Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Cala Lily Cottage: Luxury Waterfront Beach Home with Wrap-Around Porch

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms plus Guesthouse w/sofa bed

Picturesque waterfront home with stunning views of the Neuse River!! Rock or swing on the wrap-around porch and watch the dolphins come up the river to play in the morning and head back down at dusk. Relax on the pier as you fish for croaker, flounder, and more - or, tie a crabpot to the piling and have fresh crab for dinner, unless you prefer grilling steaks on the barbecue. Take a dip in the pool (between Memorial Day and Labor Day), or relax on the riverfront in an Adirondack chair as you watch the boats go by. The private beach is a perfect place to swim, sunbathe, kayak - or just relax in the hammock. Whatever you choose, you're sure to enjoy the slow pace and peaceful atmosphere at China Grove Plantation. For variety, bike or jog to Oriental, the "Sailing Capital of North Carolina." Cala Lily Cottage sleeps 4 and has a separate guesthouse that sleeps 2 more. A single step up offers easy access to each building.

Property Manager
Maria Machle
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018


Arapahoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Children must be supervised outside--pool and river nearby.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Half Bath - toilet
    Master - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor - shower
    Guesthouse - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Downstairs - 1 queen
    Guesthouse Bedroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The guesthouse has a sofa that pulls out into a sleeper.
    Master - 1 king
  • The upper level master bedroom features a king bed, the lower level bedroom a queen bed. The guesthouse and living room both have sleeper sofas.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
The Cala Lily Cottage: Luxury Waterfront Beach Home with Wrap-Around Porch
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5

We spent the week of 9/17/17 at Cala Lily cottage with another couple. We could not have been more pleased with the property! The location was perfect for access to the town of Oriental (we were attending sailing school that week). We didn't need to bring anything but food and clothing - the house was completely stocked with loads of towels and every imaginable device for cooking you could possibly need. We loved walking down to the dock for happy hour in the evenings, hoping to catch site of the dolphins. (Only one of us saw them one morning.) We also greatly enjoyed the daily visits from the neighborhood dogs, Moses and Peanut! And don't even get me started on the stars at night - what a show! A place we will definitely hope to rent again.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm SO happy you enjoyed your stay!! We look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lancaster, Pa

Dreamy, clean, waterfront cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the beauty and unique features of this lovely cottage! The layout was perfect for us, having one who was elderly and two toddlers. The location was perfect (8 mins to Oriental) and the plantation property was picturesque. It would be perfect for a bridal party or event (although I am not sure if that is allowed on the grounds!). Only one neighbor was there at the time and she was so friendly and gave us helpful tips for around town. There was a dog who wandered around from time to time and he was an absolute joy for my children. The porch was our main hangout, and beds, pillows, comforters were so soft and comfy. The flooring upstairs for the loft bedroom was a beautiful hardwood, and downstairs it is brick. The brick was certainly gorgeous- but not so comfortable to walk on without shoes. Definitely a unique cottage and we loved every minute spent there!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and Quiet Getaway

  • 4 of 5

I like the property and the nearby home owners/vacationers were very welcoming. No complaints, we’d stay again. Only criticism was that the bathrooms and bedding could have been cleaner but I’m picky when it comes to that and wouldn’t prevent me from returning.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but not clean

  • 1 of 5

Location of house is ideal, but when we arrived the house had not been properly cleaned prior to our arrival. We had to spend a couple of hours doing our own thorough cleaning of the property which is not the way to start a vacation. Rental Company apologized and agreed to compensate us for this, but so far I've heard nothing from them....Disappointed.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, sometimes things are beyond our control and we not only apologized for the inconvenience, we did refund a significant portion of the rental back to the visitor for their trouble. We're truly very apologetic as we pride ourselves on making every vacation above and beyond enjoyable.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location - Great Cottage - NO WIFI or TV

  • 3 of 5

Let me first say that I rarely leave review comments because I do not want to sound like the bunch of whining first worlders that can never truly be satisfied; however, this is such an awesome cottage and location that I feel compelled to do this. As busy professionals my wife and I both planned on working about half-time while on vacation to VPN in to the office. We are very disappointed and upset that we were never able to connect to the internet. We contacted the property manager immediately who sent out a tech but the fix lasted about 30 minutes. We contacted the property manager again and she said to feel free to contact the provider ourselves but they probably wouldn't come back for a week. In addition to the internet we had almost NO cell phone service. We are in the middle of selling our house and were unable to effectively communicate with anyone and were unable to negotiate a rent back agreement from the buyers leaving us effectively homeless since we just got back and go to closing tomorrow. We both have work stacked up that now requires us working additional hours when we need to be home packing. In addition to the lack of internet access and phone service the audio/video equipment was so outdated that we actually watched a movie on a VCR connected to a tube TV that whistled at such a high pitch it gave you a headache (I would have chosen the other option, a DVD, but the disc was missing lol). While I am piling on I guess that I should mention that there is no disposal in the kitchen sink, the hall bath toilet rocks considerably when you sit on it, and the mattress in the guest cottage is about 3" thick with springs missing. This is so easily correctable but unfortunately not corrected. FYI we have been coming down here for over 20 years and usually rent a little closer to Oriental so the phone signal issue was a known risk. The house that we normally stay in was booked so we took a chance on this one. House 8.5 Location 8.5 Amenities 2.0.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so very sorry your lives were in such disarray when you visited - it was very evident you needed some true peace and quiet. Unfortunately, the manner in which you treated the Spectrum technician was hostile and caused him to quickly leave without a thorough examination of the issue; hence your lack of TV and Internet the remainder of the week could have been prevented had the technician been allowed to do his job. It takes a minimum of a week to reschedule a service visit. When a vacationer doesn't allow me to troubleshoot and turns away the Spectrum technician, I'm limited in service; giving you a number to call was the best you allowed me to do. The TV you speak of is simply a back up and not the cutting edge equipment in the living room and guest room. I'm sorry your life has you so stressed, I hope things get easier for you in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The perfect Carolina Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 1st time to the Inner Banks. My oldest son is stationed @ Cherry Point Air Station, so he was able to take the ferry to join us for his 4th of July leave. Hurricane Arthur added to our adventure, on our 2nd day, and even though the winds roared we were safe & comfy in Calla Lilly. (Many thanks to the rental staff & neighbors for helping us prepare for his arrival). This home was a perfect fit for us. It was spotless & very welcoming. We made use of the gas grill most every night & my teenage daughter, the smoothie queen, loved the blender. The lush green yard, beach, dock & saltwater pool made for nonstop entertainment for all three kids. My favorite place was the porch swing with a cool drink & good book. We were thrilled to see the dolphins heading up the Neuse in the early morning hours. We ventured out to Cape Lookout for a short day trip, which was absolutely beautiful.

I could not have asked for a better place to share time away with my family. Hopefully we will get the chance to come again next year. (crossing fingers my Marine doesn't get deployed) Thanks so much for helping us make great family memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your delightful comments. We welcome families and smaller groups to try out the cottage for your "sound-side" vacation. Our location is great for relaxing by the sandy beach or pool. With our proximity to the village of Oriental with its large sailing community or a ferry ride to nearby Crystal Coast/Outer Banks activities -- you can be a busy as you want to be as well. Take a look at Cala Lily Cottage for your next coastal adventure.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Craven Regional
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Toucan Grill and Fresh Bar
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Cherry Branch - Minnesott Beach Ferry
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Minnesott Golf & Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Several in Oriental
Nearest Beach
China Grove Beach

Cala Lily Cottage offers access to many different activities and attractions. Stay in the local Oriental NC area or expand the possibilities with a quick 30 minute trip to New Bern for even more.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.