Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, Rodanthe, Pet Friendly, 3BR, 2BA,beachfront, beautiful sunsets

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)


Beverly & I grew up in central North Carolina, but we've called Hatteras Island our second home. 'Rose Cottage' is just steps away from the sandy beach. One of our favorite things is sitting on the porch watching the dolphin (yes, we see them just about every day) and of course the sunrises and sunsets. On the main level is the great room, full bathroom, washer/dryer, dining area and full service kitchen. (There is a Keurig Coffee maker and a 10 cup Mr. Coffee at Rose Cottage). The sliding glass door near the dining area leads to the back deck with picnic table. The front deck has a porch swing overlooking the ocean and several benches. All three of our bedrooms are upstairs, the master has a king bed with connecting bathroom and a view of the ocean. Another bedroom, very spacious with a queen bed, has two windows with a view of the ocean. The third bedroom has a queen bed. While staying at our cottage, exploring is a must. Hatteras Island is simply the most beautiful place on earth - where the Atlantic Ocean and Pamlico Sound is separated by a thin, fragile slice of land. Hatteras Lighthouse, Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, small villages of Avon, Buxton, Waves, Frisco and Salvo are all within a short drive.

In Rodanthe, explore the Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station Museum, Civil War Battle of Chicmacomico Races, and try to identify each of the over 400 species of birds. Or simple lay back and enjoy reading and watching the surf.

FREE Wireless Internet access via Silicon Travel for this property (computer not provided, bring your laptop).

FULL CONCIERGE SERVICE: Grocery shopping, dinner delivery, in-home catering and chef services, party planning, activities planning, mid-stay cleaning available through our Property Management Company, Shore Details.

PROPERTY DAMAGE PROTECTION: No security deposit is collected. Over years of renting our property, we have found guests prefer to pay a Property Damage Protection fee ($69) which covers all accidental damages to the vacation rental up to $1,000.


Keywords: Cape Cod Cottage, Wrap Around Deck, Ocean Front, Rodanthe, Cozy, Magnificent Views of Ocean, Hatteras Island, Outer Banks, 'Rose Cottage', Pet Friendly

More Details

Property Manager
frank henson
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About frank henson

Frank and Beverly are the proud owners of 'Rose Cottage' as well as two other properties closeby. We have been vacationing/living on the outer banks for years and will retire in Rodanthe someday. It is the perfect place to be. Both Frank and Beverly are NC licensed builders. Frank retired from the US Marine Corps. We have three Brussels Griffons, Frankie, Annie Rose, and Scout - they always travel with us to the Outer Banks.

frank henson purchased this cottage in 2012

Why frank henson chose Rodanthe

The Outer Banks has been our favorite vacation spot for years. This is the third, and most recent, property we have bought in this area (The others are VRBO #426760 and #584841, a short walk down the beach). It's easy driving from our home in Greensboro, NC. It's close to great restaurants, shopping, golf, sightseeing yet very remote and very casual. Also, the Outer Banks is routinely rated in the top five US beaches by US News, National Geographic, ABC News and CBS News.

What makes this cottage unique

Sitting on the front porch in the evening while enjoying a glass of wine or ice tea, feeling the ocean breeze while watching late surfers and swimmers has become our most treasured time. Early in the morning, we'll catch up on news and sports via wifi while sipping coffee and snacking on delicious pastries. There is a blue single story house that sits to the front left of Rose Cottage = all of our pictures are current and accurate. Rose Cottage has direct access to the ocean via a 15 yard private path.


Rodanthe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms have tub/showers/sink/single windows
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , flat screen tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , two windows, view of ocean, flat screen tv
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , connecting full bathroom, flat screen tv/dvd, ocean front
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2). Bedrooms are average size rooms. Very comfortable and well appointed. flat screen tvs and dvd players in all bedrooms
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Hot & Cold Shower and dressing area under house, Fish cleaning station/wash off area under house; foot wash area adjacent to stairs leading to the cottage


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront, Rodanthe, Pet Friendly, 3BR, 2BA,beachfront, beautiful sunsets
average rating of 4.84 based on 50 reviews

Want to live there!

  • 5 of 5

Where to start? First it was our favorite place to be booked on Home Away. Peaceful,relaxing and beautifully decorated. Think shabby chic beach cottage. What a gift to wake up every morning to see the rolling surf from your bed and to go to sleep every night to the sound of the pounding waves. We had everything we needed and more. Our little dog loved going out and being right on the beach. The owners are kind and thoughtful. The property manager Sarah took care of anything that came up right away. We hope to come back over and over again! Thanks Frank and Beverly for sharing your little piece of heaven on the ocean with us.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write a very nice review of our Rose Cottage. We are so please your family (especially your dog) had a great vacation on the Outer Banks and Rodanthe. We are definitely not professional decorators; we just try our best to make everything as comfortable and peaceful setting as possible. You are so kind to say the nice things about us; we are just normal senior folks who love tinkering with things, making folks who become our guests and then letting us know they made the best decision to spend their hard earned vacation at our property. Your review makes us very happy, and we do hope you will return to Rose Cottage soon. The Outer Banks is such a beautiful place to spend quality time.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely Beachfront Cottage - Doggone Cute!

  • 5 of 5

Our family, including our std poodle, thoroughly enjoyed Rose Cottage. This cottage is perfectly decorated and oh so cute! Just our taste...light and bright. With its beachfront setting, we were lulled to sleep by ocean waves (very nap inducing), viewed beautiful sunrises, and took long invigorating walks on the beach via the private path out front of the cottage. The cottage is on a quiet side street, nice for walking your furry family member. The remote controlled fireplace provided a cozy gathering spot with a gorgeous ocean view from the living area windows. The kitchen provided everything a cook needs; we prepared the majority of our meals in the cottage. The spacious dining area and counter permitted us room to eat and also space to do jigsaw puzzles.

Bedrooms were roomy and comfortable. Plenty of closet and dresser space. And it was convenient having a bathroom on both the main living and bedrooms levels. The cottage was very clean and ready for our arrival. Keyless entry was oh so convenient (no keys to lose)!

We enjoyed peace and solitude during this low season. Quite a few restaurants, attractions, and shops aren't open (websites may not provide this info). But this also means no crowds or traffic and a rustic peaceful feeling...making it great for recharging batteries!

We enjoyed an amazing dinner at Blue Moon Beach Grill in Nags Head and authentic diner breakfasts at Grits Grill in Nags Head. We ventured to Cape Hatteras and Bodie Island lighthouses, and the Weather Station building in Hatteras. But we mostly enjoyed just chillaxing in the lovely Rose Cottage on the beach...

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely,sweet cottage on the beach

  • 4 of 5

Rose Cottage is charming! The kitchen is completely equipped and the house was clean and tidy upon our arrival. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit cramped (one upstairs, one downstairs) but completely adequate.

Frank was pleasant,responsive and attentive to our inquiries and needs.

We chose to visit in the off-season and loved it! Despite the chilly February weather,closed restaurants,monuments and museums...we had a fabulous time exploring the empty beaches and beautiful area. At the end of each day, it was a joy to return to Rose Cottage. We hope to return again someday.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Christmas at Rose Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Lovely and comfortable vacation home. Just what wanted and expected. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the 5 Star review of Rose Cottage in Rodanthe, NC. Christmas time on the Outer Banks is a wonderful time and there is really a lot to do.....beach is always so clean and pristine. Our favorite time of the year! So happy your vacation was as expected and hope you will return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

a bit disappointing this year -

  • 2 of 5

The musty smell of damp was overpowering on the ground floor and the windows were so dirty we couldn't see out of them. I cleaned them last year after the hurricane, but I didn't clean them this year, we just lived with dirty windows.

We also miss the shutters..... while understanding that some things have to change in life..... some of the charm of last year was gone and I don't think we will be back.

I mistakenly took home the two red and white kitchen towels along with my own, so if you give me an address I'll return them by mail.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations, and we are also sorry we could not accommodate your cat as you had requested. We always insist our guests contact our Property Manager immediately if our property is not perfect upon arrival. Many times previous guests leave windows and doors open; perhaps that is the cause of the smell you noticed upon arrival. Window cleaning is a continuous chore for ocean front property and our house keeping team usually do a great job. We also apologize for the blue shutters being removed/not present. We had them re-sanded and painted, and our contractor just replaced them November 3. They look great, and as you indicated, these type things make Rose Cottage have a special look. We appreciate you mentioning accidentally taking the red & white kitchen towels; no need to send back to us. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance and visit Rose Cottage again sometime. We truly value your past loyalty to Rose Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Seven wonderful nights in Rodanthe

  • 5 of 5

We all had a great time at Rose Cottage! And yes, I had to watch the movie Nights in Rodanthe while I was there.

Our thanks to Frank and Beverly for allowing us to rent for the week. We had great weather, it did rain here and there, but moved out quickly. Beautifully decorated, shabby chic (my favorite) and the attention to detail, right down to the glass beads on the blind pulls! I wanted to find those to put on my own, but time went by so fast there wasn't time to shop for them.

The kitchen had everything we needed and then some. The only disappointment was to find dirty knives in the drawers. ( I know it's hard to find good help. )

We were up early to see the sun rise and my daughter and her husband tried to be the first on the beach to find that perfect conch shell. Our dog Gizmo loved chasing the crabs. Our granddaughters had a great time walking the beach and shelling and of course shopping.

I recommend the Top Dog Cafe to eat. We got shrimp and steaks from from Waves Seafood and Steaks to cook on the grill that were awesome!

As we were leaving, we all had tears in our eyes 😢 We are already talking about coming back next year, maybe for two weeks!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate very much the nice and comprehensive review written on Rose Cottage. We are most happy your full experience was a pleasant and memorable one.....also, pleased that your special "Gizmo" was not left at a kennel and that your dog spent time chasing the crabs. Shelling is something we always have time for when we're in amazing! Beverly does all of the decorating , and she has a special talent and devoted interest in making Rose Cottage a wonderful place for guests to spend their hard earned vacation. Please return to the Outer Banks, Rodanthe and Rose Cottage soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $69 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%


$500.00 to book property plus VRBO service fee. Full refund if cancelled 60 days prior to vacation, less $25 if paid by credit card. Contact owner for information about additional rental units.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties