check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Surfside Beach, TX, Dolphin Lane Canal/Beach House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 BDR, 1 1/2 Bath, 2 Decks

Small pets allowed (limit 2) with extra fee of $50 per pet. 91 Dolphin Lane is located on a canal that connects directly to the Texas Intercoastal Waterway two minutes away. (Note: The house has Freeport municipal water that meets all government standards, not the well water you may have read about in Surfside Beach.) You can relax with fishing and crabbing off the back dock. Catch the sunset from the back deck. Watch huge tug boats and little yachts motor by from the front deck. A 5 minute drive over the big bridge (great view!) puts you on Surfside Beach where you can drive your car right up to the waters edge and setup your family fun site. Galveston Island is 20 minutes along the beach road. The Seawall restaurants are about 35 minutes away. The house has free Wi-Fi for email and web browsing and satellite TV for entertainment.

The house is not your typical sandy beach cabin. It is fully furnished and decorated; with all appliances except a dishwasher. We have clean city water, not the funny tasting private wells most beach houses use. Each bedroom and the living room has satellite TV . There is a full size mattress futon in the living room that seats 4 and sleeps two. The house has two layers of siding plus new Pella double pane windows and patio door. This makes it very quiet inside when you shut all the doors and windows. Or open everything up and it feels like an giant umbrella at the shore. One bedroom has a Queen bed and the other bedroom has two twin beds.

This is a no smoking home. Lots of covered outside places to take a puff.

The neighborhood is quiet and Dolphin Lane ends in a cul-de-sac one block away so the streets are very safe for biking, scooters, skateboards and walking. Mature tall palm trees rustle in the sea breeze while you relax on the front or rear deck. Each deck has a stairway. The neighborhood is mostly homeowners and is very quiet and private. The driveway is so big you can park two 40ft motor homes side by side, plus a couple of cars.

The house has central air and heat and lots of screened windows for those cool spring and fall days. The prevailing sea breeze blows straight into the front door and out the back door and windows. The kitchen and the living room have vaulted ceilings; and each has a big skylight that makes it feel like you are outside with the sun moving across the room making it bright and cheery. The front deck has 2 cushioned patio chairs and a love seat. Half the front deck has a roof for shade and the other half is great for private sunbathing or stargazing. The view of the Inter coastal Waterway from the front deck is entrancing when a big tug boat motors through or a fast deep-sea fishing boat skims by. The rear deck looks at the sunset and the private canal. The neighbors have fishing boats docked in their back yard! The dock has lights for night fishing.

The owners Bruce and Debbie have run a Bed & Breakfast in Lake Jackson for years and do all the maintenance and cleaning. No bedbugs brought in by nomadic cleaning teams. It feels like home. We keep 91 Dolphin maintained and spiffy so you have fun, fun, fun! Check-in is 4:00 pm and checkout is 11:00 am. There is an electronic combination lock so you don't have to worry about losing the key or driving home with it in your pocket.

More Details

Owner
Bruce & Debbie Warren
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2016

About Bruce & Debbie Warren

Debbie and Bruce have run their Bed & Breakfast at Valcour Plantation since 2005. They own the property and do all the maintenance and cleaning at Dolphin so you can be sure you will have a great vacation. They live about 20 minutes away so any issues can be fixed quick.

Bruce & Debbie Warren purchased this house in 2012

Why Bruce & Debbie Warren chose Gulf Coast

The sunrise is on the front deck, the sunset is over the back deck. Very nice!!

What makes this house unique

Not your typical grimy, sandy beachhouse. Neat, clean, well decorated. Two skylights make you feel like you are outside while in the living room and kitchen. City water, not a well.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Surfside Beach, TX, Dolphin Lane Canal/Beach House
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
Diamond
5

Awesome beach house on Dolphin Ln.

  • 5 of 5

My son and I have stayed in 2 VRBO rentals both have been very accommodating to us and our comfort dog. The amenities at Dolphin Ln are wonderful, it truly was flip key. Just buy groceries and your good to go. Close to public beach, sitting on deck having coffee watching barges and fishing boats come through intercostal water way in morning, laying in lounge chair in the reading a book with glass of wine by canal. Cook on grill, watch TV. Kayak. It's there. Loved it!!!!! Clean and secure. Thanks. Jana & Bryan from D.Ohio Oct. 2016

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and view!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the house. The location was perfect. Everything stated that was provided was there. Our kids tried the Kayakes and that was a great experience for them. They loved the beds and there own room. We will for sure be back. Great views too! Great experience!! Thanks for sharing with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location. House was very clean.

  • 5 of 5

The house at 91 Dolphin is in a great location. One deck faces the intercostal which made it fun to watch the activity on the water. The other side faces the canal where we enjoyed the fishing. The owner was quick to respond to any questions. Overall it is a great place to stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disappointed. Property had roaches, was not "clean". I would not recommend.

  • 1 of 5

The house floors had not been swept or the carpet vacuumed. There were dead roaches throughout the house. My husband came across one live roach which he killed. When I called the owner he said he was sorry we had to see that but that is how it is in Texas. I disagree, I live in Texas and do not have roaches. He said he had sprayed the attic earlier in the week and they must have come down from there. In our opinion, if they are in the attic they are in the entire house. We were not comfortable using dishes or utensils without first washing. I was very disappointed. I will not book with this owner again.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our property. The house is always cleaned after a customer checks out, including floors swept and mopped and carpet vacuumed. I (Debbie) checked the house before your arrival and did not see roaches. None the less, we take our reviews seriously and will keep an eye out for any unwanted pests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy and Quiet

  • 4 of 5

Great place with great amenities in extras such as the kayaks that we were able to use. Wifi stopped working halfway through the week and as someone who has to still work, even while on vacation, this was a bit cumbersome and seemed limited but not mentioned until just before our vacation time that the wifi was limited. This would be the only downfall, but for the location to great fishing, quiet breezy cozy home, it was excellent.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We also like the quiet neighborhood. Sorry about the internet interruption. That happens in our area sometimes. We offer phone calls, texting, emailing and web searching via a cellular connection. Some customers opt to use the hotspot on their smart phone. We hope you visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this home! Our 11 and 12 year old boys were thrilled to learn kayaking and my husband enjoyed his Father's Day fishing and relaxing. In all honesty, the sheets on all the beds (except the futon) were quite worn and scratchy and the master bed was uncomfortable. We moved to the futon to get a better night's rest. We aren't particularly picky but it was the only thing we were uncomfortable with. We will definitely plan to stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Houston Hobby
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Pier 30
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
Freeport
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
332
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Red Snapper
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Surfside Beach
Car: recommended

91 Dolphin is on a canal lined with houses and fishing boats in the back. The front deck overlooks the huge Intercoastal Waterway with big tug boats and fast offshore fishing boats.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Freeport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall & Winter
Sep 6 2016 - Mar 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$775
 
 
Peak Season
Mar 8 2017 - Sep 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$270
Fri,Sat
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat,Sun
$775
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

No smoking inside. Pets under 25 lb. allowed at additional charge of $50 per pet

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Freeport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Right next to Bedroom #1
  • Master bathoom with tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , There is a door to the back deck for a private entrance
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , The window overlooks the private canal and dock.
  • Master bedroom has Queen Bed and overlooks the back deck and canal. It has a large closet and a flat screen TV with Dish Satellite channels.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties