Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Go Home Lake Cottage 6Bd 3Bath. FREE Wi-FI, Bell Sat, 52' LED TVs, A/C

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Go Home Lake Cottage 6Bd 3Bath

This beautiful 2 storey with two separate entrances cottage is located on spectacular Go Home Lake, only 1.5 hour drive from Toronto.

That is Muskoka, Go Home Lake , the amazing lake extended more than 10 km .

The cottage has 6 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, Sleeps up to 14 people.

Go Home Lake is a great place for fishing, hiking, canoeing, boating, swimming etc. Enjoy magnificent sunsets in the cottage, patio or the deck by the water. The property is facing South-West with sun exposure all day. The deck equipped with an outdoor patio table and BBQ. We have an additional BBQ and picnic table by the fire pit. Our dock faces the South so we have plenty of chairs on it for those who want to fish or watch the setting sun. A recreational paddle boat is available for your use. We have a large private sandy beach that has shallow water and is an ideal wading place for children. There is plenty of space for kids to play and explore. There is a large porch swing and hammock by the water for relaxing, reading or sleeping. We have a private road leading to our cottage.

The cottage has plenty of privacy and it's located a short ride to a marina that is equipped with boat launch & boat rentals and convenience store. For those interested in social activities in the evening, the cottage is located near Bala and Port Carling where there is plenty of entertainment (restaurants, bars, resort nights, concerts, etc.).

We have FREE Wi-FI Internet, Bell Sat, 52' LED TVs, A/C, wood stove. Good 3G cell phone reception.

In the Fall Muskoka is transformed into a colorful garden of trees. Go Home Lake becomes very private and peaceful.

This fully insulated cottage is also a great choice for the winter. It is located on many snowmobile routes, and is only 30 minutes to skiing and snowboarding.

More Details

Property Manager
Ana
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

Amenities

Township of Georgian Bay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 Upstairs - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 Upstairs - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 Upstairs - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 Ground Level - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 Ground Level - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 Ground Level - 1 bunk bed , Double Bunk Bed
  • Please bring your own linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guests bring their own linen.

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Go Home Lake Cottage 6Bd 3Bath. FREE Wi-FI, Bell Sat, 52' LED TVs, A/C
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews
2

So much potential

  • 2 of 5

The property, the beach, the dock, the fire pit, the lake and the gazebo are awesome. There is potential for this rental to be amazing. There were no screens on the windows, laundry is coin operated and the water is not potable - all fine and can be dealt with but this is not properly noted in the description. The overall interior cleanliness could have been better. Dining room chairs in the upper level need to be replaced or repaired as they are on their last legs. The strangest thing is that the upper and lower levels of this house are not connected in any way. There are 2 separate entrances so there is no flow to this place but again, not the end of world.

Unfortunately for us, we had a dog slightly rip the patio screen door and so it is only fair that we cover that repair with part of the damage deposit. But a bit of a sticking point; See pic 13 of 22; the outward opening door on the right doesn't have a door jam and that wood molding on the wall is no longer there. Without a stopper the door handle fits beautifully into the drywall. There was a hole that existed from before our time, but they pinned it on us and wanted to keep more of our deposit. No door jam is just asking for it and these are things I never wish to think about on vacation.

We had no water or power for nearly 2 days, not the owners problem and wasn't a big deal for us as we made the best of it by using the bbq (there was only one, not two as listed in the property's description) but maybe this should perhaps have been considered when trying to negotiate how much a screen repair costs.

This place is nice on the outside but could use a lot of love on the inside and the experience wasn't as pleasant as it could have been. We've been renting cottages for 6 or 7 years and have easily found better for less money elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ridgefield, CT
3

Great lakefront!

  • 3 of 5

We loved the lakefront. The dock, the beach and the lay of the land is perfect!

The cottage could use a little TLC. It accommodates many people but the owners haven't maintained it very well. Most windows didn't have screens. The furniture is pretty rustic, rickety. The grass and weeds around the outside were taking over the place. The mattress covers were dirty. Overall cleanliness could be improved. There is no access from downstairs to upstairs so with kids you need to all stay on one level. Lastly, a few hooks and towel bars would add a ton of convenience for a lakefront property that sleeps so many people.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

BBQ & Wifi did not work

  • 2 of 5

If it wasn't for how beautiful the property was and how easy it was to get to the rating would be a 1.

We had 10 people stay for 2 nights and considering what we spent I expected a much better experience.

Check in at 2 on Friday was AOK but checking out on Sunday by 10am is way to early.

Arriving on Friday we were very impressed with property. Lots of space to play games, hang out on the beach or dock and even a nice fire pit set up. Inside the cottage is a bit dated and screams rental unit not due to damage but just has a feeling of a rental.

The add or rental instructions states that you MAY run out of Water or Propane. This made me assume there would be some water and propane. We arrived and the water jug did not have a drop of Water in it and the propane was basically empty. To add insult to injury once the propane tank was filled we realized the BBQ simply did not work. It would heat up to 250 degrees and that was all it had in it. We managed to cook our burgers after over an hour.

It advertised wifi which also did not work. There was a grand total of 10 forks in the entire cottage along with even fewer knives. We had to share at dinner. One of the 2 toasters worked properly and 3 of the 4 elements on the stove worked which was helpful as well.

Considering the cost of the rental my expectations were pretty high and this cottage did not meet them. That being said the location, view, and property in general are simply amazing and the issues I dealt with hopefully will be dealt with for others as they aren't expensive. Had the BBQ actually worked I probably would be nitpicky with anything but a working BBQ is a must at a cottage.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am really sorry you encountered those problems during your stay. The BBQ was bought less than a year ago, and we were not informed of it not working prior to your arrival. The owner has advised us that he bought has repaired the BBQ and he has also added a cutlery set so that there are enough for larger groups. We truly appreciate your input as we always want our guests to have an excellent stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Property was terrific! The sandy beach and sand box area for the kids was the BEST!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect for my family! Would definitely consider renting it again next summer! If we had a problem, our emails were answered in a timely manner!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Glencoe
3

Go home lake

  • 3 of 5

We are long time cottage renter,approximately 20 years and this is one of the nicest places that we have been for outside activities and the lake itself. Having said that, there where some problems first of all there was fifteen minutes worth of propane for the advertised two BBQ's of which there was really only one and neither of the two dishwashers where working properly. The outdoor screened in area was an exultant spot as we ate all of our meals there. It seems a little strange that the advertisement showed a sauna, and it was there, but it was marked as private. If the owner would spend a little to upgrade this cottage and provide what he says he will it would be a great place to go. Oh and we did not see a catamaran although we had our own boat so that wasn't a big problem.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are glad this cottage was one of the best cottages you've visited in your 20 years. The owner has told us that both dishwashers have been replaced and a new BBQ is going to be delivered to the cottage soon. Propane tanks can be exchanged for full ones at the nearby store. We hope to have you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Vaughan,Ontario
5

Great Outdoors!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my family have spent a week at this beautiful cottage. The outdoors are really great and the access to the lake is very convenient and easy.

My husband was worried about missing work however the cottage had great wifi through out the whole property which is a great benefit.

Overall, we had a great time and enjoyed a week away from town.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you had a great stay and are glad you were able to find the perfect balance to relax ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
HWY 400
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
http://www.mountstlouis.com/
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Township of Georgian Bay Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER 2017
Jun 19 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,823
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $23 per night, per additional guest
 
FALL/WINTER/SPRING 2017 - 2018
Sep 9 2017 - Jun 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$235
From
$627
Fri,Sat
$1,882
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $23 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,882
Flat fee
 
 
SUMMER 2018
Jun 16 2018 - Sep 7 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,823
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $23 per night, per additional guest
 
Canada Day Holiday Week
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,058
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
From
$353
Fri,Sat
$1,882
 

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $22.74 per person per night
Pet Fee $58.81
Damage Deposit $392.06

**For groups larger than 12 guests, there is a $200 charge per each additional guest.

Rates are subject to change until the reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties