Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach-Chic Apartment close to everything! *SLEEP NUMBER BED*

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 BR w/Sleep Number Bed, full kitchen, futon sleeper in LR, screened front porch

UPSTAIRS / The tastefully-decorated newly-renovated, beach-chic apartment has an upscale kitchen combined with the attractive living area that features a full sized futon couch that can sleep two small children or 1 adult. Two modernistic, comfortable sitting chairs are made for relaxing, reading or watching television, which has DVD and VHS capabilities. The bedroom accommodates a queen size Sleep Number bed with adjustable firmness mattress. A spacious closet, suitcase stands and coat racks provide plenty of space for clothing and personal items. The screened porch has comfortable rocking chairs that are just right for a relaxing finish to your day in the sun. A window unit offers plenty of heat during cold months and plenty of cold air conditioning in the summer. Ceiling fans inside and on the porch gently move the air as well.

This apartment is just right for a couple with 2 small children or 3 adults if close friends find it cozy yet comfortable. The downstairs apartment may also be rented to allow for plenty of room for family and friends.

On the south facing wall is an incredibly beautiful ocean life mural designed and painted by world renowned artist Mary Jane Volkmann who was assisted by owner Cathy Sakas. On the front of the cottage the sassy Octopus watches over her Lair.

Our rate IN SEASON is just $90-100 per night with a two-night minimum, plus hotel/motel taxes & fees (see rates). Weekly and monthly rentals are also available.

Enjoy Tybee’s sand, waves and sun from your own comfortable, adorable, affordable, beach-chic yet tastefully-decorated cottage apartment that has all the amenities! You'll just love it!

If you would like more information, please contact Donna / 912-547-8608

CHECK OUT THE DOWNSTAIRS UNIT listing # 470845

More Details

Property Manager
Donna Cole
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About Donna Cole

Cathy Sakas is a well-known regional coastal naturalist specializing in tropical and sub-tropical marine and terrestrial habitats. In other words, she loves the nature of the southeast coast and thinks the barrier islands of Georgia are the most beautiful in the world. After landing in Savannah in 1970 to attend Armstrong-Atlantic State University, Cathy eventually ended up on Tybee in the early 90's and rented the downstairs of the house that she would later name Cottage of the Octopus Lair. Cathy's landlady had told her that she would never sell the house, but after a year of seeing how much Cathy enjoyed and cared for the cottage, the landlady wanted her to have it. As soon as Cathy purchased the Lair she surprised her former landlady with a dozen red roses in appreciation. A few years before purchasing the Lair on a trip to Africa Cathy met world-class award-winning artist Mary Jane Volkmann and they stayed close friends from then on even though a half a world apart. In 2005 Mary Jane moved her family from Namibia back to the US to Gainesville, Florida and very soon thereafter came to visit Cathy on Tybee. Mary Jane took one look at the Lair's south facing wall and the wheels began to turn. Over the Fourth of July week of 2005 Cathy and Mary Jane spent seven days from sun up to sun down working from scaffolding to draw and paint the coquettish fish, sassy octopus, impish seahorse and magnificent pink jelly creating the landmark ocean life mural that adorns the south-facing wall. A local television station documented the progress each evening on their news broadcast. Cathy and Mary Jane's next mural is the north facing wall so stay tuned for that event!

Donna Cole purchased this apartment in 1994

Why Donna Cole chose Coastal

When I first rented the Lair I immediately saw the potential it had. I just loved the coziness of it and the layout. As soon I bought it I made renovations and added my own personal touches using the beauty of nature. I enjoy the outdoors so much that the screened front porch literally became my office. I wrote the scripts for my two natural history series for Georgia Public Television on that porch in the rocking chairs and have written several more papers and programs there too. For years Little Green Herons raised their chicks in a nest in the top of one of the palms and I watched their progress each day until they fledged. How wonderful to see them venture out on the long fronds and then finally take their first unsteady flights!

What makes this apartment unique

Living on Tybee has been such a great joy. I like to run and walk and since the beach is only a few minutes from my doorstep I take advantage of it. There is nothing like taking a walk in the morning to see the sun rise like a bright orange ball out of the ocean. I appreciate all that nature has to offer and seeing the stars reflected in the ocean's surface and the moon rise out of the ocean are pretty spectacular events too. Of course the pelicans flying just above the waves is a phenomenal sight to see and watching ghost crabs scurry into their burrows in the dunes is always intriguing. I love eating at the restaurants on Tybee because most have open-air seating, so I can continue enjoying nature while I dine in comfort.

Amenities

Tybee Island Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Large bathtub accommodates long legs and features a generous shower for a relaxing rinse after a day of saltwater bathing.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Adjustable Sleep Number queen in bedroom with a comfortable sleeper futon in the living area. Just right for two but comfortably cozy for a couple with one or two small children. Close friends may also find the apartment suitable for a couple and a friend.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Cottage of the Octopus Lair is the best kept secret on Tybee for a quick get away for just the two of you or for a week of fun in the sun for you all and the kids. Enjoy your the beach in our adorable, affordable, cozy, beach-chic Cottage of the Octopus Lair on gorgeous Tybee Island!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Beach-Chic Apartment close to everything! *SLEEP NUMBER BED*
average rating of 4.5151515 based on 33 reviews
2

Okay for the money

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed our general stay as always on Tybee Island. In regards to the condition of the property there were a lot of things that need to be repaired. It is in general need of renovation. The bathroom had bent and painted on towel holders above the toilet, a rusted shower curtain pole, a shower curtain that looked very old and used up, oxidized floor standing towel holder, and a broken ceramic shower faucet.

In the kitchen/living room, the fridge smelled really bad like seafood had been kept in it and it was never cleaned to get rid of the smell. The futon sofa was hard as a rock. My daughter didn't complain but I think most adults may. For the stereo system in the unit it was a ghetto blaster attached to the wall. It look really cheap and aged. The bedding was also really aged and looked like it came out of a 2nd hand store.

One of the more troubling repairs was the vertical blinds that cover the font sliding door was missing 10 or so slats so you could see right in to view any personal items or my child sleeping on the sofa without any ability to block the view. The only lock to the sliding door was a bolt that goes into a small would block at the top of the door which could be easily broken by an intruder. The flooring is really old linoleum. In general the place was in just aged rough condition. No biggie but the small things like broken blinds should be repaired!

This was the cheapest property available for our stay so I didn't expect the property to be flawless and stunning, however I did expect the basics to be in good working order. I would rather stay in one of the hotels on the island such as dunes inn before I stayed here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please note the bed has been replaced with an adjustable Sleep Number bed. The flooring is not linoleum, but rather a special cork flooring designed to reduce any sound that may be transferred to the downstairs unit. Renovations have been done since your stay. We did not find any blinds missing after your departure, however had they been we do have replacements on hand just in case one breaks. The wall mounted stereo will be removed asap. I SO wish you would have brought these things to my attention when you arrived so that I could have done everything possible to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The place is ready for spring guests so call now to reserve your next vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Utica, KY
5

Great apartment fun week!

  • 5 of 5

Nice quiet apartment close to beach and grocery store. Very comfy. We may be back next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Could use a new mattress on the bed though, I had a neck ache all day. Otherwise all was good.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute & Cozy

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was perfect for my husband and I. We really enjoyed our time on Tybee Island!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your time at the Octopus Lair and we welcome you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Exactly what we were looking for.

  • 4 of 5

Perfect. The rental was clean, well maintained. Absoultly no issues. Will stay there again next time we visit Tybee.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Octopus Lair. Please let us know what we can improve to rate 5 stars!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have just got back from Tybee. What a wonderful time we had and the accommodation was perfect for us. Everything was as advertised, it was extremely clean with modern amenities. Donna was great explaining things to us before we left, I just cannot say enough good things about this place, seems like next year could be on the books.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That is what we like to hear!! So glad you were pleased with your stay at the Octopus Lair, and we would love to have you and your wife come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Savannah-Hilton Head International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Stingrays
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Savannah Golf Club
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Highway 80
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Tybee Island Social Club
Nearest Beach
Tybee Island
Car: recommended

Cottage of the Octopus Lair is located a short walk to the fabulous white sand beach of Tybee Island. Nestled among large palm trees that provide nesting areas for herons and other birds and the largest stand of pines on the island it is in a quiet neighborhood of modest homes. Just around the corner and down the street a bit is Tybee Market where quality fresh produce, groceries and deli items can be purchased as well as all the amenities to make your stay on Tybee complete. The famous Tybee Pavilion and Pier are only a ten minutes walk to the south. Many shops packed with interesting beach souvenirs and beach attire as well as casual restaurants that serve local seafood and beach cuisine line the way. Tybee Island Marine Science Center is well worth the ten minutes walk and can be visited before or after walking the Pavilion and Pier. Although small it is loaded with fish and turtles and even a baby alligator with lots of displays and videos that explain the nature of our island and coast. The south end of Tybee provides the perfect backdrop for a lovely walking adventure along salt marsh and the Back River. The houses you pass by are a delightful tribute to the tradition of family vacations and the eclectic yet fun spirit of the owners and architects. On the north end Tybee Lighthouse stands sentinel to the Port of Savannah. For an excellent workout and a fantastic view of the island and coast climb the 178 steps to the top! North Beach Grill is located beachward of the lighthouse and is a favorite of locals, so you know its got to be good! We know you will enjoy Tybee and your stay in the Adorable Beach Chic Cottage of the Octopus Lair!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tybee Island Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Peak Season
Mar 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$90
From
$100
Fri,Sat
$600
 
 
Off Season
Nov 1 2017 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$70
From
$80
Fri,Sat
$460
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$90
From
$100
Fri,Sat
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Maintenance Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.0%

Instant Quote does not include 10% Reservation Fee
Special Rates do not apply during holidays or special events
There is an additional Security Deposit of $100 charged to all reservations, typically more during holidays and special events.
In the event that there are damages to the property or housekeeping is required to do additional work, that money will be deducted from the Security Deposit. Otherwise, the Security Deposit will be refunded after your departure.
Cleaning Fee may be more than $80, depending on length of stay
Rates are subject to change until confirmed
The owner reserves the right to cancel the reservation at any time due to their discretion

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties