Located in Gulf Shores, this condo is near theme parks and on the beach. Shoppers can check out The Wharf, while everyone can enjoy the natural beauty of Gulf Shores Beach and Gulf State Park. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Orange Beach Tennis Center, or consider a night out at The Hangout. Discover the area's water adventures with fishing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling.
Gulf Shores, AL
What's nearby
Gulf Shores Beach - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
Little Lagoon - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
Hangout Music Fest - 11 min walk - 1.0 km
Gulf State Park - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
Waterville USA - 2 min drive - 1.8 km
Getting around
Gulf Shores, AL (GUF-Jack Edwards) - 6 min drive
Restaurants
The Hangout - 10 min walk
Sunliner Diner - 11 min walk
Pink Pony Pub - 11 min walk
The Catch - 3 min walk
Waffle House - 18 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Does Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views! have a pool?
Yes, this property has a pool.
How much does it cost to stay at Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views!?
As of Oct 27, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views! on Dec 20, 2026 start from $212, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views! pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views!?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views! located?
Nestled on the beach, this Gulf Shores condo building is within 1 mi (2 km) of Little Lagoon, Gulf Shores Beach, and Gulf State Park. Wade Ward Nature Park and The Hangout are also within 15 minutes.
Reviews
7.0
Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
The condo was clean. Host extremely pleasant and accessible. Loved the view!! We loved the ease of check in and the helpfulnes of early check out. Loved the availability of the "grocery cart" type of carrier EXTREMELY useful and an excellent idea. We most definitely stay here again!!
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2026
Response from Island Winds West 271-Updated Condo Steps to The Hangout, Indirect Gulf Views! on Oct 15, 2026
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed the view and found the carrier helpful during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
The only thing was the mattress in the first bedroom and sofa bed mattress were terrible it was like laying on straight springs. The master had bed remodeled the bed was comfortable and a beautiful bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 9, 2026
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad you appreciated the remodeled bed and bathroom, and we value your comments about the mattresses.
We love staying at Island Winds West because it's so convenient to everything and being on the beach is amazing! Condo was great! Had everything we needed.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 28, 2024
Thank you for selecting IWW 271 for your Weekend Girls Trip. We look forward to hosting your future vacations.
We did find some things going on in the condo and sent out an email. The property managers were on it the next day! The location is so awesome, just within walking distance of everything.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 14, 2025
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the great location and appreciate you letting us know about the issues — we're happy we could address them quickly. Hope to host you again soon!
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to improve your experience in the future.
We enjoyed the location of the building, overall we enjoyed our stay. The condo west 270, could use some updates. One of the bathrooms has mold on the ceiling. Again it was a decent condo and that’s my only big complaint.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 14, 2025
Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed the location and overall stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the mold issue in the bathroom, and we’ll be sure to address that promptly. We hope to host you again in the future!
Booked this because we have stayed in the same area. Walking path and resturants in the area
Property needs updating and better job of cleaning. Repair person was great. Came after hours to take care of issues.
Stayed 28 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 18, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property and for providing feedback on IWW271. We appreciate the opportunity to address the concerns you raised during your stay and we have shared your review with our housekeeping team to ensure that we maintain the highest standards of cleanliness for our guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Gulf Shores.
Archival
2/10 Terrible
Sep 23, 2017
Don't stay here!!
Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
I was somewhat unhappy with the location.
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
This condo has a couch that is broken in 2 places. So you sink when you sit or lay on it. The king bed in the master bedroom is like laying on a board. It's very hard. If you have joint or muscle issues you had better get a hotel. The bed in the other room was a little better, but still very hard. It was not very clean & a lot od thing need to be replaced!! I will NEVER stay here again!!
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Edward, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and do wished we were notified prior to your departure. If given the opportunity, we can ensure you our maintenance department would have done their best to address and correct each situation. It is our goal to restore your confidence in our company by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Looking for a place on the beach that will make you feel close to all that Gulf Shores has to offer? This is the place! Family of five stayed here comfortably and was able to easily enjoy both daytime and night life easily. Would return!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 18, 2026
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and found the space comfortable for your family. We'd love to host you again anytime!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Marilyn L.
Jun 29, 2022
Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Dirty and needs updated!
The couch shown in the pic was new then. Now the center where the two seat cushions meet has about two inches remaining. The outsides of the same couch cushions are 5-6 inches tall, like the pic shown online. That's false advertising. The king size bed is so broken down that one of our party couldn't sleep on it! I went to bed with no issues and woke up in pain every day. The rugs by the king bed were so dirty that the underside compared to the top side was white and the topside gray. We only noticed because they are a slip and fall hazard (aka lawsuit potential) and we rolled them up and put under the bed. Our feet after our first showers were BLACK the floors were so filthy. Cleaning people are hard to find, but those floors had filth on them. Owners should hire a new company. The cabinetry in the kitchen is very old and Formica is coming off right in front of kitchen sink, snagging loose clothing when you are working at the sink. The microwave in there has exposed metal inside in a large area. We were told theee times not to touch the refrigerator temps and so left it alone thinking that whomever cleans it out must be in charge of setting it. After a few days, we had frozen food that had to be tossed (fresh fruit and veggies). Called maintenance and they responded same day, which is good.
For as much as we paid for peak season, the owners need to get their butts in there and come off of some of that money to update, update, update!!
Stayed 8 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jacqueline S.
Oct 22, 2021
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Not the best
This was not the original room we picked. The owners of the other room decided not to rent so we were moved to this one. The beds were super hard and uncomfortable. The couch sinks in the middle making it uncomfortable to sit on. The toilet in master bedroom kept running and the shower did not drain good.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Dawn P.
Jul 21, 2021
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Security caused issues on our second day of a 9 day stay
I was disappointed in the company we rented from they way they handled a situation with the security with Brett Robinson. The company we rented from was Alabama Beach Rentals. They came and told us if we had one more noise complaint we would be kicked out. Didn’t ask us anything or wait to hear a response. When I emailed they put it on the property manager, but the property manger wasn’t going to boot us out of our condo we paid for. They never responded to my detailed email. So no I was not happy with the property security or the rental company. Which it all boiled down to a power hungry security asking us to turn music down outside under the pavilion at six in the evening. Then coming back again an hour later after telling us the volume was fine and was not turned any louder. I define my had a problem with that. After I spoke (the next day) with the property management we had no more problems. Still very stressful and had lack of sleep thinking we would be tossed out and have to eat the money we dished out for our vacation because of a power hungry security guard 😡
Liked the room and location - good view of the beach.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
christie w.
May 23, 2021
Liked: Communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in
Stay
The property was great. The ladies who worked at the office were very rude to guest including myself.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Alisa S.
Apr 11, 2021
Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Your Attention Please
We arrived at the property and I went in to the office to pay the parking fee...$25.00 plus tax. The woman that waited on me had the personality of a dead cat. I know that she had probably waited on lots of people on a busy Saturday, but really customer service is her job. Another person tried to enter the office and she rudely told him he would have to wait outside until one of the people in the office left. I asked which building we were in and she looked at me like I was stupid before she answered. Truly unprofessional!
We were never provided the code for the the lock box in order to get the supposed key as stated in rental agreement. Also, there was no 2nd key left on the counter per rental agreement. The digital code for door lock did work, thankfully! The condo was only had a cursory cleaning. There was debris left in kitchen sink, cardboard stuck to a refrigerator shelf, the floors were gritty feeling, the rugs were so dirty that they were sticky. The bathroom towel racks had not been cleaned and were covered in dust and dirt. All of the light switch covers were nasty. Showers had to be cleaned before use.
While the furniture looked nice, it was cheaply made. We moved a chair and my husband (not an overweight man) sat down in it and the leg broke off. Luckily he was not hurt. Wifi password never worked the whole week. I called rental company and they have not called me back yet! We are not happy and don't believe we got the value that we paid for. We have paid about the same amount and had much nicer accommodations ocean front! Don't think we will be back.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Andrea B.
Jul 29, 2020
Liked: Location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Disappointed
Many gnats, roaches. No internet. We were told internet needed no access code...but it did. Emailed property manager... and they asked me if I fixed it?
Old appliances. Old coffee pot. Location was nice.
Hello Amanda,
Thank you so much for leaving us this awesome review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Thanks for choosing Alabama Beach Vacation Rentals and have a great day!
Just as described- great for the money and a weekend getaway!
Good location and view, has everything you need for a weekend getaway.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Hello Ashton,
Thank you for choosing ALBVR. We appreciate your positive comments and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us aat Island Winds West 271! We look forward to having the pleasure of hosting your next vacation!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Beth A.
Sep 26, 2018
Good
Property needs maintenance. Doorknob lock is very difficult to unlock. It has to be jiggled and manipulated to unlock. Front bedroom bathtub plumbing sounds like a jackhammer when first turned on. Dryer knob is broken off - had to use another knob to operate it. Need to let renters know to bring garbage bags - one wasn’t enough for 4 days.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2018
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Thank you for sharing your review and concerns with the condo. We've repaired the items that you cited and appreciate you letting us know about the problems. We'd love it if you were able to visit again to see the updates throughout the condo. Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions. ~ALBVR
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Jennifer S.
Sep 19, 2018
Needs to be updated big time
Upon walking in we found out the sliding door was broken so to go outside you had to fidget with the broken piece to go out, the first bathroom when you turned on the water it made a loud noise til turned off, the cable box in the first room was rigged some way that you only got 4 channels, the filter was so nasty like it's not been changed in months, the dryer button was broken so you had to remove one off the other to even start the dryer, some electrical outlets didnt work in some of the rooms, the second bathroom sink took forever to drain when you brushed your teeth and the stove smoked and barely heated up enough to cook even 2 scrambled eggs(which took over 40 mins no joke to cook them). The room would be a nice one if someone actually took the time to keep it updated. It's in a nice location. I just wasnt happy paying what we paid and having all that going wrong with it.
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Dear Jennifer, We're truly sorry for the issues that you had with our condo. We've noted the issues and have had them repaired. As well, the owner did updates on their most recent visit. We hope that you'll have the opportunity to visit and see the improvements.
Archival
2/10 Terrible
Wendy H.
Oct 11, 2017
Great Location
Rating Details:
The property manager was adequately helpful.
The vacation rental was clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
This unit needs a lot of TLC. We had several problems that have been reported to management about the furniture (Needs new couch)and mold in the unit.
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and all issues reported has been addessed accordingly. It is our goal to restore your confidence in our company by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. Thank you again, for your honest feedback.
Archival
8/10 Good
Lisa Y.
Aug 15, 2017
Comfortable and convenient
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed our stay here. Room was nice and convenient to the beach and all the restaurants. The only problem we had was that I took small children that stayed in the master bedroom with me. I would have liked the tv cords to be attached to the wall better not just hanging out. Thanks for a great trip.
Response from VrboOwner on Apr 3, 2020
Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for providing us at ALBVR with great suggestions. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Archival
8/10 Good
Diane C.
Jun 17, 2017
Great place for a family vacation
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Our condo #271 was a great place to stay with 3 young boys. Nice bedrooms, although master could use some new matteress and springs. Very roomy. Kitchen was nice and equipped with everything we needed. Sofa is extremely worn out, but lots of room to sit. Overall it was a good place to stay for the value.