Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Temple Tree House, Romantic Beach Front Getaway, Private 1 Acre Estate

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

New,1 Large Bedroom, 8 Ft Closet, Large Bath 7' Shower, Two Decks

Just 20 steps down to the beach with your own outdoor shower. Just expanded 2013 to 3x size. Large new queen bed and linens. Bedroom has it's own large deck with hammock. Full deck at the outside the full louvered glass front of this True Island Cabin where you enjoy the soothing Caribbean breezes. Main room has efficiency kitchen with new fridge, stove, toaster, blender, drip coffee maker and press with bean grinder. Open concept kitchen sitting and eating area. Small charcoal BBQ, another hammock on the front deck for hours of privacy reading and sleeping.

Go snorkelling off our dock with the snorkelling equipment that comes with the rental, to one of the most stunning reef formations in the Caribbean. (second largest reef in the world). You can sit on the dock and enjoy the dolphins and their shows every day. We suggest snorkelling with the dolphins!

The use of two single kayaks come with the property for our guests to use.

This a one acre private property with Casa Cowee as the main house and Temple Tree house high off the beach which is used for local access to the properties on it. The houses are designed to catch the breezes off the water so the use of AC is really not necessary. Sunsets are absolutely the most stunning from our home.

This is a one acre estate which is lush with many fruit trees including lemons, limes, mangos, bananas, avocados, nuts etc.

The property is gated with a private circular drive around a massive Mango Tree and in the back there is a towering Rain Forest LeCeiba Tree that takes your breath away.

Just one to two minutes walk to 4 great restaurants and two fun bars. 10 Min. drive to West End which is filled with restaurants and bars. Or you can have our staff bring you local food which is delicious. There is a produce truck that comes by daily if you ask and small local stores and restaurants.

Everything for a true island experience.

This property is located 100' away from the larger Casa Cowee VRBO listing #126086 So if you are looking for space for more people. $50.00 for pick up and drop off at the airport along with your grocery stop. AC is a min. 75.00 + surcharge for the week as most people do not want to use it so not built into the price. We meter it for you so you pay for what you use.

More Details

Owner
Suzanne Boyce
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017

About Suzanne Boyce

My name is Suzanne Boyce and I purchased The Casa Cowee Estate (2013) from the original owners that had it built in 1974 after falling love with Roatan and the local people on a road trip from Aspen Colorado. They commissioned the design with a famous local architect to capture the luscious warm breezes off the Caribbean. The same love of the island and it's people and slow lifestyle took hold of me. Unfortunately I still have to work in Canada but good for you as you will have a chance to have the same great experience while I work to get back down there. The property has undergone many upgrades this year and we are continuing to improve. Not to say we are changing anything that will lose the total island feel of unique rustic Casa Cowee. Did I mention the sunsets?

Go to Casa Cowee (the main house) VRBO 126086 Both houses can be rented together.

Suzanne Boyce purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Suzanne Boyce chose Roatan

If you are looking for a gated community and concierge service this is not it. This is a one acre private estate that is planted with an abundance of tropical trees, rainforest trees, fruit and fragrant flowers. It sits right on the beach but sits higher on a hill to catch the caressing Caribbean breezes. The house is yours to live a self sufficient island life. . You have towels provided and bed linens. The towels are changed out once during the week.

This Island is wonderful oasis and there is no need to live in a gated community. The Islanders are wonderful and helpful. We have a full time caretaker living on the property, Jose. He has brought Casa Cowee back to it's old glory. Jose is there almost 24/7 to maintain the property but helps you with your needs. We also have Channin and Kim Bodden who own Channin Bodden Tours as your property managers. They have a great tour company with vehicles to take you on tours and a boat for fishing and snorkelling adventures. If you prefer to rent your own car they can arrange that for you. There is no guessing. Just ask and you will have all the info you need.

Snorkelling is fantastic right out front and you have all the dining and entertainment right on our beach. Divers just walk down to one of our two Sandy Bay Beach Shops.

Great local food also.

What makes this cabin unique

Temple Tree House is part of the Casa Cowee estate VRBO 126086 and the new Bamboo Casita and can be rented at the same time for up to 8 people so you will have up to four separate bedrooms three baths and three kitchens

The decks overlook the water and you will experience breath taking sunsets. We have our own dock to swim off of and swim out to the reef to snorkel or book a snorkelling tour with Channin and Kim Bodden our property managers, to adventure to some other spectacular sites. You get use of our two kayaks and snorkelling equipment with your house. Walk to everything on Sandy Bay, Diving, Dining, bars, Fishing, Spa. 200 ft by water from Anthony's Key Dolphins. 10 Min drive to lively West End.

No car necessary for two people. Channin Bodden Tours is the best for great Island Tours. They have a web site. Sandy Bay has the best local fisherman to take you out fishing.

Amenities

Sandy Bay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • New bath 7' x 16' with 7 ft wide shower. Towels provided and changed out half way through week. 2 Beach towels provided. New blow dryer. Soap provided. Bring your own soap if you have a preference. Suggest packing own beach towel if you are water lovers.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • one bedroom- 13' x 16' with new Queen mattress set and high quality bedding. Newly finished floors, large 8' closet for clothing and suitcases. bolted in safe for valuables Deck off bedroom overlooking lush property with view of the sea. Hammock and chairs. Flat screen tv 32' with cable for Canadian, US, BBC and Spanish TV. Bed linen can be changed out during week for 10.00 laundry fee.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is the side of the island for divers and snorkelers. Less travelled and some spectacular sites. One of the best gyms you will ever find tucked into the jungle 5 min away. Botanical gardens around the corner. Bars and restaurants right on the beach 1 -2 minutes walk. Real island living with the locals who are the best people lots of fun and open. Best local fisherman will take you out deep sea and fly fishing - great bone fishing close by. Hole in the Wall for all you can eat Lobster and Steak. Drumming and dancing in Punta Gorda. Dolphins to watch from our dock everyday or swim over for a visit. Snorkelling with them is a must. Some of the longest and fastest zip lines in the world. I could go on and on.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Temple Tree House, Romantic Beach Front Getaway, Private 1 Acre Estate
average rating of 4.742857 based on 35 reviews
5

Great location, fantastic view, great bed and lodging.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed 2 weeks. Dock in front of property was fantastic for sunning and meeting local folks. Turquoise seas, lots of boats, cruise ships going by, reef right in front of property. Jose, Channin, Kimberly and Daisy are fantastic. The property is beautiful. You can see dolphins jumping right from the dock. Kayaking is great through Anthony's Key. The Beach Grill was our favourite place to eat - great service, great cook. Thursday night entertainment is great. Loved Poppa Bones up on the road. The best pizza we ever had. Great bar in the back. The Sunkin Fish is great for wing night with entertainment, but otherwise poor service. La Dolce Vida had great Italian food with Seafood and great service but we were the only ones there. Salty Mango good for lunch. Try the fish tacos. Check out Carambola Gardens and hike up the mountain - well worth the effort. The gift shop in Anthony's Key was, in our opinion, the best on the island. Take the island tour trip and snorkelling tour with Channin - well worth the cost. You have to do stuff to make it a great vacation. One suggestion, which we didn't do because we ran out of time, is a day trip to Utila. One of the best 2 week vacations we ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi I know who you are. LOL Thanks for the extensive review. Glad you loved your two weeks. It gets pretty chill. I am going to have to try some of those restaurants you listed! A great pizza is something I have not been able to find yet. I am sure our future guest will love your information and maybe enjoy our property manager's tours and fishing expeditions. Hope to see you back. Channin, Kim and Jose would love that. Cheers Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Perfect for those who want a camping plus experience

  • 1 of 5

We were excited to stay in a local spot nestled in the "jungle," right off the beach with high reviews (addressed further down). However, we were most underwhelmed and have never been so excited to return home to a clean, airtight house :( If you are looking for rustic and more of an indoor camping environment, this place is for you. Otherwise, use search terms such as "modern" and "updated" to find more suitable properties in the same price range.

We were surprised to find the Temple Tree House was a cramped cabin with old horizontally-stacked wooden shutters in the bedroom (instead of windows)--creating a dark and dank environment -- and single pane glass slatted windows in the cramped kitchen/living room. The bathroom in the Temple Tree House, however, was fairly updated and fairly large (approximately the same ft2 as the kitchen/living room). We were allowed to use the Casa Cowee deck since the other two co-located properties were not occupied. We would have felt claustrophobic had we been confined to the Temple Tree House, especially during the power outages and storms.

After the repair men deemed the AC unit irreparable (following two nights of 27-29C air conditioning in the bedroom), we spoke to the groundskeeper (Jose) and then the manager (Channin) and were ultimately allowed to move to the bigger Casa Cowee since no one was staying there. Compared to the former, it was heaven. Compared to a western 3 star motel, it was poor. We can only imagine that the high reviews were by people who enjoy spartan conditions.

One of the biggest drawbacks to both properties: the "windows" do not close/seal AND there are plenty of gaps at the doors, windows, floors, and walls that allow cockroaches, flying ants, mosquitos, etc. to get into the living spaces. It was difficult to decide what was worse: going to bed without washing off the DEET bug spray or being bitten in bed by flying ants. Fortunately, I always lit the floor at night with a flashlight: one night I walked into the bathroom in the middle of the night and avoided stepping on a cockroach. Didn't stop the blood curdling scream, though!

The falling nuts and rainfall reverberated on the metal roof, so bring ear plugs.

There is only one air conditioner unit -- in the master bedroom. While some reviews reference a cool breeze, high humidity and upper 80s temperatures did not feel cool to us.

The the wifi at the Temple Tree House was spotty at best.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, Yes, Channin and Kim reported your attitude toward them and the property as soon as they settled you in and that you wanted the main house upgrade for free. I told them you could have it if you wanted to pay for it. You ended up getting the main house anyway for free. You did not pay for AC as requested. May I suggest that when booking trips south you should anticipate hot weather and some rain and people of colour. These are not our islands we are visitors. You did ultimately get the large house as our AC in Temple Tree House could not get down to the 16 degrees as you have it in Washington DC. You blew the unit. I think also when booking a place you should look at the pictures first. I have taken all those pictures and they are extremely accurate. Channin, Kim, Jose and Daisy all work very hard on the property and cater to our guests as the rest of our guests have indicated in their reviews. As far as your cock roaches go I have never seen one in the 4 years there nor have I had a guest report one. There are ants and critters, lots of birds and fabulous fish. This is not a hermetically sealed environment . Nor is it meant to attract people that like to live in one. Roatan it is a stunning lush environment and all those creatures make it what is is. Even the people who call it home. Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, quiet, and best of all, right on the beach.

  • 5 of 5

A very special place to get away from everything. From the moment we were picked up at the airport by Channin to the end of the week when Jose loaded our bags, our stay was wonderful. The house was spacious for two people, with separate rooms and plenty of deck space for the early-risers. We discovered Roatan is really hot in June (yes, everybody warned us) but the mornings were beautiful for walking and the afternoons were made for snorkeling and kayaking.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful and relaxing. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • 5 of 5

The property is ideal for relaxing in the sun and beauty of Roatan. Close to several bars and restaurants yet quiet. West End is close by but not "on top of you".

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Twin Falls, Idaho
5

A wonderful oasis on Roatan

  • 5 of 5

The property is very conveniently located near restaurants, points of interest and one of the most spectacular sunsets on Roatan.

We definitely enjoyed our stay.

Channin and Kemberlee were wonderful. We had an airport pick-up and a stop by the grocery store for some supplies...then off to the property. Channin gave us a tour of the island and was very helpful and tolerant of all of our questions.

Jose' is a hard worker and was there in seconds if we needed anything. You just walk outside and are greeted with a smile and a "good morning". I don't know where he is but suddenly he's there asking if you need anything..then he's gone, letting you get about your business of enjoying the beautiful scenery.

The house is pleasant, well placed to catch the cooling island breezes and what a great view.

We were there a week and had a great experience. So great that we are actually already planning our return trip.

Casa Cowee / Temple Tree House is an amazing property. The trees, the flowers, the birds everything is just....well...perfect.

The beach is just steps away, the dock and seating were really nice to get out over the water on. The swimming is just spectacular. The reef is only a few hundred meters away.

Its a perfect place to sit on the deck, enjoy the day (or the spectacular sunsets) listen to the birds calling and the dolphins breaching the water and slapping back down on the surf.

Dreams are made of such things.

I would heartily recommend this property to anyone who wants a little oasis on a wonderful Caribbean Island

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jeff and Trish. So glad your adventure turned into a dream. You picked one of the best times of the year to visit Roatan. "Off season" does not mean not the "best season" it means that less tourists from the north. The estate is in full bloom and fruits are coming out. It is warm and breezes are a plenty. Channin, Kim, Jose and I are all happy you are coming back with your friends and family! Thanks for taking the time for the review. Suzanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Planning to Return

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with our accomodations and we loved the island. So glad we chose Sandy Bay as our retreat, although West Bay was a nice place to visit. We were thrilled to see that the reef was so healthy and loved being able to swim out to it anytime . Jose was very helpful, especially when it came time to relocate a family of bats from the deck. Channin and Kim are wonderful hosts. Especially appreciated was the fresh fish dinner they provided along with great stories . The only negatives we can share is that the water cooler was not functioning but we were provided with plenty of water. I would brighten up the interior of the cottage , perhaps with better lighting and lighter paint. The cottage was very comfortable temperature -wise due to the extensive shade and ocean breezes but that also caused it to be dark in am and after sunset, as well on cloudy days. Lastly the oven was a challenge for cooking, but of course we managed . We are planning to return with family and hope to be able to rent enough space on that section of beach to accommodate extended family. Thanks Suzanne. Theresa Balch and Don Brown.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Roatan International
Nearest Barpub
1 min walk
Nearest Ferry
16 Miles
Coxen Hole
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
20 min drive
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
3 min. walk
Nearest Beach
Sandy Bay Beach
Car: not necessary

The Temple Tree House located on the beach of Roatan, a true Caribbean Island. It is extremely hilly and is surrounded by the second largest reef in the world. Our part of Sandy Bay is a small community right on the water. The growth is lush tropical. In fact we have up to 75' palm trees, 100 foot La Ceiba tree and fruit and flowering plants and trees that cause you to pause. You can watch our humming birds bath on the leaves of our trees right outside your window and hear birds of the jungle shouting out their greetings. A short walk up to the main road and you are at the botanical gardens in which you can climb up through the jungle to the top of a hill to get the eagle eye view of our Tranquil little Sandy Bay.

Our local fisherman will take you out for a day of deep sea, or fly fishing.

Great diving shops are within one to two minutes walk down our beach, where you can take your courses, open water dives etc. on the less used Sandy bay side which still has pristine sites to explore.

You are a 10 minute taxi ride to the popular laid back West End if you want to step it up a notch with dancing, karaoke, dinning and bars!

West Bay the place for larger resorts is a great beach and fantastic for snorkelling and fascinating people watching, beach massages, hawkers galore.

For me fun for a few hours for sure.

Our Sandy Bay you have an opportunity to get to know the locals and everyone parties together on this island so get ready as the native people are super nice and lots of fun. If you need anything or some advice just ask they are more than accommodating.

Casa Cowee estate and activities are managed by locals of Sandy Bay, their pride of their island shows.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sandy Bay Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low season
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$120
$805
$2,900
 
 
High Season
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
5 night minimum stay
$140
$3,500
 
 
Low Season
May 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$130
$910
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$140
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $500

$75.00 wk to turn the AC on - not normally necessary as the house is completely open for breezes. Power is extremely expensive on the island so we ask our guests to be mindful of fans, lights etc.
Weekly rate includes cleaning every Saturday or upon your departure. 2bath & hand towels 1 beach towel per person changed mid week. Drinking water supplied 10 gallons week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable