Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy 1 BR Snowshoe Cabin

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy 1 BR Condo at the base of snowshoe mountain wonderful for mountain bikeing

Large one bedroom upstairs log and stone condo at the base of snowshoe mountain located close to the Raven golf course. We refurbished our home 2 years ago It has a new king size bed in the bedroom and a comfortable full size Murphy bed that pulls down in the living room. The floors are wood laminate and there is a flat screen TV & an electric fireplace is in the living room. A laundry facility and a lovely hot tub are on site just a few steps away. There are also grills available in a small picnic area. Parking is right outside the door . A full kitchen , well stocked with everything you need to produce meals at home is provided and there is a small grocery store is just a 2 min drive away.


Owner
Janet Owens
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Janet Owens

My 3 children and I all love to ski but we enjoy Snowshoe in the summer just as much . We love to bike the Greenbriar River trail and a day trip to Cass railroad. We have enjoyed working together as a family to make Overlook our home away from home & we are now looking forward to sharing our home with you.

Janet Owens purchased this condo in 1996

Why Janet Owens chose West Virginia

We bought at Snowshoe because we love to ski and we loved the quiet country setting of Overlook. Overlook suited our need for a quiet pet friendly location and we loved all the trees surrounding the complex. We had rented on top of the mountain many times and we're tired of the noise and crowds & we preferred Overlook because of it's homey log cabin feel . We also loved the large uncrowded hot tub . We liked the vaulted log ceilings and the skylights as well as the large windows & deck!from which to enjoy the view.

What makes this condo unique

Close to golf course , restaurants and grocery store. It is a quieter and larger condo than most found at the mountaintop but it is just a short drive from the top of the mountain . A 9 mile scenic drive alone highway 66 will take you to Cass railroad which is a wonderful day out for the kids. Cass is also a great place to get on the Greenbrier River Trail. We have seen all kinds of wildlife down by the river. River rafting and fly fishing are other great summer activities & Shavers lake is open for swimming, paddle boating and canoeing. Although Overlook is a condo complex, with its' log structure , it feels more like a little mountain cabin. We love to sit on the deck during the warm weather after a meal cooked on the outdoor grill.

Amenities

Snowshoe Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , small but modern
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • king size bed, large window, wood floors, large closet, sylight, very cozy and comfortable. Small flat screen TV with DVD player for watching movies ( not connected to cable)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
departure cleaning & linens included in rental fee. Lift tickets may be obtained at the front desk of the inn at snowshoe which you will pass on your left on highway 66 2 miles before you reach Overlook . Route 66 is across from the Inn and offers ski and snowboard rentals. Just before you reach the Inn at Snowshoe you will pass the little grocery store & gas station on the right. There is also a Subway there. Route 66 also has a deli and the Inn has a restaurant . For a nice meal out just 5 miles away call for reservations at Elk River located on hwy219 . All types of summer activities may be booked through Snowshoe .

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Cozy 1 BR Snowshoe Cabin
average rating of 4.8125 based on 32 reviews
5

Cozy Cabin With All the Essentials

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our two night stay here in early February. We came planning to snowboard; however, the weather was severely uncooperative! So, we spent much more time in the cabin than we had expected and we were fortunate that the cabin was so comfortable to stay in. Janet was very friendly, informative, and responsive when setting up plans and responding to questions about the stay. We didn't have any problems while we were there. The cabin itself was just as pictured. My favorite part was the amount of light that came in the cabin. The bed was super comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked (we could have done with an extra roll of paper towels and aluminum foil), and there were plenty of extra blankets and comforters. The television and cable worked perfectly and the wi-fi (yes!!) was so, so crucial in helping us plan our way around the mountain (again, due to bad weather we really needed to check weather updates at the resort, store hours around town, etc.). I also enjoyed having the little electric fireplace. The hot tub was very close by and we had it to ourselves for a short time until we were joined by other guests but they were very nice people and we did not mind the extra company. The Par-Mar store was easy to find and we spent a good amount of time going around town a bit and saw some pretty cute stores. Overall, we were pretty disappointed that we couldn't snowboard at all but the saving grace of the trip was undoubtedly this super cute and cozy cabin we were able to hunker down in all weekend and the nice town we were able to explore around. We enjoyed the cabin so much that we will definitely try to make it back in the future and just cross our fingers for a better weather forecast.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, i am glad that you made the best of your stay despite the weather. That is very disappointing. How I wish I had control over the weather. If you can come back please remind me who you are and I will discount your next stay . Thanks again, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Overlook #2 was perfect, really close to the mountain, very clean, dog friendly place to stay in a low key area. The owner is very nice. We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marion County School System
5

Wood Cabin Condo

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cabin.. So warm and welcoming and comfortable after a long day of playing in the now.. Everything from the cabin's location, to the amenities provided where exceptional, and Janet's guidance as to places to visit, made this a truly remarkable trip.

There is so much to do in this area that is closed in the wintertime, that we will have to make another trip to explore the WV Mountains in Summer.

Thanks again,

Steven & Karen

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great condo

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Lots of outdoor stuff to do in the area. We loved the hot tub. Used it everyday. The condo has everything that is normally stocked and more. The Wifii is great since cell phone reception can be iffy. The bed is comfortable. The owner is very flexible and helpful to make stay great. Its about 10 minutes from top of snowshoe.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much , I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super close to Snowshoe

  • 5 of 5

Great place super close to Snowshoe. Very comfortable for four people and the living room is spacious enough to relax after a day of skiing. The kitchen is also well equipped, save a cutting board, which made preparing breakfast and dinner a dream. The shared hot tub was a great amenity and was not busy. Checking in was a breeze, though the location was a bit difficult to find as there's little to no cell service and the only directions provided are from the Marlinton, WV direction, not from Front Royal/DC direction. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. You are correct about the directions, I do not know them from DC, it should say in the welcome package to look at the directions on the Snowshoe site & as you say there is little to no cell reception as you approach the area . If you could pass the best route on to me I will put it in the directions. Cutting board? Hmm.... there was a glass cutting board there, I will have housekeeping check, thank you for letting me know. Please come back again, summer and fall are amazing at Snowshoe and there is so much to do. Thanks again, janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in Janet's condo for a long weekend in January for a little ski trip getaway. The condo is very close to Snowshoe Mountain Resort, which made coming and going very convenient. The condo itself was perfect for what we needed; it was very well appointed, super cozy, comfortable and had everything you could possibly need (e.g., kitchen is stocked with everything you need to do your own cooking). We loved sitting in the cozy living room with the electric fireplace running. The condo was also immaculately clean and we loved the fact that it was pet friendly. We also used the community hot tub one chilly night, which was a real treat. Only one note: if you're sensitive to light in the morning and want to sleep in past sunrise, make sure to bring an eye mask. While the skylight in the bedroom is a cool feature - it gets very bright when the sun comes up! The only reason we did not give this particular stay 5 stars is due to some miscommunication about how to get into the condo when we arrived. We came in later in the evening (arrived around 9 pm) only to find we did not have the lock box code to get the key. So we sat outside in our car waiting for almost 3 hours, trying desperately to connect to the WiFi so we could call/text someone (because cell service in this area is absolutely non-existent). Luckily, we were finally able to get in right before midnight. Unbeknownst to us, there was a "hospitality suite" on the VRBO site with that lock box information; however, this was not mentioned in any of the communications with Janet leading up to our stay. We are not VRBO regulars, so we were not aware of this feature. On top of that, we also lost hot water on our last night. Unfortunately, this happened right after we got back from a very muddy, dirty hike on the mountain. So we were unable to take showers that night and had to heat water up on the stove to be able to give our muddy pup a bath. We do understand that this was completely out of Janet's control, but it was just really bad timing. The water did come back the following morning, so that was good. All that aside, Janet was exceedingly apologetic and offered several options of compensation to make up for any inconvenience we experienced. So we were very appreciative of that. All in all, despite the minor hiccups, we had a great weekend, we loved the condo, and we would definitely come back! Just hope the mountain gets some more snow next season!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. Again , I am so sorry about the water, it was an awful situation, due to a burst pipe somewhere in the system that completely drained the reserve tanks from the well. As far as getting in I will mention this to everyone reading, once you book you are sent a request to open the VRBO hospitality suite. Once you do so it gives you all of the check in info and the lockbox code. I was unaware that you had not done so. . Since we had communicated prior to your arrival I assumed that you had all the info, again I am so sorry. You should have received an email from VRBO telling you to access the hospitality suite for check in info and then , when you did not open it the first time , you should have received a reminder. It was so unfortunate that I was at in the operating room when you tried to reach me. I think you will have to come back in the summer for a stay "on the house" so I can make it up to you ! Snowshoe is wonderful in summer, you will love it !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Raven Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
210
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Raven Golf Course, Subway, Elk River Inn , Subway
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Snowshoe & Silver Creek
Car: recommended

Quiet cabin located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. Short drive to downhill skiing, snowboarding, and snow tubing in the winter as well as golf and mountain bike trails in the summer. Cass Railroad and the Greenbrier River Trail are a scenic 15-minute drive away. From the intersection of 219 & Route 66 continent on 66 a little over 2 miles and you will see the entrance to Overlook on your right. On your way there on Route 66 you will pass subway on your right together with a small but well stocked grocery store and a gas station . You will then pass Inn at Snowshoe on your left. Where a free shuttle bus makes regular trips to the ski areas and back. Lift tickets may be purchased at the front dest of the Inn . Across from the Inn is Route 66 ski and Snowboard rentals also a deli and very nice gift shop . Clothing, ski gear and many lovely candies and gifts are available here

Photos

Rates & Availability

Snowshoe Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Weekend rates apply for holiday periods. Pets will be considered on an individual basis. Linens and departure cleaning are included in rates. Weekend rates apply to all holidays and a 3 night minimum is required for holiday weekends. Lower rates for Spring, Summer & Fall. Dogs are required to be crated if left unattended in the home

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties