Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing 5 bedroom Home in Gated Community with Panoramic Views of Lake Arenal

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths2
Space 3,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

sunsets from 5 Bedrooms and 4 1/2 bathrooms, amazing views (Sleeps 10-12)

Our Home is in a gated community surrounded by lush rainforest rolling hillsides. Our home has five bedrooms all with their own bathroom. We have spectacular panoramic views of Lake Arenal and it's awesome sunsets and windmills across the lake. We are a short distance from boating, horseback riding, ATV tours, rafting, hot springs, canopy tours, waterfalls, hanging bridges, rain forest and the list goes on.

Keywords: Lake Arenal and arenal volcano

Greg or Donna
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish, limited amount of spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

About Greg or Donna

First traveled to Costa Rica in 2001 and fell in love with the country, the people and the lifestyle.

Greg or Donna purchased this house in 2011

Why Greg or Donna chose Nuevo Arenal

Panoramic views of Lake arenal and the lush green mountainside across the lake with windmills churning quietly waiting for the sun to set onto them


Nuevo Arenal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Town ...
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
  • 5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


3.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing 5 bedroom Home in Gated Community with Panoramic Views of Lake Arenal
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews

beautiful home with beautiful views

  • 3 of 5

This home is beautiful with amazing views. We were recently there with another family (10 total people including 6 teenagers). We arrived on Christmas Eve to a beautiful home with no water and a non working dryer. We had already spent a week in Playa Guionnes and were really counting on being able to wash and dry our clothes. Thankfully we had brought a clothes line and clothes pins with us to use while waiting for the dryer. The manager, Tyler, was able to get someone to come in the night for the water (which left us with only cold water for the upstairs and the right side master until he was notified to come back) and 2 days later the dryer was fixed (it was clogged with lint and a birds nest).

There is also an ant problem in the bedrooms upstairs which we notified Tyler about after using a whole can of ant spray which we purchased in town (2 dust pans FULL of dead ants were swept up during our stay in these bedrooms especially the king bedroom upstairs). Tyler's response was welcome to the rainforest....we didn't realize this was a common occurrence. Regardless if freaked 3 teen girls out!

As far as the driveway/road....a 4 wheel drive is a MUST to get to and from this house. It is VERY steep and scary especially in the rain!! When leaving for Christmas mass on Sunday it had been raining and there was a slight landside that occurred onto the road just down from the house. When our 4 wheel drive car hit the mud we lost total control of our car and almost ended up over the side of the mountain with our 3 children in the car with us. I have to say in my nearly 50 years of life it was the MOST terrifying day of my life.

As far as activities go you pretty much have to go into La Fortuna for everything...we went to the hot springs, whitewater rafted and hiked to a waterfall all at least a 1hr drive each way. I feel as though we spent a majority of our vacation in the car :( a lot of anxious moments up and down the driveway.

Restaurants we loved were the Gingerbread (expensive but high quality food with an awesome chef), Las Tinajas (we loved this one so much we went twice for dinner) and Moyas.

We had 2 rainy days that we stayed in and read books, played cards and rested. There was only 1 extra blanket to snuggle on the couches with.....more blankets would have been appreciated.

Overall it is a beautiful house and if you don't mind driving on dirt and gravel very curvy roads to get to places & what feels 90 degree roller coaster ride drop to the house.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hilton Head Island

Great House, Great View, Need 4WD auto

  • 4 of 5

House was great, beds comfortable, great view, nice kitchen.

Let me start by mentioning the two worst parts of the house. #1 - the road to the house and driveway...windy, steep, slippery (especially when it rains). Dangerous and without 4WD maybe impossible. Not walking distance to anything. #2 - only a ten minute drive to Arenal but an hour plus to La Fortuna. Since most of the activities we did we out of La Fortuna we were back and forth (and the road is difficult to drive at night). Potholes galore.

The Concierge (Tyler) was great. Responded quickly. Gave us some great recommendations to restaurants (except the one he likes to hang out in was fair at best). Try Moya's, Tinajas and escpecially Gingerbread. I reviewed each on Trip Advisor.

One bedroom upstairs got a ton of ants (only the one bedroom) but some Raid got rid of them.

DVD didn't work but TV did (be aware of several hardcore Porn stations). When we got there the dryer didn't work and the water didn't work. It was Christmas Eve. The next day they all got fixed. Garage but no garage door opener. No biggy. Overall very nice. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation. The road was slippery due to a mud slide a few days before your stay. The road crews had worked for 2 days just to get the road open for us because they knew we had guest coming for the holidays. We apreciate your comments and will address any issues so our future guests will enjoy our home Better. Thank you Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good house, not so good location and even worse access

  • 2 of 5

First off let me say that the house is great, large, well appointed, phenomenal views. Also Greg and Donna are very professional to work with. Property is well maintained and the caretaker Luis is very helpful, we would not have lived here for 5 days without his help

Now for the not so good part

- The location is outside of Nuevo Fortuna, a good 50 min ride away from the center which is La Fortuna and where you would spend most of your time so plan accordingly

- The access to the house is really bad. It is a poorly maintained dirt road up the mountain for about 1.5 Km which makes for a rough ride to the house especially at night. You HAVE to have a bigger SUV with 4 wheel drive to get up there and access the house. You have to plan your grocery runs well in advance as the store is a same bad road back down the mountain

All in all I say buyer beware !

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you loved the amenities and home overlooking Lake Arenal. We try to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their stay at our home but unfortunately we cannot insure that they follow the instructions on our rental paperwork. It states on the Rental Agreement about using a 4x4 and I spoke to you before your trip and specifically told you that a 4x4 is needed since you are traveling to a rainforest and many roads are gravel. The entry road into the community is a gravel road just as many are in Costa Rica. It was scheduled for its bi-annual grading but the crew was behind and are just showing up while I am here now at the House. The upper access road is being upgraded to concrete to try and prevent any of our clients that don't follow our directions about getting a 4x4 from having any problems at our home again. We want all of our guests to have a great vacation and come back again and again. We thank you for staying with us and and you can see your comments are always helpful in making our home the best it can be for our guests. Thank you. Pura Vida
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Lake Arenal

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in your beautiful home in Lake Arenal. The pictures did not show the real beauty of this home and the actual view of the lake from each bedroom. The home was well furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals with when we actually ate in. The nearby town of Nuevo Arenal was small but had a 24 hour gas station, German bakery, Ice cream shop, grocery stores, Banks and some of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. Gingerbread Restaurant was awesome. We did a Kayak tour locally on the lake and also horseback riding. The kids loved that. Then we went to La Fortuna which is about 40 minutes away. We went waterfall rappelling and then to Baldi hot springs and relaxed and rode the awesome slides there. Make sure you buy your tickets in town at one of the discount booths. They are alot cheaper than buying at the gate. Our last day we went into La Fortuna again to do the Zip Line right next to the Arenal Volcano. Hard to explain the feeling of being next to something that large and powerful. Our 1 week stay gave us enough time to enjoy the locals and all the great things to do in this area. Greg and Donna were great to work with. A 4 wheel drive vehicle was recommended while traveling in this area (which we did get) because you are in the rainforest and alot of the roads are gravel. Everyone had a great time and no one wanted to leave. Thanks for an amazing vacation! We will definitly be back again...

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your wonderful comments about our Lake Arenal Home and are happy you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation one that will be remembered by you for years to come. We look forward to seeing you again soon...
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Arenal Volcano
Great trip for the whole family. Amazing to see an active volcano up close.
Costa Rica Adventure & Guide
great info for anyones vacation
Sky Trek Sky Tram
wow what a ride. One of the zip lines is a quarter of a mile long...
La Fortuna Waterfall
Its a long hike down but well worth the trip. Great day with the family.
Power Wheels Adventures ATV Tours
we got down and dirty. Great fun for the kids and us...
Eco Termales
great place to wind down after a long day of adventures.
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Adventure Motorsports ATV Tours
Gingerbread Hotel
Cafe & Macadamia
Nearest Airport
130 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
Gingerbread hotel and restaurant
Nearest Beach
150 Kilometres
Playa coco
Car: recommended

Other Activities: canopy tour, waterfall climbing, rafting, atv tours, hanging bridges and many more


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties