Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sky Club - Hatteras Island Beach House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, Soundfront Home On Pamlico Sound In Rodanthe

Make time for a flight layover at the Sky Club on North Carolina’s Outer Banks. Whether you enjoy a day at the sandy ocean beach, water activities on the Pamlico Sound, world class fishing, or island exploration, let Sky Club be the hub of your next vacation.

Check your flight plan online with a full video tour and pictures! See what other guests have to say about the Sky Club in the traveler reviews section and don’t forget to like us on Facebook.

Why choose the Sky Club?

The Sky Club is located in Rodanthe, one of the narrowest sections of the OBX. Your stay at the Sky Club includes wraparound decks and incredible views of the Pamilico Sound - breathtaking sunsets included! Guests will be treated to 100 yards of secluded Pamlico Sound frontage to swim, fish or play using the owner-provided kayaks! Then, it is only a short walk or ride to the breathtaking beach of the Atlantic Ocean. There you can relax all day with lightweight beach chairs and umbrellas provided for you as our guest. There are no long paths across dunes to struggle with on this part of the island and the path is paved. You can ride there in style on the bikes we provide for you as our special guests,

Inside the Sky Club enjoy a well-appointed, stadium-style kitchen, spacious centralized family room, comfortable beds for up to eight guests and best of all, a single story ranch floor plan! Not only is the Sky Club newly renovated, it is clean, non-smoking and pet free! You can stay connected with complimentary internet access or unplug and tour the villages on the bikes we provide just for you. Sit back, relax and make your vacation a first class experience at the Sky Club.

What to expect at the Sky Club from a Parent’s Perspective:

The Sky Club is packed with extras to keep everyone busy! From sand toys to bikes, Kayak’s, and Stand Up Paddleboards your family will have plenty to do and you won’t have to pack, or worse rent, all of the toys that make life at the beach more fun. There are even beach chairs and beach umbrellas for the whole family!

From the best tanning deck on the house you can watch kids play safely on the beach of the shallow-water Sound. They can spend hours trying to catch hermit crabs and minnows while you catch up on your tan and favorite book.

Walkie-Talkies are available for kids if they take a bike ride to the corner store, so you can give them a little freedom but still keep in touch. And, the walkie-talkies work from the house to both the Ocean Beach and the Sound Beach for older kids.

The fully equipped kitchen means you can save a fortune on restaurant meals and teenagers can eat their late night cereal and frozen pizza. Save buying the bulky but essential items such as napkins, tin foil, saran wrap, toilet paper, and cleaning supplies... these are provided for your convenience. And when you decide to eat out, the local restaurants are family friendly, reasonably priced and amazing.

What to expect at the Sky Club as a Watersport Enthusiast:

The Sky Club has 100 yards of private Soundfront water access including a grassy rigging area for every water sport. As a windsurfer and kiteboarder who has been coming to the Outer Banks for 30 years, there is no better Sound access on Hatteras Island. The winds from the S to NNE are ideal for kite and windsurf launching at the house. As winds go NE to SE, you can launch directly across the street on the Ocean side.

The house includes a ground floor storage area with equipment racks. A cleaning station and outside shower are outside under the house. You can clean up our gear so that it is ready the next day. Rigging, launching, and storing your gear will be a breeze at the Sky Club.

This house really caters to those who want access to the Sound and Ocean for watersports. When the wind is not blowing, the Sky Club still delivers with 3 kayaks and 6 bikes for cruising the island. And of course, no trip to Hatteras Island is complete without a visit to the local surf shops. Fortunately, Real Watersports, Kitty Hawk Kites, and other shops are all within a few miles.

What to expect at the Sky Club from a Fishing Perspective:

Why settle for the Ocean or Sound when you can have them both! The Sky Club is located on a very narrow segment of the island providing access to both Ocean and Sound fishing. If your target is inlet fishing, “Oregon Inlet” and the “New New Inlet” are just north of the Sky Club.

Convenient storage areas make unloading and storing your gear simple. A deluxe, outdoor fish-cleaning table makes prep a breeze. Bring your casting net as bait can easily be caught along the shore of the Sound. If you prefer to buy bait, or need to update your fishing gear, several bait and tackle shops are just down the street including, Hatteras Jack.

Offshore Fishing Charters are available from nearby Oregon Inlet or head south to the Hatteras Inlet. The Sky Club is a dream vacation spot for the avid fishing enthusiast and novices alike.

More Details

Owner
Mark Haines
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Mark Haines

The Sky Club is the latest vacation home offering from Mark Haines and his wife Adria, owners of the nearby Frequent Flyer (vrbo#430547). The Frequent Flyer was named after the owner’s favorite pastime (well, he would argue it is not a pastime but a lifestyle) kiteboarding, and the way he earned his kiteboard time: traveling more than 1.5 million miles by air, working for an engineering company. Their latest posh beach home, Sky Club, not only continues their fun play-on-words naming convention (sky club being a sophisticated respite for the high-flying elite, but in this case kite flying) but also the well appointed beach home away from home visitors to the OBX enjoy. Mark, an avid windsurfer from back in the early eighties, started kiting in 2000 and quickly became an addict. He soon became a new type of Frequent Flyer, earning miles of airtime boosting, popping, jumping, and soaring over the Pamlico Sound. Mark is now enjoying his status staying at the expertly appointed Sky Club when not sharing it with guests.

Mark Haines purchased this house in 2013

Why Mark Haines chose Hatteras Island

This property is the most unique we have seen in the OBX. The obvious attractions of a long, private, manicured sound-side beachfront (perfect for rigging) is only part of the infatuation. More importantly, this cozy beach cottage accommodates family. We could not resist the ranch home layout. It is unique here as most homes are giant with reversed floor plans and lots of steps to climb (or protect kids from). We found this home to be perfect for families with small children and parents with infants.

What makes this house unique

As a windsurfer and kiteboarder who has been coming to the Outer Banks for 30 years, there is no better Sound access for rigging and launching on Hatteras Island than what the Sky Club offers. The spot is a dream come true for Mark and Sky Club guests.

Amenities

Rodanthe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

97% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Sky Club - Hatteras Island Beach House
average rating of 4.894737 based on 38 reviews
5

Amazing beauty all around

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely one of the most peaceful and beautiful places I've found. The owner rule cares about his guests. Making sure everything is just right. What I love about it the beautiful sunsets, the owner has three kayaks, 2 paddleboards, 5 bikes. I'm so happy I found The Sky Club. This was our second year staying here and we will continue to come.

Thank you Mark for everything, The Stone Family

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, and thanks for spending another part of your summer here. It was nice to see you guys again. Stay in touch and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Power outage caused us to loose 2 days plus loss of refrigerated food.

  • 1 of 5

Our stay was nice until the power outage. Loosing 2 days of vacation was terrible. I would think we would be entitled to a partial reimbursement but am not getting any response?????

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The entire island being with out power because of the negligence of the construction company resulted in a mandatory evacuation. Those who purchased the recommended travel insurance offered though VRBO are covered. As we discussed before you decided to leave, you were eligible for the VRBO Book with Confidence Guarantee which provides you with alternative housing for the rest of your vacation in a situation like this. While I understand the frustration both of us had trying to get in touch with VRBO during the day of the outage, my hope is they will respond to your case # with some form of reimbursement. It will take time to understand additional reimbursement options which may become available. I will forward you additional information via text. I apologize again for the abrupt end to your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sewell, NJ
5

Still great on 3rd visit!

  • 5 of 5

Our group, 5 adults and 2 children, returned to Sky Club for the 3rd time in the last 4 years 7/15-22. Mark makes vacationing so easy! The amenities provided (bikes, kayaks, paddle boards the grill, and corn hole boards) meant we had to bring just us and our food! The sunrises and sunsets were awesome, and everything "advertised" was provided. We absolutely love it there, and plan to return again next summer.

Craig D.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Sky Club rocks!

  • 5 of 5

My family of five had a wonderful vacation in Rodanthe! The Sky Club was absolutely perfect for us and had everything we needed for a fun active week. It was so great not to rent or have to bring bikes, paddle boards, kayaks, beach chairs...everything was there which made it so relaxing. Kids ranged in age from 2 to 14 and there was something for everyone. Paddle boarding and kayaking every morning, beaching in the afternoon, bike rides. The house is the perfect beach house, older but with all the amenities we could have needed. The view was amazing and such a bonus. Plan ahead on groceries and alcohol, about 30 minutes away (smaller stores for basics nearby). The outdoor showers are awesome, none of us showered inside all week. Mark was great, super responsive and available for all of our questions. We loved it, absolutely would recommend Sky Club if you want a beautiful, slightly out of the way (which we really wanted), active and relaxing vacation. Thank you, Mark!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am glad everyone had a good week. Outdoor showers are the best! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect spot in the OBX

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four just spent our first vacation in the OBX at the Sky Club and we had a wonderful time. The house was well appointed, immaculate and perfectly located between the sound and the ocean. The location is quiet and private. The sunsets were beautiful!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first experience staying on the sound, and we had a blast! It was so nice to have use of the kayaks and paddle boards. It gave everyone something to do. The backpack beach chairs were also great. We were able to load up and get on the bikes to the beach with everything we needed. It really is a short 2 minute bike to the beach. We will definitely consider going back to stay at the Sky Club again.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad everyone had a good time, and it was nice to meet you. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Norfolk, VA

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rodanthe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,595
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Late Fall 2017
Sep 30 2017 - Dec 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Bookings for 2017 require 10% down, half the remaining balance due 12/15/2016, and the remaining balance due 30 days prior to your vacation.

Partial week bookings will be considered upon request.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable