Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Country Cottage

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,750 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5

The arrival of spring brings so many exciting new things to see and do. Birds are starting to nest, spring trees and flowers burst forth, wild animals are preparing to bring babies into the world, and the streams and waterfalls are full and glorious.

The cottage has blooming trees and flowers - the forsythia is striking! Everything is just starting to turn green and it's time to break out the grill and eat outside.

Take a hike on one of the many hiking trails and watch for Trillium, Spring Beauty, Trout Lily, Marsh Marigold, Shadbush and Bloodroot, among many others.

More Details

Owner
Judy Cone
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2017

Map

Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Glenwood Pines
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Trumansburg Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Route 96
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Glenwood Pines, Not My Dad's, Rongovian Embassy
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Greek Peak
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Taughannock Falls
Car: recommended

There are too many attractions here to list them all. Hiking, sailing, biking, golfing and a trip along the Finger Lakes Wine Trail are favorites for many people. This is a mecca for antique hunters, and anyone with an interest in classical architecture should drive through the nearby Village of Trumansburg with its many historic houses. There are many State Parks in the area, and most of them have glorious waterfalls, hiking trails and many scenic gorges. The Art Trail runs directly past the house and during the open tours it’s a wonderful way to view local artists at work. The Museum of the Earth and the Science Museum are favorites of kids of all ages. Cornell Lab of Ornithology is worth a visit and the entire area is great for bird watching.

There are several live theater groups and great music opportunities for any sort of music you can imagine. Great local restaurants for just about any cuisine you can imagine.

Amenities

Trumansburg Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 bathroom, and while it's small, it does have a shower and bathtub, sink and toilet. We supply plentiful towel sets.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Dresser, full closet, Direct TV, luggage rack
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Suitable for child or teenager. Dresser, closet, TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Large room with papa-san couch, easy chair, TV, Dressers
  • King size beds (1) Two King beds, Twin or Single Beds (1). All bed linens are furnished. We wash all sheets, pillowcases, blankets and comforters between guests, so you can be assured that what you get is clean.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Cozy home-like setting half-way between Ithaca and Trumansburg it’s the perfect place to come home to after an exciting day of sightseeing or local activities. Fully furnished with 3 bedrooms, a living/dining area, bath, and a fully equipped kitchen, everything you need to truly enjoy a stay is right there. A cheerful babbling brook runs along the property with a bridge to the little island with its private picnic area. Solar lights invite strolls to see the thousands of fireflies in the summer, or a peek at the wildlife that comes for a drink. Judy's Guest House is a Certified Wildlife Habitat. There are too many local attractions and activities to list in this space. Cornell, Ithaca College, Montezuma Wildlife Refuge, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, glorious waterfalls, the Finger Lakes Wine Trail, ballooning, horseback riding, sailing, the list just goes on. You can't see it all in one visit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
41% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Country Cottage
average rating of 4.388889 based on 36 reviews
Avon, CT
5

My family loved staying here!

  • 5 of 5

My family needed a place to stay for my brother's college graduation weekend. The hotels in town were completely booked and we wanted to be able to bring our two dogs with us. Judy's cottage was perfect and the setting was gorgeous! It's only 15 minutes away from Ithaca and very easy to get to. The cottage was clean and cozy and everything we needed was provided for us. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're very happy that you enjoyed it. Our goal is to create the perfect place for your stay and we continue to try to make it even better! Thank you and I hope you can visit again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for a short stay! and the price was right!

  • 4 of 5

We needed three bedrooms and this property fit that perfectly. Two of the bedrooms were huge! Judy was very accomodating when we locked ourselves out and was there in minutes. She was very easy to reach and had some great ideas on what to see in the area. One was Taughannock Falls State Park. We are so glad we listened to her recommendation and went. It was a short drive from the cottage (not even 10 minutes) and was well worth the small hike to the falls. Thank you Judy!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and happy I could help. Thank you for your review. There are so many wonderful things to see and do here. I hope you get a chance to come back and see more of what we have to offer. This fall there will be tours of the Seneca White Deer. These deer are not albino, they are just white and manged to multiply because they were fenced in an Army Depot for over 40 years. This is the largest white deer herd in the world and they are truly beautiful. And that's just the beginning.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for friends and animals.

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for the four of us that were attending the wine country circuit dog shows up in Romulus. Only about a 30 minute drive to the show site which took us through some beautiful countryside and quaint towns. There was plenty of room for us at the house as well as privacy and a huge yard for the dogs to play in. Would definitely come back again

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your very kind review. We do love dogs and try our best to make it a great pace for your fur babies. After all they're a part of your family! And we have world famous wine country right outside our door!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anchorage, AK
4

Quiet country home

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this house in a very quiet environment. The house had everything we needed. The layout worked well for our family. Furniture and beds were all comfortable. The only downside right now is a very musty smell throughout the house.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry for the musty odor. I do believe we found the hidden source and fixed the problem. We continue to try to renovate and improve the cottage for our guests' enjoyment and hope we are succeeding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Need a Little Work BUT OK for the Price

  • 3 of 5

The house was clean with lots of space for two couples. The grounds are beautiful. We loved the little bridge. It is a nice change from busy Ithaca. The water was terrible but they had bottled water that was fine. The shower did not work at all. One person was able to take half a shower. Needless to say, they had a very difficult time rinsing. The mechanism to move the water from the faucet to the shower head did not work. We all tried and could not get it to work. Two of the TVs were very hard to control even with the brief instructions that were provided. We ended up not using them. One of our party has a mold allergy that was acting up. All in all it was fine for the price but it would have been nice to take a shower. We did not contact Judy to fix the problems because we were only there for a quick two nights and to busy out touring during the day.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that the guests didn't contact us when there were having problems. We are always available to come over and help. The welcome letter lists a phone number and email that will let us know immediately. If you find anything not working or as you expected please contact us. We will make it right! We discovered the that the shower diverter had stopped working and it was fixed within 15 minutes of finding the problem. We have had unprecedented amounts of rain this summer. While there is no mold inside the cottage, there is mold outside on trees, plants and structures. It's almost impossible to prevent given almost constant rain. The water is well water. It is tested and is perfectly safe but it does have iron in it, which some people find very different from city water, so we do provide bottled water. There are four televisions in the cottage. All are checked on a regular basis and all are working but some people do have trouble. We are always happy to come over and show them how to do it. But unless we know we can't help. Again, we are always available to help our guests have an enjoyable stay. Many of our guests have stayed with us repeatedly and know that we are ready and willing to help.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good air conditioning, but sadly run down

  • 2 of 5

This house smelled moldy, and all of the window sills are rotting away. The tap water smells of rusty pipes so that you can't even bare to brush your teeth with it. The owner did provide bottled water. The shower fixtures need to be replaced as only half of the stream comes out of it and the rest pours down the tub spigot. This results in terrible water pressure and just a single stream coming out of the shower head. I have thick curly hair, and it took forever to get the shampoo out. The terrible tasting water was also gross in the shower. The yards were nice, but the grass needed to be cut. There was a wide-open bag of marshmallows in the cupboard crawling with sugar ants. Since there is no dishwasher, the plates were only as clean as the last renters bothered to clean them. We had to prewash everything before using it. All of the pans in the kitchen were scratched-up nonstick pans, which means teflon in your eggs. We stayed there for three nights, and it was depressing to see such a cute place in such disrepair. The air conditioning was nice.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you found problems. We do our best to correct them and sometimes we just don't get to it quickly enough.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 3.0%

Cancellation Policy: Deposits are not refundable. Cancellation 15 days or less before arrival can be used for credit for a later stay.

Ask about our discount for stays of seven days or longer.

Ten percent active military discount

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties