check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Vacation house 4 BR on Kanawha River close to rafting, zip lining, state parks

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Sleeps 8 & couch in living room, fully furnished for your vacation.

The house is an older home built by mining company for managers & is directly across from Glen Ferris Inn also built by mining company. Scenic views of Kanawha River and Falls and mountains. You can hear the falls in the evenings or early mornings. There are occasional train whistles form the tracks across the river. Children and animal friendly with fenced yard. Parking space along the side of house. The home is the closest house to the Kanawha Water Falls. Home is furnished with period antiques that were used during the 1930 period. All bedrooms have their own air conditioners. There is one bedroom down stairs and 3 up stairs with 1 and 1/2 bathrooms. Large dinning room/game room to pass the evenings. There is a fire pit in the yard along with a BBQ grill & yard games for backyard. There is a walking path along the base of the mountain along the railroad tracks. The Boat ramp is just down the street where the ramp and fishing area can be found. The home is furnished with casual furniture for great family enjoyment. There are so many places to visit within a short distance you will need at least a week to check them out. Battle Run Beach and Boating Area is about a 45 minute drive. There are pontoons, boats and fishing boats to lease all on Summesrville Dam at the Gauley Bridge Recreation Area. Beautiful swimming and fishing can be done here. Tamerack Convention Center and the Greenbrier Resort/Golf & Spa and about an hour & 20 minute drive. Lots of shops at the Greenbrier or Lewissburg is fun too.

On a rain day I would recommend the Caves, Tamerack, Beckley Exhibition Coal Mines and Downtown Charleston Mall for fun things to do. There is also an Farmer's Market on weekends called Capital Market and Flowers to see.

More Details

Owner
Sharon Daghir
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Sharon Daghir

My husband and my family live in Indiana close to the Ohio River. We love to white water raft, zip line and visit our second home in W. Virginia whenever we are able to get away for fun and relaxation. We have enjoyed many family visits and share it with our grandchildren now.

Sharon Daghir purchased this house in 2001

Why Sharon Daghir chose West Virginia

The Kanawha River connects with the Gauley River and the New River and has some of the best parks, white water rafting and other fun family activities. There are places to kayak, fish, horseback ride many activity's in both Beckley and Charleston to fill you vacation with fun things to do.

What makes this house unique

There are many places to visit within a 2 hour drive such as Lewisberg, (an artisan town) the Greenbrier Resort with shopping and many fine restaurants. They also have a top notch Golf Course. There are antique stores to explore, and "The Feed Box" Restaurant with wild animals that can be viewed as you eat your dinner. They also have a petting zoo for the children. Pontoon boats and other boats can be leased at Summersville Like. Smokey's on the George Restaurant is also a treat. Gauley River Recreation Area has a great beach for swimming and boating.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Vacation house 4 BR on Kanawha River close to rafting, zip lining, state parks
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Five of my friends and I decided to rent this house for a week after Christmas. I have nothing but amazing things to say about this place. The beds were comfortable, the house was clean, and it was relatively easy to find (took us a couple minutes since we arrived in the dark...would have been much easier if we had arrived before dark). As I said, there was six of us on the trip, with tons of table and floor space being taken up by our board games and it still never felt cramped. All of the amenities that were listed worked perfectly and we had no issues at all with any furniture, appliances, etc. There were a few things that I saw that in the comments below that I wanted to address: (1) "There were a lot of stink bugs." FALSE - the entire time I was there I saw one stink bug inside, which was right after we unloaded our stuff, too. (2) "The house had not been/smelled like it had not been cleaned." FALSE - the house was very clearly well kept. All of the linens and surfaces were clean and I never once felt like it was dirty. (3) "The house has old furniture". TRUE - but this isn't a bad thing. It has a very idyllic ambience and all of us found it to be very peaceful. Also, I do want to mention that the furniture was also in good condition, despite its age. It was all very comfortable and sturdy.

Finally, the last great thing I can say is that the owner is a wonderfully pleasant woman. I only spoke with her once, while we were on our way out of the door, but she was delighted to have had us stay and was genuinely interested in how our experience was.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the New River Retreat Home. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope that it will be possible to visit again. There are always fun things to do regardless of the time of year a visit is made. Thanks again. Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a great place

  • 5 of 5

7 of us men went to West Virginia to white water Raft what a great experience we had staying at the house. It was in a great location very quite with amazing views. The house was very clean and the cleaning women was very nice and professional. The neighbors were very nice and accommodating along with the owner. Its was about a 1/2 hour drive to the rafting company's through beautiful mountains. We will definitely being going back to Glen Ferris.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at our home. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay there. Every time we visit there are always new adventures to explore. West Virginia is an awesome place to relax and enjoy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Average stay.

  • 4 of 5

Feels more like a cabin. Very cozy but would have liked it more with newer furniture. Hosts are very welcoming. Plenty of games and books and kitchen utensils. Location was very nice....just across from the river.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The home was built by the coal mining company and the Inn across the street use to be their entertainment location. Therefore, to keep this in mind we purposely filed the home with antiques and older type furnishing that might have been used when the managers for the mines lived there. There are 6 homes that were built to house some of the managers for the coal industry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable home and great location

  • 5 of 5

Several members of my family stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. It was so wonderful to have a bedroom for everyone. We love staying in the house rather than a hotel so we can have a kitchen, dining room, and living room as well as the bedrooms. This way we are able to cook for our family reunion and not just purchase ready-to-eat items at the grocery store or local chicken place. We also loved having a big dining room table so we can play cards and have some fun in the late evenings.

The house is across from The Glen Ferris Inn. We always make a point of having a meal or two there while we are so close. We also loved walking across to the Inn's parking lot to see the fireworks in the nearby town of Gauley Bridge. They looked so beautiful in the sky over the water.

Sharon is wonderful to work with and she was very accommodating. She lives away from the area, but she does have local folks that she can call on if need be. I have met Sharon and the only drawback to the arrangement is that I didn't get to see her!

We will definitely stay again when we are in the area - especially during family reunion time when multiple beds are needed!

Thanks again for a wonderful place to stay. Since my sister and I are "coal miner's daughters", we really appreciate staying in the house!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It has been a pleasure to have you and your family stay in the home for several of your family gatherings. Hope you will be able to visit the New River Retreat home again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

terrible experience

  • 1 of 5

to keep it short:

1: bugs and insects all over the place, specially stink bugs, flying at night all over...

2: windows don't even lock because they are so old, can be pushed open by a child (doors can probably be opened too if you apply enough force)

3: smelled like no one had been there in years, had to ventilate the place for en entire day and still had allergies

4: blankets and towels are +/- 100 years old, bring your own pillows...

no I would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will not be granting a refund to you. I was not informed that there were any problems until after you had already stayed at the home. My new carpet was blamed for your families allergy problems, the number of guest who stayed was 2 to 4 people more than what was show on the contract and, therefore, would not have been rented at the price you paid. I believe that you had every intension of inventing problems so you could request a refund. One phone call or e-mail could have brought a housekeeper to assist had you requested help before you stayed for three nights. Your complaints could have been addressed if I had been notified and a refund could have been negotiated then. It is mighty strange that I could find NO stick bugs or any other type of bug in the home after a personal inspection was made by me. It sounds like a deception ploy. I feel like I am the victim of a scam.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Tennessee
5

Great gathering place for exploring the backroads of West Virginia

  • 5 of 5

This was a great location for exploring the great backroads in West Virginia via motorcycles. Easy access with several motorcycles and trucks with trailers. There were 5 adults in our group and the accommodations were more than adequate for our needs. The Glen Ferris Inn across the street allowed us to park our vehicles in their lot. There are many, many places to eat within a 15 minute drive in either direction. The neighbors were great and friendly, too.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you visit the New River Retreat Home. The area is a fun place to explore and enjoy family and friends on your adventures. Please consider another visit to West Virginia and the New River Retreat Home. We would love to have you and friends come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Charleston, WV
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
The New Place, Allooy, W VA
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Across the Kanawha River/one at mountain behind
Nearest Motorway
US 60
Nearest Restaurant
Glen Ferris Inn & Hawk's Nest St. Park/Smokies on
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Snowshoe Mountrain Retreat
Nearest Beach
35 Miles
Guley River Recreation Area, WV (Summerville Lake
Car: necessary

There are many water falls in the area. One is just 1/4 mile down Hwy. called Cathedral Falls. There is also a hiking trail in Ansted that winds down the mountain and has many water falls to see as you hike. Tamerack is a convention center with artisan items from W. VA and an excellent restaurant. Smokey's on the Gorge is also excellent to eat at and has a fantastic view of the gorge. There are many state Parks within a short drive, white water rafting, zip lining and a Jet Boat ride that is fun for all. Beckly Exhibition Coal Mine is another tourist attraction to see.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Glen Ferris House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter Season
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$75
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Fri,Sat,Sun
$700
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One half of the Initial payment is nonrefundable if there is any cancellation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Glen Ferris House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Each bedroom can sleep two people and the up stairs rooms each has it's own controls for the air conditioners.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This home is an excellent one to enjoy family fun and is also great for those who like to fish and boat. There is room on the side of the home for a boat and the boat dock is just down the street. There is a public boat and fishing area. The Glen Ferris Inn has a large dinning room that is great for family reunions and space for extra guests to stay as well.

Partner Offers