Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk Off the Patio and Onto the Beach!- see Summer Special

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

Please do NOT inquire if spring breaker. During spring break, I'm afraid that we only rent to families due to prior damage.

This property is registered with the city of South Padre Island, Texas. Permit #2015-558171.

Casa Familiar is an upscale, 3,100 square foot, four bedroom townhome. The properties is situated directly on the beach and features a wealth of amenities. Walk off the large patio with a private swimming pool and onto the beach. On the first floor of the townhouse is: bedroom #1 (queen canopy bed and a daybed with twin trundle bed-2 twin beds or can be converted into king bed) and bath. Fully-equipped kitchen, living and dining room (table seats 12) with full entertainment system and, 1/2 bath.

On the 2nd floor of Casa Familiar is: master bedroom (bdrm #2) with a king bed, tea suite (sink, microwave drawer, & refrigerator), bath, adjoining dressing room with built-ins & balcony; bedroom # 3 with full bed, twin bunk beds and twin trundle bed & bath; bedroom#4 with queen canopy bed & bath; laundry with washer & dryer, game room with balcony overlooking the beach. All bedrooms have adjoining full baths. Property is private and gated. Bring your laptop; high speed internet is provided. Because of high demand in the peak season, we only rent by the week from Saturday to Saturday.

More Details

Property Manager
Tricia Smith
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018

About Tricia Smith

Presently, I'm a therapist/psychiatric nurse practitioner and clinical instructor at a state school of nursing. However, when we purchased Casa Familiar, I was a stay at home mom with 9 children, 2 with special needs and 1 or 2 foster children. Managing a rental business was a great way to stay at home and work. Technology has made working from anyplace possible. With my phone, I can answer emails while out of town.

Working in our rental business has given me the opportunity to meet many wonderful people to whom I'd never have access and the hours are very flexible.

Tricia Smith purchased this villa in 1999

Why Tricia Smith chose South Padre Island

During Thanksgiving week, 1999, my husband & I loaded up our Suburban with our 9 children and drove for the first time to a beach directly straight south of Kansas City...arriving in South Padre Island 17 hrs. later. After vacationing in Marco Island, FL, the previous year, we found that SPI was much more family friendly. We all fell in love with it. So much so, that we figured out how we could purchase a beach house, making time at the beach a regular family event. We were able to find a rundown townhouse, which sat directly on the beach and had been on the market for over a yr. We negotiated a great price, renovated it ourselves, named it Casa Familiar, and began renting to help with our costs. Since then, we've been renting to some wonderful families for as many as 14 years and others who have stayed several times.

Now that our children are getting married and having children, we've expanded by purchasing Casa Vecina which adjoins Casa Familiar. Thanks to the financial support of our guests, we're able to maintain and update the house making it a comfortable and family friendly place for everyone to enjoy.

What makes this villa unique

There's nothing like real beachfront living...unfortunately, many property owners claim beachfront but are located across the street or even blocks away. The end of the patio is the seawall & the boardwalk takes you to the beach. You can prepare lunch in the kitchen while watching the kids play on the beach and be within shouting distance when they need to come in.


South Padre Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (2) In addition to standard-sized baby bed, there is a port-a-crib, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Day bed is twin-sized with twin-sized trundle, Bunk Beds (1) Bunk bed with pull-ou trundle (all 3 beds are twin sized)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Walk Off the Patio and Onto the Beach!- see Summer Special
average rating of 4.86 based on 50 reviews

Great week!

  • 4 of 5

Great home! En suite bathrooms were a plus. Great location! Clean, well maintained, great outdoor spaces. Things to know, thermostat controlled by owner, pool not heated, a/c outside main floor is a little loud, grill was not usable. Overall highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michelle, I’m not sure what you mean by thermostats controlled by owner. One of the 3 thermostats is a newly installed Nest but it’s never been programmed. No, the pool is not heated but we do have solar panels for your use. I will have BBQ checked. I wished that you would have shared your issues with our manager so that she could have taken care of these things for you. Thank you for your input.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio, TX

Great Great House!

  • 5 of 5

This was a beautiful home, with everything we needed for big and little people alike. The proximity to the beach was fantastic. It allowed us to move back and forth between the beach and the pool with ease which was great as far as keeping the little one entertained.

The house was very well equipped. We needed a few more towels which the property manager took care of ASAP. The beds were super comfortable especially the master bedroom. The master bed was exceptional -

The only thing I could have asked for was the tv in the master wasn't great and didn't seem to work except to play movies. On the other hand when I'm at the beach in a beautiful house I don't care that much about TV. The guys were able to get the games that were important to them in the living room so everything was good. The little ones were happy with all the games - an epic game of monopoly was held on our only rainy day! My granddaughter found the books and was completely sold. I had to pry Beauty and the beast from her hands each night!

This was a great house with everything we needed to have a memorable family gathering. Thanks to both owner and property manager - couldn't have asked for better.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful thoughts. I'm so sorry about the TV. We definitely pay for cable through Direct TV for it so it should have been working for you. I'm calling our manager now to check out the TV. Please, please, please next time let manager know so that she can take care of it. However, it sounds like you made lemonade out of lemons by doing interactive activities. Thanks so much again. We hope to see you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything You Could Want & More

  • 5 of 5

Our family greatly enjoyed staying in this beautiful home! It was perfect for us! Everything you would want for a beach vacation. The home was well stocked and had lots of thoughtful amenities. We especially enjoyed the dedicated bathrooms for each bedroom plus the extra half bath. Lots of room to spread out and relax. We can’t wait to come back again! Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful beach house but just be aware both sides are NOT identical...

  • 4 of 5

Beach house overall was VERY beautiful and very well maintained. Plenty of space and rooms. Loved the privacy of having your own pool and beach access. Having said all that...there were a few things that bothered me but realize this is just me being knit picky and more an FYI for future renters.

When booking be sure to make sure which side you're renting. While very similar, both sides of the house are NOT identical. In every e-mail I had received it kept saying Casa Familiar. When we arrived, we were told we had the adjacent side Casa Vecina. That side was NOT what was in the pictures. No bunk beds, kitchen wasn't white. Outside patio furniture was PVC and NOT the wood pictured. The Master BR did NOT have a mini-kitchen and 55" TV. That side does NOT have an Ultra-bain tub with jets in Master. Again, still a beautiful house, but NOT the super remodeled that was pictured. Neighbors were extremely friendly and having washer/dryer and full kitchen and everyone having their own bath was a HUGE plus. Towels were a bit on the thin side but on a positive note there were a ton of beach toys for the kids as well as brown plastic chairs that were able to be used on the beach as well.

Only other knit picky thing I could think of is that we stayed over the weekend and if you're staying in the upstairs bedroom facing the street, you may occasionally hear people in those little golf carts driving by honking for some reason with their loud music blasting.

All in all I'd definitely rent again but just be aware when booking you may NOT get what's exactly in the pictures so don't be too shocked when you arrive as you will no doubt have a blast with what's provided.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason, I am sorry about that and wished that you would have brought it to my attention when I called you for an address to send your deposit back to you. The houses were identical floor plans before construction this year when we added on several feet to the front of Familiar to enlarge the master suite and add the amenities. Unfortunately, although the contractor promised a finish date the end of Feb., the bath was not hooked up properly and there was a leak in the septic system, which periodically lead to a noxious smell. That is why we moved you & 2 other families to the other house after your stay. We've never done that before but were lucky that we had that option so that you didn't have to deal with no operable bath and the noxious smell. I am so sorry that you not being make aware of that. It was a terrible error on my part. I spoke with the 2 other families to give them a choice but overlooked discussing it with you bc you booked through VRBO. I've been doing my own bookings through them for the past 15 years and am not quite used to communicating with persons booking through them as I've only a few through them. I completely overlooked it bc you weren't in my filing system used in my booking. I'm afraid that we can't do anything about outside noise but we do have noise machines in all 4 bedrooms for your use to diffuse outside noise. I might add that you were given a rate almost half of the summer rate. Please in the future bring problems to your stay to our manager or myself so that we can take care of them. Again, I'm sorry for dropping the ball and not giving you the choice or making you aware of the problems in Familiar at the time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cedar Park, TX


  • 5 of 5

This is home is beautiful with upgrades galore! The layout is perfect with the master bedroom being very isolated from the central areas and other bedrooms. The kids loved the game room and patio upstairs and working on a hot air balloon puzzle that was there for the entire vacation. The house has games, pool toys, and even boogie boards. The private pool and boardwalk to the beach were icing on the cake! We made the majority of our meals in the well stocked kitchen. I highly recommend staying here. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful family vacation !!

  • 5 of 5

Our family loves the beach, this was our first time to South Padre. We had an amazing time. The owner and manager were very accommodating to our needs. Loved the access to the beach and our own personal pool.

We will be back and hope to stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Brownsville or Harlingen
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
WannaWanna Beach Bar
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
South Padre Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 100
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
Sits on the beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Post Office
Nearest Point of Interest
Island Cinema
Nearest Point of Interest
Police Station/Fire Department
Nearest Point of Interest
Blackbeard's Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Blue Marlin Supermarket
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Isla Grand Beach resort (former Radisson)
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning $250
Tax Rate 17.0%

Please contact owner for information on additional units. During Spring Break season, we only rent to families, NO SPRING BREAKERS. During peak season, rental is only weekly from Saturday to Saturday. Dates are not flexible for peak season.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties