Located in Hardinsburg, this vacation home is on the waterfront. Historic Grayson County Courthouse is a local landmark, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Rough River Dam State Resort Park and Rough River Lake. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and kayaking nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cave exploring and hiking/biking trails.
Rough River Dam State Resort Park - 5 min drive - 7.2 km
Nolin River Lake - 37 min drive - 49.2 km
Nolin Lake State Park - 42 min drive - 58.5 km
Elizabethtown Sports Park - 52 min drive - 88.1 km
Restaurants
Little Dave's Restaurant & Pizza - 2 min drive
Porgies Chow Wagon - 2 min drive
Grayson's Landing - 7 min drive
Rough River Knotty Pine - 2 min drive
Porgies Hotdog and Soda Shoppe - 2 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock?
As of Oct 27, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock on Nov 1, 2026 start from $278, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Rough River Lake House conveniently located by Axtel Marina and Nicks Boat Dock located?
This family-friendly Hardinsburg vacation home is located on the waterfront, 0.4 mi (0.6 km) from Rough River Lake, and within 9 mi (15 km) of Rough River Dam State Resort Park and Lafayette Golf Course. Logsdon Park and Logsdon Park West are also within 20 mi (32 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
The host was extremely responsive. We were in town for a death in the family and it was nice not having to worry about our accommodations. The house and property were beautiful and we will definitely be back again.
We had our annual girls weekend here and had such a great time! The house was clean and spacious. The host was friendly and responded quick with any questions I had. I would definitely stay here again.
We had a wonderful stay at this lake house. We went with our adult children (ages 18, 18, 19, 20, 20, 20 and 20) as well as my husband and myself. We had plenty of room and lots to do. The ping pong table and other games were a real hit. The beds were comfortable (especially in the primary) and everything was very spacious. The steps were a lot but that is stated in the listing and we had no issues with it. We rented a boat from Nick's boat dock which is visible from the dock at the house. The host was very responsive and accommodating. We will definitely be re-booking this again in the future.
We totally enjoyed this house. It was very clean and had everything we needed plus more. We thoroughly enjoyed the deck and the view of the lake was spectacular. We would definitely would come back again.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 28, 2023
Thank you for the feedback Carol! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know if you would like to come back and stay.
Beautiful property with amazing location! Brandon was wonderful to work with and very accommodating! We are looking forward to returning in the future!
The property was perfect for our get together. It had everything we needed. The surrounding area answered our needs.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Archival
8/10 Good
Amil A.
Aug 16, 2016
Amazing weekend getaway
We had a great time at this house. Although it is not finished yet it is like a dream house. We especially liked the kids play room it kept the kids busy the whole time. Definitely would like to come back.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2016
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 28, 2023
Thank you for the kind words Amil! I'm glad to hear the house worked out for you and the family! We would love to have you back sometime in the future!
Thanks,
Brandon
The house is beautiful and the water view is absolutely breath taking. The game room and kid’s play room was an added bonus and enjoyed by all. The host (Brandon) was very responsive and accommodating to our needs. I highly recommend this property and we hope to return in the future!
This is a wonderful large home with a view of the lake and super location to Nick’s Marina. Kitchen is very well supplied. Home was neat and pretty clean for a rental. Could use a deep cleaning. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
Check-in was super simple. Location was great for our purpose. It was picturesque even if you didn’t want to climb the steps to/from the water. Enjoyed the firepit and double decks in crisp fall weather. Unforeseen difficulties occurred immediately after occupying the property. Host was very responsive and went above and beyond to remedy the situation which was no fault of his or ours.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Michelle B.
Jan 2, 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Amenities were poorly maintained. House was not clean. The grill was inoperable.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 16, 2026
Michelle, I'm sorry that you had a poor experience during your stay. I recently switched to a new cleaning person, so I'm still working out the kinks. When you say the house was not clean, can you clarify for me to make sure my cleaning lady adds this to her checklist? Also, I know you mentioned the grill, but what other amenities didn't meet your expectations? Thanks for the feedback..I'll be sure and address the concerns.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Gary D.
Sep 9, 2025
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
We enjoyed the stay but never got our deposit back and can’t get a response back telling us why
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 26, 2025
The renter never paid their final deposit, therefore there was no refund to be returned, and they made no attempt to contact me to resolve.
There were a couple of issues - grill was far from being clean - called the owner to advise him as it had gotten extremely hot. The ice maker did not work - the owner reimbursed us for the ice that we bought while there. Would recommend this property.
We had a very good time at this property on the lake. Very comfortable beds lots of room. Location was just a little bit hard for one of our handicap people. Property is located at the bottom of a very steep Hill. We couldn't get the TV downstairs to come on and see anything. Overall it was a good stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 28, 2023
Hey Kathy, thanks for the review. With the exception of the basement TV not working, how could I have made your stay better to justify 5 stars vs. 4? I'll try to make the issue with the driveway steepness more transparent on my listing. Just let me know.
Thanks,
Brandon
Perfect setup for inside the house with the rooms,beds, etc that we needed. But Couches old,saggy,uncomfortable and need to be replaced. Outside property and steps to the dock are poorly maintained. Steep driveway. We parked on top. Overall though, it was enjoyable 3 night stay
approach from the road was difficult at first
inside was very nice, clean and spacious for kidsand the whole group
we called in a short list of minor items that we found
"broken", but thgey did nit hamper a good time
Thanks
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 28, 2023
Thanks for the feedback Richard. Is there anything I could have done to change your mind on the 4-star review? Unfortunately, with the layout of the property, the driveway is a bit steep...not much I can do about that. Would instructions or a better heads up have been helpful for you?