Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Qn Sofa Bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Welcome to Captain & King's luxury condo rental. Located on the fourth floor oceanfront on the real Fantasy Island, where “The Plane, “The Plane”, was first heard. The “Friendly Island” often described as Key West on Steroids.

Our 1BR/1Bath 4th floor ocean front unit offers style and class, with all the comforts of home. Just a mere 200 steps to Sunset Bar & Grill (unparalleled fun and exciting night life; voted the 3rd sexiest Beach Bar in the World by Conde Nast). Only a 5 minute walk to Maho Village, and its fabulous shops, clubs, restaurants, and the Casino Royale. Just minutes from Princess Juliana Airport. Watch the planes arrive from your private ocean-view balcony, while sipping your favorite beverage. Relax in the perfect harmony of lapping waves on the rocks below. Feel the cooling effect of tropical trade winds. Enjoy one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world.

The unit features a king size bed, convertible sofa, stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, and Italian tile floors thru out. All units are furnished with appropriate towels, linens, silverware and dishes. .Unit has 2 flat screen TVs , hairdryer. Bathroom: 2 double sinks & large shower).

St Maarten has so many choices on where to eat, drink, shop, and things to do. Ask us for a coupon book when inquiring and you'll be able to save lots of money while here.

Keywords: Caravanserai Beach Resort

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 5, 2017

About Jackie

Dear Prospective Renter,

Our goal is to provide you with a great vacation experince, at the very best price. Whether its your wedding, honeymoon, anniversary, any special occasion or just tired of life, your job, the cold, or searching for the perfect get-a-way; St Maarten/St Martin may rejuvenate your Soul!

Bios: I am Terry S. Tamblyn'The Captain'

a happily-married retired Charleston, SC Harbor Pilot. I'm a world traveler,avid golfer,cruiser, fun seeker & like to be where the action is; hence The Caravanserai Beach Resort in the Maho area of St Martin (my spelling for the whole island)

Jackie: our longtime friend, like family, who moved to St Maarten over 15 years ago and takes care of our units and guests.

Jackie purchased this condo in 2009

Why Jackie chose Simpson Bay

After traveling the Caribbean extensively for over 30 years, St. Maarten/St Martin became my overwhelming favorite destination. The Maho Bay area offered everything I was looking for: fabulous beaches, sun, fun, incredible restuarants, bars, nightlife, and gambling. With almost anything else your heart desires, among varying cultures, being only a short drive away. The people are among the friendliest, courteous, and helpful of any island I've ever visited. It was an easy choice for my destination wedding 7 years ago. My wife and I return several times a year. We would like the opportunity to show how we can put our experince to work, making your vacation a memorable sensation.

What makes this condo unique

Location, Location, Location: Proximity to all of life's pleasures, wants, and desires in a first class resort, located on an island that must be the closest place to Heaven on earth.


Simpson Bay Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large shower, double sinks.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen sleeper sofa - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Sleep Sofa/ pull-out sofa in living room
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Car rentals can be arranged by the day/week. Please ask us for details.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
Long Island, New York

great location close to alot of action. Great view of the caribbean from the bedroom & living room

  • 4 of 5

apt was set of with everything we needed. Jackie met us after we got out of the airport & everything went pretty smooth. The place is clean & the AC worked fine when it was needed. It's located on the 4th floor with no elevator but it really wasn't a problem. Great exercise to burn off the food & drinks. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Atlanta, GA

Almost perfect, if you don't need internet.

  • 3 of 5

This condo is ALMOST perfect. Location - A++. View - A++. General accommodation quality - A++. I didn't mind climbing the stairs to the unit and this was fully disclosed. - A. I loved the proximity to Sunset Bar/Refuge nighclub. Unfortunately the listed amenity "Wireless Internet" is NOT provided. This is a very important feature to me as I have to work, even while on holiday. As someone who also owns vacation rentals, I know that providing internet in a vacation rental is a must these days. Luckily I had good cell phone coverage and was able to tether internet off of that for my laptop (at a cost of $150). I did notice on the website, later, that if you hover over the "Wireless Internet" it states that a router can be rented for $50 but that is kind of deceptive and it was never offered to me, even after I asked about the Wifi.)

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, Glad you enjoyed the condo. We have been working on getting internet in the unit, but because its all concrete behind us and all ocean in front, we had a hard time doing it within the unit itself, so we are now looking at the entire building doing it as a whole and being able to put an antenna on the roof, assuming we can get the ok from the airport. Normally we have routers for rent, but at the time you were here, the company did not have any in stock. Sorry the lack of wifi was an issue. Glad all else was good for you. Thanks for you feedback. Cheers, Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a 11 nights and had the best time ever! We're both in our mid 30's and found the location perfect for partying and relaxing. It's walking distance to the beach and watching the planes fly in was great! We kept an eye out for our friends plane and when we saw them land, we had enough time to walk to our car drive to the airport and pick them up!

Additionally the captain and property manager were super on point and attentive. We definitely plan on staying here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Another great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here twice now and love it. The location is fabulous, walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping! Or if you prefer to drive, its easy distance to great locations. But actually, we just enjoy the balcony watching planes land and take off - it never gets old! We will absolutely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Where do I start. A friend told me about VRBO and thought I'd check it out. Out of all the resorts/condo's I looked at and the people I talked to, the owner of this condo was awesome. Terry make's sure to put you at ease. He sent me all the info I needed to make my decision. I booked A401, large 1 bedroom condo with kitchen, eat in area, sitting area, nice large bathroom with double vanity. Washer and dryer, towels etc. The location of this room is a corner so you have a really large deck with table and chairs, perfect view of the planes landing. Sitting in the living room or bedroom you can see the beautiful ocean. Mornings are great on the deck with a nice cup of coffee. Easy check in and check out. 2 pools and a nice swim up bar. Business area to get on the internet to print boarding passes. Beach towels provided at front desk. Walking distance to all the action! I could go on and on. All in all I will be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Your pleasure is my business, and makes my heart happy; when you've had a great trip!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Darlington, SC USA

Another Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My better half and I had the extreme pleasure of staying in this wonderful unit for the THIRD time. We prefer to stay here because of the location--short walk to Sunset Beach, Dunes Casino, Driftwood Boat Bar, the shops at Maho Village, and of course, watching the planes land and take off. And don't forget about the fantastic view of the Caribbean! We love the uncrowded pools and the convenient Dream Bar on site. This is a tremendous bang for our bucks! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Maho Beach

Best spot on the island for watching the famous plane landings and take offs.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Damage Deposit $250

Rates are based on 1-2 people. Extra fee of $25 per person per day for over 2 people.
Final cleaning fee collected at unit 1-2 people $60, 3-4 people $95.
There are no other taxes or fees.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties