Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Pure Heaven! Enchanting ,Cozy Beach House Steps from the Sea.

You sent a message to this owner.

Front of House

Front of House House Living room Livingroom Kitchen / Dining area Master Bedroom - door on right  goes to patio w/ partial ocean view Master Bedroom View from Master Bedroom Terrace Master Bathroom: shower on left/ toilet on right Upstairs Shower Downstairs Bedroom -queen bed
(more photos to come) Downstairs Bedroom Terrace in front of house Beach 250 steps from the house Sea in front of house beach by the house beach Whale Shark
ask about whale shark tours from our housekeeper's husband, Carmelo Holbox Pueblo beach Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds
15 min boat ride from Holbox Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds Fishing from the point Holbox Sunset

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

This property does not have a published calendar. Contact the owner for availability.

  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:Yes
  • Wheel chair accessible:Yes

Isla Holbox house description

This enchanting, very cozy, charming beach house is a mere 250 steps to the secluded, pristine beach of Holbox Island. It is called Casa de Los Angeles and is our special home away from home in Tulum.

This ample sized house sleep 7, it has two bedrooms, one upstairs with a king bed and full bathroom, and one downstairs with a queen bed and full bathroom and a double futon in the living room. There is also a single bed upstairs, which can be placed anywhere.

The whole upstairs is the master bedroom which has a large terrace overlooking the sea. It is very private and quiet and one can easily spend the whole afternoon reading and napping in paradise.

The kitchen downstairs is fully equipped, including a coffee maker, coffee/ tea/sugar and two large containers of drinking water. There is a handmade barbeque in the back yard to cook your fresh lobster, fish, shrimp and crab that you can buy directly from the fisherman.

The house has all of the necessary amenities to be very comfortable, but it doesn’t have the frivolities, such as t.v. or internet. If you wish to watch t.v., we suggest that you bring your portable dvd player, or lap top. There are several dvd rental places in town , and there are many internet cafes, restaurants and bars with wifi.

Casa de Los Angeles is a 7-10 minute walk to town, to all markets, shops and restaurants. There are also several bike rentals and golf cart taxis are readily available. There are no cars allowed on the island, which is well appreciated by parents with small children and people who want to get away from traffic! The house is steps away fronm horse stables, where you can rent horses to take a beautiful ride on the beach.

There are many great and fine restaurants in the town plaza, from Italian, Mexican, Argentinean, Spanish, Continental to Sushi.
There is a small movie theatre and a bakery with fresh pastries, and make sure to try the lobster pizza!!!

There are many boat tours one can take: Whale sharks, the fresh water hole/cenote Yalahau, Isla de Pajaros ( Bird Island) and Isla de la Pasion!

Visiting the island of Holbox, is a one and a lifetime experience that will have you wanting more. Holbox is still virgin, with flamingo and bird sanctuaries, dolphins, turtles, and it is one of the few chosen places of the whale shark migration. True life!

Come visit and be one of the privileged to experience the Island of Holbox, a true treasure of humanity!

If you are thinking of traveling to Tulum, please see our VRBO listing # 232838, we can offer you a great package and you can taste a bit of both paradises!


Keywords: Casa de Los Angeles is a precious haven, perfect for a couple, family or group of friends looking to get away from it all!

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Children Welcome
          • Pets Considered
          • Wheelchair Accessible

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7, Beds for 4-7

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Refrigerator
          • Ice Maker
          • Kitchen
          • Cooking Utensils

          Amenities

          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Linens Provided

          Outdoor Features

          • Lanai / Gazebo
          • Deck / Patio
          • Outdoor Grill
          • Balcony

          Location & View

          • Ocean View
          • Beach View

          Activities

          • Snorkeling/Diving
          • Kayaking
          • Wind-Surfing
          • Cycling
          • Cinemas
          • Restaurants
          • Swimming
          • Horseback Riding
           

          Reviews

          Write a review
          • An Idyllic Get Away

            An Idyllic Get Away

            • Guest andrea b.
            • Date of stay 01/21/14
            • Review Submitted 02/02/14
            My husband, 2 young children and myself just returned from a fantastic one week holiday on Holbox, staying at Casa de Los Angeles. The island is a traveller's paradise with long stretches of beautiful beach, sandy shallow water perfect for swimming and a relaxed and friendly vibe. The little town is quaint with delicious restaurants for every budget and appetite. The house itself is clean, quaint, fully equipped, artistic and well maintained. The upstairs king size bed is so comfortable, right down to the sheets! It is a great spot. Be advised that the house is not right ON the beach but a very short walk to it. This was fine with us but is important to note. We would return here in a heartbeat.

            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with young children.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • not as advertised

            not as advertised

            • Guest Bunny
            • Date of stay 02/10/14
            • Review Submitted 02/25/14
            There is NO water view from this Casa. The pictures look wonderful, but upon close view the house has not been maintained. There is mold growing on the walls in downstairs bedroom and bath. The furniture is falling apart and stained. The grounds are a mess with garbage strewn all over. The back yard barbeque area has 2 mops, 2 brooms, 2 buckets and construction materials scattered about. The plastic chairs are stained and filthy.The oven is broken which wasn't mentioned until we paid. There was smelley brownish liqiud under plastic placemats on the kitchen counters. The vanity front and mirror were clearly not wiped down. There was toothpaste and spots on them.The flashlights had dead batteries and most the candles were non functional. Several glasses and drinking mugs were chipped and broken.There are holes in screens and there are gaps in door jambs. Mosquitos are a huge issue around sunset. We contacted the owners immediately after getting there hoping we could get a refund and stay at Holbox Apartments, but that didn't happen. We spent day 2 of our vacation disinfecting and cleaning and covering furniture with cloth. There was not any bedding for the couch in living room as stated in the paperwork that we got. We got one nights compensation for the misrepresentation and inconvenience. I would not reccomend this place for anyone.

            Owner response: This review is completely inaccurate, extremely exaggerated and unfair... Most all of our guests have been very happy! It is very odd, that two weeks prior to the arrival of this guest, we received a very nice review which is the complete opposite of this one. I believe the guest was mistaken thinking the house was beachfront and then began to invent complaints to receive a 5 night refund of her 11 night stay, which she asked for to compensate for the lack of water view. Her primary complaint was that there was no water view from the balcony of the upstairs bedroom. We were there in mid December, 2 months prior to her stay and there was still a water view from upstairs. It rained in Holbox for a month during Dec - Jan and it is very possible that the trees grew so much that the partial water view is not as visible. The house is advertised as being 250 steps from the beach, which we have counted many times walking to the beach, to be very accurate in our advertisement. That is clearly not waterfront, and we have never experienced such a complaint. She states that there was trash strewn about the property, this not true. In her email she said what bothered her was an old mop and bucket in the back yard, which yes,shouldn’t have been there and a wooden door and frame which was thrown in the vacant lot next door. The door was actually ours, our carpenter had just recently come from Tulum to replace the door and frame and carelessly left it in the lot next door. I sincerely apologized and had the housekeeper remove it. She says the flashlight was broken, this is also not true. Upon her complaint, I sent the housekeeper again to the house with batteries.The housekeeper prior to changing the batteries, turned on the flashlight and it worked perfectly. The couch was thoroughly cleaned with a furniture cleaner prior to their arrival.We have a large stock of extra sheets and pillows & towels in the house as it accommodates 6 people, so I don’t uso I don’t understand why she says there was nothing to cover the couch. When she complained about the dirty plastic chair I sent the housekeeper again to clean it , only to realize that it was one of the extra white plastic chair that has a discoloration.They didn’t even need to use that chair as there are two beautiful brand new outdoor reclining chairs, and they were 2 people.I also offered to have the house cleaned again to just to make her content and she declined. Please see our other reviews.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

          • We had the best time over the holidays!

            We had the best time over the holidays!

            • Guest Bernardo (Mexico City)
            • Date of stay 12/23/12
            • Review Submitted 11/10/13
            Me, my girlfriend and two other couples spent 12 days at the house last year, between xmass and new years, and we had the best time. The house was super clean, comfortable, with a perfect location a block away from the beach. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to go to Holbox, one of the most beautiful places in Mexico.

            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, adventure seekers.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Has what you need

            Has what you need

            • Guest SK&B (Cassidy, BC, Canada)
            • Date of stay 03/19/13
            • Review Submitted 05/09/13
            We spent 10 days at this villa and it was perfect for our needs. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms and plenty of space. It is only steps to a beautiful sandy beach and walking distance to everything! The villa comes complete with all the essentials. The housekeeper was wonderful as she arranged our boat tour and came over to prepare a lobster feast for us! We loved the island, loved the villa and would love to go again in a heart beat. If you haven't experienced Holbox, it's a must.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car, age 55+.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Laid Back "Arty" Vibe at Casa Los Angeles on the sleepy island paradise.. Holbox!

            Laid Back "Arty" Vibe at Casa Los Angeles on the sleepy island paradise.. Holbox!

            • Guest Happy in Holbox (United States)
            • Date of stay 02/16/13
            • Review Submitted 05/08/13
            Spent a fantastic week at the rustic and artfully charming Casa Los Angeles. The house is perfectly situated a short walk to the beach and to the center of town. There really is no need for transportation if you like walking, by transportation I mean a "golf cart" as no cars are allowed on this island. The long morning walks along the beach are a must. The amenities at the home are sufficient for meals cooked at home, lazing on the porches or decks in the late afternoons after a long day at the beach. Ceiling fans and area fans were suffient, though I don't know if that would be the case in summer months! There is a BBQ pit in the back of the house... so pick up a whole fish at the pier from the fisherman who do their own private fishing. It is a very relaxed, small town with just enough to do in the evenings at some of the local hotels and restaurants in town. A nice discovery. And our hosts were so gracious and aided us in every way possible to make the trip happen. We would happily return to the island and the charming Casa Los Angeles.

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, pet owners, age 55+.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Muchos mas fabuloso!

            Muchos mas fabuloso!

            • Guest Trucita (New York City)
            • Date of stay 04/14/12
            • Review Submitted 04/27/12
            My man and I stayed in Casa de Los Angeles for a week. Neither one of us wanted to leave ... the house is simply fabulous. It's beautifully decorated by people who love their arts and who seem to love life, it's colorful, inviting and simply inspiring. Everything is clean, everything works, it's very spacious and the architecture is typical of the island. We actually spent more time lazing about on the balcony than we did on the beach and that says a lot! Everything is within walking distance, the best seafood, the best margarita's and the refreshing ocean after you've had a few too many the night before. We always rent houses wherever we go on holiday as it offers much more privacy than a hotel and this house has definitely gone straight to Numero 1 on our favorite's list. Go for it, you won't be disappointed!

            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

          • Casa de los Angeles: great couples retreat

            Casa de los Angeles: great couples retreat

            • Guest Chip (Michigan)
            • Date of stay 02/26/12
            • Review Submitted 03/22/12
            Casa de los Angeles is a beautiful house that is very close to the beach and just outside of downtown. The decor and the colorful walls make it a lovely place to stay in and cook, however, there are too many great restaurants on the island to eat-in. Everything was fully functional and very clean. The upstairs bedroom is a honeymoon suite basically. Gorgeous. The balcony is a lovely place to relax and take in the Isla Holbox views. Highly recommended by me. All four of us had a great stay!

            Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, tourists without a car.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

           
          Fall Sale! 15% discount from Aug 15th - Nov 1st ,2012 *mention Fall Sale
          Regular Season: Jan 07 - Dec 15: $120 USD/night / 5-7 night minimum stay
          Christmas/New Year's: Dec 16 - Jan 06: $200 USD/night / 10-14 night min stay
          Rates for 4people $15 USD/extra person(max 6)10%discount weekly rentals low season
          Transportation Cancun-Holbox: airport van pick-up/ privare boat transfer
          Cleaning fee $25 USD/Housekeeping available/Check-in 3:00 p.m,Check-out 11:00 a.m.
          Cancelation Policy: 50% Deposit non refundable unless we can re-rent the house, or
          it can be applied to a future rental. / Payment: Pay Pal or wire transfer
          

          Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


          This owner accepts: Credit cards.
          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
           

          Calendar

          Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.

           

          Location

          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

           

          Owner info

          Year Purchased: 2009

          About the owner: We are an international family (Argentina, United States and Belgium) , lovers of nature, art and life who immigrated to Tulum, Mexico 5 years ago. We purchased Casa de Los Angeles in Holbox 3 years ago and are finally ready to share it with others.


          Contact us

          Speaks: english

           

          Photos

          • Front of House

            Front of House

          • Living room

            Living room

          • Kitchen / Dining area

            Kitchen / Dining area

          • Master Bedroom

            Master Bedroom

          • Master Bathroom: shower on left/ toilet on right

            Master Bathroom: shower on left/ toilet on right

          • Downstairs Bedroom -queen bed
(more photos to come)

            Downstairs Bedroom -queen bed (more photos to come)

          • Terrace in front of house

            Terrace in front of house

          • Sea in front of house

            Sea in front of house

          • beach

            beach

          • Holbox Pueblo

            Holbox Pueblo

          • Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds
15 min boat ride from Holbox

            Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds 15 min boat ride from Holbox

          • Fishing from the point

            Fishing from the point

          • House

            House

          • Livingroom

            Livingroom

          • Master Bedroom - door on right  goes to patio w/ partial ocean view

            Master Bedroom - door on right goes to patio w/ partial ocean view

          • View from Master Bedroom Terrace

            View from Master Bedroom Terrace

          • Upstairs Shower

            Upstairs Shower

          • Downstairs Bedroom

            Downstairs Bedroom

          • Beach 250 steps from the house

            Beach 250 steps from the house

          • beach by the house

            beach by the house

          • Whale Shark
ask about whale shark tours from our housekeeper's husband, Carmelo

            Whale Shark ask about whale shark tours from our housekeeper's husband, Carmelo

          • beach

            beach

          • Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds

            Isla Pajaros / Island of Birds

          • Holbox Sunset

            Holbox Sunset

          VRBO #387530

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2011.

          Date last modified - Sunday, December 29, 2013

          7

          2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
          Sleeps 7

          Contact owner for availability
          Owner
          Email owner

          +52 1 984 114 1286 (Mexico)

          Speaks: english

          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Get it now

          advertisement