Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach-Chic Apartment close to everything! *SLEEP NUMBER BED*

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 BR w/Sleep Number Bed, full kitchen, futon sleeper in LR, screened front porch

UPSTAIRS / The tastefully-decorated newly-renovated, beach-chic apartment has an upscale kitchen combined with the attractive living area that features a full sized futon couch that can sleep two small children or 1 adult. Two modernistic, comfortable sitting chairs are made for relaxing, reading or watching television, which has DVD and VHS capabilities. The bedroom accommodates a queen size Sleep Number bed with adjustable firmness mattress. A spacious closet, suitcase stands and coat racks provide plenty of space for clothing and personal items. The screened porch has comfortable rocking chairs that are just right for a relaxing finish to your day in the sun. A window unit offers plenty of heat during cold months and plenty of cold air conditioning in the summer. Ceiling fans inside and on the porch gently move the air as well.

This apartment is just right for a couple with 2 small children or 3 adults if close friends find it cozy yet comfortable. The downstairs apartment may also be rented to allow for plenty of room for family and friends.

On the south facing wall is an incredibly beautiful ocean life mural designed and painted by world renowned artist Mary Jane Volkmann who was assisted by owner Cathy Sakas. On the front of the cottage the sassy Octopus watches over her Lair.

Our rate IN SEASON is just $90-100 per night with a two-night minimum, plus hotel/motel taxes & fees (see rates). Weekly and monthly rentals are also available.

Enjoy Tybee’s sand, waves and sun from your own comfortable, adorable, affordable, beach-chic yet tastefully-decorated cottage apartment that has all the amenities! You'll just love it!

If you would like more information, please contact Donna / 912-547-8608

CHECK OUT THE DOWNSTAIRS UNIT listing # 470845

More Details

Property Manager
Cathy Sakas
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Cathy Sakas

Cathy Sakas is a well-known regional coastal naturalist specializing in tropical and sub-tropical marine and terrestrial habitats. In other words, she loves the nature of the southeast coast and thinks the barrier islands of Georgia are the most beautiful in the world. After landing in Savannah in 1970 to attend Armstrong-Atlantic State University, Cathy eventually ended up on Tybee in the early 90's and rented the downstairs of the house that she would later name Cottage of the Octopus Lair. Cathy's landlady had told her that she would never sell the house, but after a year of seeing how much Cathy enjoyed and cared for the cottage, the landlady wanted her to have it. As soon as Cathy purchased the Lair she surprised her former landlady with a dozen red roses in appreciation. A few years before purchasing the Lair on a trip to Africa Cathy met world-class award-winning artist Mary Jane Volkmann and they stayed close friends from then on even though a half a world apart. In 2005 Mary Jane moved her family from Namibia back to the US to Gainesville, Florida and very soon thereafter came to visit Cathy on Tybee. Mary Jane took one look at the Lair's south facing wall and the wheels began to turn. Over the Fourth of July week of 2005 Cathy and Mary Jane spent seven days from sun up to sun down working from scaffolding to draw and paint the coquettish fish, sassy octopus, impish seahorse and magnificent pink jelly creating the landmark ocean life mural that adorns the south-facing wall. A local television station documented the progress each evening on their news broadcast. Cathy and Mary Jane's next mural is the north facing wall so stay tuned for that event!

Cathy Sakas purchased this apartment in 1994

Why Cathy Sakas chose Coastal

When I first rented the Lair I immediately saw the potential it had. I just loved the coziness of it and the layout. As soon I bought it I made renovations and added my own personal touches using the beauty of nature. I enjoy the outdoors so much that the screened front porch literally became my office. I wrote the scripts for my two natural history series for Georgia Public Television on that porch in the rocking chairs and have written several more papers and programs there too. For years Little Green Herons raised their chicks in a nest in the top of one of the palms and I watched their progress each day until they fledged. How wonderful to see them venture out on the long fronds and then finally take their first unsteady flights!

What makes this apartment unique

Living on Tybee has been such a great joy. I like to run and walk and since the beach is only a few minutes from my doorstep I take advantage of it. There is nothing like taking a walk in the morning to see the sun rise like a bright orange ball out of the ocean. I appreciate all that nature has to offer and seeing the stars reflected in the ocean's surface and the moon rise out of the ocean are pretty spectacular events too. Of course the pelicans flying just above the waves is a phenomenal sight to see and watching ghost crabs scurry into their burrows in the dunes is always intriguing. I love eating at the restaurants on Tybee because most have open-air seating, so I can continue enjoying nature while I dine in comfort.

Amenities

Tybee Island Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Due to insurance policy no grilling, no candles, open flames or fire of any kind No burning charcoal nor any combustibles are allowed on the property
  • Only 1 PARKING SPACE PER UNIT provided. Tybee is a "Pay to Park" community, so make sure to pay when your vehicle is not on the property
  • $50 fee to change or cancel reservation charged by owner in addition to any fees charged by VRBO to process your payment/refund
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Large bathtub accommodates long legs and features a generous shower for a relaxing rinse after a day of saltwater bathing.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Adjustable Sleep Number queen in bedroom with a comfortable sleeper futon in the living area. Just right for two but comfortably cozy for a couple with one or two small children. Close friends may also find the apartment suitable for a couple and a friend.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Cottage of the Octopus Lair is the best kept secret on Tybee for a quick get away for just the two of you or for a week of fun in the sun for you all and the kids. Enjoy your the beach in our adorable, affordable, cozy, beach-chic Cottage of the Octopus Lair on gorgeous Tybee Island!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
29% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
Beach-Chic Apartment close to everything! *SLEEP NUMBER BED*
average rating of 4.431818 based on 44 reviews
5

Very nice could not have been better

  • 5 of 5

Great place very clean and close to the beach great owner had the pleasure to meet

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Mike for the five star review! It was a pleasure to meet you as well. Looking forward to your return, don't miss Pirate Fest!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good quality price

  • 4 of 5

We loved the porch of the second floor! The apartment has everything we needed. The location is perfect: 10 minutes walking from the sea, restaurants and grocery. Very quiet and safe place! If you don't expect lux, I would recommand it!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review... glad you were able to enjoy the Octopus Lair and found it to be so comfy. Looking forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

It was very clean and cozy. Perfect for us and 2 children. Will be returning!!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your 5 star review!! We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable stay at our little Cottage, we try very hard to make sure every stay is a great one here. Looking forward to your return when you are back this way!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This property suited our needs. It was clean and well taken care of.

  • 5 of 5

We love coming to Tybee and this property is centrally located. Overall the stay was great. The bed was great. It had all the basic amenities; the washer and dryer on site was great and necessary for a weeks stay. Donna was very responsive and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the 5 star review, we are pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at the Octopus Lair and that you liked the newest addition.... the Sleep Number bed! Thank you for mentioning that it was clean and well taken care of, as we strive to make your stay an enjoyable one in every way we possibly can. We look forward to having you as a guest the next time that you visit Tybee!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

It's not as cheap as you think.

  • 2 of 5

Being a Savannah native, we stay out on Tybee almost annually. Used homeaway before with no issues. This place was perfect for our needs of simplicity, cost effectiveness, and location to the beach. It was a cute little place and we enjoyed our time on Tybee but that's where it ends. First, we were told after checking out that we lost our deposit due to extra cleaning and a "deep gouge" on the counter that they say they have to replace. I messaged the owner inquiring for more information and did not receive a response. I was curious about what extra cleaning because the bathroom was not clean (toilet stains and stunk) and towels smelled like mildew. I could imagine some sand, I mean it is at the beach? And this deep gouge, I have my doubts about this as I know we did not gouge the counter but I would be satisfied had they shown me some evidence of that and would be very remorseful that we had damaged their property. In addition, the air conditioner is not sufficient for this apartment. Be prepared to be hot if you sleep in the back room. I dislike writing bad reviews but I also dislike dishonesty.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do not like dishonesty either, so I wish you would have mentioned that I did reply stating I was waiting for a detailed list from the housekeeper for the extra charges. I do not think there was any issue with the property as you now claim there was, otherwise I believe you would have notified me either upon arrival, during your stay or after your departure. Rather, you did not complain about these things until after being told you would not receive your security deposit back. Anyone can look through our reviews and see that we do not make a habit of withholding the security deposit. I am sorry if you don't agree with our decision to withhold your deposit, but there was damage to the counter top that was not there prior to your arrival. Check-out instructions are posted on the refrigerator for you to do before your departure, and that is one reason why we charge you a security deposit. It is not a lot that we ask you to do, and the housekeeper charges extra for things that are not done, and her additional charge is deducted from your deposit. We also ask that you notify us after you check out so we can send the housekeeper, which you failed to do as well. .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I give it 5 starts because it is as advertised

  • 5 of 5

It's not a five star hotel, but it doesn't claim to be.

It was clean and the AC worked great. We didn't have any trouble with any of the appliances or anything else.

It doesn't come with a ton of extra comfort items and if we had been planning on spending a ton of time in doors we might not book that same spot, but it was perfect for what we needed and at the price point it was well worth it!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed this quaint little beach-chic apartment, and thank you for the 5 stars!!!!.... We hope to have you stay with the next time you visit Tybee.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Savannah-Hilton Head International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Stingrays
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Savannah Golf Club
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Highway 80
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Tybee Island Social Club
Nearest Beach
Tybee Island
Car: recommended

Cottage of the Octopus Lair is located a short walk to the fabulous white sand beach of Tybee Island. Nestled among large palm trees that provide nesting areas for herons and other birds and the largest stand of pines on the island it is in a quiet neighborhood of modest homes. Just around the corner and down the street a bit is Tybee Market where quality fresh produce, groceries and deli items can be purchased as well as all the amenities to make your stay on Tybee complete. The famous Tybee Pavilion and Pier are only a ten minutes walk to the south. Many shops packed with interesting beach souvenirs and beach attire as well as casual restaurants that serve local seafood and beach cuisine line the way. Tybee Island Marine Science Center is well worth the ten minutes walk and can be visited before or after walking the Pavilion and Pier. Although small it is loaded with fish and turtles and even a baby alligator with lots of displays and videos that explain the nature of our island and coast. The south end of Tybee provides the perfect backdrop for a lovely walking adventure along salt marsh and the Back River. The houses you pass by are a delightful tribute to the tradition of family vacations and the eclectic yet fun spirit of the owners and architects. On the north end Tybee Lighthouse stands sentinel to the Port of Savannah. For an excellent workout and a fantastic view of the island and coast climb the 178 steps to the top! North Beach Grill is located beachward of the lighthouse and is a favorite of locals, so you know its got to be good! We know you will enjoy Tybee and your stay in the Adorable Beach Chic Cottage of the Octopus Lair!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Maintenance Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.0%

Instant Quote does not include 10% Reservation Fee
Special Rates do not apply during holidays or special events
There is an additional Security Deposit of $100 charged to all reservations, typically more during holidays and special events.
In the event that there are damages to the property or housekeeping is required to do additional work, that money will be deducted from the Security Deposit. Otherwise, the Security Deposit will be refunded after your departure.
Cleaning Fee may be more than $80, depending on length of stay
Rates are subject to change until confirmed
The owner reserves the right to cancel the reservation at any time due to their discretion

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties