check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ski Chalet/Luxury/Mountain Views/Hot Tub/Resort Passes/Slopeside Parking

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Wintergreen House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom 3 bath with mountain views and hot tub

Luxury close to the slopes and golf! Includes Wintergreen resort passes which give our guests access to resort amenities that are closed to the public including the Spa/Fitness Center, Tennis Courts, Devil’s Knob Golf Course, Devil’s Grill restaurant, etc. (fees apply for these amenities). We also provide you with our parking pass which grants you access to member slopeside parking lots during Ski season.

This luxury home has been completely renovated, including a new large deck with Hot Tub. Floor to ceiling windows take advantage of the gorgeous mountain views, it is like living in a tree house! Each bedroom has its own bath making traveling with groups/families very easy and private.

Downstairs you will find a large living area with soaring ceilings, a huge stone wood burning fireplace, dining table for 8-10, and a totally modern kitchen with everything a cook could possibly want. There is a bedroom with 2 twin beds (can be converted to king) on this level. The sectional has a pull out queen bed with brand new mattress if you need it. The lovely screened porch is pure heaven in the summer months. There are tons of board games, puzzles, DVD’s, books, even cornhole for the family to enjoy. Bean bags invite the kids to snuggle up in front of the fire and enjoy a movie.

Upstairs you will find the master suite and a bunk room, both with lofty ceilings and windows galore. The master bath has just been renovated with a rain shower head and heated tile floors for cold winter mornings. The master has a king bed and the bunk room has 2 sets of log style bunks, featuring 3 twins and a double size futon. There is a Wii in the bunk room, with lots of games to entertain the kids after a day on the slopes. A skylight in the bath and tall windows let the kids see the stars at night.

The Deck has a sitting area with couch and lounge chairs, table for 8-10, gas grill, as well as the new hot tub. Enjoying the stars is so wonderful at night! During the day, you can hear the stream on the Old Appalachian trail below the house.

Each bedroom has a flat screen TV and there is a large flat screen with surround sound in the living area as well. Wifi works great. There is Air Conditioning, should you need it, though we rarely do as the house gets such wonderful mountain breezes. The mattresses are all new, along with high quality linens and towels. The kitchen is loaded with spices, oils, all the things you don’t want to think about having to bring on vacation. We have rented many homes over the years and we know what renters want and have tried to make our house as comfortable for guests as possible.

Our driveway is very flat, and one can get into the house with only 2 small steps. This, plus the downstairs bed and bath make it easier to travel with those who may have trouble with stairs.

Our house is located at the top of the mountain, near the Spa, Devil’s Knob golf course and restaurant, tennis courts, and lots of hiking trails. The ski slopes and Mountain Inn are only a few minutes away, and the member parking pass makes parking at the slopes a breeze.

We enjoy this house during all seasons, each is unique and wonderful on the mountain. We are happy to provide tips on activities, restaurants, hiking etc., just ask – we know you will love it as much as we do!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Michelle Finn
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2016

About Michelle Finn

We live in Richmond, VA where 2 of our children attend high school and our third just started college at the University of South Carolina.

Michelle Finn purchased this house in 2007

Why Michelle Finn chose Central Virginia

We enjoyed vacationing at Wintergreen so much when our children were little that we decided to buy so we could spend more time in the mountains.

What makes this house unique

We wanted a house that was definitely a mountain house not a city house and we found it! We fell in love with the unique architecture of this house, as well as the lovely mountain views. The large double lot insures lots of privacy. Hiking trails are close by -waterfalls, the Old Appalachian trail, nature is everywhere! No matter the season, every day is special up at our Wintergreen house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We very much enjoyed our stay and had a lovely weekend. We were very sad to

leave.
May 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Ski Chalet/Luxury/Mountain Views/Hot Tub/Resort Passes/Slopeside Parking
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
Broadlands, VA
5

Top Shelf Home & Hospitality at Wintergreen!

  • 5 of 5

This property proved to be the ideal home base for a long weekend at Wintergreen and exploring Nelson County with close friends. The property is on a quiet street and tucked back from the road. The home feels instantly familiar - its open, bright and very welcoming. The views from the deck and family room are outstanding, looking through the woods and down the valley past Wintergreen. Its a great place to relax and hang out when you're not running around taking in everything the area has to offer. The home is well maintained and well equipped, its such an easy place to settle into.

Michelle is a gracious and thoughtful owner who took a genuine interest in the things we wanted to do for the weekend and then demonstrated her keen knowledge of the area with some great recommendations for hikes, local sites and sights, and restaurants. This was a small gathering of dear friends from college days and our first introduction to Wintergreen - we left with great memories and a debt of gratitude for such a welcoming place to stay. Would gladly return and happy to recommend!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sean, thank you so much for sharing your experience at our home. I really enjoy giving our recommendations to guests and am glad that you and your friends were able to take advantage of some of the special activities that Nelson county has to offer. We would love to welcome you back again. Regards, Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Home For Entire Family or a Girls Get-Away Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautifully maintained and furnished. The décor is warm, welcoming and inviting - it feels like home not a cold rental property. And It is sparkling clean from top to bottom. As a family we have stayed in a lot of rental homes and until now have never given a rental property 5 stars. The kitchen is clean, utensils new, pots and pans good quality, plenty of plates and a great selection of barware. The den is family perfect with a comfy sectional sofa and bean bags, which the kids loved. The bathrooms had plenty of towels, even extra, and there were extra towels for the hot tub. We wished for nothing during our stay. The view of the mountains from the deck is lovely and so is sitting on the cushioned outdoor furniture. Everything about the home is top notch.

Michelle is the best concierge I've ever met. She asked what we liked to do and then made suggestions of the best hiking, wineries, breweries and views. She has put together an extensive book of things to do and see in the area - no need to wonder about the best of anything because if it's in her book it is the best.

Wintergreen is a great location for hiking, wineries, breweries and relaxing. You don't have to leave the property to get to great hiking and mountain views. You can walk from the house to amazing hikes and views. Take Michelle's advice and take in the beautiful sunsets - the perfect location is in her book.

This mountain home and Michelle's customer service sets the standard for others to follow.

Thank you for a wonderful long weekend in your home.

Jill - Cincinnati

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jill - I am humbled by your gracious review, thank you! I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay, and that you noticed what we set out to do when renting our home - we want our guests to feel like they are staying in a family home, not a rental. I was happy to share all of our family tips for hiking, restaurants etc. that make Wintergreen such a special place. We look forward to having your family back again. Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutley Incredible!

  • 5 of 5

For starters; Michelle's house is beautiful, clean, plenty of parking, lots of open space to really breath in the mountain air and just relax. The pictures do not do it nearly as much justice. The main living room has plenty of windows. This, combined with the fact that her house is located on the mountain with a perfect view make for the best natural light. My morning cup of coffee has never tasted so good.

I'm from Baltimore MD originally and moved to Winston Salem NC. I wanted a place to meet my family back home for a weekend and Michelle's house was perfect! Wintergreen is exactly the same distance from Baltimore as it is Winston-Salem. We love to hike, camp, fish, golf, and enjoy the outdoors. This house perfect for all of these things and much more!!!

But if relaxing isn't what you came here for, there is PLENTY to do at wintergreen, and you have been given access to it all. Michelle made everything about our stay easy and hassle free. You get access to the same amenities as resort members. There are enough passes for 8 people which is perfect because that's how many people this house sleeps. Free pool access, access to resort restaurants, spa treatment, access to the golf course. These are just a few of the long list of things available with these resort passes.

There is always something going on every week in the area. Michelle made sure that I knew the current events and game me a link to the local newsletter. During my stay, Devil's Backbone, the local brewery, hosted a huge beer festival with over 3000 beers on tap. We were surrounded by gorgeous mountains on all sides, enjoying our craft brews and live music. My family weekend was the best.

We stayed during the summer and had the time of our lives! I would love to see what Wintergreen is like during the winter and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but Michelle's house.

-Ben Palacpac

PS. thanks again Michelle!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ben, thank you so much for all the kind words! Wintergreen is a great place to make family memories and I am glad that you and your family enjoyed our home. It would be our pleasure to have you back again. Regards, Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful light filled home in the middle of Wintergreen Resort

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have found a more perfect home in Wintergreen for our weekend getaway with 4 kids. The kids loved the bunk room, games and movies, and we all enjoyed the hot tub. The beds were comfortable and supplied with nice linens. The kitchen was well stocked with spices, etc. which made our cooking experience easy. The dining room table was large enough for everyone to eat together, and the over-sized couch and open floor plan were nice to help feel connected to everyone during the visit. We enjoyed local hiking trails and the indoor resort pool as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Melissa - thank you so much for your kind words! We love to hear about families enjoying our mountain hideaway and making memories! Hope to have you back soon, Michelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and charming

  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful time staying here. It was well-stocked, beautiful, and close to everything. We absolutely LOVED our weekend here. It was perfect for a girl's weekend!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a Girls Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. It was a great size and the amenities were awesome. The kitchen had everything we needed and the view from the living room was amazing. It was perfectly located to the resort and close to the wineries and breweries that we were touring. I would highly recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charlottesville
Car: necessary

We are located at the top of the mountain, about a mile from the Devil's Knob golf and tennis facility and Wintergarden Spa. About 5 minute drive down to Mountain Inn and ski slopes. Very private but still close to everything the Resort has to offer. Several hiking trails within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wintergreen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Winter
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Winter/Ski
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
From
$425
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 10.3%

Ask about early check in/ late check out on Winter weekends - enjoy more time on the mountain!
There is a 3 night stay required for Holiday weekends. Weekend rate applies to all 3 nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wintergreen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Downstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - Master - toilet , shower , Brand new bath, double sinks, rain shower head, heated floor
    Bathroom 3 - Bunk room - toilet , combination tub/shower , Skylight, large bath for kids
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - Master - 1 king , Soaring ceilings and windows!
    Bedroom 3 - Bunk room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed , Sleeps 4-5, 3 twins and a double futon
    Bedroom 1 - first floor - 2 twin/ single , Can be converted to King upon request.
  • Brand new pillow top mattresses and linens on all beds. Queen sofa bed in sectional.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties