check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Stone Mountain Serenity - Luxury Blue Ridge Cabin - SPECIAL JANUARY RATES!!

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Hays Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 2-8)

Located in North Carolina near Stone Mountain State Park, this spectacular 3 bedroom, 3 full bath, 2,500 square foot cabin on 5.5 private acres located in the beautiful gated community of Bell Mountain will astound you! Amazing long range views looking into the heart of Doughton National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. 5 miles to the back entrance of Stone Mountain State park and to the bottom entrance of Doughton park.

Vacation in luxury with granite counter tops and vanity tops, stainless steel appliances, vaulted ceilings, high definition LCD TV, Direct TV, Netflix, a stacked stone gas fireplace, high speed wireless internet, a huge deck, a finished game room with a pool table, ping pong table, LCD TV and a dart board. There is a king bed, queen bed, two single beds and a sleeper sofa. The very private setting is a wildlife lover's dream. Conveniently located near Stone Mountain State Park, Doughton Park, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Thurmond-Chatham gamelands, Wine Country, New River State Park, Olde Beau Golf club and many other mountain activities.

For larger groups or if Serenity is not available, please see my other rental in the same development - VRBO#769614.

Keywords: Cabin, Blue Ridge Mountains, Parkway, Yakin Valley wine country

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Brian Stiffler
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Owner

Why Brian Stiffler chose North Carolina

I built Stone Mnt Serenity in 2008 and picked this location due to the amazing views, complete privacy, abundant wildlife and great hiking.

What makes this cabin unique

Enjoying the breathtaking views while in front of a bonfire is one of my favorite cabin activities. Hiking Stone Mnt State Park and Doughton Park are other must do's while visiting the area. My boys love the rock slide at Widow Falls in Stone Mnt Park, which always ends with ice cream at the country store. There is nothing better than enjoying a cold NC craft beer on the deck, while watching an amazing sunset over the mountains...the uplighting can be mesmerizing at times. Touring all of the local wineries with friends and ending with dinner at the Harvest Grill at Shelton makes for a great day.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

Stone Mountain Serenity - Luxury Blue Ridge Cabin - SPECIAL JANUARY RATES!!
average rating of 4.9384613 based on 65 reviews
washington dc

Exactly as described... and then some

  • 5 of 5

We were lookling for a nice, relaxing place with great views and away from everything, and this place was absolutely perfect. Very secluded, this home was very spacious, clean, and had every amenity that we wanted and needed. The views were spectacular and we really loved the fireplace in the great room. Also, the ping pong/pool table downstairs was a lot of fun. The decor was perfect as well, and we grilled out one night and it was a treat to grill out under a clear sky.

A few pointers, though... This home definitely is secluded and could be a little difficult getting to in snowy conditions. While there is a wal-mart about 30 min away, there certainly isn't much in terms of shopping or other within 20-30 min, so I you need something be prepared to drive. That being said, blowing rock and boone are an hour away and well worth the trip. And, we didn't get any cell reception, but for me that was a positive, and there was internet so we weren't completely cut off from the world. I did, however, get some cell reception @ the top of the driveway, but that was the only place within a few miles where I got any.

Again, I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for family time, seclusion, relaxation, a view, and fresh mountain air. The owner is a pleasure to deal with and the transaction was as smooth as could be. He refunded me the full security deposit before we even got home. Thanks again, and can't wait to head back for another perfect vacation!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Verizon cell service at the cabin is very good...all others are a bit difficult. A new convenience store just opened 5 miles from the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0

Gorgeous place, mesmerizing views..

  • 3 of 5

The eeriness of the cabin's location and the view it presents is worth the rental price. The place is well furnished with ample quilts, pillows and comforters, with state of the art kitchen. It isn't a perfect cabin, the interior is furnished to be a cabin, the usual hot water tub was missing. The oven wasn't clean. I complained, only got a sorry as response. Too much of cleaning instructions though the rental price included cleaning charges. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but could have been better.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you were disappointed in our cabin. We had an unexpected overboil issue which left residue around the burners on the stove top. We appreciate this feedback and personally resolved the issue immediately. We will be speaking with our cleaning staff to be sure that in the future our cabin is spotless for our guests. Of the 3 bathrooms, the full bathroom on the main floor includes a regular sized tub and shower. We will be sure to update the details in the listing to spell it out. We are glad you were able to enjoy the mountain and the views!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This place is perfect. The views are amazing and the house is beautiful and very clean! We felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Look No Further......

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in many different parts of the Mountains....but never to this area.....I did not want to do alot of driving and just wanted to hang out and enjoy the outdoors and family.....and we did...My 86 Father and Mother 82 drove from Buffalo to meet us here....We were all awed at the beautiful views....My parents enjoyed just relaxing on the deck and by the firepit....It is a very comfortable home....Our two daughters came with us 20 and 22 yrs old....The older one enjoyed her own space down stairs with TV...bathroom and pool table...which led out to the firepit....We all enjoyed playing pool that was a big hit and alot of fun along with pingpong....The firepit was awesome....Firewood included and lots of kindling everywhere....Gazing at the stars the first night for it was not a cloudy day....was beautiful ....the sky was lit up....the red bats were cool to see....and the Turkeys wobbling across the road....

The Beds were all very comfortable and the cabin itself is decorated just right....not a whole lot of stuff and not personalized by the owners....

Very remote....but felt very safe....getting up to the cabin the first time is a little nerve wrecking not knowing how the road is....we have a Honda Odessey and my Parents have Buick Regal...and we made it up and down no problem...and my Father 86 years old made it up and down no problem....

Everything you need is there.....I brought paper towels and dishsoap and did not need any of it for they had it all there....I think people leave alot behind and that is very nice to share with others.....

We stayed when the Stink Bugs arrived.....the owner did have the cabin sprayed...and there were ALOT of them but that is Nature...and they really don't bother you....just alot lol.....and it did not ruin our time there....

So YES book this place for I am soo glad we did.....Stone Mountain is beautiful too if you love to fish and hike....and lots of wineries....the General Store in the area is cute ..... and If you Need to get some Beer and or Wine there is a Citgo gas station not far that sells it.....We did like everyone else suggested....went to Elkin the Walmart store for all our groceries and I brought alot of extra like spices etc for cooking....I over bought but better alot than not enough......

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home....

Ray and Camille

Tory and Kristi from Clayton NC


Ray and Victoria from Buffalo Ny

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Gorgeous Views and Great Accommodations

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin in remote but-not-too-remote gated community located 15 minutes from lovely Stone Mountain State Park. Everything you could possibly need for a family getaway is provided including technical amenities like WiFi, DirectTV, DVDs as well other features such as a pool/ping-pong table, porch swing, fire pit and rocking chairs. I was pleased to see that there is a pack-and-play for guests to use as well as a baby gate; useful items for those who need to travel with young children. Ample space for guests to spread out for privacy plus a welcoming family room/kitchen. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, cookware, and dinnerware. For families with younger children the cabin's deck is large, gated, and safe for letting your children play. We also enjoyed a nice fire at the fire pit and steaks on the grill. We happened to have met the owner over our stay and he is very friendly and accommodating. We would have liked to have been able to stay here for a week and plan to stay here again in the future. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spectacular! Returning as soon as possible.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 4 nights in the first week of October. The cabin is gorgeous, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Excellent craftsmanship throughout and a simply magical mountain view from the 2-story living room truly make this a luxury stay. The fire pit below the stars was our favorite part. The only thing we think would put this even farther over the top (than it already is) would be a hot tub on the grand deck.

Notes for other visitors: there is zero AT&T service in the immediate area. We finally got week signal about 5 or so miles out, data service (for map updates) was scarce and timed out frequently as we checked out local trails, vineyards, etc. Bring or download your maps in advance.

Watch your speed on the loose gravel road.

The complimentary wi-fi was fast. Again, if you have AT&T and you need voice service, I'd suggest using the wifi calling feature on your phone or some other online voice service, like Skype or whatever.

Bring more food and drink than you think you need. Sure, you can say you'll just buzz out 18 miles to the nearest grocery store, but in reality the last thing you'll want to do is leave once you sit back and take in the mountains.

We didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back. Cheers to the owners for making such an amazing place available for others to enjoy. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Greensboro, NC
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Stone Mtn Golf Club

Conveniently located near Stone Mountain State Park, Doughton National Park, the Thurmond-Chatham Gamelands, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Wine country and many other mountain activities.


Rates & Availability

Hays Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
Merle Fest
Apr 26 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 26 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
$150-$165 per night Sun-Thurs / $200-$225 per night Fri-Sat / 2 night minimum.
$100 housekeeping fee and $200 refundable security deposit.
7% Tax.
Holiday and Event weekends are subject to a rate change.
We accept VISA and Mastercard via Paypal, personal check or use the BOOK IT NOW feature on the website.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hays Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
I-pod hook-up, Outdoor speakers, 50' LDC High Def TV, NFL Sunday Ticket, Direct TV, Smart TV, Amazon Fire for streaming, Pack-N-Play, Coffee maker, Cell phone service

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers