Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BEAUTIFUL SECLUDED STUDIO only 2 miles from the heart of Soldotna!!!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type studio

Overview

About the property

New 500 square foot fully appointed studio apartment on 20 forested acres!

Bear Paw Studio Retreat is located on a beautifully secluded 20 acre private forest, with only a two mile drive to Soldotna boasting an array of coffee shops, grocery and specialty shops and restaurants. Bear Paw is located in the lower level of our home, has a private entrance, designated parking and plenty of parking for tenant boats or extra vehicles. With king and queen beds in the sleeping area, Bear Paw Studio comfortably accommodates two to four guests. Bear Paw Studio is a recently completed addition to our home, so it is brand new with modern kitchen appliances and lovely Alaskan decor. Complete with a very large bear hide covering an entire wall! Black out window coverings provide sufficient darkness during our bright summer months allowing our guests to get a good night's sleep. There is a large freezer exclusively for guest use, which is particularly useful during fishing season. Fish cleaning, however, is prohibited on the premises, due to potential attraction of bears. During the summer months, Bear Paw is a perfect fisherman’s retreat. In winter, when snow is abundant, we maintain several cross country ski trails and have a fabulous sledding hill for those who desire snowy adventures. Bear Paw has something for everyone traveling to the Kenai or Soldotna area.

More Details

Owner
Jackie Kempf
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 25, 2017

About Jackie Kempf

We are Jayson and Jackie Kempf, the property owners. We were both born and raised on the Kenai Peninsula and grew up enjoying the many outdoor activities "Alaska's Playground" has to offer. We spend our summers fishing on the Kenai and have a total blast filling our freezer with our winter supply of Sockeye salmon. We enjoy camping around the state of Alaska during our fair weather months and traveling to warm and tropical destinations during our cold months when time allows!

Jackie Kempf purchased this studio in 2002

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kenai
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Homer
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Seward
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Seward Highway
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Kenai
Car: necessary

Amenities

Soldotna Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Full bathroom, nicely appointed with shampoo, conditioner, soap and all basic amenities you will need for your stay!
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Studio apartment with very comfortable king and queen beds, which can accommodate up to four guests. More guests may be considered on an individual reservation basis.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
BEAUTIFUL SECLUDED STUDIO only 2 miles from the heart of Soldotna!!!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
Missoula, Montana
5

Great place, great hosts!

  • 5 of 5

The Bear Paw Studio is very comfortable, well appointed, and in a quiet but convenient location just outside of town. Jackie and Jayson could not be better hosts, very friendly and very helpful!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paul! Thanks so much for your kind review! We truly enjoyed meeting you and Kevin and visiting with you between your fishing adventures! Please contact us when you return, whether or not you stay in our studio. Anderson also thanks you for your vac packing business! 😀😀
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home away from home...clean, cozy and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at your clean and cozy Bear Paw Studio! From the super comfy beds, to the well-equipped kitchen and nice hot shower with an abundance of water pressure, it was a perfect home away from home! Thanks, Jackie and Jayson, for making our Alaskan adventure a memorable one!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Candy! It was great hosting your family! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time you must visit in the summer! :) Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Should have stayed longer...maybe forever!!

  • 5 of 5

This might look like a FAKE review...But it is REAL as I have photos to prove it, Haha! :)

I am overall a picky perfectionist, terrible light sleeper and hotel-front-desk-worst-nightmare. I researched and planned months ahead for our trips but I always feel very uneasy and scared with any place I booked, it feels like gambling...

Well, Jackie and Jayson really blew us away with their genuine, out-of-this-world kindness and generosity.

Before the trip, Jackie answered my questions via email in no time at all and provided us with detailed direction to the house and sightseeing information. And when we arrived late at night, they gave us such a warm welcome that you would think we were their long-lost family!

The studio was surrounded with trees and the inside bright,clean and spacious with a gourmet kitchen of top-notch appliances and all the professional-grade pots and pans. The pantry was well-stocked and even the refrigerator got good condiments for cooking. We felt right at home the first night and I had no problem relaxing and sleeping the whole 3 nights -which was pretty much a miracle itself!

Jackie and Jayson even took time out of their busy weekend to bring us to the Kenai river and teach my son the right fishing technique.

You cannot find a better place, a better host family on this planet or even this universe, I am telling you!

What a fun time we had and we couldn't be happier or more grateful! We came to Alaska two years in a row as we like the scenery and friendliness of people so much. And now we consider this lovely place to be - if Jackie and Jayson don't mind me saying, our second home in Alaska!

Thank you very much Jackie and Jayson! We miss you and we will definitely come back for a visit very soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ching, Grace and Hunter - Thank you so much for the thoughtful and heartfelt review! It was so awesome, and truly our pleasure having you as studio guests, and now also as friends! You may most certainly consider Bear Paw your second home, and the Kempfs, your long lost family! :) We very much enjoyed getting to know your family and Jayson was really impressed with Hunter's passion and enthusiasm for fishing! You must return and stay with us again! In the meantime, we look forward to meeting up with you when we plan a trip to San Francisco area!! :) J, J, & A
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent apartment! Spectacular hosts!!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in the Bear Paw Studio for an extended period of time and I couldn't have asked for a more cozy place to call home. You get the full Alaska experience staying in the Kempf's studio apartment. From the fish and octopus themed decor, to eating dinner while moose mill around outside the window...I would highly recommend treating yourself and your family during your time on the Kenai Peninsula by staying at the Bear Paw Studio. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need and is well equipped with high end appliances. Jackie and Jayson have truly thought of everything! They have provided the most comfortable beds, pillows, and comforters. There is plenty of room for a small family or a group of friends for a weekend getaway!

In addition to the excellent living space, Jackie may be the best travel consultant when it comes to where to eat and what to see on the peninsula! :) I couldn't have dreamed of a better place to hang my hat at the end of a long, or short, as I was there in January, Alaska day.

Do yourself a favor and book this gem before someone else does!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy and welcoming rental

  • 5 of 5

I drove down from Eagle River with my two kids for a football game and was so happy to find this place. It is conveniently located near town but is in an area that is quiet and secluded. While we were not there for fishing, there were things on site to accommodate that need. I really enjoyed all the personal touches in the studio and the owner was so helpful with directions around town and was very accommodating with our need for a later check out. I have already recommended this place to friends who often go to this area for fishing. If we ever have a need to stay the night in Soldotna again, this will be the first place I check!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Alycia!! We very much appreciate your business and kind words!! Look us up if you return to the area for sporting events or other Kenai Peninsula fun! :) Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milford Ohio
5

The only word that comes to mind is what Tony The Tiger would say.... ""GRRREEEAAT"

  • 5 of 5

The place and the people are great. I will go back and spend each night there. Can not think of anything that i could say that was negative.

It is comfortable, quite, and clean. Dont worry about your car getting dirty going down the wet gravel roads. It is a rental car, who cares.

It is no more that 1 1/2 hour drive to what will become your favorite fishing hole. Or 10 minutes from what will become your local eatery.

We made the right choice as to where to stay. If you pick this as your VRBO it will not be a mistake. And to top off everything i have said

you can not beat the price. If you pick somewhere else, you are making a mistake. OK Jackie go ahead a send me the $ for saying all

that good stuff. And i did not get to meet them they were on vacation somewhere warmer.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Harvey! Thx so much for the kind words- it was my pleasure to host you and Tonya (from the beach in Kauai - lol!)! My only regret is that I didn't have the opportunity to meet you in person! You are so right about the road! When it's raining (and I hear it rained ALOT- sorry!) - cars get soooo dirty! Much better when it's dry - but it's AK so you never know! Very much appreciate the feedback and hope to have you guys back some time!! Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 3.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Additional guests considered on an individual reservation basis for an additional cost.
Check in time is 3:00 and check out time is noon.

CONTACT ME BY TELEPHONE IF YOU PREFER TO PAY DIRECTLY BY CHECK, CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.