Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning 3 BR Sea-View Penthouse (Free Concierge, Games Room, Beach 4 mins)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,291 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Brand new luxury penthouse accommodation with views to die for!

Portugal has the lot – it’s an exceptionally beautiful country, with a great climate and warm hospitable people… Everybody has heard about the Algarve, but to find the real Portugal, we urge you to discover the Silver Coast!

One hour to the north of Lisbon, the Silver Coast offers you a taste of the real Portugal, away from all the other British tourists! Our sea-view apartment is in a quiet bay in the tranquil town of Sao Martinho do Porto. Please take a look at all our breathtaking apartment has to offer by browsing the photos which speak for themselves!


Owner
Philip Chantry
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

About Philip Chantry

My name's Philip Chantry and I originally bought the apartment as I wanted somewhere for our family of five to go back to again and again. I since thought it would be nice to allow others to enjoy it as we have done since 2007!

Philip Chantry purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Philip Chantry chose Lisbon Region

We chose this apartment as it had a great sea-view and it was large enough for our family. Also, the town and beach are both very child-friendly and safe.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lovely holiday. The afternoons were surprisingly hot for this time of year and I liked that it was so quiet around the bay. And I have to say my favourite restaurant was Portabello's – We loved it. It was very reasonable at all the places we visited, so it so didn’t hurt the pocket too much!
May 2012
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

São Martinho do Porto Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1291 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Ensuite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms have built-in wardrobes. The largest bedroom is ensuite.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is also a safe children's play area within the grounds of the apartment complex.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Stunning 3 BR Sea-View Penthouse (Free Concierge, Games Room, Beach 4 mins)
average rating of 4.8055553 based on 41 reviews
5

Silver Coast adventure

  • 5 of 5

Sao Martinho is a has a stunning bay with golden sands, friendly locals and excellent restaurants. It is in a good position on the coast for visiting other amazing places of great history and architecture, great castles.

The apartment we had was very spacious and well appointed with a super view to the mouth of the bay.

It is certainly a place we will visit again as there is so much to see and do locally and around the area.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review Mike. We've just spent quite a lot of money on the apartment to renovate it so it looks like a show home once again! We replaced sofas etc as part of that, so I'm pleased you were happy with our sea-view penthouse :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Need look no further!

  • 5 of 5

• Very clean

• Lovely gifts for children & adults (wine & puzzles)

• Having Cbeebies & dvds was helpful on quieter days

• 2mins walk from beach! :-D

• A very helpful book written by guests with recommendations

• Beautiful location

• Large pool

• Plently of room for our family of 5.

Me and my husband, mother & 2 young sons had a fantastic stay here. Not a negative thing to say!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Super

  • 5 of 5

Super schönes appartement, sehr sauber und ein freundlicher empfang. Wir hatten einen schönen urlaub. Phil hat uns gute info zukommen lassen. Welche restaurants gut sind, wo mann am besten ein auto mieten kann usw... Wirklich toll.wir würden dieses appartement sofort wieder mieten...

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Pia! For our English-speaking readers, here's a translation: "Really nice apartment, very clean with a friendly welcome. We had a nice holiday. Phil left some good information for us. Which restaurants are good, the best place to rent a car etc. Really great. We would rent this apartment immediately again."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Never again !!

  • 1 of 5

This was our second time at the apartment (2015 our first), however, our experience this year was in stark contrast to last year’s. The apartment had many issues:

•Problem with the gas boiler, making strange grinding noises all day long,very concerning.

•The bed in the master bedroom collapsed on us in the middle of the night, very scary, dangerous and inconvenient. What makes this more annoying is that I had notified the owner the previous year as to issues with the bed.

•The underground parking door was also unavailable for the first week, electrical issue (had street park, which can be quite a challenge, especially at the weekend).

•Shower in master bedroom was not working

•The doorbell was broken during the first week this time.

The sofas could do with replacing, perfectly comfortable but heavily stained, the bathroom could have been cleaned to a higher standard. One other observation…. in comparison to last year, the train station appeared to be much busier, trains arriving /departing more frequently and more people hanging around the railway line late at night, drinking, skate boarding and making noise, a little intimidating.

Most shockingly, the owner withheld our the security deposit, we were absolutely flabbergasted and utterly shocked. we have stayed in over 20 apartments and have never once had a security deposit withheld. The owner informed me that we had done damage to the upstairs games room, left chewing gum under the pool table (my kids don’t chew gum), left red chalk marks on the wall (the walls are covered in red chalk marks from floor to ceiling, as they were last year) and allegedly made holes in the wall with the cue (impossible).

Also, it was alleged that the apartment was left in a complete mess (a disaster is how it was described). despite having cleaned it for three hours. The apartment was absolutely spotless, no rubbish, all floors swept and all surfaces wiped. It was also interesting that housekeeper was not able to produce any photographic evidence.

The owner informed me that the cost for the repair work would be the full security deposit (incl. phone calls he had made!). Please note, he was not able to produce any receipts for the works that needed to be carried out.

My theory is that the house keeper was annoyed with having to fix the many issues with the apartment and that she was merely wanting to be compensated.

We feel absolutely conned and angry (and very disappointed).

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I hope that the people who read it will compare it with the other mostly five star reviews below. This is the first time I’ve had the need to keep a security deposit due to willful damage in 7 years, so I suppose I should have expected a 1 star review in this case! I’m really surprised that the issues you raised were not highlighted in the email your husband sent me when you returned from the apartment, which said, “we had another great holiday, thanks for that. We will definitely book again, probably in 2018, as wife has new job.”! The above review you left though, after your security deposit was withheld, paints a very different picture which is somewhat surprising but maybe understandable. I will go over each of your points though: Firstly the security deposit – I did send you photos of the damage to the ceiling which one of your party did with a pool cue. You chose to omit that point. Next, the mess. I was charged an extra €40 clean fee last year when you stayed, but as you seemed like nice people, I swallowed that extra cost. Maybe I shouldn’t have, as it happened again this year! The apartment was left like a “bomb site” according to Teresa. Your security deposit only covered the repair to the ceiling in the games room, so again I have to pay for the extra cleaning. The point about me taking money from my phone calls is interesting as I didn‘t call you. Disappointing. I’m happy to send you receipts for the damage when I get the work done at the end of the season, as I mentioned to you. My other points: Boiler – Fixed during your visit! Skateboarders near the station – First I’ve heard of it from you or others - see reviews below. More trains than usual – This is not true and can be checked with the Portugal Rail website. Plus all trains are silent electric trains – same as last year. Broken bed and shower – These were not an issue according to Teresa. Not sure where this complaint came from! Poor cleaning – I find this VERY hard to believe – I have never had one complaint on this as the readers can see from the reviews below. “Heavily stained sofa” – One of our sofas does have a sun cream mark on it, but “heavily stained” was maybe an exaggeration as you were upset at me keeping the security deposit? Electrical issues – All fixed as you pointed out. I hope this helps present a more balanced view, as do the many positive reviews below. If anybody wants to see a current video of the apartment, please email or call me. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
15 2
5

Spacious, quiet, comfort beside the beach

  • 5 of 5

We have three children of 17,15 and 12. So we were looking for accommodation that would give us enough room to enjoy our holiday at a price we could afford. This apartment ticked all the boxes. Philip was polite, pleasant and prompt to deal with. The wifi kept the teenagers in touch with their friends and the pool table amused the 12 year old. The town was safe yet had enough going on to keep all ages amused. The welcome pack in the apartment guided us to good places to eat and visit. We were close to the beach do we could come and go easily as we don't like lying out all day. Perfect apartment,

Within walking distance of everything you need for a relaxing or active holiday.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best holiday apartment we have stayed in

  • 5 of 5

Always apprehensive when booking an unknown, however, 1st contact with Philip put us totally at ease, very helpful informative & friendly attitude put us in a good mood before the holiday started. very comprehensive info pack gave us lots of food for thought & directions made finding the apartment very simple.

Absolutely loved the apartment, very spacious, very well equipped, more like a home than a holiday apartment, 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach, lots of restaurants within a very short walk and lots of places worth a visit close at hand, will definitely return.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! Really pleased to know your be coming back again at some point! I think the common theme amongst the feedback we've had about our apartment, is how simple it is to find your way around, and to get from A to B while you're there. Everything is on the doorstep too, which means you don't necessarily need to hire a car. All in all, a really stress-free holiday!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Lisbon
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Lisbon
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Sao Martinho do Porto
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Sao Martinho do Porto
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Sao Martinho do Porto
Car: recommended

Wide stretches of sand and deep blue sea. An enchanted island with an ancient fortress. Fragrant orchards and fruitful vineyards. A lagoon bordered by pine trees. Gentle rolling hills. City walls enclosing the white houses of the medieval town of Obidos. Historical monuments and museums. A rich gastronomy with numerous fish and shell-fish dishes. The Silver Coast has a lot to offer for children and adults alike!

Photos

Rates & Availability

São Martinho do Porto Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Aug 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$117
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$577
 
 
October 2017
Sep 30 2017 - Nov 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$519
 
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
$117
 
 
Early Spring 2018
Mar 24 2018 - Apr 20 2018
5 night minimum stay
$70
$461
 
 
Early Summer 2018
May 26 2018 - Jun 29 2018
7 night minimum stay
$636
 
 
Mid Summer 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 20 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,161
 
 
Summer Holidays 2018
Jul 21 2018 - Aug 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,511
 
 
Late Summer 2018
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 28 2018
7 night minimum stay
$752
 
 
October 2018
Sep 29 2018 - Nov 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$577
 
 
Christmas & New Year 2018
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 5 2019
3 night minimum stay
$117
$583
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$114
$344
$811
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $291.65

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties