Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Discover Private Lake Getaway in Southern California Wine Country/near Temecula

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,350 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Overview

About the property

WORLD CLASS lake views, House, 4 Bedrooms + Bonus Room, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10-16)

Discover a rare Southern California Oasis. Get away from the crowded city and enjoy WORLD CLASS Lake View, 360 degree mountain views, UNFORGETABLE sunsets, beautiful Southern California style days and nights with bright stars and moon at this unique home. Canyon Lake is located in between Los Angeles and San Diego just off of the 15 freeway.

This unique property is conveniently located right in the middle of many internationally acclaimed attractions – approx. 45 minutes from Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Lego land, San Diego Zoo, Sea World and many other resorts.

Canyon Lake is a private lake and private community getaway nearby Southern California Wine Country/Temecula. This unique home sits in a gated resort community with a 400 acre lake, 2 smaller lakes, golf course, country club, tennis courts, and waterfront restaurant.

The home comes equipped with a private Pool, hot tub/jacuzzi, 15 foot slide, indoor/outdoor room, 3 rear decks, and outdoor BBQ grill and kitchen station with eating areas. Four bedroom + large office and 3 bathrooms, desert oasis home with WORLD CLASS views of lake, mountains, and sunsets. Three rear decks and outdoor fireplace seating space to enjoy the beautiful sunsets and views. One hour from San Diego, Orange County beaches, Palm Springs, and Los Angeles. Owner gutted and remodeled the entire home during 2004 and 2005.

Memorable fun for family, friends, work and/or romantic getaways.

Minutes away from the wineries of Temecula and Pechanga Casino and Resort.

STANDARD RATES:

*Fully Furnished All Utilities paid

$289/night ($399/night weekend only Fri & Sat night)

$1,899/week

$6899/month

$150 cleaning fee

$300 - $750 refundable property security/damage deposit

**standard rates are non summer peak season rates

SUMMER(Memorial Day weekend to Halloween weekend)

*Fully Furnished All Utilities Paid

$359/night ($449/night weekend only Fri & Sat night)

$2,289/week

$7899/month

$150 cleaning fee

$300 - $750 refundable property security/damage deposit

Testimonials...

"John, your lake house is THE BOMB! We can't believe you rent this house to other people! We had such a great time we had to stay an extra night.' (Clemensen family, stayed July 2008)"

'We really enjoyed staying at the house. It was large enough for our entire group(over 10 people) - very roomy with lots of open 'community' rooms. We cooked all of our dinners in the kitchen and enjoyed them around the patio table or inside around the dining table.' (Bishop group, stayed May 2009)

'..I first wanted to tell you how you have a very nice house at Canyon Lake...it certainly was one of the better places we have stayed through our travels around the country. The Pool, house layout, balcony, location and the view were all very, very nice.' (Trudell family, stayed July and August 2008)."

"Your property is beautiful and we will definitely enjoy our stay. Your property was perfect for us to see my son and also visit fun and interesting attractions. We would love to stay at your property again. I will post a great review."

"This was such a great stay for us! We will definitely come back whenever we are in the area. You have been an amazing host and extremely communicative and detailed."

HOME LAYOUT:

Main level is one big open family/entertainment room, kitchen, dining area and hallway with french doors that open out to the rear deck and world class views. 2 large Z Gallerie Palasades designer couches and designer coffee table in the family room.

Top level includes 1 Master Bedroom with Master Bath and king bed. 2 Guest Bedrooms with Queen beds and 1 upstairs guest bathroom.

Downstairs includes 1 guest bedroom with Queen Bed plus a bonus room which is a large office with 2 full size designer fold out futons which are both full size sleeping area. 1 full bath downstairs.

More Details

Owner
John Howard
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, mediocre Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2018

About John Howard

I am and have been an entrepreneur since the age of 17. I currently own and operate a diversified internet marketing business and a diversified real estate business and enjoy a flexible schedule. I enjoy 'slow mondays' on the lake getting some great waterskiing and wakeboarding time in. Getting away to the Lake House with friends, family and loved ones is one of my favorite recreations during the warmer months. The Pool, hot tub, slide, outdoor eating and conversation areas foster an environment to create lasting memories.

John Howard purchased this house in 2003

Why John Howard chose Canyon Lake

I chose Canyon Lake because when I drove through the gates and crossed over the lake I knew immediately it was the perfect little community for me. Growing up with a water lifestyle near the Chesapeke Bay in Maryland, I yearned for a way to go boating and do watersports in Southern California. Watersports is one of my greatest passions in life and the calm waters of Canyon Lake is a waterskiers dream. The warm climate and scenic beauty add an unforgettable element to your experience in Canyon Lake. My property has one of the greatest views in the largest private community in the US(Canyon Lake) and during the warmer months it is an outdoor recreational paradise.

What makes this house unique

While staying at the Lake House you will enjoy one of the greatest views anywhere. The property is set high on the hill and you can capitalize on enjoying 360 degree mountain views and unforgettable views of the lake, mountains and the sunset. There are also 2 outdoor firepits by the Pool so you can lounge by a warm fire next to the pool at night. The outdoor grill, kitchen and eating area is also a great place to enjoy a dinner with friends and/or family. During the warmer months(May - October), the property truly is an outdoor recreational paradise.

Amenities

Canyon Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Full Master Bath with upgraded shower
    Downstairs Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower , Downstairs upgraded Guest Bathroom with Shower
    Upstairs Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Full, upgraded Guest Bath with Shower and Bath Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Upstairs Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Upstairs Guest Bedroom
    Upstairs Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Downstairs Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bonus Room - 2 double , Downstairs office has 2 full size fold out futons
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Discover Private Lake Getaway in Southern California Wine Country/near Temecula
average rating of 4.714286 based on 42 reviews
Los Angeles, CA
5

Spectacular View, Hot Tub, Pool ANNND a Slide!?!

  • 5 of 5

This place won me over with the view alone. Located on top of a hill you can see out all over Canyon Lake. The sunsets we experienced were incredible! Loved soaking up sun and cooling off in the pool all day long, kids especially enjoyed playing on the waterslide (as did I a few times). At night relaxed in the hot tub and by the fire of the chimenea. Tons of space, we will have to invite more family & friends next time. Patio is setup perfectly for grilling & chillin. One day we even took advantage of being close to Temecula's wine country. The owner was easy to work with and the community is private so its peaceful & quiet. Wish we would have bumpered a couple more days on our trip so we could have stayed longer. There's always next time!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Superhost!!!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot recommend this gorgeous house enough. The host was so hospitable and thoughtful! this was my very first experience with a private lake house and I felt spoiled. lol. Great location, provided anything you need, and very clean, comfortable! Watching the amazing fireworks from patio, It was the best 4th of July I have ever had!!! ;-)

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice view, but house needs work.

  • 2 of 5

The view was amazing! The house could really use some much needed TCL. The carpet has many stains, as well as stains (which looks like blood ) on the ceiling. The kitchen sink when you use it leaks all over the counter. The stove, while ok, needs a really good cleaning. The bed in one of the upstairs bedroom is broken. The outside decking has screws that stick up, and if not careful, will rip open your feet. The area around the pool is nice, but could use some landscaping. The pool for us was too cold to use, but the hot tub was very nice. I have read past reviews on this house, and it seems that many of the things I was have put down been going on for more than 2+ years! Very nice area, but would not rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary Beth and group - While most guests have a great time and I am unable to count on 2 hands the amount of time folks want to return each year I am in shock and awe of the comments and contents of this review because the very items you bring up are items specifically addressed during your stay. Its important to understand that we spent significant dollars prepping carpet and tile just days prior to your stay; below is proof of these receipts which total $300 just for carpet. Additionally, a crew was at the property fixing the deck on Monday 11/27 due to the very item which you described in your blasting review. If you were so concerned with this why wouldn't you take a quick picture and send it either while they were there or at least during your stay? I examined the deck after their work and they did a sufficient job on the joists and the trex boards. The property also received a significant landscaping upgrade in mid summer 2017. This includes significant tree removal, palm tree skinning, succulent installation in all areas and new chocolate mulch all around the pool area. All of the beds were in working order prior to your arrival. We have fixed the beds on several occasions and if there was an issue all you had to do was alert me and I would have come out to fix it. Take note also that prior to your stay and going back to early 2016 $1000+ fridge, $1200 dishwasher, $500 outdoor lounge/deep bench, outdoor Adirondack style furniture, Z Gallerie designer couches, designer coffee table, designer futon, repainting of all rooms not including kitchen and family area, and a new TV and entertainment system were installed in the house. This is in addition to quarterly linen upgrades and additions. People from all over the world come back to this lake property all through the year and love it. Last winter a multi millionaire family stayed for 2 months and absolutely loved the property, continually referred to it as "beautiful" and left us a 5 star review. Proof of receipts for carpet and tile: November 21, 2017 Transaction ID 4CV66393PX560643T Seller info QUALITY CARPET CLEANIN|LOS ANGELES|CA; Amount $75.00. November 21, 2017 Transaction ID 781665013T9807037 Seller info QUALITY CARPET CLEANIN|LOS ANGELES|CA; Amount $230.00. Gallagher Restoration - 11/27/17; On upper deck installed 2 x 8's and sandwiched to the old joists. Re-secured and installed pressure blocking and re-secured trex decking on above deck; Amount $800.00
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great host, but the house needs a little work

  • 3 of 5

Working with John prior and during our stay was a delight. He is prompt in his communication and easy to work with. We had some guests come and go throughout the stay, and he helped us with coordinating drivers and gaining access at the gated community for everyone. Additionally, this house is on a beautiful piece of property overlooking canyon lake, and the pool/hot tub are amazing.

The only think I'll say is that the house itself needs a little TLC. There are stains on the carpet in several rooms, the beds are springy with scratchy linens, the kitchenware could use some cleaning/updating. A burner on the stove does not work, the upstairs guest bath has a finicky toilet. There are a handful of other minor complaints. I'm not too nitpicky but for the price we were underwhelmed.

Overall it is a great place for a family vacation with kids, especially if you plan to spend time by the pool and hot tub enjoying the view. For our work trip it was not the best fit.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words Laura and group, but, it is important to point out that we mostly do many weeks to several months rentals at this property. The property does have higher rates during the summer and in the Canyon Lake/Temecula area summer lasts until just about Thanksgiving. Also, we accepted your reservation approximately 3 months prior to stay which is unusual for a reservation which is not long in duration. Most likely, had the reservation been made closer to the date of stay the rate would have been different. It sounds like you and your group did not see the extra linens spread around in the master closet. Each bedroom bed as 4 white linens, so there are 3 sets of extra linens per main room bed. This excludes any air mattress or futon bedding, but, this was higher end linens acquired for the beds over the last 12 months. The property also received a significant landscaping upgrade in mid summer 2017. This included significant tree removal and all landscaping upgraded to enhance the existing view and create a resort feel. Take note also that prior to your stay and going back to the beginning of 2016 $1000+ fridge, $1200 dishwasher, $500 outdoor lounge/deep bench, outdoor Adirondack style furniture, Z Gallerie designer couches, designer coffee table, designer futon, repainting of all rooms not including kitchen and family area, and a new TV and entertainment system were installed in the house. This is in addition to quarterly linen upgrades and additions. People from all over the world come back to this lake property all through the year and love it. Last winter a multi millionaire family stayed for 2 months and absolutely loved the property, continually referred to it as "beautiful" and left us a 5 star review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice house. Owner was very attentive and made sure his guests were happy..

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house with a great view of the lake. We had a great time!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the location... Had a really nice time there

  • 5 of 5

The view was breathtaking! The pool was so relaxing! We had such an amazing time!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Ontario Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Sports Stop Canyon Lake
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
15
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lighthouse restaurant, Lake front
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Oceanside
Car: necessary

This property is located within close proximity to Temecula and is called Canyon Lake. Canyon Lake is a private lake and private community getaway nearby Southern California Wine Country/Temecula. Temecula has become internationally acclaimed for its wineries, winery tasting and tours, hot air ballooning, Pechange Casino and Resort and a plethora of shopping and restaurants.

There is also voluminous and new shopping just outside of the gates of Canyon Lake in the area adjacent to Canyon Lake called Menifee.

This unique home sits in a gated resort community with a 400 acre lake, 2 smaller lakes, golf course, country club, tennis courts, and waterfront restaurant.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150

Refundable security deposits range from $250 - $400 depending time frame requested and if it is an international booking executing booking payments via international credit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties