Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Front Home in Ballena Marine Natl Park

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Located on Costa Rica's South Pacific shore in Ballena Marine National Park, a renowned Marine Sanctuary that faces Playa Ballena, a pristine beach stretching along 4 kms of natural beauty.

Casa Luna is a modern house, bright and airy with beautiful views of Ballena Island and an easy stroll to amazing beaches. There are 4 full bedrooms with 4 complete baths, 3 en-suite. The Master bedroom now includes air conditioning.

If you are looking for a place to relax and be in contact with nature, this is the place to come. Casa Luna is located on a private farm with exclusive access to Ballena and Playa de Arco Beach.

Come and visit us, nature is calling! (more homes available)

A minimum 50% deposit is due upon booking. This is 100% refundable with more than 60 days advance notice from check in date. If cancellation is from 15-60 days prior to stay, deposit is 50% refundable. IF a cancellation is within 14 days of arrival, any refund is at the discretion of property owners.

Balance due 14 days prior to check in, unless arrangements have been made to pay balance upon arrival.

Keywords: House, ocean view, walk to beach, beachfront, Playa Ballena

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

What makes this house unique

Private access to the beach.

Amenities

Uvita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Covered Parking
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Separate Tub and shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Separate Tub and shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Day Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Queen (1), Double Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Beach Front Home in Ballena Marine Natl Park
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
1

Awful!!

  • 1 of 5

This place is awful! Save your money and go to a hostel! There are so many things wrong with this place I don’t know where to start. I went back and looked at some old reviews and realized they are from 2015 and perhaps this place has been vacant since then. First of all there are bats in the house! They keep you awake at night and leave feces all over your personal belongings. There is no internet as promised even though the owner David had it “repaired”.

(“In regards to connectivity, once again, our lodging is located in a remote setting so common sense will dictate that high speed internet may be a luxury. Should you have inquired beforehand, we would have clarified that our bandwidth may not support high demand applications but it's good enough for email, checking Facebook or Instagram and even posting pictures of all the wonderful things our guests come to see and enjoy with us”-reply from David the owner ) we literally had to take our son to the nearest town to pay for internet so he could complete his school work. Sadly he missed out on our vacation for the most part. The fridge and freezer do not work and we had to keep dumping out food that kept spoiling during our miserable stay. The pots and pans Teflon is peeling off and not fit for cooking with. The oven doesn’t work either! We complained to the owner as well as vacationrentals/HomeAway to no avail. They do not guarantee your stay and they certainly won’t protect you in anyway (even with the health concern of bats!) Renter be aware!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Julie, When you brought to our attention after you checked out of how bad your stay was with us we asked to please list out your reasons of your bad experience. When you checked in you were already displeased and showed no respect. Our home is visited by many guests and in repeated occasions by the same families that treasure their stay. VRBO is not the only place that we have our house listed in and Our calendars are up to date with new reservations. It is really sad for me and my husband to receive a bad review because it is our first! Since 2005 we are happy to share Ballena and our homes with our clients and we take very seriously customer satisfaction. We thank you for your sincerity and we are sorry Casa Luna was no match for you and your family. Sincerely, Natalia y David.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Paradise in Ballena!

  • 5 of 5

We spent six months living in Costa Rica with our five children, ages 6 to 15. We lived at Casa Luna for the last two months of our stay. We only rented homes with 5-star traveler reviews and still it was by far the best property we rented. Our hosts, Dave and Natalia, were so obviously committed to making sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. They were friendly, approachable and responsive to our questions. We felt like we were being treated like family.

The home is on a large, beautiful piece of beach-front property with a private driveway and private access to the beach. The grounds are beautiful with lots of trees and flowering plants. There is an abundance of interesting wildlife - we saw scarlet macaws, parrots, basilisk lizards, monkeys, ibises, hawks, even an anteater!

The house itself is clean and well cared-for. The beds are comfortable. We fixed all of our meals in the kitchen and had everything we needed. The internet connection is good. There is a wonderful balcony with a hammock and some rocking chairs - we loved sitting out there with just the sounds of the waves and the jungle to keep us company.

The beach is just a short walk down the path. Sometimes people would walk by or we could see them in the distance, but we often had the entire beach to ourselves. At low tide, the gently-sloping beach is great for playing frisbee and the waves were usually just right for swimming and boogie boarding. (For surfing, our favorite beach was Playa Hermosa - about 10 minutes north.)

There are a couple of good grocery stores down the road as well as some fun waterfalls. Easy access to Dominical, Manuel Antonio, Hacienda Baru, etc.

We've been home three months, but we are dreaming of getting back here as soon as possible! When we do make it back , we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Para olvidarse del ruido, del estrés, etc.

  • 5 of 5

Un lugar lleno de tranquilidad y comodidad. De muy fácil acceso por la carretera que está en muy buenas condiciones.

Con una vista muy bonita desde la casa. Atrás las montañas, al frente el mar.

Tuvimos la oportunidad de ver a lo lejos como las ballenas expulsaban agua, esto, porque casualmente

llegaban a la zona marítima frente a la propiedad.

Pudimos ver varios animales como: monos, gran variedad de pájaros y mapaches.

Muy agradecidos con la ayuda de Natalia por guiarnos para que llegáramos sin ningún problema.

Cerca del parque Marino Ballena, para quienes quieran visitarlo.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable home, direct beach access

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in Casa Luna over the winter holiday season. We found it to be exceptionally comfortable as well as aesthetically pleasing.

We ate many of our meals in, the kitchen was well set up for cooking. We could gather at the large table or in the living room. During down time we wandered off to a hammock or comfy rocking chair on the covered porch to watch the sunset over the water or read a book. We liked the Costa Rican style rocking chairs on the porch so much we bought two at the airport on our way home and had them shipped home.

When we did go out, some favorite restaurants in the area were Sabor Espanol in Uvita, Porque No? up almost to Dominical, and the Jolly Roger for the wide assortment of chicken wings and amazing view.

Dave re-configured the internet at the beginning of our stay, after which the wifi worked consistently well. Both Dave and Natalia were responsive, helpful, and professional. Their desire to provide a top quality experience for their guests is obvious. We very much appreciated them.

We are a family of four with young adult / teen daughters, and were in Uvita learning how to surf. The large sand beaches and gentle break make it a perfect place to learn, and Bodhi Surf School provided an amazing learning experience. Between lessons, because surfing beat us up and tired us out so much, we spent a fair amount of time relaxing and recuperating at Casa Luna.

The house was everything we wanted. The only downsides were that the beaches in the area are all completely under water at high tide, and the early howler reverie. The howler monkeys wake at dawn and the whole place sounds like a scene from Jurassic Park. While it is a true jungle experience I never did learn how to sleep through it.

I would recommend Casa Luna without hesitation and would definitely return, if I find myself heading back to the area.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable home with direct beach access

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in Casa Luna over the winter holiday season. We found it to be exceptionally comfortable as well as aesthetically pleasing.

We ate many of our meals in, the kitchen was well set up for cooking. We could gather at the large table or in the living room. During down time we wandered off to a hammock or comfy rocking chair on the covered porch to watch the sunset over the water or read a book. We liked the Costa Rican style rocking chairs on the porch so much we bought two at the airport on our way home and had them shipped home.

When we did go out, some favorite restaurants in the area were Sabor Espanol in Uvita, Porque No? up almost to Dominical, and the Jolly Roger for the wide assortment of chicken wings and amazing view.

Dave re-configured the internet at the beginning of our stay, after which the wifi worked consistently well. Both Dave and Natalia were responsive, helpful, and professional. Their desire to provide a top quality experience for their guests is obvious. We very much appreciated them.

We are a family of four with young adult / teen daughters, and were in Uvita learning how to surf. The large sand beaches and gentle break make it a perfect place to learn, and Bodhi Surf School provided an amazing learning experience. Between lessons, because surfing beat us up and tired us out so much, we spent a fair amount of time relaxing and recuperating at Casa Luna.

The house was everything we wanted. The only downsides were that the beaches in the area are all completely under water at high tide, and the early howler reverie. The howler monkeys wake at dawn and the whole place sounds like a scene from Jurassic Park. While it is a true jungle experience I never did learn how to sleep through it.

I would recommend Casa Luna without hesitation and would definitely return, if I find myself heading back to the area.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yardley PA
4

Casa Luna

  • 4 of 5

We loved the house, which was beautiful. The monkeys and bird life were memorable.

Dave and Natalia were so helpful with arranging tours and providing what our sons

needed for activities.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: February 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.