staff members were polite. The beach area was extremely clean and beautiful. We'll be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and for your review. We value your opinion so we can offer the best service to every guest. We appreciate that you took care of the property while you were there, and that is all we ask. We do not require guests to clean the property, except to run the dishwasher and take out the trash upon departure. We provide nice, clean towels and wash cloths for bathing, and we simply ask that you do not stain them. We are glad that you found the property clean and beautiful, and by following a few simple requests, the property can be beautiful for all the other guests as well. We would love for you to stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wilton , NH

Very clean, with excellent views

  • 4 of 5

Very clean 1 bedroom condo with excellent views of the Gulf. With 2 bunks in the Hallway,and pullout sofa bed,you could sleep 2 more adults and 2 pre teen children. However, I would not recommend to anyone for more then a night or two, as really cramped conditions for storage and only one tub/shower. Very nice for 2 adults for an extended amount of time. Everything was very nice, with exception of the kitchen. The kitchen has shown its age, with peeling paint everywhere from inexpensive cabinetry. Also, the small kitchen is very poorly outfitted for longer stays, with limited cutlery, utensils, knives that need to be replaced, can opener that needs replacing, etc.. It has small island counter, but only 2 bar stools,and they do not swivel to watch TV, or talk to others while they are in living space.There was a brand new refrigerator put in while we were there, so that was a major plus. Would I stay there again? The answer is yes, but only if I did not expect any visitors, mainly because of the view and cleanliness, and the great people from Sunset Rentals, that were especially nice to us. Next year we will spend 2 months on the other side of Destin, along 30a, which is more our cup of tea.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Amtrak Pensacola
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 98
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Fees and taxes apply to all rates.

    Please choose dates and detail pricing options on this page to see total prices.
  • From $73/nt - $422/wk - $700/mo
  • US Dollars
  • Fee and taxes apply to all rates.
  • Please choose dates and detail pricing options on this page to see total prices.