Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Retreat/peaceful/relax/fish/kayak/swim/WiFi

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Chateau / Country House, 1,2,3,4 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 1-10)

Location: 15 minutes from Berkeley Springs West Virginia in Great Cacapon (A Short and beautiful drive through the mountains less than 2 Hours from the Washington, D.C. area)

Accommodations: Cabin, 1,2,3,4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 1- 10)

Keywords: River house, Mountain house, West Virginia Cabin, Berkeley Springs Cabin Rental, WV Cabin Rental, Great Cacapon cabin rental, WV get away,

Enjoy this year round beautiful retreat 150 yards from the Cacapon River. This river is loaded with small mouth bass and many other fish. A great river to fish, canoe, swim or just sit and enjoy the peaceful setting.

The large wrap around deck gives you plenty of areas to spread out and enjoy the spectacular views of the Cacapon and Sleepy Creek Mountains. Our house is settled in the Cacapon mountains on 3+ private acres. No other house can be seem from ours, very private. It is just a short walk to the private community river access where you can swim and launch your canoe or kayaks from.

This is a beautiful retreat all within 2 hours drive from the DC area.You will have all the comforts of home in this relaxing surronding. Our 4 bedroom, 2 full bath home sleeps 10. It has a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and plenty of cooking equipment, Washer/dryer, AC, heat, 2 fireplaces, BBQ and screened porch hideaway.

The back patio offers a special retreat, a large fireplace and extra large grill for family cookouts.

Too chilly outside, enjoy the great room furnished with oversized sofa and love seat that beckons you to settle down and enjoy the wood-burning fireplace while watching satellite TV. Or play some pool on the 5x9 pool table.

Swim, tube down the river, fish, canoe or kayak, plenty of activates to keep busy or just relax and enjoy the peace and quite of the mountains.

Drive to downtown Berkeley Springs and explore the antique shops, craft stores, Berkeley Castle, local coffee shops, and gourmet restaurants. Relax and pamper yourself at the various spas of Berkeley Springs. Need more things to do? Take in a movie at the Star Theater, visit the Berkeley Springs Museum, or see the latest art exhibits at the Ice House Artists' Co-Op Gallery.

Our house is also close to: Cacapon State Park for golf, swimming, hiking, & horseback riding. Pawpaw C & O Canal- Historic Harper's Ferry- Outlet Shopping at Hagerstown- White Tail Ski Resorts. Handouts are available.

Master bedroom - Queen bed

2nd bedroom _ 4 twins

3rd bedroom - 2 twins

4th bedroom double

Linens are not provided

Please contact us of more info.



200 refundable security deposit

125 cleaning fee

Cabin is available year round.

Not all cell phone providers have coverage there, there is a land line for your use

Free wireless internet

We are on a well system, the water is very high in minerals, the water is safe to cook, drink and bath in. If you prefer city water we suggest you bring bottled water for drinking.

Absolutely no Smoking in the house, subject to loss of security deposit.

2 Night Minimum stay

3 night minimum holidays

Keywords: Berkley Springs, Cabin, River Access, 2 Hours from DC, DMV, great fishing

More Details

Jenifer Bouchard
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2018

About Jenifer Bouchard

Great place to relax and forget about life for awhile. We fell in love with this house and had to buy it. Its been an incredible place to bring our 4 children and their friends for mini weekend trips and vacations. It is 100 yards from an awesome river called the Cacapon and absolutely filled with fish and other wildlife. From bird watchers to wildlife photographers to plain old hikers and canoeists you are absolutely guaranteed to find plenty to do. If you just desire to cuddle up next to the huge fire places and read a book, or fall in love all over again, you can so have that chance. We decided to start renting this to allow others to enjoy some of that spectacular relaxation time that heals the body and soul.

Jenifer Bouchard purchased this chateau / country house in 2001

Why Jenifer Bouchard chose Great Cacapon

We chose this location because it was with in 2 hours drive from home. It has river access, great fishing and canoeing.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

We enjoy the quietness of being in the mountains and the activities that the river has to offer. Only minutes from the great little town of Berkeley Spring and Coolfont resorts where you can enjoy some very nice restaurants and shops.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I would recommend this place to anyone who loves to star gaze, it is amazing. The house is very well cared for with plenty of space.

The back patio and fireplace was one of the best features.
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 23


Great Cacapon Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • renters need to bring own towels
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Renters need to bring own linens
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Mountain Retreat/peaceful/relax/fish/kayak/swim/WiFi
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 45 reviews

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time. So peaceful and quiet! Just how we love to spend our time in WV!!! Thank you for such a lovely home!!

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cool property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Only downfall was that it wasn’t warm enough to enjoy the river. We’ll definitely be returning in the warmer months !!!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This property was a wonderful choice for our weekend away. As a benefit of the community, you have access to the stream and picnic area. The house is about 14 miles from the nearest town that has a food lion, a pool, and other conveniences. Cacapon state park offers horse back riding, pedal boats, playground, and beach. A drive in the other direction will take you towards the Paw Paw tunnel, the kids loved it. The people are friendly. We ate at earth dog cafe in Berkeley Springs which had great food. The house itself was really cool, it had lots of nice hang out areas. The fireplace out back is beautiful and serves well for s'more making. There is a charcoal grill and plenty of tables and chairs. There are three little ponds that had squealing frogs, one's name is Fred. The front yard has a hill great for rolling kids down and wildlife spotting. If you go outside around 10 pm you can see the milky way and more stars than you can imagine. We ate breakfast and had coffee every morning on the large deck while we watched the sunrise over the mountains. Inside we played pool, ping pong, watched movies and played with the many puzzles and games that are already there for you. As for the other reviews about the water, it's true, the house does have well water that smells of sulfur or "rotten eggs" but we are easy to please so we just used bottled water to brush our teeth and for cooking and the smell does not linger on you after a shower. No harm done. All in all with four adults and 5 kids from the ages of 2-10 we had a great time, plenty of space, and so much to enjoy. The owners called to check in on us, made sure that we had plenty of firewood, and are very friendly.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

we loved it

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time to this area and we are so glad we pick this house and location. We celebrated my sister birthday and had a great time. The house was very clean and suited all our needs. The a/c upstairs was on the loud side but the owners came and took care of it. The pictures represent the property very well.

I look forward to visiting again.

I would recommend this property for a get-away.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great palce to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place for our family to gather. The area is great for having peace and quite. The house is quite lovely, clean and well maintained. We did have to call the owners to see about the wifi but they were very responsive and corrected the problem right away.

The kids loved to watch the deer and the adults loved to hang by the fireplace. We saw reviews about the water but it is not bad at all. We have rented in the area and places with wells so it was not a big deal.

We have already booked again for November.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just an Awful Experience

  • 1 of 5

I gave this property a 1 star because giving it a zero was not an option. I have rented cabins for over 10 years in Berkley Springs and Great Cacapon, I have never had a bad experience until now. I was hesitant after the reading the bad reviews for this place, and it turns out that those people were right.

The cabin was in disrepair, dirty and smelled awful from the water. The water is not suitable for human consumption. We couldn't bathe or bathe our children in the water because it smelled so bad. All of the screens were ripped and the sliding glass doors barely opened and closed. The dust on the tables and chairs was thick. They charge a cleaning fee but the property is not clean when you arrive. There was one trash receptacle for a house that holds 10 people and there was garbage in the receptacle when we arrived and the property was littered with cigarette butts. My husband actually took the time to pick them up so our children didn’t pick them up.

We chose this cabin because of the fireplace and I asked immediately if wood would be provided and the owner told me yes. Upon arrival, no firewood. I notified the owner immediately about the firewood issue and they never responded and never provided firewood. We had to drive 15 miles into town and pay ridiculous amount of money for firewood.

The owners never responded to us during our entire stay and only responded after to tell us that they were keeping the security deposit because of alleged damage done to the property, specifically the floor. When the owner actually provided pictures of the alleged damages over a week later, she sent us a picture of a screen door that ripped when we arrived and unclear pictures of what appears to be scuff marks on the floor. When the owner originally contacted us about the damage to the floor, we were Skeptical but then when they sent us a picture of the screen door that was damaged when we arrived, we knew we were being scammed.

Don’t believe the excuses. If everyone in my party had the ability to write a review for this place, they would tell you what a bad experience we had before and after our trip.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very disheartened by this review. The only time people put bad reviews up are when damage was done during their stay and we do not refund their security deposit. After 5 years of renting this will be the third time of not refunding the deposit, as you can see this is the third bad review. We take extra care in making sure the house is in good repair and very clean. We are always reachable by phone, and email, our numbers are listed at the house and encourage renters to call if they need anything. We want your stay to be comfortable and enjoyable. These renters checked in on a Friday, I received and email from them saying "we are here all is good except where is the firewood?" I had made arrangements to have wood dropped but it never made it. The renters never called or emailed to say wood was not delivered, nor did they call or email to say that the place was dirty and not happy with the accommodations. When they checked out on Monday I did receive an email from them saying that the trash can was full so they left the trash bagged inside and asked when they would be receiving their security deposit back. But no mention of the conditions not being to their stratification. We were notified that week when the place was cleaned that there was damage to the floor as well as the front screen was punched out. Pictures were sent and I notified the renters right away that we would need to keep the security deposit. At this point I still did not know they were not happy with their stay. Only after she had put a stop payment on here credit card and VRBO asked for pictures of the damage did she decide to write this bad review. This is how I found out, two weeks after her stay she decides to write a false review. Now most people would call right away to voice their concerns, why would you wait for two weeks past your stay to say you were not happy? Does not make sense. If I could post pictures I would so you all can see the damage that was done, I did not even mention that all the rocks that lined the pond were thrown through out the yard and the cleaners have never seen the house so dirty after a tenant vacated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Great Cacapon State park
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Panorama steak house
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
White tail


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $25
Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties