Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

(3) Steps from the Capitol and Monuments - Historic Brownstone WALK EVERYWHERE

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

Charming 1 Bd/1 Bath Quite Street/Walk Everywhere

Welcome to Hill Flats DC!

Please ask us about our 2021 Inauguration pricing.

IF WE DON'T HAVE THE DATES YOU ARE LOOKING FOR PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR OTHER LISTING IN THE SAME BUILDING:

VRBO Listing #476546 Unit 1 2BD 1st Floor

VRBO Listing #728392 Unit 2 STUDIO 2nd Floor

VRBO Listing #728393 Unit 4 STUDIO Penthouse

Hill Flats DC is an owner managed luxury 1880 brownstone on the first residential block across the street from the Library of Congress and Folgers Shakespeare theater. Just a short walk away you will have immediate access to the US Capitol, US Supreme Court, and The National Mall.

This is the ultimate location if you are looking for immediate access to all of Washington DC's historic sites.

The building is also just few blocks away from eastern market/union station/capitol south metro stops in addition to numerous bus lines.

There are dozens of restaurants, cafes, and bar's within a few minute walk. You are also a few blocks away from eastern market. Capitol bike share is located nearby. Walkscore is 94.

The private apartment is on the second floor of a 4 unit historic 1880 building. The flat has been freshly remodeled and has a fully appointed kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, and marble bathroom tile. For your sleeping arrangements we have 1 queen size pillow top mattress bed, 1 Queen size Spring/Air combination sofa bed. We also have an additional queen size air mattress which is available upon request.

This is one of the most charming and well preserved buildings on one of the most desired blocks in Washington dc.

If you are looking for character there is no substitute.

Reservations

To make a reservation, please press the 'book it now' button, which will confirm availability and provide a detailed quote.

All payments are self-service, via credit card or e-check using vrbo's secure payments page. You will not need to provide us with your credit card information.

We sincerely appreciate your interest in Hill Flats DC and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

More Details

Owner
Colin Thomas
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Colin Thomas

I am a military officer and pilot as well as a real estate professional. I have extensive travel experience and understand the nuances associated with creating a comfortable and memorable experience in our nation's capitol.

I am also a Washingtonian and live nearby. I have a very in depth knowledge of all that Washington DC has to offer and am happy to provide any recommendations to make your stay more enjoyable.

Why Colin Thomas chose Eastern Market

Since being built in 1880 numerous Senators, Congressmen, artists, and academics have all resided at what is now Hill Flats.

The building was previously used as a lecture hall and residence for scholars conducting research at the Library of Congress which is across the street.

Due to the buildings immediate proximity to national monuments, the National Park Service and Washington DC has designated Hill Flats a Historic building and has registered it under the Capitol Overlay and Fine Arts District. This designation ensures that all preservation is conducted under the direction of the Architect of the Capitol.

Hill Flats has been meticulously preserved while ensuring that it meets modern comforts.

If you are looking for character and historic charm there is no substitute.

What makes this apartment unique

Incredible architecture and historic charm in an unbeatable location.

Amenities

Eastern Market Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • NEWLY REMODELED
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Pillow Top Mattress
    Living Room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Combo Spring/Air Mattress will sleep 2
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • roller blading
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
23% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
(3) Steps from the Capitol and Monuments - Historic Brownstone WALK EVERYWHERE
average rating of 4.633333 based on 60 reviews
Modesto, California
3

Can't beat the location but don't know if I'd stay again.

  • 3 of 5

As far as location goes this apartment gets a 5+ rating. It's just 2 blocks behind the capitol and the Supreme Court. Easy walk to the eastern market and numerous restaurants as well as a new Trader Joe's and there's also a couple of small family run little corner markets around the corner as well as a couple of small pharmacies. The mall and all of the major monuments, museums and attractions are all in walking distance and if you do need to ride instead of walk there's always a taxi just outside your front door. The check-in and out was simple and they let us leave our bags for a few hours after check-out. The apartment was very clean. I'd give it a 4 for cleanliness and I'm a sharp critic on cleaning. So from me a 4 is very good. I don't think I've ever given a 5. The apartment lay out is very odd. It's long and narrow which you can not tell from the photos. It has no outside light coming in so it is rather dark and dreary and depressing. Personally I like a light and airy feel and this was definitely not! There are lots of windows but they all look out on to a brick wall about four feet away and a fire escape ladder that looks like its original to the building and so rusted I doubt it's usable. None of the blinds on the windows worked properly so you could not open them to let in what little light there is. Blinds need to be replaced as well as some of the towels and bedding that were stained and thread bare. Tried to use the pull out sofa bed one night when my husband was congested and snoring but it too is old and needs replacing. So uncomfortable!! The bed mattress was also a little worn and saggy but doable. The kitchen was fairly well equipped but there again some items were missing or worn. I cut my lip on a chipped wine glass. There is no table to eat off of and had to use a bench they use as a coffee table in the living room. The bedroom had no dresser or television even though there's room for both. They could at least provide a luggage stand in the closet. The TV in the living room was difficult to use also. The apartment was quiet and the laundry in the basement was a plus. I know I probably sound like I hated it but not at all. It's just that with a little tweeking and upgrading it could be a fantastic apartment instead of a dreary ok apartment. Our friends stayed in the studio on the same floor and their only complaint was noise from the street and lack of kitchen supplies. So maybe next time we'll try one of the other units.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Candia, You are the first to complain about the blinds, linens, and mattress for the sofa bed. We will have them changed out immediately. We had ordered new wine glasses recently, so that will be changed out as well. In regard to the mattress for the pullout couch, it sounds as if you did not follow our posted instructions and inflate the mattress prior to use. These instructions are clearly provided on a laminate card, but you may have missed them if only heading to the couch in the middle of the night. Further, the TV in the unit has high end cable. I am not sure why you would have difficulty with it other than not being familiar with Comcast. My experience is that they are very user friendly. Sorry you had a tough nights sleep due to your husbands snoring! We hope next time you wake up on the right side of the bed! ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Easy access to everything on Capitol Hill. Comfortable sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Clean and modern kitchen. Bring your own wine glasses if you will have a visitor.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clarkston, MI
4

Great location. Good flat. Loved available parking in rear. Small tweeks needed.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay at the flat due to convenience of location & parking in rear. Flat was disappointing with only views of close brick walls. Will stay again but in the two bedroom; sleeping was challenging with the bed bumped up against one wall. Sofa had large stains; needs cleaning. Kitchen needs some dishes; why have a diswasher if we have to wash dishes in order to have some for the next meal. AC did the job with the high 80's weather. Liked close proximity to a bodega & pharmacy. Overall, we'd rent again. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute and Clean

  • 5 of 5

We took the train in from Springfield, MA and walked to everything. Only a 10 minute walk from Union station and to the National Mall. Though,you may want to take a trolley or bus tour to see the monuments on the north side of Washington monument. The apartment was just right for two. At one point we had trouble getting in to the apartment. The batteries in the entry key pad were dead. We called Gene and he called us back right away and then was there to let us in and change out the batteries. I would recommend this pretty brownstone apartment for anyone wishing to take a stress-free, walking vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful historic home... Absolutely loved it!

  • 5 of 5

It was perfect for our family and in a great location. Within walking distance of the entire mall! Loved it! Definitely will be coming back

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Property is spotless. It is within walking distance to Smithsonian, Union Station and everything.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Reagan National
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Numerous
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Union Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Numerous
Car: not necessary

This one of the most central and historic location in Washington DC on the first residential block across the street from the Library of Congress and Folgers Shakespeare Theater. The US Capitol and US Supreme Court are a short walk. The building is just a few blocks away from Eastern Market/Union Station/Capitol South metro stops in addition to numerous bus lines.

There are dozens of restaurants, cafes, and bar's within a few minute walk. Capitol Bike Share is located nearby. Walkscore is 94.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

FEES:

- $100 cleaning fee
- 14.5% DC Tax
- $59 non-refundable $1500 of damage protection


FOR STAYS OF 3 MONTHS OR MORE NO SALES TAX WILL BE CHARGED
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
INQUIRE ABOUT LAST MINUTE STAY DISCOUNTS!!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.