Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain's Largest Log Retreat, 7 Bedrooms, Pool Table, Hot Tub, River Access

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Lodge, 7 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 18-22)

Come see this charming 3-story lodge nestled in the heart of Massanutten Resort, minutes from Skyline Drive and James Madison University. Grand Pine Lodge is a 5,000 square foot, white pine lodge offering year-round, beautiful views of the Shenandoah Valley and Blue Ridge Mountains. View the ski slopes and relax in the hot tub or patio seating on the lodge’s spacious 840 square foot deck. Receive owners-only pool access with summer rentals and private RIVER access for ALL guests that enjoy exclusively for our guests only, ALL YEAR ROUND!

What guests love about our home:

+ Spacious and open floorplan ideal for large groups and reunions!

+ Grandiose Log Cabin, in the heart of Massanutten resort, minutes from all the amenities, 15-20 minutes from James Madison University and short drive to Blue Ridge Parkway

+ 12 foot dining table to accommodate large families and groups

+ Oversized deck with fire pit, outdoor dining, propane grill, and hot tub

+ Pool table, Wet Bar with Cable TV in lower bedroom

+ Comfortably sleeps 16-20 people with plenty of space to spread out, relax, and enjoy the mountains

+ Large Flat screen Tv in main living room--cable and smart TV accessible

+ Gas Fireplace in living room

+ Roomy kitchen with stainless steel French door refrigerator, Stainless double oven, and gas cooktop

+ Accommodates fur babies with $75/pet fee

+Pool Pass for summer rentals

+Private River Access, minutes from the resort, for all our guests to enjoy tubing, kayaking, fishing and canoeing. Tubes, Kayaks, and Canoes provided for your convenience.

Visit our website at www.sandandsnowvacations.webs.com!!

This custom log home boasts 7 bedrooms and 4.5 bathrooms and accommodates 18-20 people comfortably. There is a spacious master bedroom, master bathroom, and additional bedroom with two full beds on the upstairs level. Above the living room, there is also a large loft area with leather sofa and game table. On the lower level, there is a large wet bar, pool table, and entertaining area, as well as a two-car garage (additionally, there is ample street parking).

The kitchen, dining room, and great room provide a wonderful area for entertaining and gathering. Rewind by a cozy fire in the stone fireplaces found in the great room and master bedroom. Gather with friends and family around the 12-foot long custom-built wood table to enjoy a meal, or simply a glass of wine. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas cooktop, double-wall convection oven in addition to an abundance of pots, pans, cookware, and dishes to accommodate large family meals!

For those who enjoy outdoor cooking, this lodge comes equipped with a stainless steel propane grill, or you can rent our mobile oil-drum commercial smoker for an additional $100. This large smoker will be delivered to the house prior to arrival for your group to enjoy during your entire stay! Contact us for more information.

Massanutten has numerous activities for your stay. The resort offers hiking, skiing, snowboarding, tubing, swimming, etc. There is also an indoor water park that is sure to provide great memories. Wonderful restaurants and theaters are available within a 10-minute drive.

Book one of our homes and get EXCLUSIVE, private access to the beautiful Shenandoah River. Only a short drive from the resort and provides private access including tubes, canoes, kayaks, and other outdoor sports!

Looking for a lower priced home? Look no further!! We have a property directly on the Shenandoah River, 5 minutes from Massanutten, featuring 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, with hot tub and unbelievable views of the water! Contact us for more information on this property

Need a beautiful location to house your wedding party? Look no further! Grand Pine Lodge has the amenities, space, and comfort to house your wedding party for all the special festivities. Please contact us about specific details. Private Chef, Masseuse available for special occasions, advanced bookings required. Please contact for more information and pricing.

**We do require three night minimums on all weekends unless arrival date is within 30 days of reservation.**

Please visit our other beautiful homes!! Check out our other properties at www.vrbo.com #4443309 (Fireside Lodge at Massanutten Resort), #1146808 (Salty Cottage at Hilton Head Island, SC), #1171119 (River Chalet, Massanutten, VA), #4483165 (JMU Townhouse Harrisonburg VA), #785965 (Harrisonburg Tiny House Harrisonburg VA), #1033144 (Harrisonburg Bungalow Harrisonburg VA), #1167808 (Hikers Hut Waynesboro VA)

Home Layout:

Lower Level:

o 2 bedrooms each with Queen beds (Private baths)

o 1 bedroom with 1 Queen

o 1 large bedroom with 2 Twin-Over-Full bunk beds

o Additional half bath

o Wet bar and entertaining area

Main Level:

o Great room with stone fireplace

o Dining area

o Kitchen

o Back deck with Jacuzzi

o Master Bedroom #1 with Queen bed (shares full bath)

Upper Level:

o Master Bedroom #2 with King bed

o Large Master Bathroom

o Bedroom with 2 full beds

o Sectional sofa in Loft area

Keywords: Lodge, Cabin, Resort, Haven, Chalet, Retreat, Massanutten, House, JMU, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, Wedding

More Details

Owner
Brian and Sara Wilfong
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Brian and Sara Wilfong

Brian and Sara are natives of Harrisonburg and both graduated from JMU. Sara is a real estate agent and Brian, a real estate investor. They own two houses on Massanutten resort and a tiny house in Harrisonburg that they rent out on a short term basis. They have three young sons, Grayden (7) Chapman (5) and Hudson (3).

Brian and Sara Wilfong purchased this lodge in 2011

Why Brian and Sara Wilfong chose Massanutten

This property offers something for everyone!

~Spacious, open floor plan for large groups

~12 foot dining room table for the entire family or group to eat and enjoy fellowship

~Bedroom on main level for guests with limited mobility

~Spacious Upstairs master with walk-in shower, tub, double vanities, loft area with sectional sofa

~Hot tub on back deck with patio furniture, enjoy the mountain views, propane patio heater, propane grill, and fire pit

~7 Bedrooms and 5000 square feet of living space to accommodate large families, reunions, work retreats, and anything in between!

~Wet bar with pool table, Cable and Smart TV connectivity

What makes this lodge unique

The benefits of Grand Pine Lodge are numerous. Some of the best characteristics include:

*Over 5000 square feet of living space to accommodate large groups and families

*7 bedrooms and nine beds to sleep up to 22 people

* Over 800 square foot deck to enjoy mountain views and peacefulness of the resort

* Comfortable log cabin accomodations with stainless appliances, gas cook top, double oven

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your house was the perfect headquarters for our 20th anniversary of graduation from JMU! Many Thanks.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 28

Amenities

Massanutten Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 7 - 2 double , 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
House is newly renovated,4000+ square feet log cabin with wood floors, wood walls & wood ceilings throughout. Enjoy a cozy fire in the massive stonewood fireplace in the living roo, large kitchen and entertaining area, spacious master bedroom, bath, and closet, large bar downstairs. The lodge is convenient to all of the resort amenities, on a quiet wooded street, with mountain and slope views.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
10% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
Mountain's Largest Log Retreat, 7 Bedrooms, Pool Table, Hot Tub, River Access
average rating of 4.25 based on 84 reviews
5

Wonderful getaway retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We came here to celebrate my 30th birthday weekend and had a blast. The cabin itself is gorgeous and very spacious with tons of amenities. Some cosmetic work needs to be done around the house but nothing that hindered our good time. After skiing and snowboarding one day we went to the ski lodge at night where a live band was playing country and rock cover songs- big dance floor as well! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to host a big party/getaway/reunion. Thank you Sara and Brian!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

Great cabin for a large group!

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable cabin for a large group. Adequate cooking utensils. Enjoyed our stay very much! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house.

  • 4 of 5

13 adults went on our trip to Massanutten. No ice maker in refrigerator/freezer. The bedroom with the 2 beds and the bunk bed is only accessible from the master bedroom. Great room for a couple with children though. Basement has a communal 1/2 bathroom with a toilet, no shower. Neighbors are retired and the back of the house sits on a hill, a large group of people created a lot of noise outside because your voices carry in the valley. The neighbors called the police on us for noise on a Friday night at 10pm. There are quiet hours. We didn't have a radio on, we were just enjoying the hot tub and fire pit. Massanutten Police are very strict. Doesn't seem like a place where large parties can hang out outside after dark. Based on our experience we would not return to Massanutten, but would recommend the house for small families or an elderly group. Communication with owners was good.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These travelers came to Massanutten with little respect for our house rules or the rules of Massanutten Resort. Their group had a bad experience with the Massautten Police Department for that reason. We received three phone calls from the police department, going on midnight, regarding the groups noise level. When asked to quiet down they were argumentative and belligerent, cursing at officers and clearly intoxicated. Incidents like this rarely happen in the 10 years we've been hosting groups and if police are called, most guests are respectful and apologetic Unfortunately this review has no bearing on the quality of our vacation rental home but rather a review based on poor choices and belligerent behavior.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Large mountain house with some flaws

  • 3 of 5

Great large house. Kitchen table was perfect for our family! Love the big cabin feel. Appreciative of pots and pans- and the blender! Did I mention the house is HUGE. Basement alone has 4 bedrooms, pool table and a LARGE bar. Nice new grill prefect for cooking. Cable tv in the large living room where everyone could sit which was a nice bonus for when we were too exhausted to do anything else.

Could use some more fine cleaning, ie: cabinets felt sticky, beams need dusting, fans had thick layers of dust. All toilet paper holders were missing from walls. Apparently sleeps over 20 but only 11 towels and 13 forks. Lights in downstairs middle bedroom didn't work and DVD player is broken. Didn't bother calling because these issues were mentioned on other reviews and sadly we assumed they would be taken care of before our arrival. The beds are not glorious. The basement bedroom nearest to the kids room was unusable to all us since you could feel the springs in the mattress; Luckily there was 4 other 'adult' rooms with queen (one king) bed.

Wanted to open windows since air condition did not seem to properly work but many screens were popped out or broken and didn't want to let in a lot of bugs. Leak in living room, needed to place a bucket out. Did call for this issue. NOTE: the kids room does NOT anchor any of the furniture. There is a large dresser in the corner and a smaller one that should be properly anchored in a bunk bed room. Hot tub was low on water and one jet was broken, and chlorine was overwhelming but some still enjoyed it- Not a deal breaker. But would have been nicer with fixes.

When we booked online we did email with lots of questions but they will not respond on website. They will answers calls right away! Do not bother asking questions through the site just call.

Overall my family did enjoy the house.

If you plan on booking -and your family is awesome like mine - you'll have a great time no matter what minor conveniences are lacking.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Janette, Thanks for your review. We appreciate all reviews as that is how we improve and make the vacation rental better and better. With that said, we welcome and want ALL guests to notify us immediately of any concerns/needs rather than waiting until AFTER your stay to notify us of issues. We are here to make your stay perfectly enjoyable. Unfortunately, since we weren't notified, we weren't able to address and remediate anything. There is an abundance of towels in the bathroom vanities throughout the home, not just the towels that were on the racks and on top of the vanities. The cleaning company also has additional supply for any further needs so towels are not a problem at all. We have already added additional utensils. The cleaning company is implementing additional checklists so that guests will be involved in to ensure adequate and satisfactory cleaning for all guests. As you can see, we are VERY involved in every guests stay and want to make sure our guests are completely satisfied. There are hundreds of guests that stay at our home every year and so many provide us with wonderful memories and comments about Grand Pine Lodge as it so wonderfully and perfectly accommodates large groups. It is a special property and we are excited to continuously improve and update to make it better. Thanks again and we hope you return again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

nice place for a big group but...

  • 4 of 5

This place is great for large group. Lots to do in area for all ages. Someone needs to go and check the details! One room the florescent light was out and lots of other bulbs were out. The icemaker was not working. The hot tub worked but had a strange order. We have a hot tub and know how it is to smell.

My biggest complaint was the lack of communication!!! I has a hard time getting the "app" to get info. tried calling owners before I got there and they did not call me back! I got to the cabin and sat on front porch for 30 min. until I got the right code for the door. Tried to give them another number to send info. after we got there but this never happened! Because of this I had to call again to get wifi password. We never had the cleaning list for the check out so hope we did it right!

The cabin is very nice and I understand that the owners need the renter to tell them when

things are not working. We had a nice time but the lack of info. added a lot of stress and is vacation not where you go to get away from that!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Wonderful property for multi-family get away

  • 4 of 5

We had a great Memorial Day weekend at Massanutten in this beautiful house. The property is located at the top of the mountain, so close to hiking trails and the ski/adventure area. We really enjoyed the hot tub, fireplaces (we didn't get to use the outdoor one as planned due to rain, but appreciated the option), pool table, and very well appointed kitchen (high quality cookware, nice big fridge). There was plenty of space for everyone and the kids had a blast. It was very convenient to have linens provided and we appreciated the abundance of extra pillows and blankets. We would definitely stay here again.

We found the property very clean, but a few things needed maintenance (the upstairs bunk room had broken beds, nails poking out at the bottom of the stairs, broken DVD player - which created a scramble when trying to get a movie going for 10 tired kids!). It has also been a very wet spring and the basement rooms were pretty musty. The owners provided lots of information on local attractions in Harrisonburg, but we could have used more guidance on the resort and the amenities (and whether we had access to clubs and pools, etc.). The owners were very responsive during our stay, but we didn't get responses to Home Away messages with questions in advance of our arrival. Overall, we had a great time and appreciated having a fun, big house to gather with our friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Skyline Drive
Blue Mountain Brewery
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Shenandoah Valley Airport
Nearest Barpub
Encounters Lounge
Nearest Golf
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Amtrak Staunton VA
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 81
Nearest Ski
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Beach
240 Miles
Virginia Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $75
Cleaning fee $175

There is also a $300 security deposit for all guests. We charge $175 cleaning fee. Optional $50 pet fee per pet. Optional early checkin/late check out option may be available at an additional fee. There is a three night minimum for most weekends. Holidays have a minimum night requirement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties