Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

20% off only remaining week, August 27th

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Come enjoy this charming beach cottage overlooking the beautiful Carolina Coast and nestled among sand dunes and sea oats. Wake each morning to beautiful sunrises over the Atlantic Ocean. Stroll along the beach to search for treasured shells and sand dollars. Let the beauty of Carova's wild horses captivate you as they roam free along the beach. Visit the many unique stores of Corolla and Duck, then enjoy dining at one of the many fine restaurants. Climb the Currituck and Cape Hatteras light houses, enjoy the undisturbed beaches of Hatteras State Park or take a day trip to Ocracoke Island by free ferry. Or, spend your days on the beach surf fishing, soaking up the sun, then cooling off in the beautiful green Carolina sea. Later, relax on the Nags Head swing and watch the pelicans fly by. Let your worries wash away as you end your day in the hot tub on the upper deck overlooking the ocean and sit beneath the beautiful starry night sky. 4x4 required, Bring your own Bottled drinking water, and Charcoal for the grill...

Due to this unique area that requires a 4 X 4, we highly suggest contacting the homeowner directly prior to booking. raffe101@msn.com or 252-453-0766

Keywords: House, Beach, Carova Rental, Vacation Rental, Four Wheel Drive, 4X4, Rental Home, Carova Beach, Off Road, OBX House, OBX Rental, OBX Vacation, Single Family HOme, Hot Tub, Wild Horses, Ocean Views, Close to Beach

More Details

Property Manager
Carol Ickes
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Carol Ickes

We fell in love with the area after vacationing here for several years. We are avid animal lovers and had many animals on our 10 acre property in PA, including horses, pony and lots of dogs and cats and a funny little bird... Now that our children are grown, we continue to be parents to many 4 legged children. The horses and wildlife on Carova make us feel right at home.

Carol Ickes purchased this house in 2004

Why Carol Ickes chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

We purchased this home a couple years after making a permanent move to Carova Beach. We felt it was the perfect size home for a single family to rent for those looking for quality family time and don't necessarily want to share a home with 25 other people.

What makes this house unique

Two If By Sea is nestled among Live Oaks with much seclusion all behind and on the side of this home. It also offers ocean views that are spectacular from the hot tub on the top deck.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had the best few days here, the only regret is that we are not staying longer. We had a stormy day so we rode down and saw all three lighthouses and the house from Nicholas Sparks book. We loved seeing all the wildlife! Before we got here I told my husband we are not leaving until I see the Wild Horses. I had no idea we would see them from the back porch multiple times a day. We also saw dolhpins playing in the surf, a sleepy seal on the beach, sea turtles and your very hungry raccoon. I hope this part of the beach always stays this peaceful. Have to pack but we hope to come back.
May 2017
  • 1 of 25

Map

Car: necessary

There is a pac and play for small fries....

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 8 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
TVs get local channels, HBO, showtime and Starz. Free wifi... We have a very realistic stove in the fireplace... Free long distance dialing on the house phone.... Lots of things to do...Have a great day at the beach....

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
20% off only remaining week, August 27th
average rating of 4.785714 based on 39 reviews
5

Great, Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

As advertised! Great & Peaceful! Getting there can be interesting if people are getting stuck in front of you but people are eager to help!!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Property was great, close proximity to beach

  • 5 of 5

Nice quiet location, everything we needed was provided, and saw horses every day on beaches and neighbor hood. Very cozy and would rent here again.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cozy but needs updates

  • 2 of 5

We booked this house for our 1 year anniversary the weekend of September 23rd, 2016. Some of the draws were the location to the beach, pet friendliness and the price point. The bottom tub was great and location to the beach was also awesome. It had rained the entire week before and the roads to get to the house had been severely impacted. A heads up regarding the condition of the roads would have been nice. The home owners are locals and were aware of the road conditions. The giant wasp nest hanging over the hot tub needed some tending to. Thankfully neither of us had severe allergies.

We weren't expecting the most updated appliances and amenities but the beds were the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. I had wished we brought a air mattress instead and on the last night I looked for a hotel room that was pet friendly but came up short. My wife and I ended up sleeping on the couches on the last night because they were better than the beds. We are both in our late 20's and early 30's so this isn't a issue of being older in age and needing a insanely expensive mattress.

The security deposit was refunded almost a month after we had left the property. I expected it to take less time based off of other reviews we had read.

The parking area was completely flooded which was understandable but after the home owners called us and asked about it they said they would be out to address it. They came out and hooked up the pump but it didn't work so I emailed the owner letting them known the water was still under the deck but I did not receive a response. You can't leave your car and brake calibers sitting in standing water.

We will spring for a more expensive house next time so we can enjoy more comfortable beds after several long days at the beach.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your submission, however, we wish you would have taken the time to address some of the issues with us during your stay. This is the first we have heard of the mattress complaint. And having never received any other complaints about the beds, it was a surprise. However, the homeowners are checking them. Your arrival was unfortunately timed in the middle of a month where the Outer Banks and much of the South suffered historic rainfall and flooding. Prior to your arrival, trucks were traversing the road to our home with no issues, so there was no reason to conact you to re-direct you due to any flooded roads, although some roads did have flooding. The homeowner actually came over two straight days to hook a pump up. due to the extremely high water table from the storms, water seemed to pool back almost as quickly as it was being pumped. Your security depsoit was mailed on day 15 of your departure. We strive for 14 days, but occasionally are a day off. However, due to your residental location, I do know that mail delivery was slowed due to bulk mail trucks not being able to get through in a timely manner. We had the same issue with the person before you. a quick email was able to resolve the issue with him.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Beach adventure awaits you.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to the OBX area. I've been told by friends how wonderful the Carolina coast was. But they aren't the type of people who would actually drive 6.5 miles up the beach to get to the house. However I am an adventure seeking go getter. Absolutely loved the beach and everything this area had to offer. So thrilled I was able to give my family a vacation they will always remember.

The house was very comfortable and had all the comforts of home. It was so nice to bring the whole family including our dog The beach was within walking distance which we did the first day. However we did drive to the beach several times just for the convenience of carrying beach gear. The house had plenty of beach chairs, boogie boards and beach toys. We saw wild horses in the yard and on the beach. We also saw dolphins in the early evening jumping in the ocean.

I called the owner of the house to let them know the dishwasher wasn't working. They replaced it the very next day. Many thanks to them for going out of their way to make sure that everything thing was good.

If you have the opportunity drive north a short distance on Ocean Pearl to visit the Carova Volunteer Fire Department. There you can get souvenirs and T-shirts to help support the fire department.

I hope my review of the house and the area helps you.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Lafayette, Indiana
5

WOW - that is the only word I can use to describe this place!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week there with my family and it was wonderful. Just far enough away to get away from the touristy areas, but close enough that I was able to go and sight see around the area. Beach was amazing, loved seeing the horses daily. They were amazing!!!!! Been to Gatlinburg area about 10 times and have never seen a single bear. Was here for a week and there wasn't a day that the horses didn't make an appearance. The guys went fishing at high tide, and beach combing at low tide - found a lot of neat stuff. I think we could have brought home a truckload of shells!! Brought our kayaks and the guys went out on the sound in Duck while my daughter and I wandered around and went shopping. Perfect trade off! The 4WD Beach was fun also, loved the fact we could drive down and park with all our beach stuff, and then drive back. Didn't have to tote everything by hand and carry it all back.

House was perfect for our small family plus our 2 dogs. Had everything we needed, plus if there was something we forgot all I had to do was look in a cabinet and there it was. And trust me... I was very thankful for the bottle of Aloe Vera we found as some of my family members decided that sun screen was gross and didn't want to use it.... BIG MISTAKE :) Only used the hot tub 1 time, but it was really nice! Very affordable and a lot of room for a small family.

Again all I can say is WOW - we will be back!!!! Even with Tropical Storm/Depression Bonnie in the area, it was still a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! Glad you had a good time..Come back again... carol and larry
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great Esccape

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time in Carova – a really unique place in NC. Great open beaches, 4x4 trails, and wildlife. Two if by Sea was perfect for our group of 5. Nice deck, great kitchen and dining area for cooking group meals, plenty of rooms – also very affordable weekend getaway for the group. Perfect fit for our budget. Had a blast, would recommend, and would stay again.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $350

We offer a 3 payment option for weekly stays

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.