check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxurious Home with Mountain View

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms + Loft, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This custom, mountain-view home is our pride and joy! Our mountain retreat offers three levels plus a loft with soaring vaulted ceilings, natural woodwork and lodge-inspired decor throughout. The location of our house is ideal. Nestled on a dead-end street, conveniently located across the street from endless hiking and cross-country trails. You can't get any closer to Mt. Hood! Grab your skis and walk 50 feet to the Summit ski run or walk to town for shopping. With 3 master suites, it is perfect for friends and family. Master #1 has a king bed, stone fireplace, flat screen TV with a full bath and jetted tub. Master #2 has a king bed, a twin bunk w/ a trundle bed, stone fireplace, flat-screen TV, granite vanity and sink in addition to a full bath. Master #3 has a queen bed, twin bunk, walk-in closet and full bath. All rooms have luxurious linens and towels.

An open kitchen with granite counter tops, two dishwashers, trash compactor, beverage cooler and a professional range with two ovens. It is well stocked with superior cookware and dishes that will inspire any chef. A large family dinner is no problem with the dining room table seating up to 16.

The game room is a perfect place for kids and teens to relax. They will enjoy the foosball, shuffleboard, TV with DVD player and a mini-kitchen with microwave, sink and mini-refrigerator.

You will also find puzzles, board games, movies, magazines and good books; all for your relaxing pleasure.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 5, 2017


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Luxurious Home with Mountain View
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews

Perfect Ski Weekend House

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our families. There were 10 of us and it was more than enough room to socialize, eat and sleep. The kitchen had everything we needed. We had a wonderful time and Wendi the owner was a pleasure to work with. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Group House

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with 12 friends for a birthday/ski weekend. It was great! The house is so spacious that we were never stepping on each other. Having 4.5 was super nice so no one waited for showers. The kitchen was my favorite. There is a huge table so everyone could have meals together. There was also an extra mini fridge in the kitchen for wine and beer and another one in the game room which was on the first floor. There were also two sinks and dishwasher which was really helpful. The kitchen and living room were on the top floor and had awesome floor to ceiling windows with a view of Mt. Hood. The one downside was because it was so beautiful and sunny the top floor got really warm during the day. Also it is heated with the fireplaces on each floor which was hard to maintain a consistent, comfortable temperature. The hot tub was covered and fit about 8 people in it. The game room was really nice to have to hang out in as well. Due to the bunk beds in two of the bedrooms it's not great for a lot of couples or a romantic weekend but was great for our mixed group. It was warmer when we were there so we didn't have to worry about icy roads or snow but if there was a lot of snow I could see it being hard to get up the road to it and to park at the house. It was really close and convenient to Meadows where we spent the day snowboarding. I hope we get a chance to rent the house again. Everyone had a great time and loved the space.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5




  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, WA

Maintenance Issues Spoiled an Otherwise Great Rental

  • 3 of 5

We've rented VRBO homes for 15+ years and found a range between owners that make you feel like a valued paying guest and owners that treat you like an in-law that visits too much. This home falls into the later category. For $450/night + cleaning I don't appreciate being told I can only leave 2 bags of trash on departure. I don't need a label on every shelf telling me exactly how to put away dishes. I expect to have a starter roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, an extra set of towels, an extra blanket etc.

I was worried about arriving late at night but our contract stated that the front porch and walk would be shoveled prior to our arrival. It had not been cleared for weeks. There was so much snow you couldn't see the 4 steps leading to the porch and had an 8" layer of ice under the snow. It was downright dangerous trying to get kids and luggage in. Take a wrong step and you sink past your thigh. It took us 2 days and lots scraping to get a tiny path cleared so my parents could get in without killing themselves. They do not have a local maintenance person. The owner replied that it had looked fine when her husband had been out the week prior and hopefully some fresh snow would make it less slippery. Ok...

The house has lovely finishes & furnishings but it feels stark. There are no throw blankets, 1 pair of towels for each bath, no paper products etc. The fridge smelled of rotten crab so bad you had hold your breath when you opened it. I tried scrubbing all the drawers and the bottom of the fridge to no avail. The owner said the cleaning lady hadn't mentioned it. Ok..... On our last night we returned to find the fridge/freezer at 50 degrees and a puddle of water on the floor. We lost all of our food which is no small tragedy when the grocery store is 30+ mins away. When I texted the owners in the morning, they scolded me for not telling them the night before so I could be there to let a repair man in. No apology for the cost of lost food or the hassle. I wasn't thrilled to give up my vacation to deal with their repair issues. The kitchen sink had a broken disposal, the 2nd floor hallway had no working lights and the hot tub chemicals were so off that we all itched the next day and never used it again.

FYI - The fireplaces are used to heat the rooms so they turn off and on with the thermostat. If you have small kids, there's no way to not use them. The windows don't have screens and are scary high off the ground. The game room is not heated.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear XXX, I am sorry that we have not met your expectations as well as we have with other guests. I would like to address a few of the issues you have had with our mountain home: 1. The 2 bag trash limit. Due to the limited garbage pickup we have available, we clearly state in our rental agreement that we have a 2 bag limit. If we had known that this would have been a particular issue for you, we could have provided other solutions for your additional trash needs. 3.Supplies. Extra toilet paper, blankets and towels are always provided. If you were unable to locate them, you should have called or texted us. We would have directed you to their location. 4. Snow on the porch. We clear the porch as often as we can, but frequent snow and ice are a fact of life here in the mountains, and is something that our Winter guests know they will be dealing with. It can take only a few hours to recover the porch with snow, and we have no way of knowing your exact arrival time. The comment that it had not been cleared for weeks simply isn’t true. 5. Towels & throw blankets: Please see comment #3. We have these available for all guests. 6. Refrigerator smell. Although our cleaning service should have caught this, if you had contacted us immediately on discovering this, we would have provided a solution for you by either having our cleaning service come back to fix it, or directed you to use our other refrigerator ( we have 2 in the kitchen ) until the problem was solved. We didn’t hear about this until after your stay, therefore we couldn’t respond in any way. 7. Refrigerator not working. As mentioned above, we have 2 refrigerators in our kitchen, and despite the fact that our second fridge is 1/2 size, it is certainly large enough to accommodate a large amount of perishable items. The nominal working temperature of our primary fridge is 33 degrees, and it would take many hours for even an unplugged and unopened fridge to reach a point of spoilage of the enclosed items, since it would remain a well insulated icebox at that point. You didn’t let us know about this until the next morning, and we apologized and told if we had known the previous evening when the issue occurred, we could have sent a repair person earlier. No “scolding” was offered! Unexpected repairs are a fact of life for all homeowners, and we try and minimize the impact of any failures in as timely a manner as possible with minimal guest impact. BTW, our closest grocery store is 3 minutes away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing view and time

  • 5 of 5

We rented this amazing house over the Thanksgiving holiday and it was a perfect fit for all whole extended family. Each family got a room with so much living space available that we didn't feel that we were on top of each other the whole time. The kitchen was amazing, its all of our "dream" kitchen, which made it perfect for the holiday eating that was consumed. The dining room and living room fit all of us comfortable with tremendous view of Mt. Hood. We loved having two separate game rooms. The kids enjoy walking 20 yards and having a sledding hill and snowman making area, the adults loved not getting in the car to enjoy the snow. The small town of Government Camp had lots of charm. We all would recommend this to any family or multiple generation gathering, because the multiple levels keep everyone separate but together. The pictures are tru to form, besides not captioning the magnificent view of Mt. Hood. The owners were very helpful with questions prior to and during our stay. Thanks for making our Thanksgiving holiday memorable.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Home, Gorgeous Views, Had an awesome Stay!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this place for a large family vacation in summer. We were 11 of us (kids, adults, seniors) across 4 families. Just an awesome place with everything thought of.

At first we were not sure of the 4 story floor plan but later realized that it was the best. The lovely kitchen and living room with its panoramic windows giving views of Mt Hood and the green mountains in the front are probably the best in Govy camp. The house looks new with everything thought through in detail (bedding, amenities are luxurious and high grade). 2 dishwashers, 2 washer driers (one was broken but that did not bother us). The pool room was a favorite with kids. We cooked, chatted and and got together in the family room and kitchen on the 3rd floor every morning and evening before and after our sight seeing travels. Very elegantly decorated and designed. The loft is very cute with table-chairs and board games along with futon for a single sleeper. There is a nice collection of books and DVDs too. Just amazed by all the details the owners have thought through and added. Would highly recommend it! We rent homes and resort apartments a lot during vacations and this ranks right up there.

I typically do not give a 5 star rating. I asked all the adults in our group on what rating they would give it and they all said 5 stars, so here it is :). We are very glad to have found this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Government Camp House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nov 15 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

non-refund cleaning fee $225
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Government Camp House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Partner Offers