Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Home in Berkshires

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

This beautiful waterfront home is located on Ashmere Lake in Hinsdale, Massachusetts. The house is a modern 4 bedroom, 2 bath home with full kitchen, beautifully remodeled bathrooms, open floor plan downstairs with hardwood floors and fireplace. It also has a beautiful screened-in porch overlooking the lake.

Boat dock and use of row boat, 4 kayaks, and life vests available with the rental of this property. A gas grill is conveniently situated for outdoor cooking. There is a campfire pit located in the backyard and firewood is provided for outdoor campfires.

Properties located in quiet lakeside community, great for family walks and lake activities.

Hinsdale is located approximately 30 minutes from Jiminy Peak and Brodie Mountain ski resorts. It is very quiet in the winter months and the frozen lake is convenient for long walks and x-country skiing.

The Fall is also a beautiful time of year as the fall foliage is as good as anywhere in New England.

Call Mike at 203-326-1600 for our best rates.

More Details

Owner
Mike and Julia Rindfuss
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 13, 2017

About Mike and Julia Rindfuss

Family owned and cared for property.

Mike and Julia Rindfuss purchased this house in 1996

Why Mike and Julia Rindfuss chose Berkshires

Our beautiful lakefront home that we invite respectful guests to enjoy as we do.

Amenities

Hinsdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The 3 largest bedrooms each have Queen Size Beds; The 4th bedroom has 2 twin beds (bunk beds).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3 queens, 2 twins. Rowboat, kayak, life vests, boat dock; Blankets and pillows provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Home in Berkshires
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews
Marblehead, MA, USA
5

Spacious, homey, and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property the weekend of New Years Eve to be close to family in the area. For the price, we really got our money's worth! Everyone had a comfortable place to sleep, plenty of room to gather for meals, and by the fireplace! My only regret was not renting in the summer months! The lake view was too tempting, although we watched neighbors across the lake shovel out an ice rink and play hockey! Already looking into when we can make it back!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very nice review of our lake house. We appreciated you choosing our house for your getaway and look forward to having you back in the future. Sincerely, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay for two day getaway to the Berkshires

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from our 2 day stay at this property. The booking process was straightforward and the owner answered any questions we had promptly. We had two families (4 adults and 6 children). Upon arrival we found the home clean and as described. It fit us all perfectly and we had a great time staying at this property. There are 4 bedrooms, 3 similarly sized bedrooms with queen beds, closets and dressers in which to put our clothing. There is a smaller bedroom with bunk beds and the bottom bunk has a trundle which can be pulled out. Also with a dresser and closet. All bedrooms had plenty of pillows and blankets (Bring your own sheets and pillowcases-we knew this in advance). All bedrooms are on the 2nd floor, there is a wooden gate at the top of the stairs to keep little ones from falling. The upstairs bathroom has a stand up shower (no bathtub), however the downstairs bathroom has a tub (Bring your own towels).

On the first floor, there is a three season porch which we used for getting to the backyard to allow the children to play in the snow. This is not heated but it was covered and very spacious-would be a great additional living space/hang out space in the warmer months. The dining room table has two eaves that allow ample seating (we all sat at the table-but they need a few folding chairs to allow that amount of seating at the table). The kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots/pans, cookie sheets, casserole dishes, coffee makers (Keurig and regular), tea pot, blender, toaster, microwave, cutlery etc. I would suggest that you bring your own paper products (including paper plates, cups, bowls, cutlery, paper towels, also ziploc storage bags/containers if you are cooking and need to store leftovers). If you are traveling with children, bring your own plastic cups as there were no plastic cups-we forgot our cups at home. There were plenty of glass ones, but sometimes that can be tricky with little ones. The house did have basic cleaning products, so no need to bring any. The living room has a tv with basic cable access and dvd player and a fireplace (the owner provided duraflame logs-you cannot use any other firewood in the indoor fireplace per the owner's request). The basement level is unfinished and has a washer and dryer. Overall we really enjoyed our time at this property and would stay again. Only 'cons' were that we had to bring our own sheets & towels, but we knew in advance, so adjusted accordingly.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I like the suggestion of plastic cups to be more child friendly and will make sure to stock the kitchen with some. Also, as an fyi, while I prefer to have renters bring their own bed linens and towels, for a $50 fee, I will provide linens and towels. Thanks again for choosing our house for your getaway and hope to have you back. Sincerely, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Lake house!

  • 5 of 5

Having never been to lake Ashmere, our expectations were not high. We wanted to be right on the water in a quiet setting in a comfortable and clean house. We got all of this and much more. Kayaking, canoeing, biking, swimming and leisurely walks were our daily activities and this doesn't even include reading by the Lake. The house was clean and had plenty of room for everyone. The back porch was a perfect place for coffee in the morning, lunch and a few games of gin rummy. We used the fire pit every night and even a few nights of S'more making. This was by far the most relaxing "staycation" we have ever had. We are already planning to book time next summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hixson TN
2

Hind dale Lake Rental

  • 2 of 5

Family Vacation At Lakehouse

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Every year my family gets together for a lake vacation. Since we live apart from each other this vacation gives us an opportunity to spend quality time with one another. After my husband and I drove 15 hours to get to this house our first impression was disappointing. In no way are we high maintenance, however, the front entrance had overgrown bushes, spider webs all over the overhang and the boards in front porch were splintered with nails popping up. Entering the house we found the size to be perfect and just enough room for all of us. After walking around we found filthy kitchen floor, the porch facing the lake had dog hair all over furniture and floor. The outside yard was cluttered with dog poop that we had to rake 4 times before we could utilize the yard. We also had to buy cleaning supplies for the kitchen floor and after washing 5 times the swifter pad was still black. The dock was also slippery and dangerous. The most disappointing thing is the owner was told all of this and made no offer to reimburse us for the cleaning supplies nor did he show any concern that we spent 2 days of our vacation cleaning. Very disappointing after driving 15 hours and the amount of money it cost to rent for the week. Shame on the owner will never rent here again nor will I recommend to anyone

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had great renters for the 10+ years that we have been renting our lakefront house. Unfortunately, there was something very peculiar that should have been a warning in advance with this particular renter. They had reserved the house but did not want to pay the rental balance or security deposit until they arrived. I explained that unlike a hotel, we could not offer a free cancellation situation right up until the arrival date and that, at that point, we were far enough from the arrival date that I’d be happy to refund their initial rental fee and re-open the week for someone else to rent. Regretably they did not take me up on this offer. We have had good luck with the cleaning service that cleans between renters and, in fact, I was quickly up to the house in advance of this renter, and while I didn’t take a swifter pad to the kitchen floor, the house looked ready for renters. I also do not expect our cleaning service to go out to the backyard to see if there are goose droppings. Unfortunately, with the house being vacant the week before, it sounds like our backyard had become a target for the geese. When this renter sent me a picture of a swifter pad with some dirt on it and suggested I should be giving her some money back, she obviously didn't know that I cannot be extorted. Ironically, I was up to the house after the departure of these renters and the house was left as dirty as I’ve ever had a renter leave it. While we include the cost of cleaning within our rental fee, I do take notes on whether renters show some common courtesy in the way they leave the house upon their departure (this renter would not be welcome back). I do appreciate this renter letting me know that the hedges could use a trimming and I will make sure this is done. Also, I have already repaired the step onto the boat dock to ensure it is safe. In closing, I’d just like to say that we are very appreciative of the many great renters (many annual repeat renters) that we’ve had and for any new prospective renters, we’d be happy to arrange for you to speak with some of our many satisfied renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

Lake fun max and relaxing good times

  • 5 of 5

What a great lake house! Our family reunion had a terrific time here. We had a group of 16 -17 (some visited for only part of the week, and 7 stayed at another house.) The kayaks, canoe, and row boat were well used. The lake was fun for swimming, fishing, tow-tubing, and just quiet boat cruises. The fishing was amazing! Everyone caught fish, and we landed a respectable bass, a chain pickerel, and many slab crappies and sunfish.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, and nicely furnished. The kitchen was nicely equipped with pans, pots, silver, etc. to service our large group. It was very comfy inside for meals and get-togethers. The combination of the large family room & porch made dinner get-togethers for our large group easy. We used the campfire pit and a good supply of seasoned wood for many evenings of fireside fun. The propane grill was awesome. We quickly cooked major meals for our hungry family.

We were having so much fun at the lake we did not take advantage of the many nearby entertainments --- Tanglewood, Mt. Greylock, Berkshire Museum (to name a few).

Guess we will be back to enjoy even more of Lake Ashmere and the Berkshires.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Relaxing and delightful getaway

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a quiet lakeside getaway where we could relax, fish, use as a base from which to explore the Bershires and that's exactly what we got! Easy access, equipped as described (we used the canoe every day) and in a quiet end of the small lake, we were able to fish off the dock, just hang out and watch the ducks, heron, and chipmunks. We loved that there were gates on the stairways so our dog was able to be easily contained and the screened porch was great! All communications were excellent and the house was in good shape with typically dated furnishings in the living areas but comfy beds and all amenities. My 87 year old mother visited one day and she was able to easily access everything. Stores are a few minutes drive away and there are lots of things to do if one gets tired of relaxing! Although wifi was readily available and usable, my partner didn't even open his laptop the entire time we were there! How great is that? I would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

An easy 30 minute drive to Tanglewood in Lenox, MA, and 25 minute ride to Jacob's Pillow in Becket, MA. 45 minute drive to both Williamstown, MA and Northampton, MA. Hiking and walking paths only a couple miles away. Plenty of golf courses in Berkshire County as well. Playgrounds nearby for kids. Ski resorts also within 30 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hinsdale House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter/Spring 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$3,000
 
 
June 3rd - 10th
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
 
June 10th - 17th
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
June 17th - 24th
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
June 24th - Aug 12th
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,875
 
 
Aug. 12th - Aug. 19th
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
Aug. 19th - Aug. 26th
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Aug. 26th - Sept. 2nd
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Fall 2017 - Winter
Sep 2 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $50

$1,000 - $1,875/week
For 4-bedroom, 2-bath House:
See Rate schedule for rates for specific periods of time.
Summer Weeks run Saturday - Saturday for Last week of June and July & August Weeks.
Wknd and Off-season rates avail incl mid-wk and long-wknd specials-PLEASE ASK.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable