Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Retreat near Driggs & Victor; One hr from Jackson WY

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,685 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bed, 2.5 bath, sleeps 6

Beautiful home on a hill with panoramic mountain views and easy access to Caribou-Targhee National Forest, 80 minutes to Grand Teton National Park and 2 hours from West Yellowstone. Hiking, mountain biking, xc skiing and snowshoeing right from the cabin and blue-ribbon fly fishing and world-class skiing within 20 minutes.

Multiple tall windows and a elevated wrap-around deck bring the natural beauty of the outside in. You’ll enjoy curling up on a window seat to read a book, enjoy the sunset or just watch the snow fall. After a long day out skiing or hiking you can relax on a new soft leather love seat or lie on a bear rug and watch the fire.

The upstairs bedroom is a stargazer’s paradise. We call it the “Eagle’s Nest.” You’ll enjoy watching for shooting stars and identifying the constellations before dozing off for one of the best night’s sleep you’ve ever had on a temPurpedic mattress. Wake up early enough and you can watch the sun rising over the Grand Teton from bed.

Located at the base of the Tetons, and bordering a national forest, the area attracts an abundance of wildlife including moose, deer, foxes and many types of birds including great gray owls, bald eagles and sage grouse.

This is a three-level home with sleeping on the top and ground floors and an office/entertainment room, kitchen and living room on the main floor. Bedrooms are separated by the main floor offering privacy. The large office/entertainment room includes a desk, games, books, Internet access and Teton views. The downstairs bedroom opens to a garden and patio, with a hammock for the lazy days of summer.

This is the perfect summer or winter retreat for active couples, families or the business or creative person seeking a remote office and a peaceful, inspirational setting surrounded by nature.

More Details

Owner
Steve Gramme
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Steve Gramme

We split our time between Tetonia and California. We enjoy the balance of mountain living and time by the ocean.

Steve Gramme purchased this house in 2013

Why Steve Gramme chose Teton Valley

We've been traveling to Teton Valley a few times a year for the last decade because we love the winter and summer outdoor activities it provides; especially cross country skiing, snow shoeing, hiking, mountain biking, kayaking and fly fishing. Our property is near two of our favorite national parks: Grand Teton and Yellowstone, and we love to visit them frequently.

What makes this house unique

Our home has fantastic views of the Teton mountain range, plenty of wildlife viewing and is located on a private 3-acre aspen-wooded lot. It is only 10 years old and is very well constructed and maintained.

Amenities

Tetonia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1685 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Main Floor Bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 double , temPurpedic mattress
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3-Office - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
To access our home in the winter, a four wheel drive vehicle is recommended.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Mountain Retreat near Driggs & Victor; One hr from Jackson WY
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
4

Nice house in beautiful setting.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed 5 nights in Dec. Picked this place mainly for its proximity to Grand Targhee. The location is very peaceful and the views are incredible. The house was immaculate and well appointed with cookware, utensils, bedding, games, books, and movies. Steve does a fantastic job. He was very responsive and even checked in with us to see if we arrived ok or had questions. If I could give 4 1/2 stars I would. It was almost excellent, but there were a couple of things that could be improved. The master bedroom upstairs has amazing views and a nice bathroom, but the bed is tucked in a nook so you can only climb in and out at the foot of the bed. We decided it would be better to let our teenage son use the master and we took the downstairs room. The downstairs has a tiny bathroom, and the utility room next door can be noisy when running the washer or dryer. There was also a plastic matress liner that made me sweat even though we kept the room at 60 degrees. The bedroom windows don't all have window treatments, so sleeping late may be hard for some. None of these were major issues, and and we really enjoyed the place. I don't want to discourage anyone from renting this house. It was a great value. With a couple of minor changes it could be perfect.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your candid review. We constantly make improvements to our cabin, like adding new furniture, kitchen appliances etc., and welcome suggestions from guests like you because your ideas help us create a five star experience for our guests; this is our goal. We haven’t had guests mention any of the things you pointed out and will act upon your suggestions, where possible. Thank you for being such great guests, and we hope you come back and stay at our slice of paradise again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Logan, UT
4

Home in the mountains

  • 4 of 5

The cabin/house is set in the mountains of Tetonia with no visible neighbors. The home was very clean and easy to get to with GPS navigation. The owner welcomed me by text and asked if everything was OK upon arrival. The home has some amazing views of the backside of the Tetons. The upstairs has a queen bed with fantastic views of the Tetons out the windows. Moderate sized master bath with tub instead of shower, although extending spray from faucet available ( No lock on door which didn't bother us).

Main level has well stocked kitchen with modern appliances. Nice rustic kitchen table seats 6 and bar that seats 3. Window seat is more of a window bed which my wife loved during the day. Then a separate TV room with futon (which we didn't pull out). No need to bring entertainment as they have about 200 movies (well, maybe a hundred...). No satellite, however ABC, CBS and a few other channels available. There is a bathroom on this level, outside the kitchen door but still in the house. This level also has a walk out deck from the dining area. Furnished with a picnic table and two wooden lounge chairs. No grill available.

Basement has a queen bed with its own bathroom and full laundry room (which we didn't use). The downstairs bedroom walks out to downstairs patio. No hammock available unfortunately.

There is a garage as well, that connects to downstairs but we didn't use this either. The grounds surrounding the home are serene, wooded and in the thick of things. No grass or play area. Also, no fire pit unfortunately.

Cons: A little farther away from Tetons than other homes. No barbecue grill, no fire pit and no play area (which for us wasn't a big deal).

Pros: Serene, close to Driggs, clean, great views, Owner (Steve) was extremely hospitable and responded to any questions promptly.

Thanks for stay. We enjoyed our visit

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the candid review! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our piece of paradise. Next time let us know a couple weeks in advance that you plan to stay at our cabin and we can have a hammock and BBQ ready for you to use. The amenities are normally out during the summer and are put away in the Fall because of the weather and attraction of large animals. It doesn't make sense to have a fire pit at our place since we are surrounded by quaking aspen and it would be a fire hazard. Additionally, our home is best suited for children 5 years old or higher, teenagers and adults; we don't have a playground for toddlers. We are glad that you enjoyed all the other amenities that we purchased this year and haven't taken pictures of for the VRBO site yet such as the two wooden lounge chairs and the comfy chair and ottoman in the guest bedroom. We do our best to improve our cabin every year and appreciate the feedback so that we can make it even better. We hope you come and stay with us again sometime soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peace and quiet amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 8 nights. The views are amazing! We were looking for a place halfway between Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. Situated in a rural area yet only a few minutes to town. National forest access in your backyard with tons of trails to hike minutes from the house. We had 2 adults and 2 children during our stay and had everything we needed. The house is well stocked and kept up. Huge deck to sit out and enjoy the amazing views. Thank you Steve we will be returning!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jonesborough, TN
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5

I traveled here with my parents, younger sister, and grandmother. The home was very nice and roomy. I slept in the upstairs room, it was nice to wake up to a gorgeous view of the tetons. The place was absolutely perfect, a little off the beaten path, but totally worth it. Wish we would have spent more time here. Hope to make it back sometime in the future. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SUPER RENTAL

  • 5 of 5

I rented this for us to stay during my daughter's wedding in Tetonia. It was just down the road, VERY convenient to our wedding venue. The owner was very responsive when I made my inquiry and was able to assist me in finding another rental for more family that was right next door to his home that had a path to keep the family close together when we were unable to find a large enough place for 'all of us'. He was responsive all through the process, encouraging and positively supportive of our planned visit and our needs. The home was wonderful, view spectacular. It was clean and had all the amenities we needed. We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience! The owner had to deal with the 'mother of the bride jitters' and couldn't have been more understanding and supportive of our stay in his home. Love it and we will certainly consider this as a place we can return to when returning to Tetonia! Thanks for opening your home to us!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tetonia Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Loved it! The home is secluded, surrounded by beautiful stands of aspen trees at the foot of the Teton Mountains. The sunrise and sunset views are spectacular, viewable from the deck, and pretty much anywhere in the house. Our favorite views, however, were from the master bedroom, upstairs; you sleep next to a big window that affords amazing nighttime (stars and moon) and daytime views. We were there when there was a full moon and it was beautiful at night. It is only about a 35 minute drive to Jackson, and the drive is beautiful. In short, we loved it! Steve is great to work with too! Thanks for letting stay at your beautiful house.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael, We are glad that you enjoyed our special place. We look forward to having you as guests again. Steve & Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Jackson Hole Airport (JAC)
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Dave's Pubb
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Huntsman Springs
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 33
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
North End Cafe
Nearest Ski
21 Miles
Grand Targhee Resort
Car: necessary

Winter: Cross country skiing out the back door, (groomed trails in Teton Canyon); Snow shoeing out the back door; World-class skiing (Grand Targhee Resort is 20 miles away, Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and SnowKing Resort are an hour away)

Summer: Hiking (North & South Leigh (Caribou-Targhee National Forest, Teton Canyon); Fly Fishing - Blue-ribbon trout fishing. (Teton River, Snake River, Henry's Fork, Yellowstone River, Galletin River, Harriman State Park); Kayaking/Canoeing (Teton River, Grand Teton & Yellowstone National Parks); White water rafting (Snake River, Teton River, Galletin River); Mountain biking out the back door; Horseback riding; Golf (Huntsman Springs Club and Teton Springs Club)

Events: Grand Targhee Music Festival-July; Grand Targhee Bluegrass Festival-August; The Great Snow Fest-January.

Points of Interest: Yellowstone National Park (2 hours); Grand Teton National Park (1 ½ hours); Jackson Hole, Wyoming (1 hour); Caribou-Targhee National Forest (5 minutes); Idaho Falls Airport (1 hour); Jackson Hole Airport (1 hour); Driggs, Idaho (15 minutes); Victor, Idaho (20 minutes); Wildlife Brewery (Victor); Grand Teton Brewery (Victor); Grand Teton Vodka Distillery.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tetonia House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Solar Eclipse
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,999
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$159
From
$179
Fri,Sat
$999
$3,899
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99

Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund.
Bookings canceled at least 14 days before the start of the stay will receive a 50% refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties