Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Desert Sanctuary in the Woods - Special rate for independence day.

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Artsy A-Frame - Ouaint, Chalet Style Cabin - Capital Reef Natl Park

Multiple skylights, windows, balcony, lofts, and deck offer a light, airy, "tree house" feel. Two-person (indoor) bath, slate floors, great water pressure and heating. Original artwork and oriental rugs. Comfortable. Quaint canal with bridges runs through the property - home to deer and owls. Seated in between Fish Lake National Park and the Fremont River. Walking distance to town, near fine and casual restaurants. Due to the unfenced, open canal (for safety reasons) we do not rent to parties with animals or children. Unique art with a "shabby chic" feel throughout the house.

Deborah Bryon
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, spanish, All people and cultures welcome!
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Deborah Bryon

We discovered Capital Reef in 2003 and found our one-of-a-kind home ten years later. Completely remodeled, the property has become a restorative sanctuary with owls, deer, and other friendly critters tucked away in a small forest of pines. It is a wonderful place to unwind in nature. Although we have high speed internet along with Netflix and an enhanced TV connection, there is opportunity to completely "unplug" from urban living. It's a great place to listen to "sounds of silence" in the ancient world of the Anasazi . Our intention has been to create a comfortable space to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural world.

Deborah Bryon purchased this house in 2013

Why Deborah Bryon chose Torrey

An extensively updated cabin along side a lazy canal, that runs through the property with over 100 pine trees. The home has wonderful views, decks, a loft, and balconies, picture windows, multiple sky lights, and secluded nooks and crannies - with places to sit and wander. Locals commonly refer to our place as the "troll house" due to its playful, unique architecture, in its own private forest.

What makes this house unique

Great heating system, lots of hot water for a large luxurious (indoor) tub. Great TV and internet connection. Washer, dryer Short walk to national parks, fine dining, country western dancing, and funky (but healthy) breakfast joint. Lazy Deck for reading and relaxing in the shade. Peace and quiet!


Torrey House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One full bath with separate toilet, dressing room area, shower, and tub - Fully remodeled 2016. The (indoor) bath sits two people - equipped with candles for a romantic setting. A second 1/2 bath in the upstairs loft.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Two bedrooms with queen beds (purchased May 2016). Upstairs loft with two sleeping futons and large flat screen TV. Double pullout couch in the living room.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
We have hammocks in pine trees next to flowing canal that provides a cool place to relax in the summer.


Good! 3.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

22% Complete
55% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Desert Sanctuary in the Woods - Special rate for independence day.
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews
Trinidad, USA

Quiet and cool santuary

  • 4 of 5

We loved this unique property. It felt like the owner enjoyed remodeling this house. Appreciated compartments of bathroom to make sharing one work much easier. Outside space very inviting. Too cold most evenings while we were there, but would be awesome when weather is warmer. Rooms comfortable and cosy. Might be a little crowded for more than 3-4. Owner and manager very responsive.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming but....

  • 3 of 5

Initially thought property was very cute and quaint but as time went on we noticed cobwebs everywhere, spiders (husband got stung/bit by something. The ac didn’t work, couldn’t open doors/windows in main room and upstairs because of hole in screens and bugs kept coming in. It was very dirty. Had to vacuum the upstairs futons because they were covered in food/popcorn. AND the WiFi didn’t work...was awful for the college student who needed to do classes.

For the price it could’ve been much better...we would’ve been happy with less art, less cobwebs, cleaner, and some pest control.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joe, Thank-you for your input. I have taken your feedback seriously. Since your stay we have hired new property managers and cleaners, and have taken aggressive measures to deal with the spiders on a regular basis. Because our home is nestled in pine trees, there will be spiders in our mini-forest, but we are doing everything we can to keep them out of the house! Thank-you Deborah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great Memorial Day weekend here, the cabin is very cute and has a ton of windows and gets great light and air. The outdoor seating areas are awesome.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

dirty, dusty, insect infested, spiders and rodents in house.

  • 1 of 5

The house is in a great location for trips to Capital Reef and Escalante. It is located on a large piece of propertywith the potential for multiple gardens and sitting areas. Unfortunately the house is in very poor condition. Dirty, the air inside the home was filled with dust. There were numerous flies dead all over the floor. There were spiders and mice in the house. There was food under the couch and on the table in front of the couch. There were extension cords running across rooms, under doorways and under rugs. The kitchen was dirty and coffee pot disgusting. This house had no television although on the website it said cable or satellite was available. We left after spending three days cleaning and trying to clear the air. This property has potential but needs alot of work before it will be ready.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Eclectic and Fund

  • 4 of 5

This house was truly an oasis in the desert. It was spacious and comfortable. It was close to Capital Reef for our hot hiking adventures. The kitchen was well stocked. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The property manager was flexible with our arrival time and helped us understand the nuances of the property. We would stay again.The only down side was the dust and the mix of aromas in the house. Anyone with allergies would have trouble.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I realize you arrived on the third day of our windstorm and apologize for any dust you may have found. While Torrey is known for winds in the Spring, it does post a problem with dust. Regarding aromas in my home, all of the pine trees around our property is what we have always loved.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique lodging near Capitol Reef NP

  • 4 of 5

A very unique house that suited my taste. Quirky and comfortable. Nice setting in a grove of trees with a stream running through. I could recommend to anyone looking for an accommodation outside the norm.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.05 Miles
Cowboy Bar with Live Music on Weekends
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Green River
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 24
Nearest Restaurant
0.04 Miles
Diablo Fine Cuisine
Car: recommended

Renters say we are in a great location!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $75 + Tax

Please no PETS or CHILDREN (under 12).
$210 Rate based upon 4 visitors or less. Additional $25 for each additional person, up to 7 visitors total. If you want to stay less than 3 nights (standard minimum) there is a $150 cleaning fee. This cleaning fee does not apply for 3 nights or more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties