Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'SOL-MATE' ..Directly on the water!..AMAZING SUNSETS..Beautiful View!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom/2 Bath. Sleeps 8 BEAUTIFUL sunsets

SOL-MATE is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath home located off the coast of Alabama on Dauphin Island. The home sleeps 8 comfortably and is situated directly on the Mississippi sound. The rear of the home faces the Western sunset and is only a few feet from the bay.

The beach is just a short two block walk from the house. The rear decks and dock offer unobstructed water views as far as the eye can see and spectacular sunsets. The home has a private dock that allows for fishing, swimming or just relaxing in the sun. SOL-MATE has extensive dock lights to attract bait fish and offers some of the best speck and white trout fishing on the Island right from the dock!

The home is located within easy walking distance to the gulf (approx. 2 blocks). SOL- MATE is fully furnished to provide you with all of the comforts of home including WI-FI internet connection and cable service with movie channels. Side decks and cook center with propane grill offering of outdoor entertainment spaces . This home also has washer and dryer and outdoor bathroom with private open air shower with hot/cold water.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a private second floor deck that overlooks the water. Additional bedrooms have a queen size bed, 1 full bed with 1 twin over full bunk bed.

Use of the boat lift is NOT included in rental.

More Details

Lisa and Scott Marlowe
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Lisa and Scott Marlowe

I have always loved the beach and sun. I enjoy the serenity and peacefulness that our vacation home on the bay provides. I hope that when you visit 'SOL-MATE' on Dauphin Island that you enjoy it as much as i do!

Lisa and Scott Marlowe purchased this house in 2013

Why Lisa and Scott Marlowe chose Royal Lagoons

Sunsets, sunsets, sunsets.....My husband and I looked for quite a while for the perfect little vacation home. You can change the carpet or paint the walls but you can't change the views that a home offers. 'SOL-MATE' provides an almost endless view of the sun setting over the sound in the afternoons.

What makes this house unique

'SOL-MATE' just feels right. There are bigger homes on the Island and nicer homes on the Island but, I don't think that I would trade Sol-Mate for any of them. SOL-MATE doesn't feel like it was furnished from the 'vacation house superstore' It has character and history. SOL-MATE has an authentic value to it that draws you in. It often seems that the house was built just so I could have a glass of wine and watch the sun drop into the bay. With so many houses just 'stuck' into the sand everywhere, SOL-MATE seems to belong where it is, as it is.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Scott and Lisa,

Everyone had a great time! I was definitely in my happy

place! The accommodations were spot on and the view left me speechless. I

loved everything about it! We are already planning our next vacation back

to sol-mate and it can't be soon enough! Thank you for sharing your

beautiful home and making our stay memorable!
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 1


Royal Lagoons House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , outdoor shower
  • 2 full baths inside outdoor shower and enclosed bathroom outside
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single , One twin over full size bunk bed. Plus one twin trundle
  • 3 bedrooms master has queen sized bed bedroom 2 has queen sized bed bedroom 3 has 1 full, and 1 bunk bed (double on bottom,twin on top) Plus one twin size trundle bed. Pull out queen sleeper sofa in living room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Bath soap, hand soap, dish soap, dish detergent, laundry detergent, and fabric softener provided.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
23% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
'SOL-MATE' ..Directly on the water!..AMAZING SUNSETS..Beautiful View!
average rating of 4.672727 based on 56 reviews

Great Trip!

  • 4 of 5

Loved the house, especially the remodeled upstairs. Thanks for letting us share your home!!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

If only....

  • 3 of 5

This would have been a perfect vacation with my family if a few things had not bummed us out.

1.The fridge in the kitchen did not work. We were told to use the one downstairs. But what a bother that was! Do you know how many times you need the fridge when it's 90 degrees outside? Many bags of ice were purchased to keep items from going bad.

2.The outdoor grill did not work. Had to cook burgers inside.

3. My bed sheet had a huge rip in it.

4. One bed did not even have sheets. We couldn't find any extras in the house.

So, if only the above mentioned didn't occur, it would have been a super great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Kate, Sorry your trip wasn't 5 stars. You did notify us of the fridge being out and we ordered a new one that same day. Unfortunately you were only there for 3 nights and it arrived after you departed. Deliveries to the Island take a few days! The linens are completely replaced every 6 months and I found no rips in any of the sheets when I inspected the property after hurricane Nate but, things like that can happen from time to time. Our cleaners discard and replace any discolored or damaged linens when they are noticed. Also, the grill burners were basically brand new when I arrived on the island but the maintenance company that inspects after each renter could have replaced them after your stay. Typical grill burner life in that environment is only about 4 months so we change them often! We don't make up the upper bunk in the kids room because it is rarely used but sheets were in the chest in the living room. Location of the extra sheets is provided with the welcome letter and in the helpful info book on the coffee table. Bottom line is that I wished you would have called if you were having any problems. Our goal is to have our guests enjoy their stay at Sol-Mate as much as we do! Other than the fridge we could have solved the other small issues within a few hours. Hope that you will give Sol-Mate another visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Love this home. Ideal location and the views can't be beat. Our kids paddle boarded and kayaked off the dock. We saw tons of dolphins and they came up so close to us while on the paddle boards. Great fishing from the dock as well. The outside areas can't be beat! We love it here.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We very much enjoyed our stay. If you don't mind being right on the beach, this is a great place.

  • 4 of 5

The sunsets are absolutely amazing. We were so lucky to have great weather and to see the sunset almost every night. It is just a couple blocks from the beach as well. The atmosphere that they have set up outside is very enjoyable and relaxing. Everyone enjoyed the outdoor shower. Something about being to shower outside is exhilarating. We enjoyed fresh shrimp from Skinners, we rented a jet ski and kayaks for an afternoon, we had lunch one day at JT's Sunset Grill, dinner at the Islanders Restaurant, and also visited the Pelican Pub and Fin's Bar for an adult night. All in all, it was a great time for the whole ear. Definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great vacation in wonderful house!

  • 5 of 5

We had another great week at Sol-Mate with our 2 kids, ages 6 and 8. So much to do and the house was fully equipped with everything we needed to make it a holiday we won't soon forget. Thanks to Scott and Lisa Marlowe for everything!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5

We immediately fell in love with this house upon arrival. The small details inside and out make it a wonderful place to relax and stay. The owners were very responsive to all our needs and responded within minutes. Overall our stay was wonderful and will look forward to returning ! Lots of properties around the island did not have as much outside equipment and detail as this one . We loved the outside grill, hammock and TV. The kids fished off the doc most days and caught lots of fish :) it was a perfect spot to launch a kayak off as well.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Dauphin island airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Barnacle Bills
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Fort Morgan Ferry
Nearest Beach
0.12 Miles
Dauphin island beach
Car: recommended

Directly on the bay with beautiful sunsets directly off the back deck.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties